Skip to content

pancakes for you!

June 24, 2009

Hi guys! Long time no see ! Florida was a blast.

The weather was picture perfect and my sister and I had such a wonderful time with our family.

My grandma taught my sister and I how to make one of our favorite chinese scallion pancakes. They’re sooooo good and now i’m happy I finally learned to make them. They’re pretty easy too, and taste amazing.

 

To make the dough you need 3 c.  of all purpose flour and 1.5 c. of hot water. Mix the flour and dough together and leave for at least 30 minutes. Seperate the dough and knead into balls.

dough

 

Next you roll out a ball

first roll out

Smear a thin layer of oil (olive or vegetable, my grandma used vegetable oil) on the dough then sprinkle some salt

 

 

salted

You then sprinkle some freshly chopped scallions on the dough and then start at the edge and begin rolling

rolled out with scallions

rolling

You then wrap the long piece of dough into a spiral and tuck the bottom underneath, and press the spiral down with your hands a little bit.

roll up with flour

Roll out the spiral and then pan fry it over low heat in a thin layer of oil

roll out after

and VOILA you have it! Authentic chinese scallion pancakes 🙂

after watching my grandma, i got to try to make my own

 

finished

me making

 

With all the yummy food there all week I was glad to know that my grandma is a morning walker and I would go with her at 6:30 AM and embark on the hour long walk. She is a QUICK one too! I was always pretty groggy at the beginning of the walk, but it was great getting some fresh air in and getting out when it wasn’t too hot yet.

 

During the trip my sister and I saw the movie UP in 3d. Oh i loved it, and I won’t be ashamed to let you guys know that I cried. Yes, in an animated movie. It was a tear jerker, but it was definitely one of the best movie’s i’ve seen in a while. I tried to snap a few pics of my sister and I before the movie started, but damn this girl won’t take a serious pic haha.

UP first

UP

Part 2 to come in the next post! Glad to be back ❤

34 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2009 8:22 am

    Those pancakes look awesome, that’s great that you got the recipe and got to make them with your grandma.

  2. June 24, 2009 8:35 am

    Sounds like such a fun trip.
    I cried in Up, too.
    Glad to “see” you back!

  3. June 24, 2009 8:41 am

    Yay! Glad you’re back from a great trip! Can’t wait to read more about it. I am dying to see UP. I’ve heard it’s incredible. 🙂

    Kaneil, balanceisbest

  4. June 24, 2009 9:11 am

    So glad you had fun in FL! It’s always great to learn a favorite family recipe. 🙂

  5. Sweet and Fit permalink
    June 24, 2009 9:17 am

    I love scallion panackes! they served something like that when I worked and pf changs’s – it was a scallion flat bread turned into a quesadilla with chicken or steak with cheese..anyhow, Im glad you had such a great time in florida! I am going to be in baltimore sometime soon, wanna grab lonchi?

  6. June 24, 2009 9:23 am

    oooh. These look super good!

  7. lowandbhold permalink
    June 24, 2009 9:31 am

    Glad you’re back and had a great time!!

    Those pancakes look delish! I’ve heard great things about Up, I hope I get to see it before it’s out of theaters!

  8. June 24, 2009 9:38 am

    Yay! Glad you had a great time in Florida!!

    Those pancakes sound really good! Thanks for the how to 🙂

  9. June 24, 2009 9:48 am

    sounds like fun! can’t wait to hear about part 2 🙂

  10. June 24, 2009 9:52 am

    glad you had a great time in Florida, those look amazing!

  11. June 24, 2009 9:56 am

    Glad you had a great time!

  12. June 24, 2009 10:22 am

    omg i was just looking at my reader last night wondering when you were coming back!!! those pancakes look delicious! i oddly really love scallions 🙂

  13. snackface permalink
    June 24, 2009 10:25 am

    WELCOME BACK!! I gasped when I saw you pop up in my google reader! Haha!

  14. June 24, 2009 10:28 am

    scallion pancakes sound like a gift from GOD! Welcome back lovie 🙂 so glad you had such a wonderful time my tan little goddess (I’m jealous!)

  15. Menden permalink
    June 24, 2009 11:28 am

    Welcome back! Those pancakes look awesome!

  16. June 24, 2009 11:50 am

    Welcome back from your trip!!

    Those pancakes look amazing. I’ve never heard of them, but anything with dough + scallions is a winner in my book. 🙂

  17. June 24, 2009 11:56 am

    those scallion pancakes look TOO good!

    I wanna see UP so bad!! Now I definitely wanna see it even more 🙂

  18. June 24, 2009 11:58 am

    this is all kinds of awesome! Im SO gonna make these!

  19. June 24, 2009 2:38 pm

    YAY! welcome back!!! those pancakes look slammin, i love savory pancakes!

  20. June 24, 2009 3:02 pm

    glad you had a good time!!!! but of course happy to have you back!

    scallion pie/pancake/whatever .. is what we get for free from our local chinese food place. they know i love them and always throw in a box when i order chinese.. ohhhh how i HEART them- homemade they look so tasty!

  21. June 24, 2009 3:08 pm

    Lovin’ the new header – I missed you! 🙂

  22. June 24, 2009 3:26 pm

    Welcom back! Those pancakes look and sound awesome! Also, I’ve heard so much good stuff about that movie – you guys still look gorgeous even in the 3-D goggles 😉

    Love,
    Meg

  23. June 24, 2009 9:23 pm

    Hey Friend!

    What a great time!! Morning walks are so lovely- especially after the grogginess wears off! Scallion Pancakes- wow- those look really tasty! Love your goofball sister even if you were trying to take a serious pic.

    Can’t wait to read more

  24. June 24, 2009 9:44 pm

    cute pictures! I’ve been wanting to see UP! 🙂

    Those Scallion pancakes look great!

  25. June 24, 2009 9:47 pm

    oh and I totally love your new page! gorgeous!

  26. June 24, 2009 9:57 pm

    I just got back from seeing Up – I cried too!

  27. June 24, 2009 10:44 pm

    Welcome back!! Glad you had a great time. Those pancakes look delicious! And I really really want to see the movie Up!!!!

  28. homegirlcaneat permalink
    June 24, 2009 11:06 pm

    Those pancakes looks amazing! I loooove scallions!!! And pancakes..so I think I would love!

    I was so close of seeing Up tonite but was too tired! I need those glasses!

  29. June 24, 2009 11:11 pm

    Good to hear you had a good time with the family 🙂 The pancakes look & sound good! It’s always fun to learn those family dishes with your grandparents, so you can pass them along as well.

  30. June 25, 2009 9:02 am

    Those look soo good! Dang rock on with the walks G-ma I feel like a lazy bum 🙂

  31. June 25, 2009 10:22 am

    Those pancakes look good! I’ve never had anything like that! Love that you and your g-ma took 6:30 a.m. walks together – sweet! I want to see Up! I heart animation.

  32. June 25, 2009 7:40 pm

    Welcome Back! And don’t feel alone. I definitely cried several times during Up as well.

  33. June 26, 2009 6:03 am

    I love these! I always have a package of them in the freezer ready to eat!

  34. June 27, 2009 4:43 pm

    The new header looks great!
    I have never seen/heard of the scallion pancakes…are they Cantonese? They look great! Have you ever made homemade wontons? I have only stuffed them after the filling was already made for me, but I have been craving them lately and have no clue how to make them!

Leave a Reply

