Skip to content

my b

April 3, 2009

wellllllll my phone has been all sorts of messed up lately, so I took it into Apple to get it replaced. Once I got my new phone I couldn’t be happier.. until I realized that all my days pics were on there 😦 so no pics of yesterdays eats. woopsy.Β 

Well for lunch yesterday I made a wrap with my black bean burger, and added tomatoes and spinach and ketchup. YUM! I’ll be eating the last of my burger leftovers today for lunch. phew they made quite a few.

After work I went back home to get din with my mom.

Before we left though I was able to sneak in a 3 mile run! I wasn’t in the mood at all, but I knew today it was going to be rainy and nasty out so I knew I had to get it done.Β  At first my legs felt like lead, they were tired from the 5 mile run the other day and the core fusion dvd last night. About 2 miles into the run they felt 100 times better and got me through the last mile strong and quick.Β  So glad I made myself get out the door and just do it.Β  I feel like thats the hardest part sometimes.Β  I felt great after and then it was off to dinner. I suggested we go to a Cal-Mex place called Frisco Grill by our house. Bleh, bad decision. I didn’t enjoy the place really at all. The food wasn’t hot, it was warm and it’s nothing I couldn’t have made at home. When I looked at the menu I was happy though because I saw that they offered spinach burritos as well as tofu burritos. I decided to try out the tofu one. It was okay, but just bleh. My mom got steak enchiladas and she said they weren’t that good either. Oh well, at least we know now. Maybe they were having an off day? But I’d take chipotle any day over that.

When we got home I foundΒ 2 packages… One was a box of bars from Beverly over at The Roman Bar.

picture-0012

Β 

Here’s a little background on this yumminess.

The Roman bar was founded by Roman Starno. One day he was in his kitchen and had a bag of fig bars on the counter and wondered what they would taste like with chocolate on them…. well he tried it out, and he loved the taste! After experimenting for 15 years with different flavors, chocolates, and fruit he found the perfect combos and formed a natural vegan cookie/candy bar in a dark semi-sweet, soy based chocolate.

The flavors they offer are chocolate dipped raspberry, chocolate dipped blueberry, and chocolate dipped honey peach apricot.

Here’s the nutritional info.

What first caught my eye was the fact that all 3 bars were different sizes. The raspberry one the biggest, then the honey peach apricot, then the blueberry. So funny πŸ™‚ Beverly was so generous to give me 3 of each of the flavors. My mom and dad instantly called out the flavors they wanted to try. I gave my mom a honey peach apricot and my dad got a blueberry. This only meant one thing… I had to try the raspberry πŸ™‚

picture-0032

I had half of one last night. This was gooooood. Think vegan nutrigrain bar dipped in chocolate. I would definitely eat this as a dessert and not so much a snack. The fruit bar blended perfectly with the chocolate. The chocolate wasn’t too sweet, and had a nice dark rich flavor. This was the perfect flavor combo. I can’t wait to try the other 2 flavors. I can already tell theyre gonna be goood!Β  I’m so happy that I found this company, because I’d never heard of them before and they’ve been around for 15 years! They are sold in some of the best upscale natural food stores in the San Fran bay area, LA, San Diego, Arizona, Oregon, NY, Utah, and Texas. I highly suggest if you live in those areas and see this bar to try it, you won’t be disappointed. If you want to try it but are like me and not near those locations, you can order them online. Thank you Beverly for sending me these πŸ™‚Β  I have a feeling this box will quickly disappear!

Well this morning I had a bowl of oats, but with a new friend. See that dark nut butter? I’ll post tomorrow what was in my other package I got yesterday… and who that yummy nutter butter is in the middle of my oats. mmm mmm good.

oats

Since this post was pretty empty of pics, I’ll leave you with a few I had on my comp of me and my buddsss. Have a wonderful Friday! The weekend is soo closeeee!

me and some of my bests from high school

me and some of my bests from high school

me and maria, one of my other roomies from college <3

me and maria, one of my other roomies from college ❀

Β 

p.s. Bobbi from N Her Shoes is having a Danskin giveaway!

30 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2009 9:41 am

    Oh wow, what a blast!! And i really need to try black bean burgers!

  2. April 3, 2009 9:42 am

    Sorry about the sucky dinner!
    But that raspberry chocolate roman bar looks like it made up for it!

  3. April 3, 2009 9:43 am

    Cute jacket πŸ˜€ That chocolate bar does look divine, i love those smaller, home-grown companies you’ve found!

  4. April 3, 2009 9:50 am

    Those bars look amazing! I am going to the website now to check them out! Cute pics of you and your friends! I hear you on your legs being tired from Core Fusion! I love that my abs are sore today though!!

  5. April 3, 2009 10:24 am

    sorry frisco didnt do so well. I have had pretty good and then just OK experiences there. The regular tacos in corn tortillas is the best thing I have had there.

    have a great weekend!

  6. April 3, 2009 10:42 am

    I hate when dinner ends up being a let down!

  7. April 3, 2009 10:59 am

    oh fun times! πŸ™‚ those bars look awesome!

  8. April 3, 2009 11:08 am

    sorry about the disappointing mexican food…. those roman bars sound delicious! HAPPY WEEKEND!

  9. April 3, 2009 11:38 am

    You are SO cute! It seems like you get a new package every day πŸ™‚

    Good job on the run! I didn’t feel like running yesterday either so I told myself I could do a run/walk and then I ended up running almost the whole way! The hardest part is getting out the door!!

  10. April 3, 2009 11:48 am

    VEGAN chocolate covered bar?! I really need these for my vegan challenge!!

    Sorry about having to replace your phone, though…at least you didn’t have to pay for a new one right?

    I have all of the ingredients ready to make those burgers this weekend! I’m thinking butternut squash fries to go with? Ooo and maybe some kale chips. That would really be sinfully BBQ-party-esque!

  11. April 3, 2009 11:54 am

    Cute pics! Those bars sound good…honestly I don’t know if I have ever tried a fig! Weird, huh?
    It’s awesome when you reach that point during running when you’re like, “Ok, that was the worst of it!” I tried running on the treadmill for the first time in weeks today and it felt a little weird so I just took it slow. WHen is your 10K again?! Haha…I feel like we are always asking each other! I know yours is this month, right?

  12. April 3, 2009 12:09 pm

    Oh my gosh – those bars sound fantastic!! You look adorable!

  13. April 3, 2009 12:16 pm

    cute pics :)! those bars sound amazing….i need to look for them when i’m in CA.

  14. April 3, 2009 12:45 pm

    girl i dont know what looks better – you or that bar! okay – you do =) but i still want that bar in my belly, NOW! I am hitting up that website STAT!

  15. April 3, 2009 1:43 pm

    “Vegan nutrigrain bar dipped in chocolate.” Drool.

  16. April 3, 2009 1:47 pm

    You seriously have the greatest bar variety I’ve EVER seen! Love the friend pics – super cute! πŸ˜‰

  17. April 3, 2009 2:16 pm

    You are totally on a samples roll aren’t ya?!?!? I love your reviews though! So candid and interesting to read. πŸ™‚ Now if only those Roman bars weren’t so hard to get!!! OMG yes I have such a hard time getting myself to exercise when it’s raining. 😦 Or snowing…which is why I want to to move to California. hahaha

    P.s. You’re too cute!! I love the pics you posted!
    P.s.s. I did a hatha flow yoga class two days ago and it was AWESOME!! It think it was cuz i love the instructor. πŸ˜›

  18. April 3, 2009 3:02 pm

    You said those bars are vegan, but if one of the flavours is “honey”, then it can’t be vegan? They do look pretty damn tasty though. Seems kind of random that different flavours come in different sizes.

  19. cleanveggiex3 permalink
    April 3, 2009 4:03 pm

    atleast you got a new phone!! that was nice of apple.

    thanks for all the reviews!! the raspberry chocolate bar sounds amazing!!!

  20. April 3, 2009 8:00 pm

    whoah those bars look crazy good! i’ll have to check those out. also, can’t wait to see who your new nut butter companion is! i love hearing about new nut butters, so i am v. v. excited.

    isn’t apple’s customer care the best?! last summer my computer was acting up, and they gave me a new laptop for FREE. i heart them.

  21. April 4, 2009 7:18 am

    Wow, those roman bars look unique and delicious!

  22. April 4, 2009 7:26 am

    Those roman bars look increeeedible. I wish we had those around here!

    Love the night out pics too. Makes me want to go out right about now!

  23. April 4, 2009 7:36 am

    Sorry about your phone, but I’m glad you got a new one!

    The Roman bars look really good! Thanks for the review.

    Hope you have a great weekend! πŸ™‚

  24. April 4, 2009 7:53 am

    whoaaa those roman bars look intense, and by intense, i mean awesome! i’ll have to check them out sometime!

    bummer about the burrito, but you look beautiful in your pics! =)

    have a happy saturday!

  25. April 4, 2009 11:22 am

    Those roman bars do sound yummy. And I love how they are all such different sizes!

  26. April 4, 2009 10:35 pm

    Those bars look really good!

    I always feel like the first couple miles during a run are the hardest πŸ™‚ Great job on getting out the door and just doing it!

  27. April 4, 2009 11:57 pm

    Cute pics! those bars look so good! Good to know they sell them in Utah!

  28. April 5, 2009 8:42 am

    Ohhh, those bars look really good! And the pic of you with your friends is so cute! πŸ™‚

  29. April 5, 2009 9:52 am

    cool bars. I will have to figure out where in ny they are sold.

  30. April 6, 2009 6:58 am

    the fig bars sound rich but gooood!!!!

Leave a Reply

