Skip to content

Jasmine Day

April 19, 2009

Hi all! This weekend was so much fun 🙂 Yesterday I got to spend the day with Jasmine and we had a blast. On the way to the walk I had one of Jasmine’s amazzingggg homemade granola bar.  It tasted like a KIND bar, which are one of my absolute favorite bars!! This bar was so gooddd. luckily she gave me 3 so i have 2 more left 🙂

jasmines-bar

The lupus walk was at 9:30 and it was the perfect day to be outside. The walk was so nice! All of the volunteers were giving out butterflies for people to carry with them. Jasmine told me that the butterfly is the symbol for lupus and they were everywhere 🙂 it was so pretty! The walk was a mile and a half and we had such gorgeous views. We also met a little shitzu named charlie who looked exactly like Jasmine’s puppy Lilly.

jasmine

me-and-jasmine

me-and-jasmine-2

charlie

butterfly

view

walk-for-lupus

When we checked in I bought a “brick” and made it in support of Jasmine. I felt like it was the absolute least I could do to help the cause! The walk was so uplifting and i’m so glad that I had a chance to take part in such an awesome event. It’s so funny because Jasmine and I instantly clicked and I felt like we had been friends forever!  

brick

lupus-brick

After the walk we got lost  took a nice walk and went to lunch at Java Green. This place was so awesome. It was a vegetarian and vegan cafe  and we got to eat outside in the gorgeous weather. We both got Passionberry Kombuchas and I ordered the Bi Bim Bob.  It was organic rice, cabbage, carrots, sprouts, kale, radish, zucchini, shitake mushroom, cucumber, sesame hot pepper sauce. It was spicyyy and I gobbled it all up! 

synergy

lunch

We then ventured on down to Georgetown for a little shopping trip. We got to check out lots of fun stores and we got to go to Dean and Deluca. I’ve never been there before and loved all of the foodie goodness. We got an order of summer rolls to split because our lunch hadn’t kept us full for long. They were so fresh and delicious and came with a tasty chili sauce. 

summerroll

After our long day of shopping we went to sweetgreen. The weather was screaming for us to get something nice and cold. It was a tart frozen yogurt stand and was my first taste of that type of froyo. Next up… mr yogato 🙂 I loveeeddd sweetgreen! I got a small froyo and we got to pick 3 toppings. I chose mangoes, coconut, and toasted almonds. Combo perfection 🙂 

sweetgreen

froyo

It was such a fun day and I had such a great time! So glad the blog world brought us together as friends Jasmine!! 

 

I feel like Saturday was a day of non stop eats because when I got home my mom was ready for dinner. We headed on over to chipotle but the line was a million people long so we went over to Qdoba instead. SO glad we ended up doing that because they added a new vegetarian burrito to the menu. It had grilled squash, zucchini, and roasted red peppers. I got it with rice, black beans, corn salsa, and pico de gallo. 

burrito

I don’t know if this was the right pre race meal but I figured I got my veggies, protein, carbs in a tasty wrapper 🙂 

Today’s race went really well! I’m going to give the FULL recap tomorrow morning once I get the official race time! Can’t wait to recap youuuu guyssss!!!!!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2009 9:04 pm

    those rolls looks amazing!

  2. April 19, 2009 9:24 pm

    Oh wow, what a tasty tasty tasty time!

  3. eatlivelovedream permalink
    April 19, 2009 9:44 pm

    How neat!!! and how fun!!! Glad you had such a great time!!! Blogger meet ups are the best:)

  4. Sweet and Fit permalink
    April 19, 2009 9:50 pm

    I am so flattered that you have a whole post dedicated to the walk! I must say that I had sooooo much fun too!

    congrats on the finishing the race! I knew you could do it – hopefully you got to eat lots of tasty Clyde’s food afterwards.

    I feel like all I did on Saturday was eat too – Bryan and I went out and filled up on sushi, and you know how that is!

  5. April 19, 2009 10:13 pm

    Can’t wait to hear about your race! And I’m so jealous of the beautiful weather!!

  6. April 19, 2009 11:11 pm

    wow thanks for sharing your walk and all these pics with us! i cant wait to hear your race recap too!

  7. April 19, 2009 11:27 pm

    That doggie is so cute!

    Cant wait to hear about the race!

  8. April 20, 2009 12:20 am

    What an awesome blogger meetup and for a great cause 🙂

  9. April 20, 2009 1:02 am

    What a great event to be a part of! I’m glad you two enjoyed the day together!

  10. April 20, 2009 2:45 am

    I CAN’T WAIT to hear all about it!

  11. April 20, 2009 6:33 am

    Looks like you had a great weekend! The summer rolls look amazing!
    Can’t wait to hear about the race!

  12. snackface permalink
    April 20, 2009 6:39 am

    Awww how cute are you too?! Looks like you had a fabulous weekend filled with lovely people and eats. I’ll be watching for that recap!

  13. April 20, 2009 7:00 am

    what a great weekend blogger meet up!

  14. April 20, 2009 7:07 am

    Wonderful pictures! Looks like you had an awesome weekend!

  15. April 20, 2009 7:58 am

    Eating out… 4 times in one day?! AWESOME! Great job on the walk- how cool is that?! Can’t wait to hear about your race 🙂

  16. April 20, 2009 8:11 am

    That bar is homemade?! That looks incredible!!

    LOVE all the pictures of the sights! I’ve never been to D.C.! The new burrito sounds fantastic!

  17. April 20, 2009 11:37 am

    What a beautiful day for the walk!

    Love sweetgreen!

  18. April 20, 2009 8:17 pm

    I always get tacos at Quadoba’s. I’m just not a big fan of their rice. I could get a burrito without rice, but I don’t feel like that would be filling enough

Leave a Reply

