Skip to content

warning

April 23, 2009

::serious chocolate lovers prepare yourself for a mouthwatering post::

Happy Thursday friends! Back to great weather, and the 5 day forcast is looking goooood. This weekend its going to get in the high 80’s. absolutely unbelievable.

Lets get to yesterdays lunch πŸ™‚ I had the other half of my snobby joes on a piece of toasted sprouted grain bread and sauteed some kale on the side. This was my first time using kale other than in a smoothie, and once before I made kale chips. I sauteed some garlic and red pepper flakes ( a little too much, i was sweating ha) and then threw in the chopped up kale. One it had sauteed for a few minutes I added in a little bit of vegetable broth and let it soak in to make the kale tender. Added some salt, and it was done. A great and easy way to get your veggies in. I’m loving kale, i’m so glad I braved up and finally tried it!

snobby

kale1

For dinner I had a salad. I don’t usually eat salads for meals but this was delicious. I gotΒ a new dressing. Bolthouse Farms new creamy yogurt salad dressing in Sweet Poppy Seed. This is a new product at my local Whole Foods and the other week I went in they were sampling all the different flavors. I loved this one, and knew I had to get it. They use yogurt so the shelf life is much less, but it lowers the fat content by a lot. 2 tbsp of this dressing has 70 cals and 4.5 g of fat. Not too bad. I filled my bowl with my tierra farms craisins, some toasted walnuts, mushrooms, and some sliced avocado.

salad3

dressing

Mango sorbet from TJ’s was my dessert of choice for the night! This sorbet is so light and refreshing and I used my ramekins for portion control πŸ™‚

sorbet

I decided to Shred last night. I did level 2 and wow I forgot how hard this was. I had wanted to participate in the 30 day shred challenge but ended up cutting it very short. I am going to incorporate it a lot more again because I am soreee today! I feel it immediately and it really is a great workout for such a short amount of time. I’m going to try and recommit myself to doing it more often. I miss Jillian kicking my butt.


This morning I wanted some of the steel cut oats. I googled last night how to make overnight steel cut oats and found the perfect solution.Β  The blog The Bitten Word had posted on how to make 10 minute steel cut oats. I cut the recipe by thirds and made 2 servings for myself. Now I have another serving I can just microwave tomorrow morning! They came out perfectly and I was anxious to see how I liked them compared to my fav rolled oats.

Β 

oats1

I loved the texture!I used half almond milk half water. I added some hulled hemp seed, a spoon of raw almond butter, and some agave. It actually did keep me much more full than my regular bowl of oats and I liked the chewiness of the smaller cut grain. I will definitely be switching between these and my rolled oats from now on. Thanks Bob’s Red Mill for sending me these to try and remember that you can win your own package if you enter my giveaway!

Ok are you ready for this chocolate heaven i’m about to show you guys?

logo-home

Shawna, one of the co-founders of Vermont Brownie Company was out of her way generous to send me a sampler pack of their amazing brownies. These brownies are made from scratch, using local, wholesome, farm-fresh ingredients that are always natural and preservative free.

I sampled them all over the weekend, and had my family help me too. I’m a tough brownie critic. I don’t like mine too cakey, nor too fudgey. Let me tell you that this was the perfect balance. They melted in your mouth and the flavors were so fresh. The flavor combos they had couldn’t have been more perfect. They sent me 5 different flavors, each delicious in its own way.

Their signature brownie is dark chocolate, with chocolate chunks and was one of my moms favorite. I loved the chunks in it, and they were defnitely generously big πŸ™‚ This was my favorite too, a classic.

signature

The mint pattie was also one of my moms favorite and had large pieces as well. I am sometimes a fan of mint and chocolate and this was a keeper for me. The peppermint cream was perfection.

mint

My sister loved the maple toffee crunch. The toffee is homemade from pure Vermont maple syrup. It added a great crunch and complemented the maple flavors.

maple-toffee

I don’t think many of us can get enough of chocolate and peanut butter together. They are a match made in heaven. This brownie was divine. They use all natural crunchy pb, and this was one of my dads favorite picks.

pb

Dark Chocolate Chevre (goats cheese) is their twist on the cream cheese brownie. The Chevre they use is from the award winning Vermont Butter and Cheese company. This had a fudgier taste, and had great flavor. This is my first time trying goat cheese, and it went perfectly with the chocolate.

dark-choc-chevre

The other 2 flavors that I didn’t get to try was Espresso Dulce de Leche and White Chocolate Raspberry although i’m sure theres no doubt that they woudl be just as delicious as these flavors I sampled.

Their sampler packs make amazing gifts, and any mother would be lucky to receive a package for mother’s day! They even have heart shaped ones, and brownie bites! They are an amazing company that strives on good high quality products and the taste of these brownies are abolutely heavenly.

What makes me love them even more is that Shawna is a Salisbury graduate!! I couldn’t believe it! What a small world πŸ™‚ I can’t reccomend this company enough, so if you’re looking for high quality brownies with amazing flavors this is where to find them.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2009 1:11 pm

    Wow- those brownies look amazing!! I need to try making snobby joes too, sounds great with toast!

  2. April 23, 2009 1:13 pm

    WHOOOOOOOOOAAAA SOOOO YUMMM AND GOOOEEEY CHOCOLATE.
    Drool puddle has formed in front of my computer.

  3. April 23, 2009 1:47 pm

    drooling all over my keyboard right now those brownies look awesome!

  4. April 23, 2009 1:57 pm

    I’m droooling over the mint ones!! That salad dressing does look SO good πŸ™‚

  5. April 23, 2009 2:11 pm

    OMG! Those brownies look SOOO freaking delicious!!!

    Ahhh. I want one now!

  6. April 23, 2009 2:15 pm

    i got that dressing too.
    i thought it was a bit sweet for me. i liked it at first.
    but i guess weeks of having the same dressing everyday will do that to you.
    i need to switch it up!

  7. April 23, 2009 2:59 pm

    what a great brownie review and to hear they make them so well and with local products!!! wonderful…and i’m drooling of course. πŸ™‚

  8. April 23, 2009 3:03 pm

    uhh deliciousness overload! what an awesome brownie experience, love the reviews, if only i were there to enjoy them too!

    thanks for explaining steel cut oats a little bit more too — i’ve been curious, but haven’t given them a try! guess i’ll have to add that to the list too!

    have a fantastic day! xo

  9. April 23, 2009 3:17 pm

    Oh, wow.. those brownies!! I am at a loss for words! They just look so delicious

  10. April 23, 2009 5:01 pm

    That dressing sounds like a real find – I’ll have to look for it!! Lucky girl for getting to taste test the brownies! I love that they used goat cheese in one of them! Fun variation!!

  11. April 23, 2009 5:48 pm

    Oooh, goat cheese in brownies. That sounds like a great idea instead of cream cheese (although, cream chesse is pretty awesome too!)

    And I’ve tried some of the Bolthouse Yogurt dressings, but I don’t know if they carry that one here or not. The Honey Mustard Yogurt Dressing is really good – I highly recommend it.

  12. April 23, 2009 5:59 pm

    Oh my gosh…GOAT CHEESE BROWNIES?! Never heard of such a thing – but they look divine! πŸ™‚ Glad you enjoyed them…yum!

    Hope you’re having a lovely evening and enjoying the sunshine we were so lucky to get today πŸ™‚

    Love, Meg

  13. April 23, 2009 6:58 pm

    those brownies look AMAZING, I really want to try those!

  14. April 23, 2009 7:09 pm

    Brownies are my favorite dessert! That’s the one thing I can never turn down!

  15. April 23, 2009 8:33 pm

    Thanks for commenting on my blog today! You don’t know how excited it got me πŸ™‚

    I just finished up my steel cut oats this morning and I don’t know what I’ll do with out them… Be careful you don’t eat them too often or you’ll never wanna go back to rolled!

  16. April 23, 2009 8:51 pm

    Yum, I love brownies! Thanks for the product review!

  17. April 23, 2009 9:23 pm

    Why you make my mouth water at 10pm?!?!? gahhh ASHLEY! πŸ˜› But not from the bronwnies, from YOUR creations!! Especially your lunch!! The dressing really does look tasty! I would totally mistake it for a smoothie if it wasn’t labeled. hahahahah

    Just a heads up girlie, if you like salsa I’m doin’ a giveaway with 3 possible winners! ❀

  18. April 23, 2009 9:40 pm

    Um, espresso dulce de leche? How brilliant!

    Yeah, I did Level 2 today after months away from Jillian, and yep, it’s hard. Almost embarassing how hard. Stupid Jillian.

    I love that salad. All my fav goodies tucked in there. Craisins or cranberries are so fab. That dressing looks promising. Big time. I’m intrigued.

  19. April 23, 2009 9:50 pm

    My mom used to sauteed kale for dinner when I was growing up. That’s the only way I’ve really eaten it.

    And all those brownies look amazing. I’d probably want to try either the mint or toffee ones the most

  20. April 23, 2009 10:10 pm

    Shooooot girl. I was thinking about going to bed but now I’m thinking about eating a small piece of chocolate. Hum….

    Sign up for Zooma yet????

  21. Sweet and Fit permalink
    April 23, 2009 10:43 pm

    Lilly is all better! thanks for thinking of her =)

    I hear yea on not usually eating salads for you entire meal, but with a dressing like that, I could reconsider =)

  22. April 23, 2009 11:19 pm

    You seriously weren’t kidding. Those brownies are amazing looking!!!

  23. eatlivelovedream permalink
    April 23, 2009 11:27 pm

    Brownies! I need brownies! I need them now! hah! Just kidding! They look awesome though!

  24. broccolihut permalink
    April 23, 2009 11:42 pm

    It’s been far too long since I’ve had anything close to sloppy Joes–thanks for the reminder!

    I am on a major salad dressing kick these days, and that one looks great! I especially like the combination with walnuts.

  25. April 23, 2009 11:49 pm

    I love those yogurt dressings! i am all bout the creamy salad dressing and those are so much better than the “real” options!

    Those brownies looks amazing. I so want to try all of them now.. and wash them down with soem cold milk. Yum.

  26. April 24, 2009 12:51 am

    omg. dark chocolate and goat cheese? i need that brownie in my life!

  27. April 24, 2009 4:30 am

    I think I would really like that dressing! I have never heard the idea of using yogurt, but I bet the sweet taste is nice with things like spinach.
    The brownies look totally amazing. What’s your trick for getting so many goodies?! πŸ˜‰

  28. April 24, 2009 1:22 pm

    lucky girl, what a fun thing to sample! all of those brownies look so delicious!!!!

Leave a Reply

