Skip to content

Stuffed

April 14, 2009

Happy Tuesday! Tuesdays always seem the longest to me, then after that the week flies by so lets hope for a quick one today!!!

So yesterday after work I mentally prepared myself for a run. I knew that today and tomomorrow were going to be rainy and running wouldn’t be in the picture. I set out to do a 4 miler, but once I hit the halfway mark I felt confident that I could do a little more. I ended up running 5 miles and it was a lot easier than the last time I did the same run. This is good! I’m making progress and can feeeeel it! The weather forcast is looking good for the 10k on Sunday! I’m going to also try to get runs in on Thurs and Fri then take off Saturday. Saturday however I’m going to do the Lupus Walk in DC with Jasmine! I’m really excited to get to do this and can’t wait to support her! Send your love over to her, this is close to her heart.

Β 

Last night after my run my friend Brooke came over for dinner and The Hills. After seeing a spinach and feta stuffed chicken dinner on Courtney’s blog the other week I decided that I wanted to do my own version. I sauteed some garlic, spinach, onions, and some sundried tomatoes in olive oil and let it cool. I pounded out 2 chicken breasts, seasoned them with salt, pepper, and garlic powderΒ and then added the sauteed goodness and some feta. I rolled them up and placed them in a glass baking dish that had some olive oil on the bottom to keep them from sticking. Added a little olive oil on top and popped it into a 350 degree oven for 45 minutes. It cooked up perfectly and had amazing flavor! On the side Brooke made some grilled zuchini and squash. She seasoned them with olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic powder than put them in the foreman. I loved how she sliced them lengthwise. Usually I make them into rounds but this way seemed much fancier! It tasted like a gourmet dinner and we were really happy with the way everything turned out!

picture-0017

This morning I had a breakfast cookie but this time with a packet of YouBar vanilla protein powder. I reallllly liked the vanilla with the mix. This is an awesome protein powder that YouBar’s got! I think i’m going to buy some vanilla protein powder the next time I get to TJs. I really like it in the cookie and it helps to keep me full for longer. I’m such a protein powder newbie, so this will be my first purchase πŸ™‚

picture-0036

Mid day I had a pink lady apple and a little baggie of dry kashi h2h. For lunch I was supposed to meet with Megan at Whole Foods but she had to be in class unfortunately. Don’t worry girl, we’ll reschedule for next week! She’s going through a tough time right now so stop on by and show her some support to help get her through. Keep your head up girl, things will get better soon!

I ended up going home for lunch and made another green smoothie. This time I made it the same way I usually do but without the almond butter. It still tasted good but I think the almond butter gives it the extra punch of flavor that I love πŸ™‚ I finished up the kale I bought the other week. I can’t believe this was my first time trying kale, im glad I can add it into my daily diet with these green smoothies. I also had half of an open faced ham sandwich on sprouted grain bread with a thin slice of provolone and some dijon mustard. I think any sandwich tastes a million times better when its toasted and melty.

picture-0044

picture-0053

Hope you have a great rest of the day and see you all tomorrow for Hump Day!

31 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2009 1:30 pm

    Ash you are QUITE the cook!! That chicken looks really gourmet! And i just realized that i missed out on a whole bunch of your yummy enchiladas!!! Honey, if you’ve never had a taro smoothie, you NEED TO! SOOOOON!!! You momma knows her stuff! I dare you to get a taro bubble tea the next time you crave a smoothie! πŸ˜›

  2. peanutbutterandjuli permalink
    April 14, 2009 2:03 pm

    Yay green smoothies! Taro smoothie? Keep me posted on how that goes πŸ™‚

  3. April 14, 2009 2:09 pm

    that chicken looks so great! too bad i’m not a meat eater!!

  4. April 14, 2009 2:30 pm

    5 miler – thats beast πŸ˜‰ haha
    I really need to get around to trying a green monster because yours looks awesome!

    I do just have one question about UNC, where you and instate or out of state applicant?

  5. April 14, 2009 2:37 pm

    Chicken looks and sounds great!!!

  6. April 14, 2009 2:49 pm

    whoops! disregard the UNC Question. Im terribly sorry If i confused you!

  7. April 14, 2009 3:03 pm

    I don’t even know why they pretend Heidi and Spencer are broken up we all know that they have sent out wedding invitations since then!

  8. April 14, 2009 3:24 pm

    Chicken looks awesome! And any sandwich really does taste a million times better when its toasted and melty πŸ˜‰

  9. How I Eat Today permalink
    April 14, 2009 3:31 pm

    Oh my Good gosh, your meals look so amazing. I love your blog

  10. April 14, 2009 4:11 pm

    Great job on your run, Ashley!

    Your gourmet dinner looks fab, too, and so does that green smoothie.

    Have a great day! πŸ™‚

  11. April 14, 2009 4:21 pm

    Brooke and your dinner looks amazing!!! You girls did great … yum!!! : )

  12. April 14, 2009 4:58 pm

    The cheese on that sandwich looks sooooo yummy!

  13. April 14, 2009 5:19 pm

    LOVE your green smoothie πŸ™‚ Good luck on the runs this weekend!!

  14. April 14, 2009 5:44 pm

    Hey girl πŸ™‚ I’m excited for you for all of your upcoming runs! Hooray for 5 miles, too! I’m not gonna lie, when I first saw that picture of the chicken dinner, I thought it was from a restaurant…looks so gourmet! Hope you have a lovely Tuesday evening! Let’s hope the weather around here brightens up soon! I’m so sick of this rain!

    Love, Meg

  15. April 14, 2009 5:48 pm

    Thanks sooo much for the amazing comment this morning! Hopefully everything will turn out okay! How about Friday next week? I don’t have class at all so I don’t have to worry about getting back at a certain time… let me know if that works for you!

    -Megan

  16. April 14, 2009 6:52 pm

    ok i could not stand my smoothies with kale. what else did you put in it??

    don’t forget to swing by today for a honest foods giveaway

  17. April 14, 2009 8:04 pm

    Amazing breakfast cookie!! It looks delicious! Great job on the run!

  18. April 14, 2009 8:14 pm

    That stuffed chicken looks delicious.

    Looking forward to meeting you on Thursday!

  19. April 14, 2009 9:27 pm

    Oh wow, look at you go. Everything looks great!

  20. April 14, 2009 10:06 pm

    yay for a great run and amazing looking dinner! love it all!

    hope you had a fabulous tuesday!

  21. April 14, 2009 10:42 pm

    Your dinner looks so good! i really need to get more creative!

    Great job on the run too!

  22. Sweet and Fit permalink
    April 14, 2009 10:47 pm

    thanks so much for the love girl! you are too sweet!

    I agree with all the other commenters – that chicken dinner looks really good! I want to give that a try soon too =)

    so excited for thursday AND saturday!

  23. April 14, 2009 10:56 pm

    I love chicken stuffed with feta! And the zuchini does look good!

  24. snackface permalink
    April 15, 2009 7:27 am

    Awesome run! I don’t normally run, but I love when I am doing it and I just feel so into it I don’t want to stop. AHHH I can’t wait for your upcoming races. You’re going to dominate!

    How are your green smoothies the prettiest shade of chartreuce (sp? is off). Love it!

    I hope you have a fab humpday! πŸ™‚

  25. April 15, 2009 8:36 am

    Awesome dinner!

  26. April 15, 2009 8:46 am

    great eats – I really need to try the green smoothie at some point! and how exciting about Clydes 10k this weekend…my sister is running, but I am not – have my adventure race in a week and need to rest up.

  27. April 15, 2009 8:50 am

    It sounds like you are SO ready for the run. You must be so excited/pumped for Sunday. I’ll be thinking of you!
    I had a green monster this morning with a piece of toast–perfect breakfast for a 4 miler πŸ™‚
    Keep up your running awesomeness!!

  28. eatinnyc permalink
    April 15, 2009 10:31 am

    Yay! Go you on making your run longer! I need that kind of willpower πŸ™‚ When it’s nice outside I could run forever but on the treadmill in the gym I have to bribe myself with promises of mani/pedis…
    xoxo
    s
    http://eatfabinnyc.wordpress.com

  29. April 15, 2009 10:48 am

    Way to go with the dinner – restaurant quality!! Grilled zucchini and squash is one of my favorite summer dishes!

  30. April 15, 2009 12:12 pm

    Great 5 mile run! You’re going to finish strong at your 10K on Sunday. I have no doubts!

    I too loved how Brooke sliced the zucchini, and I’ve never tried grilling them on the Foreman. I’ve got to try that soon.

    P.S. Never leave out the almond butter. πŸ™‚

  31. April 16, 2009 7:20 pm

    That green smoothie looks so creamy! πŸ™‚

    Cheers,
    Kristen

Leave a Reply

