Skip to content

focused man

May 19, 2009

Well hello πŸ™‚ Hope you are having a wonderful Tuesday so far! I think after today my work load will be much less and i’ll be able to breathe once again . yessssssss. Yesterday was a good day though and I felt back in the groove.

Yesterday morning started off with a yogurt cereal combo with some blueberries and some raw almond butter. I am loving this combo and need to get more berries!!

cereal

For lunch I went home and made use of some of the leftovers my mom had given me to take back. I made my own summer rolls! Granted mine probably werent as tightly wrapped as they could have been, but hey im learning πŸ™‚

I used these wrappers and they come hard. I put them in warm water and they softened up perfectly. I added in some of the marinated meat, noodles, and some lettuce. I made two and had some ginger soy dressing on the side but didn’t even need it because the marinade was so flavorful. Surprisingly this kept me full the remainder of the day until I was out of work! These wrappers are awesome, and I highly suggest them! so easy to use and makes a meal great.

roll wrappers

Β 

rolls

rolls2

After work I headed on over to the gym by my house to pick up a month pass. I”m so excited becuase they have TONS of classes like body pump, body combat, and they seem like a lot of fun. I love classes and thats the main thing I miss about being at my old gym. The classes were great, but right now i’m enjoying saving money and running outside and doing dvds. After I got back from getting my membership I went on a 3.5 mile run with my roomie Laur. I’ve got to get back in the groove with running and this was a great run. The weather was perfect and we finished strong!

When we got back from our run we headed straight to the kitchen for dinner. My mom had also given me some marinated chicken so I put it on the foreman and we used it in a salad. I also grilled up some eggplant for it, and topped the salad with the ginger soy dressing. This was absolutely delishhh! I want to start eating more salads as meals, gotta think of some good varieties.

Β 

salad2salad

Β 

Β After dinner digested I turned on exercisetv on demand and put in the Bob Harper’s yoga. I enjoyed it but I guess since its free they cut a lot out? I enjoy my yoga downloads a lot better though but it was great to get some yoga in again. i miss it and want to start doing it more often. It gives me such peace.

I started thinking about the half marathon, and just KNEW that something was off. I looked at the date, and lo and behold, it’s the same date as one of my field hockey friends wedding. It’s my first friend wedding and i’m so excited for it but was bummed to find out that I woudln’t be able to do the Baltimore half. I searched online for another half but there weren’t really many in Maryland. I DID however find one in NY. There is the Hamptons half, and its at the end of Sept. Exactly around the time I wanted to run my first half. Chase is in the Hamptons right now so there would be no problem for a place to stay and I read that its an amazingly beautiful course and only has small hills. This sounded absolutely perfect but I slept on it to make sure. well………. I registered for the Hampton’s Half Marathon on September 26th. I then printed out my Hal Higdon’s half marathon training schedule and am going to see how I like it. If i prefer to train on my own i will, but this seems like a nice gradual program. It’s 12 weeks long, and there are 18 weeks before my race so it gives me some buffer room. I’m focused and ready to do this! Lifelong goal will be COMPLETED in Sept. AH! This feels crazy, but I can’t wait to feel the most amazing sense of accomplishment when this is over. Thank you all for being so supportive all of the time and helping to push me through and get me to where I want to go. You are the best, and I honestly couldn’t do it without you. XOXO

Β 

Well this mornign I woke up a little later because I hit the snooze button off so I didn’t have time to make my planned oats. Instead I made a breakfast burrito with 2 eggs, a laughing cow wedge, and some black beans and hot sauceΒ in a grilled wrap. Eggs don’t tend to keep me as full as oats do, but this has done a pretty good job so far!

burrito

I wanted to leave you guys with a pic of Hersh from this weekend. Haven’t put a pic of her up in a while, so heres some Hershey loving. hope you all have a BEAUTIFUL day!

Hershey

28 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2009 11:22 am

    Amazing looking food!I can’t decide what looks best! and the puppy doggy is gorgeous!!

    That’s too bad you can’t do the half but a friend’s wedding is definitely more important! I am sure you can find another one! πŸ™‚

  2. May 19, 2009 12:05 pm

    DOGGY!!!!

    Sad about the half, but good thing is there will be more half marathons!

    Have a fab day

  3. snackface permalink
    May 19, 2009 12:23 pm

    You have me rrrreally wanting those summer rolls! MMM. And I thank you, from the bottom of my heart, for the Hersh pic! I miss my puppies so much and this just made my day! Haha I’m a sap. Have a great Tuesday chiquita!

  4. May 19, 2009 12:44 pm

    Glad you found a half that worked! πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to hear about the training!

  5. May 19, 2009 12:47 pm

    your food yesterday looks amazing! those wrappers make your lunch look gourmet LOL. that’s so great you found another half you can run without having to miss the wedding. it’s totally meant to be πŸ™‚

  6. May 19, 2009 1:06 pm

    love the home made summer rolls!

  7. May 19, 2009 1:06 pm

    how much do i love your dog and the fact that his name is hershey?! adorable!

    those rolls look good, they look like they would be at some fancy restaurant actually, good work!

    nice job on sorting things out with the run πŸ™‚

  8. May 19, 2009 1:23 pm

    aw my busy busy girl i hope you find some time to breath today – i’ve heard breathing is quite important πŸ™‚

    sorry about the conflict with the race but im so glad to hear you were able to find another one (in the hamptons no less! fancy schmanyyyyy)

    enjoy the rest of your day princess!

  9. May 19, 2009 3:15 pm

    love the pic of the pup!! hes so cute!

    those rolls look delish.. i would love to make those!

  10. May 19, 2009 3:18 pm

    ah, too bad you can’t do the half, but i’m sure the wedding is going to be just as great and rewarding!

    and i love that breakfast wrap…it’s def screaming my name!

  11. May 19, 2009 3:57 pm

    summer rolls look DELISH!

  12. May 19, 2009 3:57 pm

    summer rolls look DELISH! so jealous!

  13. musicmaven10 permalink
    May 19, 2009 5:57 pm

    That’s so exciting that you registered for the half! I just ran my first half on Sunday and I used the Hal Higdon plan too!

  14. May 19, 2009 6:41 pm

    I’ve never made spring rolls, but it looks like it would be something fun to do sometime. And now I know what type of wrappers to use if I do feel inspired to do so!

  15. May 19, 2009 7:26 pm

    Such delicious eats, and love the spring rolls!

  16. May 19, 2009 8:32 pm

    Thanks Ashley! I’m glad you liked the dress! And I love that a “quick” breakfast for you still looks gourmet πŸ™‚

    Have fun with your new gym membership!

  17. May 19, 2009 8:58 pm

    Your spring rolls look great!

    Awesome job!

  18. homegirlcaneat permalink
    May 19, 2009 9:03 pm

    Your pup is so cute!! And the spring rolls look amazing and fresh and summery!

    Also..I just read in another one of your posts that you are a graphic design artist! That is what I want to do with my life!! Where did you study/who do you work for? I am so interested!

  19. May 19, 2009 9:44 pm

    I had a totally similar sitch, where a dance comp was on the same day as my cousin’s wedding, that I was a bridesmaid in!! I def felt bad and sad missing out on the comp…it was SO worth it to be there with my cousin on that amazingly special day, and that is so great that u found a replacement half πŸ˜€ !! Good luck girlie

  20. Megan permalink
    May 19, 2009 10:23 pm

    Aww thats too bad about the Baltimore half.. but at least you’ll be having fun at the wedding! And your other half you’re running… is on my 21st birthday!! πŸ™‚ You better kick some booty for me girly!

  21. Sweet and Fit permalink
    May 19, 2009 10:33 pm

    summer rolls??!?! omgosh they look delish! ever since we talked about making homemade ones in g-town, I have been meaning to pick up the wrappers at my local asian supermarket…keep forgetting, hehe

    glad work is calming down for you and that you found a half marathon that fits your schedule =)

  22. May 19, 2009 11:24 pm

    Doing a half in the Hamptons sounds awesome – I’m sure it’s a beautiful course!

    My college roommate showed me how to make spring rolls a few months ago and we used those same wrappers. My rolls didn’t turn out as nicely wrapped as yours though, I kept getting the wraps stuck on each other and then ripping them haha. oh well. Yours look great though!

  23. broccolihut permalink
    May 19, 2009 11:44 pm

    Your spring rolls look so professional! Kudos!

    Can I kidnap Hershey for the afternoon? He’s adorable!

  24. May 20, 2009 8:16 am

    I love spring/summer rolls!

    YAY For the hamptons half marathon – sounds perfect

  25. May 20, 2009 10:52 am

    the hamptons half sounds perfect! thanks for the heads up. i’ve been looking into it today. i also just got an email from a friend in the city that wants to start a running club so its perfect timing!

  26. skinnymenny permalink
    May 20, 2009 11:37 am

    Those spring rolls look ah-mazing! yum!

    I’m excited for you and the half marathon – sounds like everything’s falling into place…you go girl!

  27. May 20, 2009 11:37 am

    glad you found a different race!! And love the spring rolls, I never really thought about making them, but that seems pretty easy

  28. A.R. permalink
    May 28, 2009 11:09 pm

    Thanks for the welcome! I love making those fresh spring rolls–I have some of those wrappers in my cupboard, and you reminded me to break them out and experiment with them again. Last time they were tasty, but a bit tragic looking. I need to work on my wrapping skills! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

