Skip to content

weekend get here NOW

May 21, 2009

hello alll! Thursday is finally here! which means friday is tomorrow and a long weekend straight ahead! Saturday me and a few of my friends have plans to go to Brew in the zoo! it’s a beer and wine tasting event at the Baltimore Zoo and I absolutely can not wait! The weather forecast looks great and i am pumpppeddd! We are prob going to lay low tomorrow night so that we’re well rested by Saturday πŸ™‚

Onto the recap!!!

Yesterday I found out online that my fav brand of hair products Kerastase was having a one day event. They were doing complimentary hair treatments and blow outs at their featured salons. One of them happened to be right by my work! I called and miraculously was able to schedule an appointment right after 5.Β  This was a $100 value and I could not believe it! It was nice to feel pampered after a stressful week. I have also scheduled an appointment for a hair cut at a new salon by my house that I found one day on one of my runs. It’s for tomorrow after work so i’m hoping they do a good job!

When I got back from the salon last night it was time for dinner. I had a bag of oyster mushrooms sitting in my crisper and knew I had to use those up before they went bad. I picked up some asparagus on the way home and knew it was time for stirfry. I threw some sesame oil and vegetable oil in a pan and heated it up, added in a chopped garlic clove then the asparagus and oyster mushrooms. I sauteed till the mushrooms were juicy and the asparagus slightly tender but had a crisp bite to it. Then I added in some oyster and sriracha sauce and it was simple as that. I had a huge bowl and enjoyed it to the last bite. Stirfrys are so simple and quick to make and the flavor of everything combined is heavenly.

stirfry

For my dessert I made a no pudge πŸ™‚ unfortunately the pic turned out all blurry, sorrr.

This morning I remembered my good old friend oatmeal and whipped up a batch that was oh so delicious. I used half a cup of oats and 1 c of almond milk. Topped it off with some Bobs Red Mill muesli, raw almond butter, chia seeds, and a squirt of agave. I LOVED the muesli addition. added a nice texture and flavor change and I will definitely repeat this. This bowl kept me full all the way till lunch. That is almost unheard of.

oatmeal

For lunch I went home and made a paniniiiiiiii. I had some pitas in the freezer so I threw one in the micro and then filled it up. This one had laughing cow, sabra hummus, turkey, artichokes, roasted red pepper, and sundried tomatoes. AH. The bread made the panini. It was by far the best one i’ve made. Threw some juicy strawberries on the side. So filling and delish.

Picture 007

Tonight I’m aiming for a run and either body pump if my knees are feeling alright, or a workout dvd or lifting at the gym. I guess it all depends on the knees. I have a yellow squash in my crisper in the fridge and kind of want to use it up. Any dinner ideas?? πŸ™‚

Does anyone have any fun memorial day weekend plans?? I hope everyone enjoys their long weekend! I absolutely CAN NOT wait for it to get here! Chase and Eden are coming on Saturday and I am so so happyyyy.

Have a wonderful dayyyyyyy! love you guys!

29 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2009 1:34 pm

    yay for sweet free hair treatments, that’s awesome! by the way, your panini looks so amazing. what do you cook that on? it’s 1130 here now and looking at that pic has me drooling!!!! im so psyched for the weekend, no big plans besides beach and grilling hopefully every day. your drinking zoo adventure sounds like fun tho! cant wait to see pics from THAT!

  2. May 21, 2009 1:54 pm

    That sandwich looks phenomenal!!
    enjoy the weekend with your boy and doggie!

  3. May 21, 2009 1:58 pm

    I love Kerastase! So jealous of your deal!

    That panini looks great! I hope your knees feel like a million bucks tonight! πŸ™‚

    Kaneil, balanceisbest

  4. May 21, 2009 2:04 pm

    Ahhh I’m having trouble with what to make for dinner too! That panini is lookin goood though πŸ™‚ Hope you have fun for memorial day! I’m going out East on the island to my little summer shack! Should be fun

  5. May 21, 2009 2:22 pm

    woo hang in there girl – the weekend is so soon! and look at you livn’ the high life with that complimentary hair appt. ms glamorous – enjoy :)!

    p.s. what brand of pita bread do you use? your panini looks amaaaaaazing!

  6. May 21, 2009 3:22 pm

    LOL. Brew in the Zoo sounds SO fun!

    Ya know what else looks fun, that panini. I’m jealz. I hate squash, lol, so I have no recipe ideas for you!

  7. May 21, 2009 4:01 pm

    brew in the zoo?!!? utah would never have anything that awesome. ever. utah fails at anything having to do with alcohol. that is what you get when the state is run by a religion. i bet that will be so fun though!!

    that stir fry looks good, i love some good fungus!

    i am going camping all weekend, yesss hooray for 3 day weekends!

    friday GET HERE!

  8. May 21, 2009 5:07 pm

    What a great deal on the salon!! Getting your hair done is always relaxing! That stir fry = YUM!

    Brew in the Zoo?! LOVE IT! That sounds like so much fun!

  9. May 21, 2009 6:27 pm

    nice deal with the hair treatments! i always love free stuff.. enjoy the weather!!

  10. May 21, 2009 7:15 pm

    I can be picky about only eating perfect strawberries, but those looks pretty amazing.

  11. skinnymenny permalink
    May 21, 2009 8:42 pm

    Oooh, I loooove Kerastase products! That’s awesome!

    Food looks delicious, as usual! Have a great long weekend πŸ™‚

  12. May 21, 2009 9:23 pm

    who doesnt love being pampered!

  13. May 21, 2009 10:19 pm

    I’m a big fan of stir fries too, especially with sesame oil. I can almost smell it right now. yumm!

    and Brew in the Zoo sounds so fun! Can’t wait for your recap πŸ™‚

  14. Brooke permalink
    May 21, 2009 10:51 pm

    THE ZOOOOO! sounds like so much fun! I love social events like that!

    That bread looks amazing!! What kind is it my dear? Paninis are da bomb!

  15. broccolihut permalink
    May 21, 2009 11:37 pm

    Your breakfast looks amazing!!
    I am headed to the lake on Saturday, where I’ll kayaking and soaking up the sun:)

  16. May 22, 2009 4:13 am

    I’ve been wanting to try Kerastase…I hear it’s a great brand. I’m glad to read a good review of it because I’ve been wondering if it’s worth the price!
    Hope you have a fantastic weekend, Miss Ashley!

  17. May 22, 2009 9:51 am

    the panini looks so good! i always forget how much i love artichokes. have fun with the boy this weekend!

  18. May 22, 2009 10:46 am

    Oh wow, panini! And I keep on forgetting, it IS a long weekend for Amercians!! πŸ˜›

  19. eatinnyc permalink
    May 22, 2009 10:58 am

    That event at the zoo sounds AMAZING!!!!! I want to find one in nyc now!!! Have the absolute best time πŸ™‚ My weekend is going to be dedicated to revamping my apartment, running 12 miles…and lots of eating and drinking πŸ™‚

  20. eatinnyc permalink
    May 22, 2009 10:58 am

    That event at the zoo sounds AMAZING!!!!! I want to find one in nyc now!!! Have the absolute best time πŸ™‚ My weekend is going to be dedicated to revamping my apartment, running 12 miles…and lots of eating and drinking πŸ™‚
    xoxo
    s
    http://eatfabinnyc.wordpress.com

  21. May 22, 2009 12:37 pm

    Beer and wine tasting sounds perfect! What a great way to spend an afternoon!

    OHH! Hair salon relaxation! πŸ™‚ Actually as I was reading this I booked an appointment for a massage! Not kidding! hahaha

    Food looks super good. Yumm!The panini looks soooooo good!

    I wish I were in the US for the long weekend! We had ours here in Canada last weekend πŸ™‚

    Enjoy your long weekend!

  22. May 22, 2009 2:37 pm

    I have never tried muesli….but I REALLY want to. And let’s be honest, I’ll probably be eating oats for breakfast for the rest of my existence so…I might as well add in some new things here and there. πŸ™‚

    That panini looks SO good. mmmm.

  23. May 22, 2009 9:43 pm

    Brew in the Zoo sounds like so much fun! Take lots of pictures!

    I love Bob’s Mill Muesli, too…I need to start buying that again!

  24. May 23, 2009 5:14 pm

    dude, the panini is absolutely amazing looking. i really need my panini grill back from home!

    weekend plans? hang out w/ the boy and go see a blogger!!!

  25. May 24, 2009 8:30 pm

    Asparagus and mushrooms is definitely a match made in heaven. YUM!!

    I went to the National Zoo and a Nats game yesterday, but it has been nice just to be lazy today. I’m so happy to have a bonus day! I need it since I still don’t have things back in order since vacation. Hooray for Memorial Day! I hope you have had an awesome weekend! πŸ™‚

  26. strivingforbalance permalink
    May 25, 2009 9:34 am

    Hye i just found your blog and I really like it! I used to play field hockey too πŸ™‚

    mm that panini looks great!

    http://strivingforbalance.wordpress.com/

  27. May 25, 2009 4:26 pm

    now that is one awesome looking panini girl!!
    hope your having a great memorial day πŸ™‚

  28. May 25, 2009 6:06 pm

    Ahh I love Kerastase products! My best friend got me hooked πŸ™‚

    Hope you had a lovely weekend!

  29. May 25, 2009 8:03 pm

    That panini gives me all kinds of ideas for my Griddler!

Leave a Reply

