Skip to content

meet-up!

April 17, 2009

So last night was the Baltimore Blogger Meetup! Unfortunately Jasmine couldn’t make it 😦 She got stuck in a lot of traffic on her way and ended up having to turn around. Luckily I still get to see her on Saturday at the Lupus Walk! We’re going to lunch afterwards too, and im sooo excited! maybe throw in a little shopping too? πŸ™‚

IΒ  walked in and found Lauren from Athleat and Rose from On a Lobster Placemat already in the restaurant. Right from the start they made me feel at ease at welcome. This was my first meet up so I was a little nervous at first. It’s so funny too, because you haven’t met these people in person before but you know so much about them! We talked all things running, blogs, jobs, food, grocery stores and chatted the whole way through. Claire and Dan from Footprints and FingertipsΒ came as well and it was such a nice group for dinner!

group-shot

sorry rose for blocking your head!

Then came time to order! I used the checklist to build my own veggie burger! The last time I came here I ordered the veggie burger off the menu and it was absolutely delicious. This time however I had to forgo the cheese so I built my own.

I checked off

  • veggie burger
  • classic bun
  • avocado
  • chili pepper mayo on side
  • bib lettuce
  • tomatoes
  • cucumbers
  • sweet potato fries!

checklist

This came out beautifullll! I loved every bite and the chili pepper mayo added the perfect spicy touch for me. Of course I finished every last crumb πŸ™‚ The sweet potato fries were awesome. Oh, I also had a blue moon to begin with.

veggie-burger

look at all the veggies in the burger! you can see whole pieces of corn!

look at all the veggies in the burger! you can see whole pieces of corn!

This was such a fun dinner and I can’t wait to do more πŸ™‚ It’s so nice to meet people who you have so much in common with and can seriously talk for hours without pause. It was great to meet all you guys and I hope we do it again soon!!!

Β 

Update on my dairy challenge:

I’ve decided to keep eating yogurt. When I went to the doctor about my lactose intolerance they told me htat yogurt shouldn’t really give me too much trouble. It has a small amount of lactose and has natural probiotics in it so I should be fine. What i’m really going to focus on is my cheese consumption. I think this is what gives me my most problems. I’ve cut out milk, and really the most dairy I consume comes from cheese. This is what i’m goign to limit for the 30 day period and hopefully it makes a difference in how my body feels and reacts to the meals I eat.Β  When I think back to eating yogurt with cereal for breakfast I realize it never upset my stomach, so i’m glad I still have yogurt as an option. 30 days without cheese? can i do it? i hope soooo πŸ™‚

Β 

Well also last night at dinner Rose told me about Mr Yogato! It’s a frozen yogurt place that is in DC that JUST opened up a location in Fells Point the other day! Right down the street from my work. You know that as soon as I went home I looked them up. I don’t think i’ll be able to go there today, but definitely next week… and i’m not sure about what flavor froyo i’m goign to get but i know my first choice of toppings! Mochi and red bean paste! ah! so asian πŸ™‚ but this stuff is amazing and i’ve never thought to have it as a froyo topping. Don’t worry Rose, as soon as I try it i’ll give you my input! Im sure i’ll be dropping by there many many times.

logo

This weekend is 10k weekenddd yayyy! After talking at dinner about it, i’ve gotten even more excited and pumped! I’ve heard theres lots of hills though, so i hope to bust them out. Weather forecast says rain.. but i’m hoping it holds off till the race is over! Lets hope for a nice day sunday! But saturday during the lupus walk should be absolutely gorgeous!! might even get a little tan πŸ™‚

Have a wonderful weekend! I’ll keep you all updated!!

36 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2009 8:11 am

    It was great meeting you!! I felt the same way – it was so comfortable chatting with you ladies.

    Can’t wait to see your review of Yogoto! And thanks again for the BB!

  2. April 17, 2009 8:12 am

    That should have read = with you ladies and Dan! Didn’t mean to leave him out of the mix!

  3. April 17, 2009 8:24 am

    Hi, I just found your blog on AthlEAT and it looks great! I am in the DC area right now, but moving to Baltimore in the fall, so I love seeing where the locals are eating! YUM!

  4. April 17, 2009 8:29 am

    great recap! SO very nice to meet you too. good luck this weekend – you are going to do great.

  5. April 17, 2009 8:32 am

    So fun! I remember being so nervous going to my first meet-up, but quickly felt at-ease and ended up making some great real-life friends! πŸ™‚

    You can definitely do the no-cheese for 30 days gig. I hope it makes you feel better!

    have a great weekend, sweet Ashley!

    Kaneil, balanceisbest

  6. April 17, 2009 8:39 am

    how fun!!! Isn’t it weird how you totally click with other bloggers, even though it’s like meeting celebs πŸ˜€ YAY for fro yo it’s my obsesh, i’m glad you haven’t banned it!

  7. April 17, 2009 8:43 am

    Hi Ashley!!! GOSH I hope your lactose intolerance doesn’t include ice-cream!! I think I may also be a little intolerant but I eat LAODS of yogurt and it does sometimes make me sick when i go above 4 cups a day. hahah yes, this happened before! Apparently, Asians are MUCh more prone to being lactose intolerant. Grr those Asian genes!!!

    Your burger looks SCRUMPTIOUS! Now i totally gotta visit my aunt in DC and have her drive me to Baltimore for that burger. And obviously, fro yo is my #1 love, so make sure you show us if your froyo looks yummier than ours in Chicago!!! πŸ˜€ Have a fabulous weekend girlie!!

  8. April 17, 2009 9:06 am

    Good luck in your race!! Can’t wait to hear all about it!

  9. sarahdbelle permalink
    April 17, 2009 9:09 am

    What a lovely dinner! I’m so glad that you had fun. Good luck on the 10k!
    Sarah
    http://sarahdbelle.wordpress.com/

  10. April 17, 2009 9:13 am

    That burger place looks so fun! I just went through the whole menu and I think I would have ordered something really similar πŸ˜‰
    I’ve heard that yogurt shouldn’t bother people with lactose intolerance as much too. My dad eats it and he is lactose intolerant. I think it’s great if you can eat it…why would you want to miss out on that?!
    I hope you are posting again before your race! If not, GOOD LUCK and you know I’ll be thinking of ya. I’m already sending my BEST thoughts over to you, but you don’t need them, you’re going to ROCK!! Please let me know all about it!

  11. April 17, 2009 9:29 am

    What a fabulous veggie burger! and YUM.. sweet potato fries!! I am lactose intolerant too and yogurt never seems to bother my tummy.

  12. April 17, 2009 9:36 am

    Oh wow, that burger looks amazing – sweet potato fries!!!!!!

  13. April 17, 2009 9:49 am

    I am doing exactly what you are doing! I am lactose intolerant but yogurt is okay and actually settles my stomach. I have a 10km this weekend too – my first one! The blogger meetup looked SO fun.

  14. April 17, 2009 10:01 am

    Yay! Good luck with your 10k! Cant to wait to hear all about it!

  15. April 17, 2009 10:01 am

    It looks like you guys had a ton of fun! I’m mad I missed out– but I can’t wait for next Friday!!

    And, THANK YOU SO MUCH for the donation!! It really means a lot =) Have a great Friday and have fun this weekend!!

  16. April 17, 2009 10:15 am

    okay that build your own burger thing is awesome!!!!!!!!!!

    (are your dishes FIESTAWARE??????)

    have a great weekend!!

  17. peaceandpeanutbutter permalink
    April 17, 2009 10:19 am

    Your veggie burger looks delicious…as do those sweet pot fries!!!

    Glad you had fun at the meet-up πŸ™‚

    Good luck at the 10k!!!!

    ~Erika

  18. April 17, 2009 10:27 am

    yum!! that burger looks delicious. what a fun night!! i love mochi on froyo, glad you found out about that place. good luck this weekend!!!

  19. April 17, 2009 11:30 am

    Sounds like a fun time… That veggie burger looks amazing! I’m pretty sure I’ve never had a homemade one before.

  20. April 17, 2009 12:26 pm

    Looks like you all had a great time!

  21. April 17, 2009 12:32 pm

    burger looks amazing!

  22. snackface permalink
    April 17, 2009 12:59 pm

    What an awesome meet up! And what an awesome veg burger!! I have never seen one so full of veggies. I would have eaten every last crumb, too.

    There are so many great non-dairy “cheeses” out there that if you substitute them for regular cheese, you won’t even miss the dairy version.

    AHHH!! 10K weekend! I wish you luck already and can’t wait to see how everything goes!

  23. April 17, 2009 1:58 pm

    Glad to hear you had a good time at the meetup…hooray for Marylanders πŸ˜‰

    Have a great weekend and happy Friday!

    Love, Meg

  24. April 17, 2009 2:02 pm

    it sounds like you had such a great time at the meet up girl! and that burger looks amazinnnnnng. Good luck with the dairy challenge babe, you got this!

    xoxo,
    Jenny

  25. April 17, 2009 3:01 pm

    wow it sounds like a great meet-up! and the burger looks amazing!

  26. April 17, 2009 3:06 pm

    That is an all star veggie burger, right there! Glad you guys had a blast together πŸ™‚

    Good luck with the lactose issues!!

  27. April 17, 2009 3:39 pm

    SO FUN! That burger looks INCREDIBLE! πŸ˜‰

  28. April 17, 2009 7:10 pm

    Thanks for the info about the great places to eat in Baltimore I can’t wait to try them out! πŸ™‚ Your food looked AWESOME!

  29. Sweet and Fit permalink
    April 17, 2009 7:14 pm

    I’m still really bummed that i hit so much traffic! looks like y’all had such a great time though. sooo excited!

  30. April 17, 2009 8:46 pm

    what a great blogger meet up! and that restaurant sounds so cool! i would love to build my own burger at a place like that!

  31. April 18, 2009 9:56 am

    yay for fun meetups! that burger place looks aaaaamazing, i love being able to customize what i want! it seriously looked like veggies were spilling out of that burger, perfecto!

    hope you have a great day at the lupus walk, what an awesome cause! xox

  32. April 18, 2009 12:55 pm

    There’s some crazy topping choices on that list. White truffle oil or foie gras on a burger? Seriously?

  33. April 18, 2009 4:45 pm

    I just found your blog and love it! I Would be ALLL OVER that frozen yogurt place!

  34. April 18, 2009 8:34 pm

    what a great meet-up! it looks and sounds like you guys had agreat time!!

  35. April 19, 2009 4:36 pm

    Aww, looks like the meet-up was great! I love how I can meet other bloggers and feel like we’re already friends! πŸ™‚ Your burger looked amazing, too!

    I’m mildly lactose intolerant, too, but yogurt doesn’t bother me. πŸ™‚

  36. April 19, 2009 6:13 pm

    That place sounds like so much fun! Who wouldn’t love to build their own burger?! Yours looks delish. I hope the race went well πŸ™‚ Rain, rain go away . . .

    -kristen

Leave a Reply

