Skip to content

brillo wha?

July 10, 2009

Interesting thing happening over here…. I believe I may be turning into a morning workout girl.  Training for my half marathon has had me doing my runs in the morning. Even though initially I dread dragging myself out of bed, the feeling of having accomplished a goal at the start of my day couldn’t leave me feeling any better. The weather is as perfect as can be, and even when I run at night, the ground is still hot from the day.

Yesterday I ran 4 mi before work, and this morning 3. 🙂

Another website that I love  times a million is very similar to the one I posted about the other day. it’s www.zentofitness.com

on the site there was a post about morning workouts and why they’re the best. If this doesn’t motivate you, i don’t know what will. It gave me the extra kick in the butt to do it, and its made me feel amazing.

No Worries – Its as easy and simple as things come, no need to worry about if you will feel full or sluggish during the workout due to that huge lunch you just ate. No need to fit things around a schedule or worry about the impending workout all day. Just get up grab your stuff and go. If your working wake up a bit earlier, it takes dedication but almost anyone can achieve it especially with the long summer days.

Accomplishment – This for me is one the best things, before the day has even really begun you feel like there has been a job well done. You know that if your feeling crushed at the end of a long day at work their is no need to do anything but get home and relax. Each bite of breakfast, lunch and dinner will taste better for your early efforts…..No matter how bad the day went you will know there was one thing you got right!

Feel Good – Exercising is the ultimate feel good tool thanks to its effects on literally evacuating harmful stress hormones from the body. It will generate feel good endorphins plus increase your serotonin levels in the brain. Exercising consistently will shrink chronic stress and boost your confidence. This is no exaggeration, the best thing about the morning workouts are that these effects will stay with you all day boosting your productivity and creativity!

Fat Burning – When you wake up fasted your insulin levels will be at their lowest, luckily for you this means your body will burn pretty much exclusively fat for fuel. This will not only benefit you at the time but allow your insulin sensitivity to be improved all day long. Meaning your body will naturally divert food and nutrients to muscle tissue rather than fat. Remember this only applies if you get up and go, no eating before the workout.

Down Time – The morning is a time of day you can have totally to yourself. The streets are empty, no one else in the house is up, there are no complications or letting anyone else down. The time is yours, if you made that effort to wake up 30 minutes earlier than usual to workout thats time you bought and you can really enjoy. The quiet and peace of the morning make it a perfect time to workout in an almost meditative fashion.

Best Habit – If you get in the habit of working out upon waking a few times a week you will be nurturing what is one of the greatest habits of all time. Once you get to the point that it feels weird not getting up and doing some sort of activity you will know your on the right track. Build the habit of a lifetime!

 

Yesterday I had a dinner date with my family at the Cheesecake Factory. My mom works as an elementary school nurse and her Principal gave her a $50 gift card to Cheesecake. When we first got there I looked through the entire packet that is their menu and was debating about getting a salad or somethign that seemed healthy. Then I thought about it a little more…. everyone knows that the Cheesecake Factory is no health and wellness restaurant, so why not get somethign that I actually want and enjoy every bite instead of getting something mediocre and instead leaving and eating because my tastebuds weren’t satisfied. I don’t ever go there but once in a blue moon, so its not a regular occurance, so why not enjoy the food as much as possible?

I skimmed and found what I was craving: fresh grilled fish tacos. Mahi Mahi tacos with rice and black beans, an avocado sauce I got on the side, guac, and cabbage. I guess I didn’t notice that there was cheese on the description so I ended up taking that off and placing it on my side plate. I ate 2 out of the 3 tacos and was completely satisfied.

tacos

My sister and mom got a new pasta dish called Chicken Bellagio. This thing was masssiveeee. Chicken with pasta and a pesto cream sauce.  Allison took a pic for the blogg.

chicken

My dad got a steak and salmon surf and turf combo which he devoured 🙂

My sister asked if she could take a bite out of my remaining taco and when she did, ended up pulling somethign out of her mouth. I thought it was a bone from the fish… oh no.. it was metal.

Turns out it was a piece of a brillo pad scrubber ???? and as I looked closer there was another piece in the leftover taco, then MORE in the cheese I had taken off of mine.  We informed the waitress and the manager came over. The weird thing about this is… that he says they’re not allowed to use those brillo pads at the restaurant so he has no idea where it actually came from? Nasty. Allison felt squeemish the rest of the time. He felt awful, offered me another meal, which i declined since I already ate what I had planned on, and took the meal off the bill and gave us a complimentary slice of cheesecake.

Free cheesecake? Okay, I don’t mind if i do! We ordered the lemon raspberry and the crust was actually a thin layer of lemon cake instead of graham cracker. Amazing.

cheesecake

Had to be carted out of the restaurant after that meal was over.

Today I woke up early, went on my planned run and finished it off with a green milkshake 🙂 I tell you, those chia seed addition makes it sooo creamy and smooth.

This weekend is one for the books. Two of my best friends from home, since middle school, Brittany who lives in NYC, and Ali who lives in Charleston, SC are coming home. All of our birthdays are in July so we are having a joint bday celebration/girls weekend in Ocean City, MD. Beach time here we comeeee. My roomies are also going and we’re meeting some more friends from school there too. I’m driving to Britt’s paren’ts house tonight and tomorrow morning headed straight for the beach.

friends, sun, beach. Doesn’t get any better than that right?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. eatlivelovedream permalink
    July 10, 2009 9:50 am

    EEK! I’m going to Cheesecake this weekend and can’t wait! Lets hope theres nothing lurking in my food!
    Have a great weekend!

  2. peanutbutterprerogative permalink
    July 10, 2009 10:05 am

    haha nasty about CC Factory! have fun in oc with britt and ali this weekend…tell them hi for me!!

  3. July 10, 2009 10:21 am

    Nice job on the morning runs! I have to agree with you – that feeling of accomplishment is great! 🙂 Those fish tacos look HEAVENLY!

  4. July 10, 2009 10:23 am

    I’ve been doing morning workouts and love them, too!

    That is so scary about finding brillo pad remnants in your meals. At least you got free cheesecake, but that would make me not want to eat there again.

    Sounds like you have a super fun weekend planned; can’t wait until the recap! 🙂

  5. July 10, 2009 10:45 am

    Ehhhhh – scary about the brillo pad! Have a blast this weekend!! Can’t beat the beach 🙂

  6. July 10, 2009 11:00 am

    Great job on your morning workouts! That’s a really great list of advice. It’s sort of inspiring me to give it a try. I’m a former morning runner, and I miss it. But I just have such trouble waking up…

  7. July 10, 2009 11:17 am

    haha what a gnarly thing to find in your meal! at least it scored you some free cheesecake? and nobody choked, that is good. i wish i could be a morning runner! i admire you!

  8. July 10, 2009 12:24 pm

    Eek I hope it doesn’t digest weird! Yay for free cheesecake though… I love lemom and berry combos they are my favorite!
    -muffy

  9. July 10, 2009 12:34 pm

    Thanks for posting about morning routines and workouts. I really want to start incorporating that in my life.

    Yuck to metal. I am glad that they were able to compensate you!

  10. July 10, 2009 1:09 pm

    awww how fun have an awesome weekend!

    praise the lord for free cheesecake but SO weird about the brillo pad!

  11. lowandbhold permalink
    July 10, 2009 2:13 pm

    Yuck! At least the restaurant was cool about it.

    Your weekend sounds amazing! Can’t wait to hear about all the fun!

  12. July 10, 2009 3:24 pm

    i have only been to cheesecake factory once in my life and that was definitely one of my top favorite restaurants of all time .. the delish selections are just too wonderful to pass up!

  13. July 10, 2009 4:43 pm

    YIKES about the tacos! I’ve had those before at Cheesecake Factory (sans brillo) and enjoyed them. At least you got some cheesecake out of it 🙂
    Awesome about the running before work! That is great!

  14. July 11, 2009 2:34 pm

    I’m always looking for good fish tacos, so next time I’m at Cheesecake factory I might have to try them. Hopefully I everything on my plate will be edible though.

  15. July 11, 2009 4:43 pm

    Yikes. Metal in your food? The massive plate of fish tacos do look good tho.

  16. July 11, 2009 7:15 pm

    Yikes! That is crazy!

  17. July 13, 2009 1:16 am

    My sister got a piece of brillo pad in some nachos once when we were out for dinner! They comped her nachos as well. Strangely, I’ve been to restaurants that won’t comp your meal when you get something like that, which I think is completely ridiculous!

Leave a Reply

