Skip to content

get sconed

April 16, 2009

Helloo lovelies! Hope everyone’s Thursday is going well!

Last night for din I decided to use some some black beans i had in the fridge. You know what that meant… black bean burgers from Vcon ๐Ÿ™‚

I made 1/4 of the recipe so it made just enough for dinner. I made two really thin patties so it was like I had a double burger ha. Put the patties on top of a slice of toasted sprouted grain bread and spinach and topped it off with a ketchup swirly. Gotta love Vcon.

black-bean-burger1

I’d been dying to make some of the banana date scones from Vcon too. Finally I had some overripe bananas so I decided to go ahead and make them. I made half of the recipe which made 4 smaller scones. Of course I had to try one! I had a freshly baked scone with a cup of rooibos tea. Nothing beats that. The scone was absolutely divine. I’d heard that people said it doesn’t taste like a scone really and was more cakey? But mine turned out really well and I didn’t think it was cakelike at all really. Perfect little after dinner dessert to wind me down.

scone

broken-scone

After din and dessert I did half of the Core Fusions body sculpt and then 20 minutes of yogadownloads. I’m going to do the other half tonight and then more yoga.

This morning I felt very European ๐Ÿ™‚ I had a scone and a cup of coffee. I added a little Smart Balance after I toasted it up. This kept me full just as long as my oatmeal and oatmeal cookies do. I was pleasantly surprised!

buttered-scone

During lunch I had wanted to go on a lunch run since I wouldn’t be able to tonight, but had a few errands I had to do. I settled for an hour long walk in the beautiful weather. Days like these make me so happyy, i’m hoping all the rain has passed and theres nothing but sunshine for the days ahead! When I got back from my walk I had a turkey wrap in a ww tortilla with hummus, spinach, and roasted red pepper. With it, I had my O.N.E. Coffee Berry Juice. OMG. let me tell you exactly what this tastes like.

ย 

A capri sun.

I’m not kidding when I tell you I chugged this down and loved every drop. This juice was flavored with strawberries. Did you know that Coffee isn’t justย a bean? It’s a berry! I personally had absolutely NO idea. One the juice box it says that the coffee berry is a super-high antioxidant, naturally caffeinated fresh juice. It has a similar level of caffeine as a cup of green tea. O.N.E. Coffee Berry offers the mild, unique taste of coffee berry accented by the sweetness of strawberries. It is also rich in phenolic acids. Phenolic acids are said to help fight the buildup of free radicals and protect against oxidative stress. This was one tasty drink my friends! Glad i have one more ๐Ÿ™‚

wrap

picture-0063

Well blogger meet up is tonight! A few people couldn’t make it so there’l be 4 of us there. Rose, Jasmine, and Lauren. can’t wait to meet you ladies! Sweet potato fries here I comeeee!

Make sure go check out Jasmine’s Giveaway! Go and support a great cause!

and Meghann is giving away some Honest Foods products! yay!

22 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2009 1:26 pm

    Those burger and those scones = YUM!!!!

    I wish I could go to a blogger meet up, sounds like so much fun!! Ha, but I live in the boonies of Missouri so that probably won’t happen … lol. Hope your Thursday is wonderful!! : )

  2. April 16, 2009 1:27 pm

    Those scones look lovely!
    Have fun at the dinner!

  3. April 16, 2009 1:31 pm

    I lvoe the title of this post-it made me giggle. I am fully convinced now that I need to buy Vcon. I actually made black bean burgers today for lunch and they were just blah. I’ve been unsatisfied all day because of it so I need to get a new recipe!

  4. Sweet and Fit permalink
    April 16, 2009 1:45 pm

    thanks for the shout out!

    I had no idea coffee want just a bean – and a berry?? who woulda thunk!

    your scones look amazing – you need to get some royalty for how much you can sell veganomicon – not that you intentionally do it, but seriously you have totally sold me on it!

  5. April 16, 2009 1:49 pm

    that scone looks amazing!

  6. April 16, 2009 1:52 pm

    Just like a Capri Sun?! That’s very exciting…you even have to stab the top with the straw?!

  7. sarahdbelle permalink
    April 16, 2009 2:16 pm

    That scone looks so good. I can’t believe it held you over like oats. Good to know!
    Sarah

    http://sarahdbelle.wordpress.com/

  8. April 16, 2009 3:09 pm

    yay for black bean burgers!!!! i think your scones win for fancier dessert creation than my no pudge LOL. i need to try those flavored ONE drinks! i am obsessed with the regular coconut water they make.

  9. peaceandpeanutbutter permalink
    April 16, 2009 3:20 pm

    I’m drooling over here, girl….that scone looks divine! Ahhhh!!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE SCONES! Plus, your homemade black bean burgers are lookin mighty fine as well!!

    Have fun tonight ๐Ÿ™‚

    ~Erika

  10. April 16, 2009 3:40 pm

    ah that scone looks professional girl! have fun at your blogger meet up =) can’t wait to hear all about it!

  11. April 16, 2009 3:48 pm

    your scone looks sooo good!

    i really want to try that coffee berry juice, too!

    enjoy the gorgeous weather and the blogger meet up!

  12. April 16, 2009 4:11 pm

    Your scone looks amazing! I had no clue coffee was a berry either! I need to find that drink! Have fun at the meetup!

  13. snackface permalink
    April 16, 2009 4:15 pm

    V’Con is the best! Those scones look amazing–love the title of the post, too!
    Ok, we officially need to arrange plans so that I can live next to you. We will swap our V’con adventures and love life. Haha- Can’t wait for the blogger dinner!

  14. April 16, 2009 4:24 pm

    Well it sure sounds like you are having a deliciously nutritious day! And those scones look really good too. Don’t forget to check out Foodista!

  15. April 16, 2009 5:40 pm

    Between the scones and the burgers (esp. the swirl!) I’m in heaven! I need to get my hands on Vcon!!

    Have fun at the meet up ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. April 16, 2009 7:16 pm

    Everything looks amazing! Love the swirl of ketchup!!!!

  17. eatlivelovedream permalink
    April 16, 2009 8:19 pm

    I HEART scones!!! And swirled ketchup as well:) Feeling European is fun!

  18. April 16, 2009 10:31 pm

    OHHHHHHH-ma-gosh! Your boogie looks so good & those scones have me sold- I must get in the kitchen! Thanks! Have fun with the gals tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. April 16, 2009 10:48 pm

    Cute swirly ketchup! Those scones looks SO yummy, I need to try making them but making bread-type recipes intimidates me for some reason.

  20. April 16, 2009 11:16 pm

    Wwo your scones loos awesome! And i love Capri Suns drinks! that means i MUSt try that drink!

  21. April 16, 2009 11:42 pm

    The scones look great!

    Thanks for the product review! That’s cool that it tasted like Capri Sun!

  22. April 17, 2009 7:00 am

    INCREDIBLE burgers and scones!!

Leave a Reply

