Skip to content

10k – check!

April 20, 2009

I did it! I completed my 2009 goal of running a 10k!!!!

Lets get you started from the beginning shall we?

I woke up Sunday morning still full from my dinner at Qdoba the night before… this didn’t feel like a good sign.  I felt bloated and not as confident as I wanted to feel the morning of the race. I knew I needed to eat a breakfast though so I ate my breakfast cookie that I made for myself the night before.

breakfast-cookie1

I got to the race about half an hour before the starting time. I didn’t know anyone else running so I walked around, stretched, and try to mentally prepare myself. I was getting so nervous but realized that this was something I should be excited for and to run my best and thats the only thing I can do.

number

tshirt

Originally when I decided in January that my goal for 2009 would be to run a 10k I tried to be logical and think of a goal time for myself to strive to reach. I thought about making it an hour. Then I rethought to myself and figured since I ran both 5k’s in about 30 minutes that maybe I should up my time because I had never run 6.2 miles before and I probably wouldn’t be able to keep the pace that I did during the 5k for double the time. I wanted to set a goal for myself that I believed I could reach for my first 10k and work on beating my time in the Annapolis 10k at the end of May. I then upped my goal time to 70 minutes. I wanted to mainly focus on finishing and then later focus on time. This was the longest distance I’d ever run before and this was a huge goal for me personally.

The weather forcast earlier in the week predicted rain for Sunday and I was hoping it would hold off. It did and ended up being the perfect weather for a run.

The hills during the run were killer! it seemed like there was a huge one right before each mile marker. I kept a pretty consistent pace with my milage. The first one I hit it right at 9:00, the second, 8:50, the third was with some killlerrr hills and it was closer to 9:30, I tried to make up for it during the fourth mile and ended up running it in about 8:20, from there on I wasn’t as focused on the time so I stopped checking my watch and figured I was running well and started focusing on the fact that I was going to finish my 10k and I was going to finish strong! At the end of the race it finally was a slight downhill and I ended up sprinting towards the finish line. Here I was thinking i’d be crawling my way through the end but I was finishing strong and hard and with a huge smile on my face!

 

I completed my first 10k in 56:18 and beat my original goal time by almost 4 minutes! In the women’s bracket I was number 180 out of 590! I couldn’t believe it, I was in so much shock that not only did I finish, but I did well! This gave me such an amazing feeling and was so proud of myself for making this much progress. My mom was at the finish line with Hershey and was cheering me on through to the end. I couldn’t have been happier with the outcome!

after-run
After the race I went over to grab some food. I got a blueberry bagel and ate half of it along with a banana. I also grabbed 2 kind bars and an orange to keep for later.  Hershey of course was begging for some of my bagel. This dog loves food.

blueberry-bagel

food-goodies

hershey

To make things even better I was on the website and I have my first official race picture! I’ve never had one before, so  it is something i’m proud to have!

running-pic

I want to thank you all for being so supportive throughout this whole entire process. I would never have been able to push myself as hard without the inspiring and motiviating words you all have said to me as I was preparing for this race. Thank you so much!

Now that the 10k is over, i’m going to be running the Zooma Annapolis 10k May 31 and hopefully some longer ones after that! Hopefully I can beat my time from this one, and I’m so excited for another running journey. This is making me really want to sign up for the Baltimore half in October. Last year I thought there was absolutely no way I’d be able to run 6 miles, so since I think the same thing about 13.1 maybe i’ll be able to do it! What an amazing feeling!

55 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2009 8:16 am

    congrats on the 10K!!!!! and it looks like you had a GREAT day with Jasmine!

  2. April 20, 2009 9:27 am

    Aaaaah, congrats!!! You did it! And might I add– you rocked that 10k! WOW!

    13.1 is just a hop, skip and jump away now–you can totally do it! 🙂

  3. Lauren (athleat) permalink
    April 20, 2009 9:32 am

    Congrats!!! U did amazing and so glad u will be doing zooma!

  4. April 20, 2009 9:41 am

    Oh wow congratulations! Your time is awesome!

  5. April 20, 2009 9:41 am

    Great job! I love that everyone is starting to run races… a true sign of summer! You could run a half no problem, girl. Go for it!

  6. April 20, 2009 9:42 am

    HUGE CONGRATS!!! You look awesome in your race photo – SO determined. I know exactly how you feel – I felt the same way yesterday. I am so excited to run a half too!!!

  7. April 20, 2009 9:45 am

    OH MY GOSH, AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME!!! CONGRATULATIONS!!
    And whoa, that blueberry bagel is a pretty blue, looovvee it!

  8. April 20, 2009 9:56 am

    Way to go Ash!!! I am so very proud of you. You are such a cutie out there running! and a GREAT time, too!!! Your dog Hershey is so darn adorable and I could never say no to that face. Bagel lovin’ guy!

    Just wanted to pop over and say hello, beautiful authentic blog as always. Many hugs!! XOXO

  9. April 20, 2009 10:11 am

    Congrats on the 10k! That is such a great time and place but even better is how proud of yourself you are! The best feeling in the world I think!!

  10. April 20, 2009 10:14 am

    CONGRATS ON THE RACE MY DEAR! Way to accomplish your goals – you should be VERY proud!

  11. April 20, 2009 10:15 am

    Congrats!! That is so awesome!! I am looking to complete my first 5K soon so seeing you finish the 10K is inspirational! Great job!

  12. April 20, 2009 10:19 am

    I will be at the Zooma Half Marathon too!

  13. April 20, 2009 10:32 am

    Congratulations – that is awesome!!! If you can do a 10-K (with hills!) you can definitely do a half-marathon. That is a great race picture, too! I always look pissed off or something in mine. 🙂

  14. April 20, 2009 10:42 am

    CONGRATS CONGRATS CONGRATS!! That’s fabulous news 🙂 Way to go!!

  15. April 20, 2009 11:10 am

    OMG, great job! That’s an awesome time!

    So you’re definitely doing Zooma???

  16. April 20, 2009 11:12 am

    Congratulations! You’re an inspiration 🙂

  17. April 20, 2009 11:22 am

    WOWWW!!! Congratulations girl! I’m so proud of you 🙂

  18. April 20, 2009 11:28 am

    I am so proud of you! That is an AMAZING time! You can totally do a 1/2 🙂

  19. April 20, 2009 11:29 am

    Congrats Ashley!!! That’s a wonderful accomplishment 🙂 (and your doggie is too cute . . .)

  20. April 20, 2009 11:43 am

    CONGRATULATIONS! Omg, that is such an awesome, awesome time! You blew your goal right out of the water! Way to go!!!

    Definitely sign up for a half-marathon, I haven’t actually ran mine yet but training for it has been SO amazing and taught me SO much about what my body can do!!

  21. April 20, 2009 12:11 pm

    Congratulations!! That is so fantastic, and great picture of you running too!!

  22. April 20, 2009 12:14 pm

    Ashley,
    CONGRATULATIONS! You did it girlie…I knew you would, but what an AWESOME time! You should be SO incredibly proud of yourself.
    I’ve been getting really scared and anxious for my race but reading your recap has me inspired again. Thank you for sharing your whole journey–it really has helped more than you know!
    I totally love the action shot of you running 😉 Hard core! I really think you should sign up for that half…you can do it!
    So proud of you!
    Lara xox

  23. Kristin permalink
    April 20, 2009 12:41 pm

    congrats ashley!!!

    also – love that you wear your ipod upside down – i do the same thing! 🙂

  24. April 20, 2009 1:01 pm

    congrats!!!!! that is so amazing!!!!! i bet you are on such a high right now 🙂

    p.s. i am seriously loving that crazy bright blue bagel!!

  25. April 20, 2009 1:11 pm

    FREAKING CONGRATULATIONS, GIRL!!!!!!! YOU’RE AN INSPIRATION!!!

  26. April 20, 2009 1:19 pm

    ahh!! congrats on the 10k thats SO exciting 🙂 I went to the Yogato in Fells Point this weekend! It was so fun haha I played connect 4 with some of the girls on my sisters team 🙂 We ate at the Chinese restaurant down the block and then supposedly Michael Phelps was in town at that Skuppers (? or something) because there was some paparaz waiting to snap a photo of him! Baltimore is soo fun I love it 🙂

  27. April 20, 2009 2:23 pm

    WHOA!!! You kicked some major booty! I’m so happy for you and know that you will continue to meet and exceed your goals. You could probably run a 1/2 marathon tomorrow, so get ready to check that one off your list!

    Hope you’re having a great monday!

    kaneil, balanceisbest

  28. April 20, 2009 2:44 pm

    i’m so happy for you! what an amazing job you did! congrats on your first 10K!

  29. hopeinpeanutbutterandoats permalink
    April 20, 2009 2:55 pm

    congrats on the race girl!
    i played hockey in High School too, and i saw that your shirt says Salisbury Field Hockey? we played a Salisbury High School ! i’m sure there’s more than one high school with that name but i found it interesting 🙂

  30. April 20, 2009 3:08 pm

    That is a great first 10k!! you’ll be getting faster all the time

  31. April 20, 2009 3:20 pm

    Hi again!

    Thanks for the comment.

    I know you said you bookmarked the link for the half-marathon training, but here it is again: http://www.marathonrookie.com/half-marathon-training.html

    Now, this is only a 10 week schedule and I’ve been training for about 4 months. For the first six weeks or so I would just run 3-4 times a week, run whatever distance I could and do a longer run on the weekends. I followed that 10-week schedule above exactly as it is and I found it worked REALLY well for me. It’s 2 short runs and 1 med run during the week and 1 long run on the weekend. I REALLY liked it, I felt like it increased the distance the perfect amount every week. It challenged me, but it didn’t push me too hard!!

    Good luck! If you do use that training plan let me know how you like it!

  32. April 20, 2009 4:00 pm

    Congrats on completing the 10K! and beating your time goal. That’s awesome!

  33. April 20, 2009 4:30 pm

    Congratulations girl! That’s amazing and you should be so proud of yourself – you know we all are 🙂

    Holy cow that is one BLUE bagel! Haha! Hershey is adorable, by the way! 🙂

    Have a great Monday! And again-awesome, and many more races like this to come, right?

    Love, Meg

  34. ari permalink
    April 20, 2009 5:51 pm

    congratulations! that’s so exciting it must be a great feeling. i’ve always wanted to participate in a 10k. seeing that you beat your original goal time is definitely an inspiration for me to go for it!

  35. April 20, 2009 6:26 pm

    You did SOOOO well!!!!! How awesome for you!!!!!!!!!

    And you got a pretty decent looking race picture too! Do you know how hard that is to accomplish!??! lol

  36. April 20, 2009 8:19 pm

    Congrats!!

    And I love how blue that bagel is

  37. April 20, 2009 9:04 pm

    Congrats girl! That is so amazing! You must feel so proud of yourself and you definitely should 🙂

  38. April 20, 2009 9:27 pm

    YIPPEEE!!! You are a STAR, Congratulations on your finish, fun & success!!!

  39. April 20, 2009 10:54 pm

    Great job! Congratulations! I really am impressed. I’m doing my first 5k in a few weeks and then a 10k in July..so this gives me the push I need!

  40. martiniwindow permalink
    April 20, 2009 11:00 pm

    CONGRATS!! THAT IS QUITE THE ACCOMPLISHMENT!! You should be proud, especially of that snazzy pic!

  41. April 21, 2009 12:02 am

    Thanks so much for my first comment! Ha. And congratulations on the big race!

    P.S. Hershey is absolutely adorable!

  42. April 21, 2009 9:29 am

    Congrats!! That’s so amazing! I can’t wait to meet you on Friday!! =)

  43. Sweet and Fit permalink
    April 21, 2009 10:23 am

    congrats girl! I knew you’d rock it! you should be so proud!

    love the pics, especally the one of hershey and your official race pic =)

    this calls for some Mr. Yogato!

  44. April 21, 2009 10:38 am

    congrats on your race and great time!!! I received the gummy kit in the mail and plan on posting about it in a little bit! but it may be after I get through moving and painting! Thanks again 🙂

    -kristen

  45. April 21, 2009 10:47 am

    AHHH CONGRATS!!! You are so frickin’ amazing! I love that intense running pic 🙂 Have a great day!

  46. April 21, 2009 10:58 am

    Congrats!! What an awesome accomplishment. I have yet to run a race, it seems so intimidating but I definitely want to do one sometime in the near future. And the fact that you did it alone is just THAT much cooler! You’re inspiring me to want to get out and run one right now!

  47. April 21, 2009 11:11 am

    Congrats! Thats such a great time!

  48. April 21, 2009 2:27 pm

    Congrats Ashley! A fantastic accomplishment and a fabulous time!

  49. April 21, 2009 2:33 pm

    So proud ash!

  50. healthyhollywood permalink
    April 21, 2009 8:35 pm

    Congratulations!! What an accomplishment! You should be so proud of yourself!!!!

  51. April 21, 2009 10:47 pm

    Ahhhh!! Congrats on the 10k! Such an awesome race pic too! Wow!
    good luck on your next one at the end of may!

    I loved reading about your jasmine day- she is the best isnt she!!? you both are! i heart you both.

  52. April 22, 2009 1:37 am

    Congrats on your race, and the awesome time 🙂

    That is one BLUE bagel! I’d almost be afraid to eat it!

  53. April 22, 2009 1:46 pm

    Congrats!

  54. May 2, 2009 11:59 am

    Congrats!!! That is such an achievement and I don’t know HOW you managed to look cute doing it because I would be a puffy red faced mess!

  55. May 10, 2009 11:55 am

    Oops! I just went back to re-read your race recap and realized I copied your title! 😉

Leave a Reply

