Skip to content

Bob’s your uncle – giveaway!

April 22, 2009

helloooo! and happy humpday!

Yesterday was a good day! It started off with a lovely bowl of oats πŸ™‚ Haven’t had one in a while and it was good to be back! I returned to my raw maranatha almond butter and devoured every bite. Can’t get any better than a hot bowl of oatmeal.

oatmeal

For lunch I went home and was in the mood for eggs. I made a breakfast scramble of 2 eggs, morningstar sausage patty, sauteed onions, black beans, and a little sprinkle of cumin. I heated up a TJs ww tortilla and had it on the side. Of course I couldn’t eat my eggs without dousing it with some Franks red hot πŸ™‚ and some grapes on the side.

scramble

grapes

Oh, and I also had one of Jasmine’s homemade granola bars for a snack… didn’t snap a pic, I was too in love with it haha.

Β 

When I got home from work I had 2 dates with some maranatha as a little fuel to get me going and I went on a 3 mile run. I was planning on going to Bikram again but my hamstrings were so sore from the night before so I decided to switch on and off with running and bikram. Running loosened up my legs nicely, and I got back just in time before the storm came.

Β 

For dinner I made a smoothie with kale, TJs frozen fruit (mangos, blueberries, raspberries) half a canned peach and some almond milk. I also threw a scoop of protein powder in there and it turned out thick like a milkshake.

smoothie1

Then I decided I wanted to make snobby joesss! I split the recipe in half and saved the other half of what I made for lunch today. These are so so good. Next up on my list is to make beanballs, and falafels.Β 

snobs

This morning came quickly and I threw together a bowl of cereal. Kashi H2H with a small sliced banana and a newbie ingredient. Hulled hemp seed from Bob’s Red Mill. I’ve never tried this before but was excited to test it out.

hemp-seed

cereal2

hemp seed close up :)

hemp seed close up πŸ™‚

Here’s the description on the back of the bag

“Hemp Seed may be one of nature’s most perfect foods. With a pleasant nut-like flavor and creamy texture, our hulled hemp seed is a nutritious and delightful addition to cereals, salads, and baked goods. Hulled hemp seed is high in Omega-3 and Omega-6 essential fatty acids and an excellent source of protein, containing all of the essential amino acids.”

It was a light flavor that I hardly noticed but I felt the extra little crunch in my cereal. I really liked it and want to incorporate it into more meals for sure. Oatmeal topping? yes please! and I also found out that you can make your own hempmilk from the hulled hemp seeds so that will definitely be an experiment in the near future.

Β 

Now getting into my title of the post…. Bob’s your uncle. I used to live in England and people used to say this all the time. Here’s the wikipedia definition for ya:

Bob’s your uncle is a commonly used expression known mainly in Britain, Ireland and Commonwealth countries. It is often used immediately following a set of simple instructions and carries roughly the same meaning as the phrase “and there you have it”; for example, “Simply put a piece of ham between two slices of bread, and Bob’s your uncle.”Β haha random tidbit of info there for ya.

Well who i’m refering to is the people at Bob’s Red Mill. They were so generous to send me a package of some of their goodies! The hulled hemp seed being one of them, some organic whole grain quinoa, organic whole grain steel cut oats, organic 7 grain pancake and waffle mix, and some muesli. I LOVE this company so much and they have so much to offer. I can’t wait to try out all of these other products!

goodies

They also went out of their way to be so generous and offer a giveaway to 4 lucky readers. yes 4 of you! πŸ™‚ 4 winners will each receive a bag of their organic steel cut oats!Β 

Here’s the difference between steel cut oats vs regular rolled oats:

  • Much longer cooking time (30 minutes)
  • More cholesterol lowering soluble fiber than other oatmeal
  • Takes longer to digest so you stay fuller longer
  • Chopped with steel blades resulting in a β€œchewier” oatmeal
  • All you have to do is post a comment telling me your favorite oatmeal combo and you’re in the drawing! For an additional entry you can link back to the giveaway in your blog. Good luck πŸ™‚ I’ll post the winners at 4 PM EST on Friday!

    Β 

    I’ve only ever made steel cut oats once, and I didn’t do a very good job. They turned out extremely dry. I have been told that making steel cut oats overnight is the best way since they take a while to make. Does anyone have any tips for me? I can’t wait to try them!

    Β 

    Have a wonderful day loves!!!

    73 Comments leave one →
    1. April 22, 2009 8:07 am

      oh god i love bobs and i hope i win!!

      fav oatmeal combo: banana oatmeal with brown sugar and nuts. and fresh fruit.

    2. April 22, 2009 8:08 am

      My favorite is adding cocoa to my oats and a dab of peanut butter on top πŸ™‚ And if i’m going all out i put a banana in it as well.

    3. April 22, 2009 8:14 am

      One of my favorites (there are many) is oats, milk, water, 1/2 banana, lemon curd, brown sugar (just a little bit) blueberries, and walnuts. Yummmm.

    4. April 22, 2009 8:16 am

      I’m a huge fan of steel cut oats! My favorite combo is oats, berries, granola and almond butter.

    5. April 22, 2009 8:21 am

      my fav oats is irish oats, 1 banana, milk, cinnamon, splash brown sugar, topped with dark choco dreams and chocolate grsnola.

    6. April 22, 2009 8:34 am

      My favorite oatmeal combo is raisins, walnuts, cinnamon, ground flax seed, and a little brown sugar! Unlike others, I’m not a fan of throwing nut butters into the mix.

    7. April 22, 2009 8:46 am

      hi! i’m delurking to enter πŸ™‚

      fave combo: banana blueberry oatmeal w/ dry roasted unsalted almonds!

    8. April 22, 2009 8:53 am

      What a tasty egg scramble!! Franks is a MUST with eggs! We’re on the same wavelength with the snobs! I made them yesterday too πŸ™‚

      I’m not much of an oat eater but I would seriously love to try savory oats! Pumpkin oats have been the best so far though!

    9. Cecilia permalink
      April 22, 2009 8:56 am

      I would love to try out this! My fav oatmeal combo is nut butter + pumpkin

    10. April 22, 2009 9:00 am

      Haha..I think your description of “bob’s your uncle” is perfect πŸ˜‰

    11. April 22, 2009 9:04 am

      My favorite combo is plain oats, peanut butter, bananas, dried apples, and pumpkin butter!

      I linked back here!

      http://missymaintains.blogspot.com/2009/04/vote-on-your-favorite-salsa-recipe-for.html

    12. April 22, 2009 9:27 am

      My favorite oats would have to be rolled oats, mashed banana, cinnamon, dark chocolate chips, and mighty maple! I haven’t tried steel cut oats yet but they sound amazing!

    13. April 22, 2009 9:29 am

      i love Bob’s, i wish i could go to their actual restaurant!! My fave is still the overnight oats- old-fashioned oats, banana, water and greek yogurt πŸ˜€ Thanks for the giveaway ash!

    14. April 22, 2009 9:30 am

      Yah for giveaways and oatmeal-my fave is chopped dry figs, pumpkin, apple, and pecans with a drizzle of maple syrup (aka this morning’s breakfast!)

    15. April 22, 2009 9:47 am

      I like oatmeal, milk and bananas. YUm!

    16. April 22, 2009 9:48 am

      Mmmm…I love Bob’s.
      My fave combo is: Uli Mana’s Organic Raw Chocolate, fresh blueberries and strawberries. So delicious and packed with antioxidants!

    17. eatlivelovedream permalink
      April 22, 2009 10:13 am

      Lucky girl to get all that bob goodness! he’s the best!!!

    18. April 22, 2009 10:15 am

      My favorite oat combos is just some mashed banana, cinnamon, vanilla, and pb. I’m pretty boring i guess.

    19. Lauren permalink
      April 22, 2009 10:30 am

      Great giveaway!!! My fav, blended oats with a bananna and a scoop of crunchy PB on top…yum!

    20. April 22, 2009 10:32 am

      My favorite oatmeal combo is a bit boring, but delicious: some brown sugar, a bit of banana and a few walnuts. Crunchy, sweet and fantastic. Thanks for the giveaway!

    21. Dee permalink
      April 22, 2009 10:47 am

      Thanks for the great giveaway! My fav oats combo has to be overnighters soaked in vanilla soy milk and banana… with a sprinkle of vanilla granola on top. mmmmm… : )

    22. April 22, 2009 10:53 am

      oh! thanks for the fun giveaway. my favorite oatmeal is simplicity at its best — bananas mixed in, topped with a little brown sugar, golden raisins, and a lil milk. YUM!

    23. April 22, 2009 10:54 am

      my favorite combo is banana oatmeal with nut butter and fresh fruit!

    24. April 22, 2009 11:34 am

      YEAHH!!!! i love my oats!!!!

      let’s see my fav combo right now is oats, agave, PB2 powder and strawberries!

    25. danielle permalink
      April 22, 2009 12:08 pm

      i loooove my oats with pumpkin, blueberries, and banana..yumm:)

    26. Kristin permalink
      April 22, 2009 12:26 pm

      peanut butter and banana oats are the best! (i secretly like to mix in some choclate chips too)

    27. April 22, 2009 12:35 pm

      mmm oatmeal is the best when its fluffy! with PB & banana πŸ™‚ btw your green monster looks SO good!!

    28. April 22, 2009 12:38 pm

      theres nothing better than a bowl of oatmeal with banana and almond butter mixed in..and of course cinnamon on top!!! yum!!! i also linked your blog from my page πŸ™‚

    29. Michelle permalink
      April 22, 2009 1:06 pm

      i’ve never tried bobs!

      My favorite combo would be whipped banana, peanut butter and dates…mmm so creamy and delicious

    30. April 22, 2009 1:07 pm

      favorite oatmeal combo: pumpkin, banana, pumpkin pie spice and sugar free maple syrup! yumyumyum!

    31. ikkinlala permalink
      April 22, 2009 1:14 pm

      May Canadians enter? My favourite combo lately is oatmeal with toasted sunflower seeds and dried cranberries.

    32. Marthab permalink
      April 22, 2009 1:16 pm

      Oh my. I love Steel Cut Oats! MMMM. I cook them on the stove…start with cold water so they have time to soak a bit. I prefer it a bit stiffer, as I don’t like mushy cereal. When the water is gone…a few minutes…I put them into my biggest cereal bowl and add 6-10 drops of Stevia, a dollop (2 TBS) of almond butter and a handful of FROZEN bluberries. Simple and delicious!

    33. April 22, 2009 1:28 pm

      Fantastic giveaway. My favorite combination is just simple banana oatmeal with Mighty Maple Peanut Butter, and of course.. I am loving the breakfast cookie πŸ™‚

    34. Anne K. permalink
      April 22, 2009 1:29 pm

      Wow, cool! My favorite oatmeal combo is a little complicated…. haha, here goes:
      1/2 cup oats with 1/2 a banana, with a little vanilla extract and LOTS of cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice. Then a dash of nutmeg and ginger. Then I add in 1/2-3/4 cup pumpkin or pureed butternut squash after it cooks. Usually I have a mix, like 1/3 cup butternut squash and 1/3 pumpkin, or something like that. Then I add in a spoonful of unsweetened cocoa powder and a drizzle of agave. I finish it off with a little bit of nut butter (right now it’s dark chocolate dreams pb) on the spoon.
      Whew! It’s SOOO good though!

    35. April 22, 2009 1:33 pm

      My favourite oatmeal combo is 1/2 cup oatmeal cooked in water, 1 tbsp peanut butter and a splash of skim milk mixed in, 1/2 a banana sliced on top with a sprinkle of cinnamon! Yum! This is my go-to breakfast 4-5 mornings a week!

      I’ve never made steel cut oatmeal either!!

    36. April 22, 2009 2:00 pm

      Bob’s is awesome:

      I cook my oatmeal with milk and add cinnamon, almonds, and chocolate chips. I’ve tried to break myself of the chocolate habit but it just ain’t happening.

    37. Paige permalink
      April 22, 2009 2:19 pm

      My favorite oats combo is: cooked with vanilla soy milk and bananas mixed in, and topped with salted peanuts, shredded coconut, peanut butter, and strawberries!

    38. Laura E permalink
      April 22, 2009 3:23 pm

      Thanks for the opportunity! My favorite bowl of oats contains pumpking, banana, flax, unsweetened shredded coconut, and a spoonful of nutbutter!

    39. April 22, 2009 4:29 pm

      Try hemp seeds in yogurt – I quite enjoy them that way πŸ˜€

      Favourite oatmeal combo? Oh man…there are so many, and they all rock for different reasons. I do really like apple, cranberry, brown sugar, and nuts or granola. Or peanut butter & banana. Or something with coconut. Or chocolate. Mmmm.

    40. AnAppleADay permalink
      April 22, 2009 4:33 pm

      yay! i love bob’s

    41. june permalink
      April 22, 2009 4:37 pm

      I would love to try them!

    42. Jayme permalink
      April 22, 2009 4:38 pm

      i’ve been wanting to try Bob’s products. I really want to try their oatbran too!

    43. April 22, 2009 4:39 pm

      thank you for this giveaway! you’re wonderful =)

    44. hyang permalink
      April 22, 2009 4:39 pm

      I’ve heard so many good things about Bob’s products. Steel cuts look awesome!

    45. April 22, 2009 5:36 pm

      Whoaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa what an awesome giveaway! You rock. I like overnight oats best. I do equal portions of milk and oats. In the morning I add a lil bit of honey and fruit. SO good!

      Your snobby joes look awesome. I haven’t made them in forever! Such a great meal

    46. April 22, 2009 5:43 pm

      Oh, your egg scramble reminds me of my daddy. He always makes eggs with onions! He loves his onions, and always wants me to eat them. LOL!

      And favorite oatmeal combo? Carob chips, chia seeds, flaxseed, and nuts!

    47. April 22, 2009 6:12 pm

      I love Bob’s products!

      My fave oatmeal combo would have to be cinnamon, granola, strawberries, and PB. Delish!

      I’ve never had steel cut oats before, but I’d love to try them! πŸ™‚

    48. April 22, 2009 6:19 pm

      Happy hump day to you too! : )

      I love my oats with berries, cinnamon, 2 packets of truvia and a few sliced almonds … yum!

    49. April 22, 2009 7:18 pm

      WOW amazing, Uncle Bob!!
      I love oats with a banana, soymilk, walnuts & brown sugar, suga’!!!

    50. monica permalink
      April 22, 2009 8:53 pm

      Good old bananas cannot be beat-(everrything else ontop of that is icing on the oatcake!:)

    51. April 22, 2009 9:00 pm

      Ooh, I love Bob’s Red Mill stuff but haven’t tried their oats. I’m sure they are tasty! I love oats topped with brown sugar, sliced banana and dried cranberries.

    52. broccolihut permalink
      April 22, 2009 9:22 pm

      OMG! I am so glad I just discovered your blog! Can’t wait to catch up on old posts.

      My fave oatmeal combo is what I call “Samoas Oatmeal” (after the Girl Scout cookie): dark cocoa powder, rice milk, shredded coconut, & almonds. Delish.

    53. April 22, 2009 9:33 pm

      bananas and cranberries and pb are the best!!!

    54. April 22, 2009 9:50 pm

      I love Bob’s products!

      I love to cook steel-cut oats in the crock pot with apples, dried strawberries, cinnamon, and some sugar free syrup. The house smells amazing when I wake up the next morning!

    55. April 22, 2009 10:08 pm

      awesome giveaway!! my favorite combo is oats with banana, blueberries, and almond butter!!

    56. April 22, 2009 11:08 pm

      Your breakfast scramble looks so yummy!

      I love Bobs products.. and I love oatmeal! I love mine with oats, milk, banana, cinnamon, chocolate chips and PB. Love it!

    57. sals permalink
      April 23, 2009 5:54 am

      I would love to try the steel cut oats! My favorite oatmeal combo is simple: cinnamon, raisin and flax.

    58. Kristen permalink
      April 23, 2009 7:40 am

      oatmeal with a splash of vanilla almond milk, canned pumpkin, and cinnamon and a teensy bit of brown sugar. It’s like eating pumpkin pie every day for breakfast πŸ˜›

    59. kws permalink
      April 23, 2009 8:10 am

      I love my morning oatmeat. My favorite combo: oats, mashed banana, a little local honey, Bob’s flax seed meal, a combo of boiling water fr. my Keurig coffee maker and vanilla soy milk. then microwave for 1 minute. then add a handful of frozen blueberries. quickly and perfectly cooked. Yum!

    60. April 23, 2009 9:55 am

      Oh baby I hope I win!

      Oatmeal? Easy, banana + strawberry + peanut butter

    61. Robin permalink
      April 23, 2009 10:28 am

      I have actually never tried steel oats! My favorite oatmeal combo is boring…oats, banana, and barney butter!

    62. April 23, 2009 2:07 pm

      I love Bob’s Red Mill, those sound really good to experiment with. My favorite combo would have to be the steel cut with lots of cinnamon and spice, raisins, fruit and peanut butter and sometimes pumpkin, but I like to make it and put it in a 9×13 pan over night and then cut them into triangles and bake until crispy in the morning and top with cottage cheese and fruit. Yum!

    63. April 23, 2009 4:09 pm

      Oh this sounds fun… I am still a bit of a newbie with the whole oats thing. (I am slowly learning) but the one I have tried that I like best is the oats with a bit of honey and brown sugar and bananas on top.. MMM good

    64. April 23, 2009 5:57 pm

      Oooh boy I love me some grains!

      I’d love to enter. My NEWLY discovered fave oats bowl would have to be my creation this morning of oats with donut holes! πŸ˜› Sounds ridiculous but it was AMAZING! πŸ™‚

      I linked ya!

      Crossing my fingers πŸ˜‰

      Love, Meg

    65. April 23, 2009 6:22 pm

      Fave Oatmeal is banana brown sugar!

    66. April 23, 2009 6:23 pm

      Favorite combo:

      Rolled oats, unsweetened almond milk, flaxseed meal, blackberries, and a sprinkle of sliced almonds.

    67. April 23, 2009 8:39 pm

      My favorite oatmeal combo? That’s a hard one! Probably what I made this morning – banana, strawberry, vanilla almond milk, shredded coconut, and chocolate pb.

      I usually cook my steel cut oats in half cup water and half cup almond milk. I bring the liquid to a boil, add the oats, and then lower the stove to as low as it can go to keep it at a simmer. Then I just keep checking on it and mixing it every so often and Bob’s your uncle!

      Haha did I use it right? I’m totally incorporating it into daily conversation now.

    68. Charity permalink
      April 23, 2009 10:01 pm

      Oh, oatmeal ❀ I stir in cocoa powder with milk and sugar–voila! My americanized version of a filipino dish my mom used to make me =]

    69. April 23, 2009 10:03 pm

      Oh I’d love to win! I love eating my oatmeal with a nice serving of pumpkin!

    70. April 23, 2009 11:18 pm

      My favorite oatmeal combo is mashed banana, cinnamon, milk and almond butter/peanut butter. YUMMY!

    71. Tra permalink
      April 24, 2009 8:30 am

      fav oatmeal combo is cinnamon, yogurt non fat, strawberries/peaches/blueberries any fruit! right now it’s strawberries and oranges! and when the orange gets juicy and runs into the oatmeal- delish!

    72. April 24, 2009 9:01 am

      OATMEAL! the newest love of my life — i think i like it best with banana, pumpkin, and dark chocolate dreamssss; it never gets old to me! love this contest! =)

    Trackbacks

    1. warning « Daily Goods

    Leave a Reply

