Skip to content

looks goodonya

April 2, 2009

good morningg and happpppyyy Thursday!!! This week has gone by pretty fast, and i’m anxiously waiting for tomorrow. One of my best friends from high school Brittany, who I visited in NY the other weekeend is coming to visit πŸ™‚ And my friend Megan who was at Salisbury with me last weekend will be visiting too. Oh this weekend is going to be gooood ❀

Yesterday morning I woke up to a breakfast cookie. I didn’t make it too well though. It was a flop. It was too mushy for me. I usually don’t add banana, but I did this time in addition to my almond milk so it wasn’t as hard as I usually like my cookie to be. Oh well, next time i’ll perfect it πŸ™‚

Β 

For lunch I went back to my place and fixed me up a nice little you pick two. I made an open faced turkey sammy with dijon mustard and some cheddar cheese all melted and amazing, and then I had a side salad with avocado and some of my bountifuls dressing. This stuff it SO tasty. It’s really thick, like salsa. I got the hearty Italian flavor and it has pieces of tomatoes, onions, peppers, and carrots. I love this dressing!

Β turkey-sammy

salad1

bountiful

I had the pleasure of trying my first GoodOnYa bar yesterday.Β  Kris from GoodOnYa was so generous to send me one of each of their flavors.

Let me give you a little background info on this company. They’ll blow you away.

Kris Fillat is the founder of the company and founded it in 2001 after playing field hockey (WOO) for the US National team for 11 years. She opened up one GoodOnYa Deli in San Diego. Now there are 4 locations. Their entire deli menu is catered to the health of the customers. They are always in the search for better, healthier, unprocessed alternatives.

“we care about what we eat, and we care about you”.

The GoodOnYa Bar is an extension of their deli. Their customers wanted something quick they could pick up and go with. This nutrition bar is focused on “every ingredient matters”. There are no fillers in the bars, just good high quality ingredients.

They have 3 different flavors.:

picture-001

Maple Dark Chocolate

maple-nutrition

Peanut Butter Honey

pbh-nutritional

Peanut Butter Dark Chocolate.

mdc-nutrition1

Now these bars have a high fat content, and a high calorie content. This is all coming from natural, good fats, and I had half of the Peanut Butter Honey bar and it kept me full for over 2 hours. The sugar however, is much much lower than other brands. Usually other brands have at least half of the weight of the bar in sugar alone. Take a look at the sugar grams compared to the weight of the bar next time you eat one. It’s scary. Here’s info they have provided on the facts of sugar vs fat.

One of the things about this company that really makes them stand apart is their packaging.Β  They are the first company in the world to use NatureFlex. Natureflex is made from wood and veggies. It’s certified biodegradable, it’s pretty and shiny, and its a step in the right direction for the world. In the link I put to Natureflex you can read all about it compared to the plastic wrappers that everyone else uses. What is so fun to me, is that the best way to dispose of your wrapper … is to compost it! πŸ™‚ My dad is a hugeee compost guy, so I saved my wrapper and am going to give it to him!

Onto the taste…

picture-002

picture-003

You can see all of the ingredients in the bar. It was also pretty dang heavy. The flavor reminded me of a peanut butter cookie larabar. It also had a similar consitency. Although I think that the GoodonYa bar is a little less crumbly than the Lara. It stuck together a little more. Half of the bar kept me full for over 2 hours. I can’t wait to try the other 2 flavors and will definitely review them on here for you when I do!Β  These bars are pricey, at $3 a bar… You can buy them in a case on their website. But if you put into consideration how much effort they’re putting into these to make them a “greener” product and read the info on your site I’m sure it will help to ease the price for you if you want to try them. They’re trying to make a difference, and are putting a really high quality product out there. I hope you guys check them out πŸ™‚

For din din I decided to bust out Veganomicon. I made the black bean burgers. YUMMMM. These were SO good! I had a small sweet potato, and baked up some wedges, and threw some ketchup onto the plate and dinner was serveeed! I also had another bean burger. I couldn’t resist! πŸ™‚Β  You will be seeing the leftovers in my lunch today fo sho.

bb-burger

Last night I was able to do the Core Fusion Body Sculpt dvd. This sucker kills me every time. I lose control and start yelling at the tv, begging them to stop haha. It’s crazy how using your own body resistance can really be such an amazing workout. I love this dvd. Lurvee it!

I’m going home to get dinner with my mom tonight! Her and my dad are going to Florida on Sat morning for a week so i’m going to eat with her and hopefully get a run in around the neighborhood! Have a wonderful day!!!

34 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2009 8:56 am

    GoodOnYa sounds like it’s a good product! $3 IS super pricey for one bar, but as you said, it looks pretty dense and heavy (=slower to eat!).
    I hope you have a nice night with your mom!

  2. April 2, 2009 9:18 am

    When I read Maple Dark Chocolate I drooled!

  3. April 2, 2009 9:20 am

    Thanks for sharing about those bars, never heard of them before.

  4. April 2, 2009 9:48 am

    Why are the best bars always the most expensive!?

    “Good on ya!” is one of my favorite phrases…My english teacher in 12th grade was this awesome, lanky Australian dude who would say it all the time!

  5. April 2, 2009 10:21 am

    I might have to check out those bars but yes, pretty pricey!! I am trying Body Sculpt this weekend! Can’t wait! Pilates was great on my abs! I am planning to try the real classes too since the dvds came with a guest pass!

  6. April 2, 2009 10:33 am

    sounds like you have some fun weekend plans a head of you!

  7. April 2, 2009 10:38 am

    That peanut butter dark chocolate sounds to die for!
    I hope the rest of the week flies by, sounds like you are going to be having a lot of fun!

  8. April 2, 2009 10:43 am

    Your food always looks so delicious and makes my mouth water!!

    Question, re your comment on my post: Did you buy your honda brand new? Is it a roomy vehicle? I’m actually loooking into getting one now that so many people have commented on how good Honda’s are!!

  9. April 2, 2009 11:06 am

    you are braver than me when it comes to a bfast cookie…i cant even fathom how to make one!

  10. sarahdbelle permalink
    April 2, 2009 11:26 am

    Your lunch looks simple but delicious. Just the way I like it, too.
    Awesome dinner as well!
    Sarah
    http://sarahdbelle.wordpress.com/

  11. April 2, 2009 11:33 am

    Fantastic dinner! Gotta love those sweet potatoes πŸ™‚

    I’ve never heard of those bars before. Thanks for the review!!

  12. April 2, 2009 11:38 am

    gosh, that’s the first time I’ve seen those bars, but they look mighty tasty! SO expensive though. I’ll have to decide more whether it’s worth it…

  13. April 2, 2009 11:57 am

    yesss great plan!! are you free any day of the week?

  14. April 2, 2009 12:13 pm

    hmm i have a huge presentation and exam next week then i’ll be home for easter, but maybe tuesday the 14th? i don’t think i can make it to the blogger meet up due to lack of a car here but i can take the bus to the WF if that works for you?

  15. April 2, 2009 12:23 pm

    i know me too!! i really wish i had a car here! but yeah, the 14th works? at noon?

  16. April 2, 2009 12:56 pm

    i think i’m taking over your comment section, but i’m so excited now! and ps, after seeing all the mightly maple on your blog, i went out and bought some at WF today! i loveee those flavored peanut butters!

  17. snackface permalink
    April 2, 2009 1:04 pm

    Your black bean burgers look much better than any of mine I’ve made! YUMMM, esp. with sweet taters. Those bars sound great; I love how exact the nutrition info is. If only I weren’t a college student, then I’d totally buy them. Those flavors are incredible! Sounds like you have a wonderful weekend ahead of you! Have a great time, lovebug!

  18. April 2, 2009 2:16 pm

    Those bars look and sound delicious. Enjoy dinner with your parents!

  19. April 2, 2009 2:39 pm

    oh my god what cool bars πŸ™‚ yummy sweet potatoes!

  20. April 2, 2009 2:40 pm

    i lived in SD for 5 years and never heard of them! will def check them out when i go back!

    and the bars look interesting!

  21. April 2, 2009 2:44 pm

    yum that dinner looks good! i definitely have to make those burgers one of these days…

  22. April 2, 2009 2:49 pm

    Awww sounds like you’re going to have a great weekend with fabulous friends – yay!! Your open-faced sammy looks amazing – love the meltedness of that cheese- fab!

  23. Sweet and Fit permalink
    April 2, 2009 3:58 pm

    ive never heard abou goodonya before… I’ll have to look into them, thanks for the great info girl!

  24. April 2, 2009 4:16 pm

    just the sight of melted cheese makes me happy! and everything else looks great as well, i need to make those black bean burgers asap!

  25. April 2, 2009 4:20 pm

    I made sweet potato black bean burgers for dinner last night! (from the not your average burger post) How funny πŸ™‚ Those bars look so delicious and filling. Nice amount of iron too. Have a good weekend with your friends, yay!

    -kristen

  26. April 2, 2009 4:41 pm

    Sounds like you have a fantastic weekend planned!

    Love the delish looking salad + sammie combo. I also love the material feature in the background of your bar review…your bedspread, maybe? I love anything mustard-colored! πŸ™‚

    It’s so neat that GOY uses NatureFlex to package its bars…I hope that people continue to come up with great ideas like that!

  27. April 2, 2009 6:38 pm

    Those black bean burgers do look yummy! I love the chucks of black bean and onions! (At least I think those look like onions)

  28. April 2, 2009 6:42 pm

    oh it sounds like you have an awesome weekend ahead of you girl – enjoy =) ❀ xoxo

  29. April 2, 2009 9:03 pm

    hmm so this DVD of yours…is it something I can do over and over again without getting bored??? I kinda like videos that make me lose control and yell at the tv. hahahahah I just don’t have any equipment at home so I rule out lots of exercise DVD’s!!

    i ALMOST managed to convince my bf to buy a misto lsat weekend. I dragged him to marshall’s just so i can show it to him. He’s planning to return “next time” to get it. GRRR hate when bf’s are indecisive, that’s usually my job. πŸ˜› hehe

  30. April 2, 2009 9:14 pm

    i was thinking holy crap that’s a lot of fat, until you pointed out the source, which helps!

  31. April 2, 2009 9:32 pm

    Thanks for the review of the bars, I have not heard of that brand. The calorie count does seem high, but I do like the fact that the sugar is lower. I’ll have to try them out sometime!

  32. April 3, 2009 1:29 am

    Hey girl!! Black bean burgers + sweet potato fries?! DIVINE COMBO!! πŸ™‚

  33. April 3, 2009 7:21 am

    Can’t go wrong with Veganomicon… πŸ™‚

  34. April 3, 2009 8:39 am

    Thanks for the nutrition bar review! Interesting information about the packaging!

Leave a Reply

