Skip to content

recap city

April 13, 2009

Happy Monday Bloggies ! I missed you all this weekend, but I hope you all had a great Easter and enjoyed some QT with loved ones. I have so much to recap on!

Friday for lunch I made a naan pizza! I had some more frozen naan bread from TJs in the freezer and wanted to use it. I cooked it in the oven, then took it out and made a simple pizza with some marinara sauce, mozzerella cheese, oregano, sliced tomatoes and onions. Threw a little garlic powder and some red pepper flakes. This was so easy and the naan made the perfect base for the pizza. It was perfect for when you need to make a one person meal. While the pizza was cooking in the oven I set out for a little experiment. I had looked online at how to make your own larabars and decided I wanted to make my own coconut cream pie larabar. The recipe I found online said 1 tbsp dates to 3 tbsp of dry ingredients. I mashed up 1 tbsp worth of dates, then added in 2 tbsp raw almonds that I had ground up in my food processor, and 1 tbsp of unsweetened coconut. I mashed all the ingredients together and rolled it into a ball. I threw the ball into some saran wrap and flattened it out into a circle and tossed it in the fridge! I ate it as my mid day snack and let me tell you… it was amazing!Β  It tasted so frseh and definitely tasted like the coconut pie larabar. So simple too! I am going to try making other flavors too, and definitely am goign to make a bigger portion and then slice them up into bar shapes sometime.

pizza-naan

coconut-larabar

I had a quick bowl of cereal for dinner since I didn’t have much time before heading over to meet my sister , but managed to have one of Jasmine’s amazing blondies!!

jasmine-blondie1

Friday night my sister got in, and then soon after Chase did too. I got to hang with my sis for a while before she left then afterwards we went out to the bar. It was a fun night with lots of friends πŸ™‚

In the morning I was craving an egg sandwich. I had some ciabatta rolls still left in the freezer so I used one of those and had a 1 egg 1 egg white egg sandwich with some cheddar cheese.Β  These always hit the spot, and aren’t drenched in butter like most delis and breakfast places serve. Tasted amazing!

egg-sandwich

For lunch I just had some cereal and pumpkin granola with yogurt. I just wanted something simple. Origins in the mall in the harbor was having an event on Sat and were doing facials so you could see if you liked their products. I just recently bought some facewash from there called checks and balances the other week. I reallly loved it and so I thought the facial would be a nice way to see if any of their other products caught my eye. I loveeddd their facial scrub. Its called Modern Friction and I can’t even describe how soft it made my face feel! Like a babys booty πŸ˜‰ haha. I bought some and can’t wait to use it again.

On my walk home I had another of my home made coconut cream pie larabrs. delish.

For dinner Chase and I got sushi to go from one of my favorite sushi spots in Columbia called Sushi King. I got some seaweed salad, 2 vegetable rolls, and a cucumber avocado roll. I thought I was hungrier than I actually turned out to be and only finished about half. Don’t you worry, it did not go to waste. I saved the rest of it for lunch on Sunday. πŸ™‚

seaweed-salad

veggie-sushi

cucavoroll

Β 

Sunday mornin I was wanting eggs again. Funny how on the weekends I crave eggs and during the week its grains. I made a 2 egg and mozzerella breakfast burrito.

egg-burrito

My parents were on their way back from Florida and so I made all of us some chicken enchiladas for dinner. In the mix was chicken seasoned in Adobo, sour cream, 1/3 far cream cheese, light mixed cheese, enchilada sauce, corn, black beans, and spinach. I made them in some TJs whole wheat tortillas. I think I should have added the cheese on top right towards the end of the cooking time, because it kinda dried up a little instead of being really melty on top, but overall these were really good! They were so easy to make and I always believed my mom is the queen of enchiladas and she said mine were tasty! So i got the stamp of approval, woo!

enchiladas

one-enchi

This morning I had some of mywaycereal Tropic Thunder with some vanilla unsweetened almond milk. To make my way through lunch I had a pink lady apple and some dried mangoes.

mywaycereal1

Β 

I’m telling you guys, i’ve been CRAVING green smoothies lately. I would love to have them for breakfast but the blender is loud, and I wake up earlier than my roommates and don’t want to wake them up just because I want a smoothie. So it’s been working out that i’ve been having one for lunch with a snack pretty soon after and it’s kept me surprisingly full. It gives me so much natural energy and I love it. Needless to say, I made one for lunch today.

Todays smoothie included:
2 kale leaves
1 c unsweetened almond milk
1 tbsp ground flax
1 spoon of nut butter
1/2 banana
squirt of agave
1/4 avocado

greenie

I feel like the avocado really makes the smoothie even creamier and I love the consistency it gives it. My nut butter was a special one today! It was Wilderness Family Naturals Cocoa-Nutte! Ah this stuff is amazinggg! They were so kind to send me a few of their awesome items and i’m going to do a full review once I try them all. This nut butter tastes so good. It contains soaked and dehydrated hazelnuts and pecans, a touch of raw agave, and some raw cacao, and a pinch of Himalayan pink salt. This is raw nut butter at its finest! I loveddd it! It was a perfect addition to the smoothie. On the side I had a piece of sprouted wheat toast and some Barney Butter. Loved this fresh lunch.

nut-butter

Β 

Well Sunday I was able to get in a 3 miler, so today I want to get a nice run in as well. I’m gonna make this week a good week but not push myself too much since the 10k is on Sat. Once the 10k is over i’m signing up for a month of bikram and then my next 10k is may 31! craziness.

This was the longest post everrrrrrrrrr

Hope you all have a wonderful Monday!
Excited for my blogger meet-ups! Tomorrow with Megan and then Thurs with the Baltimore Ladies!

32 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2009 1:13 pm

    Naan pizza — you are so creative! Looks yummy!

  2. April 13, 2009 1:29 pm

    yum sushi!!! i love putting avocado in my smoothies, too…gives a nice creaminess πŸ™‚

  3. April 13, 2009 1:30 pm

    Naan pizza and homemade Laras! Nice job!! Haha love the description of the facial scrub πŸ™‚

  4. April 13, 2009 1:34 pm

    Nicely done on the homemade larabar! That looks fantastic!

  5. April 13, 2009 1:52 pm

    look at you my beautiful little chef/baker! everything looks awesome =) you need to move in with me and cook my meals everyday, deal!? πŸ˜‰

    enjoy the rest of your monday!
    -PBJ

  6. April 13, 2009 1:57 pm

    those enchiladas looks amazing — yummy goodness all wrapped up!

    yay sushi!!

    The nut butter looks delish πŸ˜‰

  7. April 13, 2009 2:31 pm

    mmm i would get the same thing from sushi!

  8. April 13, 2009 2:58 pm

    I love that Naan bread from Trader Joe’s! I never would have thought to make it as a pizza! That looks awesome!!

    Great pics!

  9. April 13, 2009 3:33 pm

    mmm the larabar looks great! i definitely want to try to make some of those πŸ™‚

  10. April 13, 2009 3:53 pm

    Thank you love!!! I am SO happy!

    Wowza to your food! i just always keep saying wow, wow, hmm, oh my goodness! I loved your pizza, I might make that for dinner tonight.

    I again have on the same green monster sweatshirt! that is too funny- I will post a pic of it on my next post!

    I’m GETTING MARRIED!!!!!!

  11. April 13, 2009 3:55 pm

    Hey girl! All of your eats look delicious! I see so many of those green smoothies everywhere in the blogging world! I’d love to try one, but honestly…I’m afraid of what my concoction might taste like πŸ˜› so I’d probably need to follow someone’s recipe for one, like yours! That facial sounds magnificent – I love Origins products, especially their soaps – I used to have a bunch of them in a bowl in my bathroom, but I decided they smelled WAY to good to just be decorations. Haha! I hope you have a wonderful Monday and enjoy your run!

    Love, Meg

  12. April 13, 2009 4:04 pm

    hey! yup see you tomorrow at noon! =) I hope it’s not raining tooo hard..

  13. April 13, 2009 4:25 pm

    omg everything looks so freaking good i cant even handle it! =)

    so glad you had an awesome weekend, you deserve it for sure! xo

  14. April 13, 2009 4:28 pm

    the homemade larabar looks so good and sounds easy to make! so cool. gosh i love sushi i could seriously eat it everyday yummm

  15. April 13, 2009 4:39 pm

    Oh my gosh, I love this tasty post! Everything is so yumm!

  16. April 13, 2009 4:49 pm

    I’ve got the same issue with morning smoothies… I eat breakfast at like 6:00 and I don’t want to wake anyone up with my incredibly loud bullet!

  17. April 13, 2009 5:07 pm

    happy monday! you are so talented in the kitchen, i love seeing all your meals and creations!

  18. April 13, 2009 5:25 pm

    Nann pizza, what a great idea

  19. April 13, 2009 5:29 pm

    what a great weekend of eats! and i love the enchiladas! i totally need to make some soon!

  20. April 13, 2009 6:03 pm

    Oohh, great eats this weekend! I love sushi! Such a creative use of naan, too. I’m a sucker for anything related to Indian food.

    Thanks for the green smoothie recipe. I’m curious to try them because you said it keeps you full for a long time, and that’s really my biggest concern.

  21. Sweet and Fit permalink
    April 13, 2009 8:20 pm

    sounds like you had such a great weekend! I love all your egg-y creations! welcome back =)

  22. April 13, 2009 8:28 pm

    So much good food I can’t pick what to comment on!! Ha, so I’ll just say “YUM!”

  23. April 13, 2009 8:31 pm

    All your food always looks SO SO good and you’re making me crave sushi!!

    Good luck in your 10 K, I’m sure you’ll do great. Do you just run and do Bikram for exercise right now?? I’m asking cause I think that is what I’m going to do this summer!

  24. April 13, 2009 11:08 pm

    hey check your email! I’m VERYYY mad tht I can’t make it tomorrow =( stupid professors!

  25. April 13, 2009 11:20 pm

    Making pizza with naan is so clever!

    I’m always leery of taking home leftover sushi. But since it doesn’t look like there was any fish in your rolls, it looks like it was a smart idea!

  26. April 14, 2009 12:13 am

    Sounds like a fabulous weekend! Your egg sandwich and enchiladas look especially delicious!

  27. April 14, 2009 1:40 am

    Sounds like you had such a fun weekend! I lovee ciabatta bread, that egg sandwich looks so yummy!! πŸ™‚ And so does the enchiladas, sushi and pizza!

  28. April 14, 2009 8:10 am

    I can’t believe all your yummy eats! That naan pizza looks great and I’m the same way on the weekends, I crave eggs both Saturday and Sunday.

  29. April 14, 2009 9:47 am

    i copied your burritos last night and they were so good! thanks for the idea! http://flowsdownyellow.blogspot.com/2009/04/catch-up.html

  30. eatlivelovedream permalink
    April 14, 2009 10:05 am

    I LOVE how you added Avo to your green monster!!! What a great idea! I might have to do that =:)

  31. April 14, 2009 12:04 pm

    Exciting about your 10K! And another one in the end of May? Good for you! And Bikram Yoga is wonderful! I’m a big fan! πŸ™‚ Yummy sushi, I keep thinking I should make some again soon. It’s been too long!

  32. Tra permalink
    April 17, 2009 7:25 pm

    ooh i have just tried the coconut cream pie larabar and it was delish! i tried it room temp and today microwaved. i just didn’t like how it got all greasy microwaved but twas delish none the less, i’ll try your recipe!

Leave a Reply

