Skip to content

put the lime in the coconut

April 10, 2009

Friday is finally here my friends! WOOOOP! I’m hoping the rain will hold off but its in the forecast… so who knows? Yesterday was gorgeous so I can’t complain!

Yesterday for breakfast I had a green smoothie! This was my barney butter banana one and I do love this one the most so far. These really fill me up and I love the natural energy it gives me.

picture-0035

My mid day snack was some of mywaycereal TROPIC THUNDER πŸ™‚ with some plain yogurt. The multigrain flakes stayed crunchy till the very last bite! Loved it with the yogurt.

picture-0016

For lunch I had leftover Afghan. It doesn’t look too pretty but it tasted just as good as the night before! I also had a few pieces of cheddar cheese with some ww crackers.

picture-0023

The weather was absolutely perfect yesterday! In the 60’s and just the right amount of breeze. I reallllly wanted to go for a run, it was just the best day for it. My right outer knee had been bothering me all day though, and it was pretty sore and I didn’t want to push it too hard by running on it. Instead, after work I went over to WF and picked up some Tiger Balm. This made my knee feel a million times better, this stuff is magic I tell ya. Stinky, but magic nonetheless.

Β 

I wasn’t able to make snobby joes. I forgot that our microwave is broken, and I wouldn’t be able to heat it up easily the next day so I’ll prob make them sunday night to eat next week? I reallly am craving them now, so they’ve got to be made SOON! πŸ™‚

Β 

Dinner I was craving a burrito. I had one flat out wrap left so I knew it was meant to be πŸ˜‰

I sauteed up some onions and spinach, threw some cumin in the mix, added corn, black beans, avocado, and some mozzerella cheese. This baby was stuffed! I threw it on the foreman and got it perfectly grilled. Had a little trio of dips to go along with it. Some Franks red hot, sour cream, and some salsa. Ah this burrito was soooo gooood! Everything tasted so fresh, and the cumin really melded all the flavors together. gotta get more wraps so I can make more of these!!!!

picture-0043

picture-0052

For dessert I was craving some Kashi H2H. I had a mug of h2h with some vanilla almond milk. delish. anyone else ever enjoy their cereal from a mug? ha am i the only one?

picture-0062

The wonderful Kim from O.N.E. (One Natural Experience) sent me over some of their amazing products! 2 each of their coconut water, amazon acai, coffee fruit, and cashew fruit. I’ve only ever tried coconut water before at my Bikram studio. It was the Zico brand and I thought the regular flavor was allright. I liked the Mango flavored one much better. I’d never tried the O.N.E. coconut water so this was my first try. I loved it. This is truly an amazing natural drink. I didn’t ever really hear about drinking coconut water until Bikram. People love drinking them after a hot session because its 100% natural and has 5 electrolytes. It replaces the electrolytes you lost during your workout and it has more potassium than a banana yet 15 times more potassium as a sports drink. There’s no added sugars, no fat, no preservatives, and no cholesterol.Β  One drink has 60 cals. It’s a great drink for after any type of strenuous workout activity, or even if you want to just drink it for pure pleasure. It doesn’t have to be served cold, but it tastes soooo refreshing when its chilled! I have yet to try the other 3 drinks and every time I try one I will update you with my thoughts and review! O.N.E. has definitely won me over with their coconut water! I know they sell it at my local WF so i’m going to be picking some up for when I start doign Bikram again. Kim also sent me a fact sheet of the different benefits on the drinks πŸ™‚ you can look at all of the benefits online too! Thanks Kim!!

picture-0034

picture-0071

picture-0081

picture-009

Some awesome info I found out yesterday that any Baltimore area bloggers/foodies will love to know:

Michael Pollan, Yes, THE Michael Pollan who write the books In Defense of Food and The Omnivore’s Dilemma will be speaking at the Enoch Pratt Central Library main branch in Baltimore on May 16th at 7PM!Β  AH I definitely want to go to this! It’s a free public lecture and I absolutely can’t wait to attend!

Β 

Looking forward to the weekend, and looking forward to getting some nice runs in as well! Next week i’m planning on signing up for Bikram again!!! ahhh so excitedddd. I hope you all haveΒ a lovely Friday πŸ™‚

41 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2009 8:11 am

    oh that green smoothie is seriously as green as the sweatshirt I have on right now! It looks delicious as did everything else on your post! my goodness, I have never heard of coconut water having electrolytes but that is so awesome! Bridget ( Hugh Hefner’s former girlfriend) has a travel show now called Bridget’s Beaches and she drank coconut water straight from a coconut.

    I thought your burrito was a chicken breast… and thought ? I thought she was pyshced about a burrito?… haha.

    Have fun with your sister! My sister is coming to my beach girl’s weekend in two weeks! I can’t wait!

    The O’s is the orieols right? hope they win!

  2. Kate permalink
    April 10, 2009 9:11 am

    :D!!! I’ve seen these around on the blogs and haven’t tried them either!! So jealous-I’m glad you liked them. I was still so nervous for yoga HA, but it was so much better going to a studio that specizlied in it rather than just a class @ my gym. It was def challenging as I expected, but I felt such euphoria when I was finished very similar to pilates. I bet if I bought some cuter clothes I’d be even more reinspired!

  3. April 10, 2009 9:18 am

    oh wow – the coconut water looks cool. have been seeing that around and I am interested about it!

    what afghan place do you go too? because that food looks delish.

  4. April 10, 2009 9:34 am

    YUM YUM YUUUUUM!!

    So exciting about Michael Pollan!!

  5. April 10, 2009 9:42 am

    ahh isn’t the weather gorgeous, girl.. I am LOVING it ❀

    that coconut water sounds very interesting.. and your burrito looks off the hook.. you are such a little chef πŸ™‚

  6. April 10, 2009 10:02 am

    Michael pollan!?!!?!?!?! OMG OMG OMG! hahah, I am calm.
    And mmm your lunch is making me drool!

  7. April 10, 2009 10:14 am

    That’s quite an impressive green that your smoothie has going on!

    Love grilling wraps on the foreman! It really does make a world of difference, right? The dip trio is too cute too!

    Hope your knee feels better and you have a fantastic, running-filled weekend! Can’t wait to hear about Michael Pollan too! xoxo

  8. April 10, 2009 10:35 am

    great bevies! and love your burrito- i can’t seem to find those wraps- i’m jealous!

  9. April 10, 2009 10:43 am

    I love how the inside of your wrap is oozing out in that second picture πŸ˜‰ Corn is so good in stuff like that.
    So cool about Michael Pollan! I wish I could go. I have only read one of his books but I would love to hear what he has to say.

  10. April 10, 2009 10:50 am

    Haooy friday!

    That wrap looks awesome! I still have yet to make a ‘green’ smoothie, but yours makes me want to try one right away!

    have a great day ❀

  11. April 10, 2009 10:54 am

    now I am going to have that song stuck in my head all day, lol πŸ™‚

  12. April 10, 2009 10:54 am

    I’ve seen the coconut water, but I haven’t tried it yet. I think it is something I’d really like! Thanks for the review!

  13. April 10, 2009 10:55 am

    The burrito looks great grilled!
    I will have to try the coconut water, I think I have tried one before, just not flavored.

  14. April 10, 2009 11:02 am

    i love using mugs too! i’ll use them for ice cream, soup, etc. tiger balm rules! i used to rub it on my temples when i had a headache and it would work. no idea how but it does. have a great weekend with all your friends!

  15. April 10, 2009 11:32 am

    Hecks yah I love your burrito! Sounds like my kinda wrap. Did you use Joseph’s lavash wrapbread?

  16. April 10, 2009 11:42 am

    yum! i love coconut water but have never tried any of the flavored ones. the original kind is delicious though!!

    btw, your homemade burrito looks awesome!! i had something very similar for lunch yesterday…ohhhhhh so good πŸ™‚

  17. April 10, 2009 11:48 am

    Green smoothies are becoming a daily staple in my diet…I CRAVE THEM! What a marvelous thing to want to eat! πŸ™‚

    I’m considering upgrading my two-week yoga package so I can keep going until graduation! I’m excited you’re signing up for Bikram again too πŸ˜€

  18. April 10, 2009 12:04 pm

    I totally use a mug for cereal when I eat it as a snack! It’s the perfect size.

  19. April 10, 2009 12:32 pm

    hey! yeah both of my parents are from taiwan! they moved to the US after they graduated from college. and i need to try out a green smoothie someday! i guess the idea of spinach/kale + fruit doesn’t seem too appealing but i’ve heard so many amazing things about it! have a great weekend.. see you on tuesday! =)

  20. peaceandpeanutbutter permalink
    April 10, 2009 12:37 pm

    I like my cereal BETTER in a mug than in a bowl!

    That green smoothie looks fabulous! I wish I could reach through the screen and take a sip!

    ~Erika

  21. April 10, 2009 1:25 pm

    I didn’t make the snobs either – it just wasn’t meant to be! One of these days we’ll both make it and be merry πŸ™‚ That burrito, however, is looking mighty tasty!

    That’s sweet you got to review O.N.E.!

  22. April 10, 2009 2:47 pm

    Ugh, we have rain here, too. Hope it passed by Baltimore!

    Your green smoothie is seriously my fave color, which means I gotta try one sometime!

    I eat out of mugs all the time, especially if all of our bowls are dirty!

  23. April 10, 2009 4:36 pm

    cereal from a mug is my fav!
    well..ice cream from a mug
    is probably my real fav. but
    cereal aint half bad. haha.

  24. April 10, 2009 5:24 pm

    Wow, def go see Pollan talk. How cool.

    Coconut water…I am intrigued.

  25. April 10, 2009 5:44 pm

    Amazing green monster combo!!

  26. cleanveggiex3 permalink
    April 10, 2009 7:00 pm

    adorable blog title πŸ™‚

    your burrito looks fabulous girlie!

  27. April 10, 2009 8:30 pm

    Awesome burrito!

    Thanks for the product review!

  28. April 10, 2009 8:49 pm

    The ONE drinks look awesome! And I love cereal in ANY and EVERY form!!:D

    Let us know how the Pollan talk goes! How cool!

  29. April 10, 2009 9:50 pm

    Your burrito looks so good! You little chef, you! I bought one of those coconut waters and still havent tried it. Its in my fridge though, so its nice and cold for when I finally do!

    I need to get myself some tiger balm.. my knees have been bothering me..maybe that will help!

  30. April 10, 2009 10:04 pm

    I think even the Afghan leftovers look awesome!

  31. April 11, 2009 10:22 am

    So I’ve been a horrible blogger lately and I feel so behind!!! But I hope you have been doing WONDERFUL and I hope your Easter weekend is fabulous and joy-filled!! : )

  32. April 11, 2009 12:15 pm

    what a great wrap! i love the black beans in it!

  33. April 11, 2009 1:06 pm

    Awesome food! You’ve totally inspired me to try bikram again! I think I’m gonna get a one month pass in may!

  34. April 11, 2009 10:12 pm

    That wrap look so yummy!!! Great combo of flavors!

  35. April 12, 2009 8:28 am

    Yay for green monsters! That looks awesome πŸ™‚ Making me crave one actually.

    Happy Easter beautiful!

  36. Sweet and Fit permalink
    April 12, 2009 11:04 am

    great package!…thats what she said – hehehe

    love that buritto!

    I hope you have a great time with ur sis!

  37. eatlivelovedream permalink
    April 12, 2009 4:18 pm

    I’ve never heard of those drinks, but they look good! Have a great Sunday! Happy Easter!!!

  38. April 12, 2009 9:23 pm

    I’m a newer blogger, but I read you blog occasionally.

    How do you make you green smoothie? It looks really tasty and quite beautiful too! πŸ™‚

    The cashew fruit and coffee fruit drinks look really interesting and I’d love to try them. Unfortunately I haven’t seen them anywhere around me!

  39. April 13, 2009 6:56 am

    I love cashew juice! I had it in Brazil and found it in a grocery store in the US a while ago, but it wasn;t the same. I wonder if this one is better.

  40. April 22, 2009 1:16 am

    That is an excellent looking burrito πŸ˜€ I’ve never really made my own burritos, because I’m so bad at wrapping them up so all the fillings don’t fall out, but that really makes me want to try it out.

    And I’ve tried the ONE Cashew Juice, and it’s awesome!

  41. Clyde permalink
    April 27, 2009 12:24 pm

    I drink Zico after every Bikram class! I also tried one. There’s not much difference but I liked Zico better, plus it’s right there when I’m done with class.

Leave a Reply

