Skip to content

dirty monkey

May 20, 2009

Happy Hump Day!! WOOP! the week is halfway over, im dancin over here πŸ™‚

Lets see, where did i leave off?

Well yesterday for lunch I went home and made a burrito bowl. I had some brown rice, black beans, corn, onions, cumin added in, and a little mozzerella cheese and some hot sauce! This was a powerhouse. It kept me full for SO LONG!

burrito bowl

When I got back home from work I went out on a 2.5 mile run. The run itself felt great but when I got back my left knee was a little sore. I usually ice my knees once im done running anyways so it didn’t seem like much of a big deal. After I got back from my run I made a new AMAZING smoothie. I was lucky enough to receive samples from the amazing people at amazing grass. I am going to do a review VERY soon, lets just say I’m in love with them. Their products are absolutely amazing. I was planning on doing a body pump class at 7PM with my roomies at the gym that we got a free month pass to, but knew I wouldn’t be able to make it till 8 PM without eating something. I decided to use the packet of the chocolate inflused amazing meal. I threw in the packet into the blender with 1 c of almond milk and then threw in a frozen banana and some ice cubes. HAS ANYONE EVER HAD A DIRTY MONKEY/BANANA? its like a frozen mixed drink that is my absolute hands down fav. its got chocolate, banana, rum, and a few other ingredients.Β Β Well this tasted absolutely identical, only without the alcohol πŸ™‚ I am soooo in love with this, and will be buying more once i’m out. i’m sold on it! Well it did its amazing job and kept me invigorated till I got home from the gym πŸ™‚

AM_Choco175x362

dirty banana

Well we had to pick up my roomies passes before teh class at 7, so we got there at 6:30. Turns out the class before ours didn’t get out until 5 minutes before so we all did 20 minutes on the eliptical before hand. Bodypump was AWESOME! It was exactly the same class at my group power classes that I was so in love with at my previous gym. I can’t wait to go more πŸ™‚ Its a class that will get me doing strength training while enjoying myself 100%. It pushes me further than I would push myself with weights and I feel so accomplished after. The only prob was that there were so many lunges and squats during the hour class that my knee was killing me when I left. I put some tiger balm on it when we got home and then iced it last night and today but its still so sore. I’m going to take it easy today and try and do a little yoga to stretch it out but thats it.

Last night when I got back from the gym I was so exhausted and wanted something quick to eat before I could collapse in bed. I made some tofu salad. I had 1/3 of a block of tofu, mashed it up, then added a spoon of my raw mayo, mustard, salt, pep, and some old bay! Mixed it up and topped it on a bed of romaine and dinner was servedddd. tastes JUST like egg salad!

tofu salad

So this morning I used a new cereal I bought last night. Kashi honey sunshine! For some reason I thought they’d be as big as puffins but they’re teeny tiny. I really like the cereal, but to be honest…. i’ve GOT to buy a box of pb puffins next time, its been far too long! Well I had some yogurt, the kashi, chia seeds, blueberries and strawberries with a small spoon of raw almond butter. I also had it with a black coffee with a little stevia. Normally I like my coffee with cream but today I only had my little mug. It was filled all the way to the top so I hadΒ  sip of it to make it low enough for me to add the creamer. Turns out I liked it black with stevia, I didn’t need the creamer at all πŸ™‚ nice to know!

breakfast

I liked the tofu salad so much last night that I decided to have it again for lunch πŸ™‚ I mixed up the tofu and then put it in a wrap with a romaine mix and grilled it up on the foreman. AH delish. It was a tiny wrap so I also had 2 slices of deli turkey on the side.

tofu wrap

I hope you guys enjoy your day! It’s gorgeous here, after work i’m going to walk around the harbor and enjoy the weather. xoxo

24 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2009 1:13 pm

    Dirty monkey? I have never heard of it but it sounds good! As does that shake!

  2. May 20, 2009 1:34 pm

    1- that burrito bowl thang looks fabulous.

    2- i have that same cup you used for your smoothie drink, but ive never had a dirty monkey.. sounds kinky and fantastic.

    3- tofu salad! never tried it, but now i am making a note that i should because it looks pretty good and i love egg salad.. this is probably a way healthier version.

    4- have a great day enjoying the weather!

  3. May 20, 2009 1:46 pm

    i think i could pretty much be a happy girl if i ate that burrito bowl every day of my life…

    that amazing grass stuff looks very interestingggggg – can’t wait to hear your thoughts

    enjoy your day girlie πŸ™‚

  4. May 20, 2009 1:48 pm

    The basic beans/rice/cheese meal is just perfect, isn’t it!? So filling, so inexpensive, and the varieties are endless. I love it.

  5. Julie permalink
    May 20, 2009 1:57 pm

    okay that tofu salad is genius! did you use baked tofu or drained tofu? how did you make it?? lovin the looks of that smoooothie πŸ™‚

  6. May 20, 2009 2:13 pm

    Oh wow, totally love the tofu salad! Mmmm, delicious!

  7. May 20, 2009 2:22 pm

    happy hump day! YAY! tofu salad sounds so good! i need to remember to try that next time i’m craving egg salad.

  8. May 20, 2009 2:45 pm

    That dirty monkey sounds great! That product is on its way to me so now I am extra excited! That tofu wrap looks great too! Such a good substitution to egg salad!

  9. May 20, 2009 3:28 pm

    tiger balm rocks! I hope that did the trick for your knees!! There’s nothing like finding an AWESOME class to go to…i love my favorite class too…it’s called sexy bodies. hahah how dorky huh?

    Oooh your tofu scramble salad looks like cottage cheese. πŸ˜› And i love that you put it in the wrap!!! It sounds like a new concoction i must try!

    P.s. I JUST tried the kashi sunshines and agree with u that…PB puffins just kinda trump those little suckers, though they’re quite good. They just remind me of cap’n crunch!

  10. May 20, 2009 4:44 pm

    I’m absolutely loving the weather we’re getting around here! It’s finally acting like May πŸ˜›

    I’ve never had a dirty monkey! But it sounds pretty damn good πŸ™‚ and that smoothie looks awesome! So glad that you enjoyed it!

    So cool that you found a new class at the gym! Bodypump sounds pretty intense haha!

    I hope you have a lovely evening!

    Love,
    Meg

    p.s. I’ve recently fallen in LOVE with tofu – so you just gave me a good idea as to other ways to use it!

  11. May 20, 2009 4:54 pm

    Black with stevia – that’s how I like mine as well πŸ™‚ I need to try making a tofu salad. It looks delicious! What texture tofu did you use?

  12. May 20, 2009 5:01 pm

    I am JEALOUS that you have body pump near you!!!! I have it at my school’s gym and went all the time. and I see you run too…we have a lot in common! btw your food looks GREAT!

  13. eatlivelovedream permalink
    May 20, 2009 5:36 pm

    Enjoy the nice weather and your walk. Walking is so calming, and it’s so nice to get some fresh air:)

  14. Megan permalink
    May 20, 2009 6:42 pm

    Yay for nice weather finallY!!! And I love your tofu wrap.. looks SO good!! Have a great rest of the week girl<3

  15. May 20, 2009 7:50 pm

    I love making burrito bowls. They do really keep me full for a long time, too! πŸ™‚

    I have the same problem in Body Pump. My knees hurt so much that I had to stop doing it.

    Tofu salad sounds interesting and looks really good! Love those wraps!

  16. May 20, 2009 8:27 pm

    I used to drink my coffee with cream too, but realized I didn’t really need the cream either and now drink it black.

  17. May 20, 2009 9:47 pm

    I like your style! That burrito bowl looks fab, as does your tofu salad wrap (and i’ve never even had tofu!)

  18. May 20, 2009 10:06 pm

    Body pump sounds like so much fun! I’m thinking about joining a gym just so I can take classes like that. Hope your knee is ok though!

  19. broccolihut permalink
    May 20, 2009 11:35 pm

    Mmm tofu salads are one of my favorite quick & easy meals!

  20. May 21, 2009 12:33 am

    That burrito bowl looks so good! that is just my kind of meal!

    Its crazy how that tofu salad even LOOKS exactly like egg salad! It almost makes me want to eat it! πŸ™‚

  21. May 21, 2009 8:19 am

    Thanks for the inspiration– I’m gonna try a burrito bowl for lunch today!

  22. May 22, 2009 4:11 am

    Never tried a dirty monkey but it sounds like a fantastic cocktail! Can you order it at bars or can you only make it at home since it requires fruit?!
    I want to run soooo bad but I have only been on one (short) run since my race! My stupid knees! Gar! I sympathize with you…stay off it if it’s acting up. Easier said than done, though!

  23. May 25, 2009 11:03 am

    what a fantastic shake!!! never had a dirty monkey rum or no rum but that looks great!

    Tofu Salad Wrap!!?!? How innovative! I just got some tofu and was going to do a few fun things with it so that is a great idea!

    hope you have a wonderful memorial day weekend!!

  24. Rachel permalink
    June 4, 2009 9:05 pm

    Wow I am definitely going to try this chocolate amazing grass powder!!

Leave a Reply

