Skip to content

love the skin youre in

June 4, 2009

hi bloggies 🙂 hope you’ve had a great week!

I’ve been doing some thinking about my blog and the direction I want it to go in. I started feeling like the days blended together and everything seemed monotonous with me taking pics of every meal no matter if i had oatmeal for breakfast every single day of the week, or a wrap for two weeks straight for lunch. It bored me seeing the same types of pictures so why wouldn’t it bore you? I wanted this blog to be a source for me to write and connect with people with my same interests, but I also want it to be an outlet for me to put what I am truly interested in. Am I interested in a delicious bowl of oatmeal? Definitely, but not writing about it everyday. I have decided I want to share meals that are different and that are new and delicious. I am a total beauty junky and would love to put reviews of those types of products on here too. I want to explore different things and use this to show you all. I know you guys are always 110% supportive, so thank you as always for reading and commenting. You always make my day ❤

 

I do have a few new foods that I’ve tried recently.

At costco, they have falafel balls that my mom and I picked up. I took one packet home, and she took the other. While we were out she also bought a single serving of 2% fage to make her own homemade tazitki. Nothing beats that. Falafels are one of my favorite meals so I was a tough critic. These were pretty good, but definitely not the best i’ve had. They are easy and quick to heat up and your dinner is instantly served though. Convenience sometimes is key.

Picture 001

I also picked up a frozen tilapia entree from TJs. It had a citrus sauce and had lots of asparagus and carrots as well. They were sampling this with some quinoa when I was shopping there, and it was delicious! The fish tasted so fresh, and it was great to have it pre-marinated and ready to pop in the microwave on a rushed night. I copied the TJs workers and made some quinoa to go along with it and it was a great dinner.

Picture 002

I can’t even explain to you guys how sore I was after wakeboarding. I knew it was time for a yoga class. I needed my muscles stretched badllyyy. I looked up some yoga studios and found that there is a new power yoga studio right by my office called Lifeline Power Yoga. Whats unique about it is that it is completely donation based. they want to make yoga accessible to everybody and feel that sometimes it’s too expensive for most to attend. This way you can donate what you can afford and still experience a great class. They have a suggested donation of $10 , and a basket where you sign up so everything is completely anonymous. I got there kinda early because I am so close, and it was only me for a while. I was nervous that I would be the only student in the class that night. Thankfully 3 others came, but it was such a small class that it felt like a private session. I had taken slower yoga classes, and also Bikram. I had no idea what a Power Vinyasa flow was going to be like. I LOVED it. I was sweating like crazy the whole time (which I didn’t expect at all) and learned so many new postures. I did CROW for the first time, and my jaw actually dropped when it happened. It was an amazing feeling, and I left feeling so invigorated. When I get back from Florida my month pass to the gym will be up so this is what I’m going to be going to. It was an incredible class and I can’t wait to go back.

 

I’m not exactly sure what brought this on, but i’ve always had clear skin as long as I can remember. I never hardly broke out, maybe once in a blue moon, but lately i’ve been getting a big pimple here or there that would hurtttt, and some smaller ones along my forehead. I couldn’t understand why, but realized that the same thing happens to so many of us out of nowhere.  I tried buying new face washes, getting pimple treatments, but it seemed like nothing really responded to my skin well. I did a lot of searching online and happened to find a few products that I have fallen in love with.

A little while back I had wanted to make the change to natural skincare products. I bought products from Dr. Hauschka’s line and enjoyed most of his products. His company is a hollistic skin care company and I love their facial toner,

Dr.Hauschka Gesichtstonikum USA

 quince day cream moisturizer,

Dr.Hauschka Gesichtscreme Quitte USA

and their daily revitalizing eye cream. 

 eye cream

I found his products at my local Whole Foods.

I wasn’t so crazy about their cleansing cream at all and wanted to find a great cleaser and acne treatment. I have found the product finally that I have fallen in love with.I went to Sephora and found went straight to the Boscia section.  Boscia is a Japanese brand that is one of the worlds first preservative free, botanically-based skincare system. They are kind of expensive, but at this point I was ready to spend some extra money to get clear and amazing skin.

The cleanser I got was The Clear Complexion Cleanser with Botanical Blasts. It has a natural scent, hardly noticable at all and my face feels clean after, not tight and dry, or anything of the sorts. It almost instantly cleared my face and left it feeling great.

boscia cleanser($22)

The treatment I got was the Clear Complexion Treatment with Botanical Blast. This is a gel treatment that you put on after cleansing in the AM and PM. It says you should continually use it even when breakouts are gone to keep your skin breakout free.

boscia treatment($35)

I already had the Dr. Hauschka toner and moisturizer, but if you are in the market for all of these products and want to try them out, sephora has a great little Clear Complexion Kit for $48 which includes travel size cleanser, tonic, treatment, and moisturizer. This way you can test all the products and see how you like them.

kit

I also came along the most amazing tool from Sephora. A cellulose sponge set. Have you ever been to the spa and gotten a facial? These are the same types of sponges they use. At Sephora they are $6 for 3 but it has really made such a difference for me. The reviews on the website are amazing, and it really gives you a great cleansing when you wash your face. It is also SO important to wash your face morning and night. I have really started focusing to make sure I do that every single day.

cellulose sponge set

I hope you guys enjoyed the reviews on the products I have been loving lately 🙂

I wanted to leave you guys with a page from Dr Hauschka’s website about 7 facts that will change your skin: I picked a few that I thought were interesting.

1. Skip the night cream; your skin will thank you. While you sleep your skin is actually hard at work regenerating itself, balancing oil production and expelling impurities. Regular application of night creams interferes with these essential tasks, and over time skin becomes less able to care for itself. Covering the skin with moisturizer 24 hours a day sends a signal to sebaceous glands to cut down on moisture production, resulting in even drier skin that becomes dependent on moisturizing products just to appear “normal.”

2. Your skin is smart: Smarter than it’s often given credit for, that’s for sure. Our skin has an absolutely amazing ability to balance and heal itself, responding constantly to changes in our internal and external environments. It needs a little help along the way, like protection from overexposure to harsh elements, or support when it gets thrown out of balance by illness or stress. The key is to encourage and strengthen your skin’s own natural self-healing processes. Rather than suppressing symptoms or interfering with the skin’s natural rhythms, Dr. Hauschka Skin Care respects the skin, supporting its return to balanced health.

3. Ingredients matter…. and quality ingredients matter most. I never thought about using natural skin care products because I didn’t think it mattered, but I do feel like after reading all this information about it and reading about all the harsh chemicals infused in your products that it’s the first step to to take. Your skin is a reflection of how well you take care of yourself, and I want to do the best I can to make it look as good as possible.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2009 1:45 pm

    I definitely need to check out this Sephora place when one finally opens in my hometown (which I’ll be moving back to in a couple months). I’m looking to switch up my skin care routine, so it’s great to hear about some other product options that people like.

    Love the falafel as well. I haven’t had any in far too long. Yum!

  2. June 4, 2009 1:46 pm

    I would LOVE to hear some good skin care tips…keep it up! I’m getting to an age where I shouldn’t break out anymore 😦

  3. June 4, 2009 1:47 pm

    I like the direction your blog will be taking. I do feel like mine is becoming monotonous and boring so I might take the same approach.

  4. June 4, 2009 1:52 pm

    I think it’s a great idea for you to start expanding your blog and posting about other things you are into. It is YOUR blog after all!

    That yoga class sounds amazing. I’ve done a few power yoga classes and they are definitely not easy, but I usually prefer my yoga to be really challenging like that! I wish there were more yoga studios in my town!

  5. lowandbhold permalink
    June 4, 2009 1:52 pm

    Great post! I just went through a bad skin funk also, so that information is great!

  6. June 4, 2009 2:42 pm

    I’m definitely in support of whatever direction you decide to go!

    I’m so clueless about skin care products, it’s nice to get some info 🙂

  7. June 4, 2009 2:47 pm

    Good job chica – you do what makes you happy!

  8. homegirlcaneat permalink
    June 4, 2009 2:53 pm

    Omgosh I loved this post suga!!! I took my first vinyasa yoga class today at my gym and wow, I never realized how much I loved yoga! I’ve done a lot of bikram in the past but vinyasa got me doing poses I’ve never tried and didn’t hurt my back at all!

    That boscia skin line sounds amazing! I’ve always suffered from acne and lately it’s been kinda bad, so I am totally gonna go search for that! I love how natural it is! Thanks darling!!

  9. June 4, 2009 3:36 pm

    i look forward to seeing where you take your blog! i love it already but i am sure i will love any changes as well. i am not a yoga girl, never done it actually can you believe it? i think it is because i feel like i would fail miserably since i can’t even touch my toes 😛 wakeboarding makes me SO sore.. after the first time out of the season, at least!

  10. June 4, 2009 3:41 pm

    Hi Ash, YAYYY for you for speaking out about what you’d truly love to blog about, because DANG I’d love to hear what you have to say about beauty products. Jillian michael’s is scaring me with her talk show and how everything in this world has chemicals and preservatives, but i have no idea what skin care products DON’T contain that crap. Your recommendations will definitely give me somewhere to start, which is fabulous!!!! 🙂 Right now…i’m using moisturizers and eye cream from Shiseido, which is working well…but I’m all of a sudden breaking out too, i’m guessing cuz of hormones or the change in season!

    Switch up your blog ALL you want cuz it’s gonna be fantastic (and i’m gonna be a fan) no matter what. 🙂

  11. June 4, 2009 4:55 pm

    Those falafels look awesome! Don’t you love how versatile Fage is?

    Blog what YOU liked to blog about – we’ll still be here reading 🙂 Thanks for all of your beauty recs!!

  12. June 4, 2009 7:02 pm

    I love falafels, but don’t think I’ve ever bought them pre-made. Where they frozen and pre-packaged, or more of fresh from a deli?

    • June 9, 2009 6:17 am

      They’re prepackaged but in the refridgerated section! Not frozen. I put mine in the freezer though so they’ll last longer 🙂

  13. Brittany permalink
    June 4, 2009 8:31 pm

    I can’t think of anything more perfect for you to talk about and recommend. I think I might have to look at this every single day now!! I don’t know anything when it comes to these products and I always think that I want to buy them, but I don’t know where to start. Plus, you’re an absolutely pro at this stuff! 🙂

    I miss and I love you and can’t wait to see more beauty content!

    LOVE!!!

  14. June 4, 2009 9:39 pm

    great post girly, cant wait to see what else you come up with!

  15. broccolihut permalink
    June 4, 2009 11:12 pm

    I’ll keep reading, no matter what!

    Falafel balls?! You’re making me wish that we hadn’t let our Costco membership expire…

  16. June 5, 2009 12:38 am

    I love beauty product reviews and tips! I’m excited to see what fun things you show us.

    I want to try falafel. I never have, but it alwasy looks good! I’m nervous that I wouldnt like it since I dont like hummus and Ive heard they are made from similar ingredients!

  17. June 5, 2009 5:52 am

    Thanks for the skin product reviews. I would like to make the switch to natural skin products but just really don’t know where to start!

    So nice that the new yoga studio you found accept donations for classes. I’m trying to find a good studio in St. Louis when I move, but they all seem super expensive so far. 😦

  18. June 5, 2009 6:06 am

    I really enjoyed this post, Ashley! I would love for you to keep sharing your beauty secrets 🙂 I am definitely going to check out both brands after reading this post. I have heard good things about both of them before that they are defintiely worth the money. Seeing how clear your skin is in your photos is the only other proof I need!

  19. June 5, 2009 7:59 am

    I’ve bought that tilapia from TJ’s before, and I was very impressed! Putting it with quinoa sounds delicious!

  20. sweetkaroline permalink
    June 5, 2009 11:01 am

    Thanks for checking out my blog and leaving a comment! It allowed me to discover your blog!

    I love your post on natural skin products. I would love to switch over from my (i’m sure) chemically laden skin care products but honestly I’m a little afraid that I’ll break out in hives or acne or worse if I switch things up.

    I look forward to reading your blog in the future!
    ~SweetKaroline

  21. June 5, 2009 11:13 am

    OMG I just tried wakeboarding for the first time this week! I laughed out loud when I saw your picture in the water, haha, that was SO me.

  22. June 5, 2009 1:46 pm

    doing whatever makes you happy with your blog is the #1 most important thing!!! that yoga class sounds great btw. i love the dontations idea!

  23. Menden permalink
    June 6, 2009 12:20 pm

    Hi! I keep hearing about Dr. Hauschka’s products – and I think you may have just sold me on trying them 🙂

    I am also a total beauty product junkie – I’d love to read more about your faves!!

    Have a great weekend!

  24. June 7, 2009 2:40 am

    I feel the same way about my blog, I often eat the same things every single day and then I feel so lame blogging the exact same stuff all the time. I’m trying to switch things up and add new things in. I say, go with what you feel. It’s your blog so you have complete control of what you want to do with it. Either way I’m sure it’ll turn out great!

  25. June 7, 2009 12:54 pm

    I’ve never had falafel’s before – but I love the cucumber sauce!!

  26. June 8, 2009 10:16 am

    nice round up on the skin care products.. sometimes i still get break-outs.. and I am WAY too old to be getting breakouts!!!

  27. July 1, 2009 2:22 pm

    You take this blog and do whatever you want to it and it will be amazing because it is from you! I just love reading about what you have to say, eat, and do. I can totally sympathize with those feelings of ” um all I want is oatmeal for breakfast and Ive had that the last four days straight , thats so boring… ” feelings. No worries! Make whatever you want and post about whatever you want! You rock.

    Love the falafel and the beauty tips!

    http://beinghealthier.com

Leave a Reply

