Skip to content

Girl Time

April 30, 2009

its thursday tomorrows friday, do a dance πŸ™‚ wooo

Just gotta get through these next few dayssss!

Welp. lets see. Where to start? Oh right, yesterdays lunch. Well since traffic was still a little hectic I decided to just bring my lunch with me to work. I had a whole can of Wolfgang Puck’s Vegetable Barley soup with some crackers. This brand of soup is really the best i’ve personally had. I’d even say its better than Amys. Big words right there. It just tastes so fresh and not like its been packaged at all. There are always huge chunks of vegetables and its amazing. I got these when they were on sale at WF, but they’re pretty expensive other than that. Hopefully another sale soon?

soup

After work I went home and decided to make a green smoothie to help me make it through Bikram. The smoothie was the perfect pre bikram snack. I think from now on i’ll have one before I go.

greenie1

So I was finally able to get to Bikram last night. yesss. I was so excited, but let me tell you that this is by far the hardest class I’ve been in. I’m not sure if it was the fact that I haven’t gone in a while or the fact that it’s getting hotter so the room is much more humid but I felt like I was going to die. I sweat more than ever before, I probably could have filled up a bucket. yuck sorry. It felt like the class was forever long, but nothing beats the feeling of when you’re done. It’s like your body instantly thanks you for it, and I feel absolutely amazing. Next week i’m going to try and go much more often, because I only ahve 2 weeks left of my membership and I want to not waste my money. Get everything I can out of it and feel great in return.

Β 

When I got back from Bikram I instantly showered and pondered what I was going to make for dinner. I looked in the fridge and grabbed pretty much anything vegetable I had. I decided on a stirfry πŸ™‚ I chopped up some zuchini, squash, kale, tofu, and oyster mushrooms. I sauteed all of them then I sauteed up some garlic, threw everything back in the pan and added in my sauce. I made a sauce of some soy sauce, sesame oil, agave, red pepper flakes and rice vinegar. I let the sauce soak into the veggies and tofu and let some of it evaporate then threw it in my bowl. This was an aweseome quick dinner. I didn’t have the energy to spend a lot of time making food and this was perfect.

stirfry-2

stirfry

This morning I had a breakfast cookie but since I ran out of bananas I used applesauce instead. This cookie contained:
2/3 c oats
1 scoop protein powder
1 tbsp flax
squirt of agave
1 heaping spoonful of cinnamon applesauce
some chocolate chips

cookie3

I liked the applesauce addition and it actually made the cookie a little harder consistency which I liked better. This also is keeping me so full! Usually by now i’m ready for my morning snack and i’m still not hungry in the slightest bit.

Β 

So some fun news πŸ™‚ My sister and I are going to be going to Florida for a week in June. AH! this is my first official vacation since i’ve started working and I can’t wait! All my mom’s side of the family will be there and my cousin Jessie and her husband Billy are going on a cruise so my aunt is watching their two girls. Maddie is 2 and Abby is about 8 months old now. The last time I saw maddie was a year ago and I’ve never met Abby before. We are going to be able to take them to the pool and play with them the whole week! I also can’t wait to get in some sun, and be able to lay out and just relax. So excited for this vacation, and also excited for all the yummy Chinese food we’ll be eating! YUM

Maddie

Maddie

Β 

Abby

Abby

Have a wonderful day you guys! xoxo

38 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2009 9:03 am

    You know I love the stir-fry πŸ™‚
    How exciting about your family get together and lots of Chinese food! I bet it’s a lot like when my family gets together…it’s ALL about the food!

  2. April 30, 2009 9:14 am

    good luck with the next few days!

  3. April 30, 2009 9:21 am

    Back to Bikram and a vacation…Sounds like you had an awesome day!

  4. Megan permalink
    April 30, 2009 9:22 am

    I love authentic Chinese food! SO yummy… Abby looks exactly like my sister did when she was little!! I mean EXACTLY. It kind of creeps me out how much they look alike actually..

    Have a great rest of the week/weekend!

  5. April 30, 2009 9:33 am

    I feel like Amy’s soups are always too bland! Glad Puck’s was better!! Woohoo for an upcoming vaca!! Those kids are adorable!

    Have a great Thursday πŸ™‚

  6. eatlivelovedream permalink
    April 30, 2009 9:34 am

    Vacations are so fun! Always something to look forward to:) I’m in need of one too!

  7. April 30, 2009 9:53 am

    Dinner looks great – I might replicate that tonight.

    Those girls are soooo cute!

  8. April 30, 2009 9:56 am

    I’m so glad you finally made it to Bikram! Those really hot days can make the class much harder, but I agree that it’s so worth it in the end. The little girls are adorable!!! Where in Florida are you guys going?

    Kaneil, balanceisbest

  9. April 30, 2009 9:59 am

    I can’t wait for my vacation in just a couple weeks! Isn’t it great having something to look forward to?

  10. April 30, 2009 10:19 am

    I was happy to see your Bikram summary. I’m totally scared of it! Basically because of all the stuff you’re talking about. But I’d still like to try it!

  11. April 30, 2009 10:26 am

    stir fry is like my fav! i can make most veggies work together that way!

  12. sarahdbelle permalink
    April 30, 2009 10:30 am

    Your cousins look adorable. And such a delicious looking breakfast cookie!
    Sarah

  13. April 30, 2009 10:38 am

    Maddie and Abby are adorable!! I love your tofu stirfry – one of my staple foods!

  14. April 30, 2009 10:43 am

    I would love to try Bikram! I bet it feels great!

    Love the food choices! The breakfast cookie looks really food!

    Florida is awesome! I love going there- definitely something to look forward to!

  15. April 30, 2009 10:47 am

    mmmm soup is one of my favorite foods, no joke! i’ll have to give wolfgang a chance, i normally go straight to amy’s or TJ’s knock-off versions of amy’s!

    so glad you made it to bikram! 2 weeks is plenty of time to get the full bikram experience =)

    your cousins are TOO CUTE! so precious!

  16. April 30, 2009 11:17 am

    Mmm I love vegetable barley- I’ll have to try! Oh vacation time- so fun, I can’t wait till I can go on my summer vacation too πŸ™‚

  17. April 30, 2009 11:27 am

    yayyyyy florida! i’ve never been, but i imagine it’s a great place to be during the summer πŸ™‚ maddie and abby are SO adorable- love their names too!

  18. April 30, 2009 11:56 am

    aw what cute lil girls!!!! you will have such a fun time with them i am sure, and eating chinese food, ahhh cant wait to see pictures of all of that!!

    thanks for the wheat gluten tip!! where can i buy that? i will definitely look into it for future burger making πŸ™‚

  19. April 30, 2009 1:02 pm

    Awww your little cousins are so cute, how exciting that you get to spend a week with them!

    Hearing you talk about Bikram makes me excited to try it again, I’m hopefully going to go again sometime next week!!

  20. April 30, 2009 1:30 pm

    Oooh, oyster mushrooms. They are probably my favourite mushroom.

    Looks like your vacation will be fun πŸ™‚

  21. April 30, 2009 1:46 pm

    what adorable little angels ❀ they brightened up my day πŸ™‚

  22. April 30, 2009 2:22 pm

    oOhhh my gosh, those two are sooo cute!!!!!!!

  23. ari permalink
    April 30, 2009 5:46 pm

    i live in florida! what part of florida are you going to?

  24. snackface permalink
    April 30, 2009 6:21 pm

    Oh my goodness!!! I am dying over those cutiecute babycakes!!! I want to kiss their cheeks so badly! I hope you have the most incredible vaycay! I haven’t been on an official one in fo’evah, but I can’t really complain because I’ll be going to san fran for the summer!

    Your breakfast cookie sounds bangin’ and powerful! You’ve also got me thinking about Bikram and that maybe I need to give it a whirl. I’ve only taken a couple yoga classes, so that may be a huge jump. Have a great Thursday, darling!

  25. peaceandpeanutbutter permalink
    April 30, 2009 8:17 pm

    Stir Frys are MY FAVORITE!!! Yours looks so delicious!

    Glad you get a much-needed vacation soon πŸ™‚ I’m sure it will be so relaxing.

    Have a great night!

    PS…those girls are so adorable!!!

  26. April 30, 2009 9:21 pm

    Ahh Florida for a WHOLE Week AND cute neices and nephews!! Life couldn’t sound better!

  27. homegirlcaneat permalink
    April 30, 2009 9:31 pm

    Hi hi! I am new to the blog world but have been reading your blog for awhile and I absolutely love it and all your eats! Bikram is possibly the most zen thing in the world for me. I go in, sweat out all my worries, then when I’m all showered and done..I’m so calm and content with life! xoxo Brooke

  28. April 30, 2009 10:02 pm

    LOL SO CUTE, lil’ girlies!!!
    Where in FL will you be? I’m in the Tampa area… I love your pre-w/o green-ness & your happiness for Friday!! Enjoy your weekend πŸ™‚

  29. April 30, 2009 10:26 pm

    Awww a week in Florida with those two adorable little cuties? How much fun does THAT sound?! Weeee!

    I want to sweat buckets Bikram style! I really want to try it out before the weather goes all dying hot on me!

  30. April 30, 2009 11:50 pm

    Ooh that stirfry looks awesome! i have been craving stirfry for awhile now and still havent made it.

    Thats so fun you get to go to Florida! That sounds so perfect right now. Those girls are soo cute!

  31. May 1, 2009 6:33 am

    yay for FL in June! Maybe you can meet up w/ us florida lady bloggers! do you know where you’re going to be going yet?!

  32. May 1, 2009 9:37 am

    Yay for Friday!!! All of your food look just great.. especially the green smoothie. I find I like them before activities, too!

    I’m in FL! I want to meet you!!!

  33. Sweet and Fit permalink
    May 1, 2009 11:04 am

    I love how you used the kale in your stir-fry – looks delish!

    yay for getting to go to florida in june! thats so exciting!

  34. May 1, 2009 11:18 am

    i gave a breakfast cookie my first try last night and it was a goopy mess. i am going to try your combination, thanks for posting! i added you to my blogroll, great blog!

  35. May 1, 2009 11:21 am

    Ahhh!!! Where/when exactly will you be staying in Florida?!! I’d love to come meet up with you πŸ™‚

  36. May 1, 2009 12:10 pm

    Awwwww adorable baby pictures!!! OMG i have an obsession with Asian babies…I find them much cuter as toddlers than grown up. muahahah it’s okay, I am asian myself so it’s ok to trash (just a little bit) your own species/race. But yes, we DO HAVE amazing Chiense food!!! WAHOO for Florida!! I’m going to San Fran with the fam in July, so I understand the excitement for some good old fashioned Chinese eats. mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm…..

    I hope you have a great great great weekend Ashleyyyy!!! ❀

  37. May 1, 2009 12:23 pm

    the veggie and tofu stirfry looks delish! so jealous that you’ll be in Florida!

  38. May 6, 2009 8:32 pm

    Aw Abby and Maddie are doll babies – SO CUTE!

Leave a Reply

