Skip to content

Bdays and Winner!

April 6, 2009

Goooddd Morning friends!

I wanted to start this post offΒ  saying HAPPY 20th BIRTHDAY to my sister Allison!!! love you times a million, and can’t wait to see you next weekend!!

Also, Happy Birthday VeggieGirl!!! she’s the big 2-1 today!

Second announcement is the winner of the Gleeful Giveaway!

I did the random number generator… and the winner is EatingRD!

Here’s her comment:

That sounds like a lot of fun! I have to say I loved those nasty gushers and fruit roll-ups when I was a kid, but this would be such a great alternative. I used to roll them around my finger and then suck on it! My favorite candy now is reese’s, although I satisfy my peanut butter craving in the morning oats. Just found your blog, looks great!

-kristen

Funny thing is… when I was little the ONLY candies i would eat would be fruit roll ups/gushers! πŸ™‚

I hope you enjoy the package, and thanks to everyone for participating! Another giveaway coming very very sooon!! Send me over an email with your address girl!

Well lets get back to the recap of the weekend.. lots to say

Friday night for din I decided to make some tilapia. I had a filet, and coated it in cornstarch. then I put together a mixture of unsweetened coconut, whole wheat bread crumbs, and salt and pepper. I dipped the fish in egg then coated it nicely in the mix. Sprayed a little olive oil in a pan and cooked it right up! On the side I had some roated butternut squash and some sauteed onions. This was a really simple and quick dinner but it was absolutely delicious.

tilapia

Friday night my friend Britt came and we all went out to the bars. It was so much fun, and was so good to be able to see her again! Wish she stayed longer.

girls

Sat morning I woke up and it was gorgeous out! I decided to go on a walk around the harbor and walked down to Whole Foods. I really wanted some apples, and wanted to pick up some Kale. I have made green smoothies before with spinach, but I really wanted to try the ones that Angela makes. When I got back home from the walk, I set out to make the monsterrrr. I made it exactly how she did, but I added in a tablespoon of Barney Butter. I loved it! It definitely made me feel great and I will be making them much much more often!

green-monster

I made some edamame and corn salad from Veganomicon and it was so good! Really simple, but tasted so fresh. My friend Megan came over and had the rest and proclaimed her love for it!

corn-and-ed-salad

Then Meg and I went on a nice 3 mile run.Β  The thing that I really like about being in Baltimore is the fact that I want to be outside and walk around so much. I loved the fact that I was able to walk around the harbor, and there were so many people around, music playing, it was so much fun. And there are also so many people always running, and the scenery makes the runs so great.

For din I made something easy. I had some Annie’s mac and cheese and added half a can of tuna.

annies

I had a great night out with the girls. love love reuniting!

me-and-powell

Next morning I made another monster! Then I drove back to Columbia. My parents are out of town so I had to go feed the fishies. When I came to the house I noticed I had a package from the amazing Jasmine! She was soo soo sweet and so generous to send me a package of goodies for designing her header for her! She of course had the cutest little cupcake card to go along with it that instantly reminded me of her! She sent me tons of bars! IΒ  have only tried the blueberry clif bar, so i’ve got lots to test and try! She sent me nutella.. drooooll. and then… i got some of her famous blondies! These babies were SOOO GOOD! They had coconut, chocolate, and pecans and were so moist and perfectly sweet! She’s selling them in the Blogger Bake Sale, so ifΒ  I were you i’d bid like crazy to get these. Theyre amazing, and your tastebuds won’t stop thanking you πŸ™‚ Thanks Jasmine, you are such a sweetheart ❀

jasmines-package

blondie

For lunch I wanted to replicate the sandwich I got at the French Bekry in NYC. I got some ciabatta rolls at TJs, some dijon mustard, brie, an sliced up a fuji apple. I didn’t add raisins, but this sandwich was still amazing! Tasted exactly like the one I had at Macaron. I love the creaminess of Brie mixed with the crunchy apple. Divine.

picture-022

While I was home I went on a short 2 miler, and then when I got back to Baltimore I had 2 more harbor walks. Felt great being outside in perfect weather! I couldn’t get enough of it.

Din last night was a new one for me! I finally made use of my Shirataki noodles! I sauteed some garlic, threw in a laughing cow wedge, a little almond milk and cooked it up to a nice thick sauce. I heated up the noodles and added them into the sauce. topped it off with some parmesan cheese and some red pepper flakes. This was much better than I had anticipated, and I would definitely make it again. I want to try the noodles in an asian style dish and see how i like that. Had the blueberry Roman Bar for dessert. πŸ™‚ yuuumm.

alfredo1

roman

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend! it’s time for me to catch up on you guys.

Todays opening day for the Orioles… go O’s πŸ™‚

31 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2009 8:42 am

    Hooray for hanging with friends and opening day!

    Also, those noodles look delicious πŸ™‚

  2. April 6, 2009 8:49 am

    Sounds like a good weekend surrounded by friends πŸ™‚

  3. April 6, 2009 8:54 am

    Wow so many fun goodies!! Sounds like a great weekend! I need to try making one of those green smoothies soon!

  4. April 6, 2009 9:23 am

    congrats to kristen!

    Love the green monster, the annies + tuna, the shritaki noodles ( I need to get me some of those but Im scared to go the asian markets around here), AND all of Jas’s goodies! She is the sweetest! her cupcake card was so cute too!

    I have had the odwalla super protein and the think thin and I love both.

    Glad you had a fun time with your friend and hooray for opening day indeed!

  5. April 6, 2009 9:32 am

    What a great weekend!! Glad you had fun! Oooh fantastic package and that sandwich sounds incredible!

  6. April 6, 2009 9:38 am

    it looks like you had a fantastic weekend!

  7. snackface permalink
    April 6, 2009 10:58 am

    Awww you are so cute and pretty! I love your pics πŸ™‚ It sounds like you had the most marvelous weekend, too. It’s nice to be on campus where I get to walk all the time, but at home in Cinci, you can’t walk anywhere. I’d love to be your neighbor so we could walk and chat for miles. That sounds like I’m hitting on you—only in a friendly way, I swear! Haha. Have a lovely start to the week, babycakes!

  8. Sweet and Fit permalink
    April 6, 2009 11:20 am

    yay! you FINALLY got the package! lol =) Im so glad you liked the blondies and I’m relieved they made it there ok!

    the shiritaki noodles you made looks great, and I think they would make a really good cold asian sesame noodle dish/salad.

    hope you have a great monday!

  9. April 6, 2009 12:06 pm

    Looks like you had a such a fun weekend! I’m glad you got to enjoy the outdoors by the harbor a lot, too.

    Your brie and apple sandwich sounds soo good. I just might have to splurge and try it out!

  10. April 6, 2009 12:51 pm

    What a fun package πŸ™‚ Sounds like you had a great weekend!!

  11. April 6, 2009 12:52 pm

    I know! This weather is so depressing..!

    By the way, I took your apple+brie sandwich idea [except I didn’t have brie so swiss had to do] and it was really good!

  12. April 6, 2009 12:56 pm

    what a great weekend in bmore! and your eats look delicious…

  13. eatlivelovedream permalink
    April 6, 2009 1:40 pm

    Delicious food!!! Sounds like an awesome weekend! I love the pics! Your so pretty:) Have a great start to your week!

  14. Helen's Journey permalink
    April 6, 2009 2:11 pm

    What a great package πŸ˜€

  15. April 6, 2009 2:44 pm

    arent the noodles good?? they are awesome in stir fry!! i think they are going to become a new obsession of mine πŸ™‚

  16. April 6, 2009 3:47 pm

    Seems like a yummy, fun weekend! Would love a link to your post from Foodista.com-related pages. We have two types of embeddable widgets that can help you build traffic. Check them out here and let me know what you think. Thanks!

  17. April 6, 2009 3:48 pm

    Oh wow, totally love your package!!!

  18. April 6, 2009 4:35 pm

    those blondies look like they’re to die for! lucky you πŸ™‚

    thanks for the review of the shirataki noodles! i’ve been wanting to try them for ages but have been kind of intimidated. it’s good to know that they’re tasty!

  19. cleanveggiex3 permalink
    April 6, 2009 5:15 pm

    oh goodness girlie you are really making me crave annies mac ‘n cheese!
    Your dinner looks fabulous with the tofu noodles πŸ™‚

    have a great night!

  20. April 6, 2009 6:11 pm

    I love the way the squash looks in the first picture. It’s funny I love the way my mom cooks butternut squash. But besides hers I won’t eat it unless its in a soup.

  21. April 6, 2009 6:43 pm

    Looks like an awesome weekend! I had a green smoothie for the first time, I have to try adding nut butters…sounds like it would be amazing.

  22. April 6, 2009 7:27 pm

    Happy birthday to your sister!
    What an awesome package!

  23. April 6, 2009 7:56 pm

    There are lots of great eats here – the fish with the coconut coating sounds awesome, the brie & apple sammy also. And the Vcon Edamame & Corn salad is pretty freakin’ good, isn’t it? I wish I had some brie & fancy buns right now, I would so make that sammy. Yum!

  24. April 6, 2009 9:52 pm

    I’ve seen a lot of those green monsters, but I like your speckled one the most!!! It looks REALLY tasty, though I never thought green smoothies would taste too yummy. hehehe

    Yayyy happy birthday to your sis. πŸ™‚ It sounds like you guys are super close,which is totally awesome! I heart my brother to death too.

  25. April 6, 2009 11:01 pm

    Thanks Ashley! I just found your blog & I love it- I can’t wait to see pictures of your new apartment!

  26. Sarah permalink
    April 6, 2009 11:19 pm

    cute pictures of you and your friends!
    can you believe how low cal those shirataki noodles are?? crazy.

  27. April 7, 2009 12:23 am

    Wow! I am soo excited to re-create my childhood memories of gushers and fruit roll-ups! I love stuff like this πŸ™‚ Thanks so much. It looks like you guys had a lot of fun! I’m going to have to try one of those green monsters because it’s starting to heat up here in Vegas and smoothies are just the thing. And those noodles look amazing, where did you buy them? Lots of good eats πŸ™‚

    -kristen

  28. April 7, 2009 12:53 am

    What a fun weekend of yummy foods! Looks like you had fun!

    I dont know why but I have never added PB to my smoothies.. but now I really want to. Thanks for the grand idea!

  29. April 7, 2009 3:00 am

    Lovely photos,a nd that tilapia looks/sounds sooo good.
    Have you found that 3 miles is a hard mark to break? It seems like the threshold for breaking through to the 6 miles! I can run 3 easily now but 4 was a bit of a struggle!

  30. April 9, 2009 3:24 am

    Great photos!

    I love VeggieGirl πŸ™‚

    YAY for green smoothies πŸ™‚

    Have a super weekend,
    Kristen

Trackbacks

  1. **MY FIRST GIVEAWAY!!! « Sweet and Fit

Leave a Reply

