Skip to content

tisk tisk

April 8, 2009

shame on me ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I didn’t go on a run last night. When I got home from work I was starving and it was so windy outside, that I figured it would be in my best interest to make dinner and run tomorrow. so there WILL be a run today no matter what… and im hoping for some good milage ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m so glad I have this blog, because it keeps me honest with myself, and I will definitely get in a run today and i’m hoping for a good one!

Back onto yesterdays eats…

For breakfast I had a breakfast cookie. Turned out much better than last time. For the first time I used a protein powder in it and I loved it. I had gotten some samples from YouBar and one of them was a breakfast shake protein powder. It was chocolate flavored and I knew it had to be put in the cookie! Full review on YouBar products to come! ย I didn’t add any almond milk and it helped it become a harder cookie. I had 2/3 c oats, spoonful of almond butter, 1 heaping tbsp protein powder, 1/2 banana, 1 tbsp flax.

powder

cookie

For lunch I went home and had a Miss Bender inspired lunch. I heated up a piece of TJ’s Naan bread and spread a little humbecue sauce on 9t (her hummus bbq sauce combo). I added turkey, spinach, and some slicedย avocado and made it an open faced sandwich. On the side I made some kale chips for the first time! I bought a bunch of kale and needed to use some of it up and this was the perfect solution. I think I overcooked them a tad bit, but they still tasted awesome and I”m so glad I tried it out. Kale will be making a much more regular appearance here from now on! I also had a date with some mighty maple to satisfy my sweet tooth. I had a passionberry bliss Kombucha with this. OMG this was my favorite flavor by FAR! blackberry and passionfruit, amazing combo. I savored every last drop!

picture-0033

picture-004

picture-0014

Dinner was a new one from my Williams Sonoma vegetarian cookbook. It was peanut braised tofu withย noodles. I modified it a bit. I didn’t have any noodles, and the only vegetable it called for was snow peas. I had a bag of frozen veggies from TJ in the freezer so I cooked those up, sauteed up some tofu, made the peanut sauce and mixed the three together. It was pretty good, but the sauce had a really strong flavor. I think it would have been toned down a little with some noodles in there. I saved the rest of the sauce and had some leftovers so i’l be bringing some noodles home and eating the rest soon. Topped off with sesame seeds was a tasty addition. I was craving one of Jasmine’s blondies so that was the perfect dessert.

picture-005

picture-006

I went to Whole Foods with the roomies last night and picked up some of the ingredients I needed to make…. snobby joes!!! i’m gonna make them tonight for tomorrow and cant wait !ย  They were so tasty the last time I made them, and can’t wait to have them again. Ah Veganomicon, you are my favorite โค

ย 

Well after work tonight i’ve got to go to my parents house and feed their fish, theyre on vacation. So i’ve mapped my run out and have a nice course in the works. i WILL do it! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for all your continued support. I can’t believe the race is next weekend… AH .. FREAKIN OUT!

Happy Hump DAY!

31 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2009 8:18 am

    I’ve tried experimenting with peanut sauce before, but I can never seem to get it right?? That blondie looks sooo yum!

  2. April 8, 2009 8:22 am

    You’ll be great! I’m just jealous you get to actually run your 10K! LOVE Kale chips. I’m still curious as to whether their nutritional status is somewhat maintained during baking!

  3. April 8, 2009 9:17 am

    ooooh lots of yummy eats! No worries on the run – like you said – you’ll make it up! Have a great run tonight!! And I agree – i’m MUCH more accountable now that I have a blog and a plan!! (written!)

  4. Sweet and Fit permalink
    April 8, 2009 9:20 am

    what a great looking blondie, lol

    good luck getting your run in today! don’t worry about your race – you will do AMAZING! I’m rooting for you =)

    I’m looking forward to seeing how your snobby joes turn out – i need to get my hands on one of those veganomicon cookbooks!

  5. April 8, 2009 9:24 am

    I didn’t run either ๐Ÿ™‚ its allll good!

  6. April 8, 2009 9:27 am

    The tofu looks good. Cant wait to see how the Snobby Joe’s come out!

  7. April 8, 2009 9:41 am

    no worries on the running!
    that blondie does look FABULOUS!

  8. April 8, 2009 9:49 am

    Hi- I’m just checking out your blog for the first time, and I really enjoyed today’s post!!

    The tofu looks amazing, I’ve been addicted to breakfast cookies this week, and I love kale chips! You may be a woman after my own heart! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. April 8, 2009 9:50 am

    hmm protein powder in my breakfast cookie?! i’m intrigued! great idea girlie โค

  10. sarahdbelle permalink
    April 8, 2009 10:22 am

    Good luck on the run. It’s supposed to be much nicer out today than yesterday ; )
    And delicious food…
    Sarah
    http://sarahdbelle.wordpress.com/

  11. April 8, 2009 10:39 am

    I love tofu and noodles with peanut sauce

  12. April 8, 2009 10:41 am

    I was going to make snobby joes tonight too! Well, I had intended to but we’ll see if it actually happens ๐Ÿ˜‰ That tofu sounds insanely good! Hope you got your run in! Happy Wednesday!!

  13. April 8, 2009 10:55 am

    That tofu looks divine! I’m a big fan of peanut sauces and I made something like it called peanutty noodles. Peanut butter is the best and so versatile. It’s funny I’m making sloppy joe’s tonight too. Can’t wait to see how you make them ๐Ÿ™‚ Yay for your race!

    Kristen

  14. April 8, 2009 11:18 am

    Ah, don’t worry about the run, your body probably needed a break!
    That tofu stir fry looks wonderful. I have failed miserably at peanut sauces in the past!

  15. snackface permalink
    April 8, 2009 11:19 am

    Dinner is picture-perfect! I cannot get over that beauty! I figured that I’m only going to be working out two times this week, so don’t worry about missing that run! Haha. Hope you have a glorious wednesday …AND glorious run ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Kate permalink
    April 8, 2009 11:57 am

    SYNERGY! Love them:) I WENT TO YOGA…:)

  17. April 8, 2009 12:08 pm

    LOL, my blog keeps me honest too. They’re good for that!

    That blondie looks the the perfect way to end dinner.

    GL with today’s run.

  18. April 8, 2009 1:05 pm

    mmm you always have so many yummy eats! love that sandwich especially ๐Ÿ™‚ hope you have a great run today!

  19. April 8, 2009 1:44 pm

    I’m so jealous of your breakfast cookie!! Mine sucked when I made it! Maybe I’ll try with no almond milk..

  20. April 8, 2009 2:38 pm

    The blondie looks DELISH! can;t wait to see the snobby joes ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Have a GREAT day!

  21. April 8, 2009 2:57 pm

    i haven’t made kale chips yet, but I keep saying I’m going to… have some now so I should just do it!

  22. April 8, 2009 6:45 pm

    I love kale, but I’ve never tried it as a chip. I guess I’ll have to sometime now!

  23. April 8, 2009 6:52 pm

    i am always so impressed by your foods! you eat so healthy, you should be proud!!!

  24. April 8, 2009 7:54 pm

    Dinner looks really great. Peanut sauces are always a good choice for stirfries ๐Ÿ˜€

  25. eatlivelovedream permalink
    April 8, 2009 7:59 pm

    That’s exciting the race is only 1 week away! Ok, I tried one of those synergy drinks the other day, and that is some seriously strong stuff! It was good but can you say POTENT?!

  26. April 8, 2009 11:03 pm

    I’m glad your breakfast cookie worked out better this time! It looks great!
    Dont freak out about the race.. you will be awesome!

  27. April 8, 2009 11:12 pm

    Wind makes me not want to run, too! When it’s cold and I’m hungry, I lose motivation.

    I need to try this brekkie cookie everyone is raving about. Maybe it would help mix up my breakfasts a little.

    Dinner looks great! You’re so creative with cookery! I need to buy some fun cook books like you. ๐Ÿ™‚

  28. April 8, 2009 11:20 pm

    yay! GOod for you keeping yourself workout accountable. You’ll be so proud of me!!! I went to my second yoga class today and OMG it was AWESOME. ๐Ÿ™‚ I attempted a head stand, and did that backward bend thingy that felt amazing. woohoo! Thanks for your inspiration Ashley!!!

    I’m in love with your lunch. ONE day I will try kale chips….they look reaaally good! hahah and the naan as bread is awesome!! How creative. Hope you have/had a fabulous run!

  29. Helen's Journey permalink
    April 9, 2009 4:58 am

    I’d never heard of Snobby Joe’s until I started reading blogs, I’m so glad I discovered them, I love em
    ๐Ÿ˜€

    I have passed on an award to you, you can check it out here

    http://helensjourney.wordpress.com/2009/04/08/friends-award/

  30. April 9, 2009 6:18 am

    Hey girl! Good luck with the run today- let us know how it goes! Great bfast cookie! I love waking up and having breakfast already ready- makes the morning SO much easier!!! That blondie looks incredible too! Hope your Thursday treats you well!

  31. April 9, 2009 7:37 am

    relax! I’m sure you’ll do amazing in the race.
    yummy eats!I love how we bloggers inspire each other with our amazing creations. I’ve gotten so many inspirations I wouldn’t have gotten otherwise.
    i have yet to try that kombucha. apparently it’s very popular among celebrities as well. really expensive though! I might just have to save it for a special “treat”

Leave a Reply

