Skip to content

freezer full of salmon

July 16, 2009

So my half marathon training is going really well i’m proud to announce. This week is 2 3.5 mile runs and a long run of 5. I wasn’t exactly sure if I would have time to get my 5 done this weekend so I did it yesterday morning. I had half a larabar before I jetted out the door and that helped me get some morning energy. I was running as the sun was rising in Baltimore and it couldn’t have been a more amazing view.

As i’m inching towards getting to my longer distance runs I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for gu’s, gels, sports beans, etc. I am clueless on these and haven’t run far enough to need them but in a few weeks i’ll be there. Any and all suggestions you have are greatly appreciated!

In my training plan there are 3 set run days, and 2 cross train days combined with 1 strength day, 1 strength and stretch and 1 rest. I think the thing that has been helping me the most is going to yoga during my cross train days. It has helped my hips and lower back out so much. I tend to get achy and sore after my runs and the yoga has almost helped that completely disappear. The only thing left for me to do is to start adding some strength. I don’t know why this seems so daunting to me but I need to get over it and get it done. There are endless benefits from strength training and I know it will improve my running. It’s time to crank things up a notch.

In yoga news, its been oh so amazing. I went on Tuesday and fell asleep in savasana. It’s unbelievable when you get that relaxed that you fall asleep. I don’t do it very often but when I’m so incredibly relaxed. I felt like i had slept for half an hour. Talk about a power nap 🙂

So I have a costco sized amount of salmon in my freezer. I asked my mom to get some salmon for me when she went to Costco and the smallest package was massive. It’s such a great buy though that I went with it. I sliced it up into single serving pieces, ziplock bagged them, and double stuffed them into 2 freezer bags. Let’s just say i have enough salmon to feed an army. The other day i used 1 piece out of probably 25. Dinner plans? Teriyaki salmon. The foreman cooks the salmon perfectly. I spread some olive oil on the filet, salt and pepper then threw it on the grill. Once it was almost done i put some teriyaki sauce on, shut the lid, and then when it was grilled to perfection I added a little more on top. I had some chinese frozen veggies from whole foods that I threw on the pan and added a tiny amount of oyster sauce to. Really gave it the stir fry feeling.

Picture

Does anyone have any favorite salmon recipes? I would love to find some new ways to prepare it.

Oh and I wanted to let you guys know that i’m writing a daily post for the website www.fitceleb.com check out the post I wrote about coconut water and the one about the core fusion body sculpt dvd 🙂

Hope you guys have a great day xoxo

17 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2009 7:40 am

    Experiment with different gels, beans, etc. to see what you like best.
    I used to be all about Gu’s, but was given Clif Shot Blocks at an Expo, and really liked those better.

  2. July 16, 2009 9:24 am

    m’mm i would love to have a freezer full of salmon! okay, i’d rather have a freezer full of ice cream — but salmon would be a close second 🙂

  3. July 16, 2009 9:35 am

    that salmon looks great! I love it with just a slice of lemon or orange underneath and then thrown on the grill!

  4. July 16, 2009 10:16 am

    I think I could probably beat you in a indecisiveness contest. It takes me about 40 minutes just to decide on what to make for breakfast!

    I’ve had this salmon recipe bookmarked for a while but haven’t had a chance to try it out yet: http://www.yumsugar.com/3253652#read-more. Let me know if you make it 🙂

  5. julie permalink
    July 16, 2009 10:24 am

    mmm i love mango salsa with salmon! you’re doing an awesome job with the halfsies training! have fun at the wedding!!

  6. peanutbutterprerogative permalink
    July 16, 2009 10:54 am

    mmm i love salmon! a good summery idea for salmon is to make a little dill sauce for it…a little greek yogurt, lemon, dill, green onion…yum! have fun at the wedding!!

  7. Sherri permalink
    July 16, 2009 11:12 am

    cliff shot blocks – margarita salt are so yummy! i also like sports beans. i’m all about the texture and there’s just something so fun about eating what appears to be candy while you’re running.

    salmon is a staple where i live. i could eat it every day and not get bored. to me nothing is better than plain grilled salmon with a little pepper and lemon juice. with leftover salmon i add a bit of mayo (spectrum light), finely chopped celery, red pepper and capers for a delicious salmon sandwich. yummy!

  8. July 16, 2009 11:22 am

    I’m glad that yoga has been helping so much! I love the deep stretches that yoga provides 🙂 Good luck with the gels – I’m not much help in that department, sorry!

  9. annquirk permalink
    July 16, 2009 11:57 am

    That’s great your Half Marathon Training is going so well! (I did one last September….I thought it was pretty cool stuff)

    And I’m impressed you fell asleep in Yoga! Nice!

    🙂 Ann Q

  10. July 16, 2009 1:53 pm

    Your salmon looks so good! Way to get in those omega-3s!

    I never used gu or anything like that when I trained for my half marathons, but it probably would have helped me. I don’t think my training runs were much longer than 10-11 miles, though. During the actual race, the gu really helped a lot even though it didn’t taste too great.

  11. July 16, 2009 2:14 pm

    glad to hear your training is going well! i can’t wait to see how it all pans out, you are going to rock it. i am pretty simple with my salmon, i just put some olive oil, lemon and capers on it and bake it. i love putting leftover salmon in a egg scramble with feta and spinach!

  12. Olivia permalink
    July 16, 2009 2:19 pm

    Congrats on the training. Running mix play list ocing your way shortly!
    As for salmon I like t use my left overs in a sandwich mash up all the salmon with a litle mayo, soy sauce and sesame oil and it’s delish!

    http://Ohlivin.wordpresss.com

  13. July 16, 2009 2:55 pm

    I actually don’t like salmon so no help from me. 😦

    Have fun at the wedding!

  14. July 16, 2009 2:58 pm

    I love grilled salmon with a curry mayo on a really grainy bun. Tomato and lettuce to top it. With a side of sweet tater fries. Yum.

    Yours looks so good!

  15. July 16, 2009 3:03 pm

    yoga is great!

    oh i cant believe you went to ocean city! i love that place.. and one of my BF’s co-workers was trying to come up with the name of that bar in the water and couldnt, but now i know!!!! thanks!
    we are headed to Baltimore in two weeks for a few days.. what are some good spots down near camden yards for dinner? im talking pub food style.. nothing fancy and definitely cheap.. : )

  16. July 16, 2009 3:53 pm

    ooooh your salmon looks yummy! You so make the most of your foreman – love it! I usually bake salmon (not anymore though!) – my favorite is simple: sprinkle salmon with salt, pepper, dried cilantro and tony’s creole seasoning; spray with parkay spray butter – bake at 375 for 17 minutes (flip after 10 minutes). It’s yum!

  17. July 17, 2009 7:49 am

    I loove salmon! Your trip looked sooo fun, i love drinking in the sun but it totally gets ya haha!

Leave a Reply

