Skip to content

Naturally Thin Review

March 26, 2009

Okay, I’ve finally compiled all my thoughts about the book!

Here’s my review of Naturally Thin : unleash your inner skinny girl and free yourself from a lifetime of dieting  by Bethenny Frankel.

book-cover

I’ll start off by saying that I finished this book in 3 days. Once I started reading I wanted to keep going to find out more about what Bethenny had to say.

The book is split up into two sections. The first is her 10 basic rules:

1. Your diet is your bank account
2. You can have it all, just not all at once
3. Taste everything, eat nothing
4. Pay attention
5. Downsize now
6. Cancel your membership to the clean plate club
7. Check yourself before you wreck yourself
8. Know thyself
9. Get real
10. Good for you

The second section goes through a week of her eating, and shows you how to implement the rules in everyday life situations.

I’ll go through what really hit home to me the most, and how it’s changed my views and thoughts about foods.

  • This is not a diet book. It’s not about dieting, measuring, restricting yourself. It’s about a lifestyle change and making different decisions to be able to live your life without worrying about food.
  • The first rule, your diet is your bank account was a really big one for me. You need to balance your food choices. I didn’t realize how unbalanced some of my days are. Sometimes i’ll have oats for breakfast, sandwich for lunch, and some type of carby dinner. Thats carbs for all 3 meals. I needed to learn how to balance my meals, have one be more based on protein, another based on veggies, split up my intake instead of being completely off balanced. Balancing the amount and also the categories (carbs, protein, dairy, veggies, etc) will help you not have to worry about counting the calories or anything of the sort.
  • You can have it all, just not all at once. I liked this rule because of the fact that you don’t have to deprive yourself. You just shouldn’t treat yourself to everything. If I want a brownie, sure i’ll go for it, enjoy it, but I shouldn’t then let myself have ice cream later too. The food will still be there tomorrow, I need to pick and choose what I want to put in my mouth. But what happens if we overdo it? Bethenny says it happens to us all once in a while, and when it does, don’t focus on your guilt – focus on healing. Move forward to the next day.
  • Taste everything, eat nothing. This sort of confused me throughout the whole chapter, so I read it again. So many people eat everything and taste nothing. This is not the way to go. We need to taste our food and enjoy it, and not mindlessly eat. It also talks about eating something before going to a party, happy hour, or situations like that so you won’t be starving when you get there and can have a little taste of the goodies you like without going overboard.
  • Pay Attention. This is something I really need to work on. Bethenny suggests eating with a purpose. Don’t eat standing up, or while you’re cooking. This i’m really guilty of. You can end up eating a whole meals worth before you’ve even sat down. Sit down and enjoy your meal, and dedicate that time to eat and do nothing else.
  • Cancel your membership to the clean plate club: Yet another guilty one here. I feel like when I go out to eat I don’t want to waste my money, so i’ll eat everything on my huge plate and feel completely overstuffed. This chapter focuses on saving your meal. Save half of it, box it up and use it for a meal the next day. This saves you calories but also saves you money and time because you have a meal already prepared for you. Portion sizes are so out of control these days that this should be easy to do with still being satisfied with the amount you ate.
  • Get Real. Focus on real foods, whole foods. Try to eat less processed foods. Your body better digests whole foods. This relates to my bar issues. Instead of eating bars every day i’m going to try more for whole foods as snacks. During my CFW having almonds, and yogurt, and fruit really helped me stay satiated during the day just as much as a bar but the bar is just so convenient. I need to take the time to make sure I have good wholesome snacks on hand. Bars are great when need an option for food while you’re busy and running around, but during the work week I can pack better snacks.
  • Good for you. I really loved this rule. You need to find out what is good for you. Sounds simple enough doesn’t it? But really though, we compare ourselves so much to everyone else and go off of what works for them. Other people’s opinions always help us out, but we should use them as guides and to help us figure out our own opinions. Certains people’s diets work for them, but won’t work for you. Their exercise routines work for them, but may not be what your body wants or enjoys. Make the time to get to know yourself a little better and figure out what pushes you, what motivates you, what inspires you, and you will end up being happier for it. 🙂

The second part of the book goes through a week of eating in her daily life and how to implement the rules. This is great, because its like, okay I got the rules, but when it comes to using them you kind of hit a brick wall. This section really helps show you the way to the rules and helps with techniques and tips. She eats out a lot so it is really helpful in the aspect that you can choose wisely and still have a great time out. Focus on your company, not as much on being obsessive about the food. Sometimes I feel like when i’m going out to eat I have to go online, find the menu, see if the nutrition facts are on there. If I can’t, i’ll get nervous that I won’t be able to find a healthy option. A lot of effort before going to eat with friends/family. This is good preparation, and I enjoy knowing what i’m putting into my mouth. However, in the case that I can’t do it, it’s not the end of the world. I can pick options that I believe will fuel my body, and don’t have to eat the whole thing, but also don’t have to focus on the food the whole time. I should focus on my company and enjoy the time spent with them. Food is social, so it’s good to be able to enjoy the time with your loved ones instead of being scared about the amount of fat/cals/sugar in your meal. 

One of the tips she also gives is to help with portion control. She says ramekins are great to have in your kitchen. They are good to create portion control with desserts, ice cream, and things along those lines that should be enjoyed but not overdone. I bought 2 at crate and barell the other weekend and excited to use them at my new place. Smaller bowls and plates are a great way of downsizing your portions while feeling like you are still getting a full plate full.

 

Overall I really loved this book and think its a great way to rethink your view on food. I’ll probably re read and it will help me keep the rules present. I definitely recommend it, and believe that it will help with a lifestyle change, not just a quick fix diet that so many other books lead you to believe will be the one that will change your life.

People Bethenny Frankel

43 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2009 10:26 am

    Great review!! I’d like to read this one 🙂

  2. March 26, 2009 10:40 am

    Thank you for the review! I’ve been wanting to read this and I always appreciate hearing well-thought-out opinions on this kind of stuff before I start.

  3. March 26, 2009 10:46 am

    What a great review, it’s on my list of things to read!

  4. March 26, 2009 10:50 am

    thanks for the great review! I love how you summarized it and added your thoughts to each point. I like the fact that it’s less a “diet” book and more of a “healthy relationshp with food” book.

  5. March 26, 2009 10:50 am

    Great review! I tried to order this on Amazon but it was sold out!

  6. Sweet and Fit permalink
    March 26, 2009 10:58 am

    gosh, this is such a great and thorough book review, thank you! I really need and want to read this. I love how it doesnt tell you that you have to do any particular crazy diet, and I love how it doesn’t focus on counting calories or loosing weight = thanks girl =)

  7. March 26, 2009 11:00 am

    Thanks so much for the review girl! I had actually never heard of this book and I saw it at Target today and I was really interested but had no idea if it was legitimate or not! Now, it will be one of things I need to pick up soon 🙂

  8. March 26, 2009 11:12 am

    My friend and I are talking about buying this book so I really appreciate this review. The Clean Plate Club is definitely a problem for me! Yikes. Thanks for the breakdown!

  9. March 26, 2009 11:17 am

    Yay thanks for the review! I really want to read this book sometime.. when I’m not swamped with midterms and homework! I definitely most relate to the Clean Plate Club.. if someone puts a large plate of food in front of me, there’s a more than likely chance it’ll be clean and I’ll be stuffed at the end.

  10. March 26, 2009 11:20 am

    LOVED the review! Thanks for putting so much time into it 🙂

  11. March 26, 2009 11:41 am

    Sounds like an interesting book, and that really, it’s filled with alot of common sense that we sometimes tend to forget about. I would rather see her points named somethine other than “rules” though, because that sounds very “diet book” to me.

  12. March 26, 2009 11:42 am

    Danngg Ashley, you’re a fabulous writer/summarizer. Ever thought about a job in that? heheheh I think Bethany should pay you for this review, it really is awesome – everything in a nut shell! Plus it’s interesting too!!! 🙂 I think I read her rules in women’s health a few months ago!! hmmmmm…

  13. March 26, 2009 11:48 am

    Great review! Now I’m excited to check this one out.

  14. March 26, 2009 12:11 pm

    I like her on “Housewives” so I’m sure I would like this book… sounds interesting!

  15. March 26, 2009 12:14 pm

    What a great and comprehensive review! I really want to read this book now…it sounds wonderful and I definitely agree with the rules you wrote about.

  16. March 26, 2009 12:18 pm

    Thanks for the review. It sounds like a lot of Bethenny’s ideas are really common sense…but sometimes we don’t think about those things. 🙂

  17. March 26, 2009 12:49 pm

    I agree with everything you said!

  18. March 26, 2009 12:52 pm

    Thanks for the review! I have wondered how realistic her book would be and it sounds pretty good…plus you summed it up so now I don’t need to read it, just follow it!

  19. March 26, 2009 12:59 pm

    wonderful review! I may have to check out that book…

  20. March 26, 2009 1:06 pm

    thanks for the review! i really have to work on the whole bank account thing as well. i love carbs and will base every single meal around them! i know i need more lean protein and veggies…that’s definitely my next step!!

  21. March 26, 2009 1:18 pm

    Thanks for the GREAT review!

    I’ve heard good things about that book, I think I need to start applying a lot of that to my own life, especially the part about being more balanced. As I’m reading your review I’m sitting here having a sandwich for lunch when I already had toast for breakfast!

    I definitely need to think more about balancing out my meals more!

    Thanks for the great tips and review of the book, I’ll have to check it out for sure!!!

  22. March 26, 2009 1:55 pm

    great review- thanks for putting so much time into it- this book has been on my to-read list but i was kinda turned off by the title (no real reason why- just didn’t really excite me)so i’ve been putting it off. anyway, it sounds great i’ll have to look for it at the library!

  23. cleanveggiex3 permalink
    March 26, 2009 3:29 pm

    thanks for the book review 🙂 sounds very interesting!

  24. eatlivelovedream permalink
    March 26, 2009 4:04 pm

    What an awesome review on the book! you go girl!!!
    Also, you asked if I liked the book “eat, drink and be vegan?” and to answer that. YES!!! I LOVE it! I highly recommend it:)

  25. March 26, 2009 4:04 pm

    Thanks for the review! I love Bethenny and have wanted to read this. Definitely going to order it on Amazon asap!

  26. Kate permalink
    March 26, 2009 4:41 pm

    I am already a fan of Bethany Frankel. Yes people can make fun of me but i am obsessed with the NY cast of Real Housewives on Bravo! You have a race coming up!?!?! MAN I’m sure I read taht I just totally forgot. That’s soon! How’s it going raining? I will be sure to update you on my progress-it’s may 31st!

  27. March 26, 2009 5:43 pm

    Bethany seems like the most down to earth of the NYC housewive, and her bookd comes across that way too. I would totally read it.

  28. March 26, 2009 6:41 pm

    LOVE this review – you were so thorough with everything!!!! I totally want to go buy this now!

  29. March 26, 2009 7:44 pm

    great review! i’ve been seeing this book all over the celebrity websites and kind of wondered if it was worth reading!

  30. March 26, 2009 8:49 pm

    Dori – great review of the book. You are like Cliff Notes! I like her approach for the book rather than the stringent books saying you must avoid food X, exercise for X long, and stopping eating past X.

  31. March 26, 2009 9:13 pm

    Oh wow, great review on this!! Thanks so much!

  32. March 26, 2009 9:48 pm

    yay! i was so looking forward to hearing your thoughts, and you certainly did not let me down! i think this book is really similar to “intuitive eating” which i’m reading right now — both really emphasize balanced meals, NO GUILT, and going with what your body is craving, in moderation of course. i’m definitely going to have to pick this one up, bethenney is so cool too!

    hope you had a great thursday! xo

  33. March 26, 2009 10:15 pm

    WOW what an amazing, well thought out book review. Seriously – I learned so many great insights from the book and am tempted to go out and by the book ASAP!! Thanks for the info and for your thoughts about it. I too find myself guilty of not eating my whole out-to-eat plate and not eating whole foods. I can’t wait to read the book – thanks so much, girl!

  34. March 27, 2009 12:07 am

    Great review! Now I want to read it even more…

  35. March 27, 2009 6:43 am

    Thank you for this review, it sounds like a really interesting book and I am temped to order it. Have you read Skinny Bitch? This book reminds me of Skinny Bitch, it’s one of my absolute favorite books that initially got me started on a healthier diet. I have read it three times now I think!

  36. March 27, 2009 6:51 pm

    Hey! Great review!! Now I really want to read it! It’s all things I know I need to be doing, but could probably use that little extra push 🙂

  37. March 27, 2009 9:30 pm

    Hey Ashley.

    Thank for the review. I’m actually halfway through the first part. her rules really make you think, gee shouldn’t people already know that? but i like how she breaks things down and helps you to integrate the rules into your own life. I’m currently on Rule 6…cant wait to read more.

  38. March 27, 2009 9:46 pm

    Great review! I haven’t read the book, but I might now. Those are some good, healthy reminders, especially about the portion control.

  39. Meg permalink
    March 29, 2009 9:41 am

    Thanks for the review of the book! I really want to read this now. Sounds like there is some really great advice!!! I love the one about the food will be there tomorrow. I am bad about remembering that, but have been trying to remind myself of that as of late.

  40. May 4, 2009 12:37 pm

    Bethenny was always my favorite housewife of all of the casts. I just picked this book up yesterday and will be starting it today. Thanks for the review!

  41. Alison K permalink
    July 31, 2009 6:59 pm

    I love Bethenny, but this book is really nothing new and nothing that hasn’t been said before in other cookbooks/diet books
    Everything you eat is your diet. “Diet” is a term that we’ve come to use for weight loss regimes.
    If we stopped using that word incorrectly, we’d all feel better about ourselves to begin with, don’t you think?
    A no-nonsense approach is what’s needed. Ramekins can be purchased inexpensively and I’ve been using them for years for my mise en place when I’m cooking dinner as well as for ice cream (my BIGGEST downfall. my kryptonite)
    There is a book about how a man lost weight just by simply changing the size of his dinner plate…going back to the size plates used in the 50s and 60s.
    The salad plates we use now were the DINNER plates back in the day, if you can believe it.
    (i was floored by that information)
    I wonder if people would have purchased the book if she hadn’t been on television?
    Thanks for your review and your input.
    It really made me think about my relationship with cookbooks, actually. No joke.

    Be well!

    p.s.
    The skinny girl margarita is basically a tequila gimlet dressed up. She knows how to brand and market, that woman. God bless her!
    🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Bethenny Frankel book ‘Naturally Thin’? | 10021 ny socialites
  2. Mis Quince Dinner Plates 18 Count | Granvilledudman769's Blog

Leave a Reply

