Skip to content

sunshine smiles

April 24, 2009

Happy Friday! It’s going to be in the 70’s today and I couldn’t be happier! Whats even better is that I”m going to Rehoboth Beach this weekend for Beach Bash field hockey tournament with all my Salisbury field hockey girls and its going to be in the 80’s the whole weekend. Lets cross my fingers for a littel bit of a tan! πŸ™‚

Yesterday for lunch I went home and made a side salad with cranberries, mushrooms, and my new dressing πŸ™‚ Then as my meal I toasted up a TJs naan bread and sliced that in half. I made Megan’s fav sandwich with tempeh bacon, hummus, bbq sauce, avocado, and some lettuce. The naan bread made the sandwich soooo good, and I think i like it this way better than in a wrap.

lunch-salad

all mixed up

all mixed up

tempeh

Β 

After work I went back to Columbia to pick up my fh stick and shinguards and was able to go out to dinner with my mom. We went to Hickory Ridge Grill which is a local restaurant that has a Greek flair. This is one of my favorite local places to eat and everything i’ve ever gotten there is so fresh and tasty. I decided on the chicken souvlaki platter. I made some key decisions that i’m happy about. It usually comes with fries, and these are the best shoestring fries everrrr. I gobble them all up. I instead opted for the vegetable of the day which was carrots and broccoli. I also asked for no feta (cry) on the platter or the side greek salad that came with it. The meal was just as delicious as it would have before my modifications and I left not overstuffed at all. I had all of the veggies, the salad, and half of the chicken. I brought the other half home with me so that I can use it in another meal. There taziki sauce they make there is amazing. They use real greek yogurt and tonss of garlic. Lets just say I could have killed a vampire with my garlicy breath after I left πŸ˜‰

souvlake

This morning I ate the other half of my steel cut oats. How easy was this??? I just threw a little bit of water in there and microwaved it until it was perfectly heated through. Then I added some hulled hemp seed, a little agave, and a packet of Barney Butter and it was ready! All done at work so that I could wake up later. I will definitely be using this method and making leftover oats to use throughout the week.

I was tagged by Jenny and Rose to fill out the survey of 8’s. Sorry it took me so long guyssss. Here goes:

8 things i’m looking forward to:

  • the beauuuuuutiful weather ahead
  • hangin with my fh girls all weekend
  • being at the beach
  • getting to see Chase and Eden next weekend
  • my month of Bikram I just signed up for
  • the Zooma Annapolis 10k at the end of May
  • meeting Megan at WF for lunch today
  • trying out Mr Yogato thanks to Ms Rose

8 things I did yesterday:

  • got dinner with my momma
  • got some puppy love from Hershey when I went home
  • got to catch up with one of my best friend who lives in NYC
  • talked to my mom about how sneaky Ron from the Biggest Loser is and how I want him to be voted off
  • talked to my grandma on the phone πŸ™‚
  • hm yesterday wasn’t really that eventful

8 things I wish I could do:

  • run a half marathon (thinking its going to be my new goal for the year)
  • snowboard/any snow sport
  • swim in the deep end (scared of deep water, eek)
  • be an audience member on Ellen
  • be closer to Chase and Eden
  • live closer to all my relatives
  • a backflip
  • have an unlimited jcrew giftcard πŸ™‚

8 shows I watch:

  • Biggest Loser
  • The Hills
  • Americas Next Top Model
  • Real World/Road Rules Gauntlet
  • Project Runway
  • Friends
  • King of Queens
  • Everybody Loves Raymond

I’m meeting Megan at WF today for lunch πŸ™‚ I’m really excited and hope the saladbar is filled with yummy goodies!! Have a wonderful weekend ❀ I will post when I return from the beachhhh

suncartoon1

p.s.

Michelle from Lucky Taste Buds is havingΒ  a Salsa giveaway!

25 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2009 8:32 am

    Hope you have an amazing lunch with Megan! πŸ™‚

  2. April 24, 2009 8:35 am

    Aww I miss playing field hockey! You have to try snowboarding next winter. It’s the best!

  3. eatlivelovedream permalink
    April 24, 2009 8:38 am

    Have fun with MEgan!!!! LOVE whole foods! I SO wish one was closer to us:(

  4. April 24, 2009 8:43 am

    AWWHHH have a blast today!!!

  5. samantha permalink
    April 24, 2009 8:50 am

    sandwich looks yummy! do you buy or make your tempeh bacon ?

  6. April 24, 2009 8:54 am

    yay Rehoboth!! my homeland!! tell it i said hiiiii. restaurant suggestions: Arena’s Deli for lunch (my brother works there) and Purple Parrot for brunch. (if you see a man there by himself reading computer magazines thats my dad haha) Both so good and everyone there is super friendly! Ugh I’m so jealous!! Have fun!

  7. April 24, 2009 9:02 am

    Food looks great. I LOVE greek food, omg so good!

    Have a fab weekend πŸ™‚

  8. April 24, 2009 9:02 am

    I think you are well on your way to being able to run a half someday soon πŸ˜€

  9. April 24, 2009 9:09 am

    Enjoy your lunch! Can’t wait to see the recap πŸ™‚

  10. April 24, 2009 9:10 am

    Ah, what a great weekend for a field hockey tourney! That sounds like a lot of fun!

    You should definitely run a Mini! You are a hardworker– I know you could do it πŸ™‚

  11. April 24, 2009 9:19 am

    Good luck with your tournament!

  12. April 24, 2009 9:31 am

    dinner looks SO good! i can’t get enough greek lately! have a great weekend- a beach trip is so perfect for this weather!

  13. April 24, 2009 9:33 am

    Hey Lady! I’ve been MIA all week, but have still been reading! I’m glad you’re having a wonderful week – loved your 8 things. I can NOT believe Ron is still on TBL. He is terrible and is setting a really bad example for his sons – what a little con artist! Geeze! haha ok, rant over. πŸ™‚

    Have a great weekend!!!

    Kaneil, balanceisbest

  14. April 24, 2009 9:37 am

    Have a fun lunch and a great Friday!

  15. April 24, 2009 9:52 am

    Whole Foods trips the the best. Have a great weekend!

  16. April 24, 2009 10:49 am

    Wait, wait, wait!! Rehoboth? SU? Did you go to SU?? I’m from Ocean City! My boyfriend is graduating from SU and my brother is going there next year!!

  17. April 24, 2009 11:47 am

    Enjoy the weekend’s warm weather! It’s about 75 here, and I’m SOO happy! I wish I had an unlimited JCrew gift card, too. I love all their clothes so much!

  18. April 24, 2009 12:47 pm

    I am SO HAPPY that it’s finally feeling like Spring around here πŸ™‚ Hooray! Which Whole Foods do you usually go to? They’re moving the one at the Annapolis Harbor Center to a new location and apparently it’s gonna be HUGE…I’m excited for the rand opening on May 5th, it should be really nice. I hope you have a wonderful weekend at the tournament, and enjoy the beach – what an awesome weekend for some sun & sand πŸ˜‰

    Love, Meg

    p.s. puppy love is the BEST kind of love πŸ™‚ – and King of Queens is such a classic – good show, gooood show.

  19. April 24, 2009 1:28 pm

    what great dinner modifications! still delicious and probs so much healthier — whoohoo! have a great time at the beach this weekend. i cant wait til i start getting a lil color either!

  20. April 24, 2009 2:11 pm

    Hey! It was so awesome finally getting to meet you today! Yay for whole foods and MR YOGATO!! Have fun this weekend!! GET TAN =)

  21. April 24, 2009 2:25 pm

    hope the beach was a blast!

  22. April 24, 2009 2:38 pm

    Hey girl!! : )

    Have a GREAT weekend is the WONDERFUL weather!!!

  23. April 24, 2009 2:49 pm

    I know I am so excited for this warm weather, bring on summer!

  24. April 24, 2009 5:21 pm

    The sandwich sounds tasty, and who doesn’t love some super garlicky greek food! Yum!

  25. April 24, 2009 5:26 pm

    Megan’s favorite sandwich sounds like it has the potential to be my favorite sandwich! That is a fantastic combo πŸ™‚

    LOVE the lists! Being an audience member on Ellen would be so much fun!

Leave a Reply

