Skip to content

waffle monster

March 25, 2009

Good morning sunshines! Thank goodness today is Wednesday! Only two more days till the weekendddd!

Yesterday during lunch I had planned on going for a nice little run. My stomach was aching though right around lunch time so I ended up just walking around town instead of the run. I definitely want to fit that run in today. Can’t slack now that i’m one month away from the 10k! I did manage to walk into whole foods and pick up a few things. They had wolfgang puck soups on sample and these were GOOD! I always see them on Caitlin’s blog and now I know why! They had a big sale going on where it was 2 for $5 and then they were giving away dollar off coupons so each can was $1.50. Not too shabby. The soup tasted so fresh, and definitely not something that I would have thought came out of a can.

Lunch was leftover spaghetti squash. It heated up perfectly. I guess all the artichokes were in this half and i loved every bite of it. I also picked up a blueberry Oikos at the store to try. I got some free coupons from Kristina at Stonyfield and got to use them! This reminded me of the blueberry chobani but was a little more sour. This tasted more like greek yogurt than the chobani which is a little sweeter. It did a nice job of keeping me full till I got home for dinner.

spag-squash-lunch

blueberry-oikos

I planned on going to Bikram yoga last night but I guess it wasn’t in the cards last night. There were 2 accidents on 2 of the highways that led back to my house. It ended up taking me about an hour and a half to get home instead of the usual 25 mins. I tried getting around them, but there was traffic everywhere. I missed my class 😦  Instead I decided to run a few errands, stock up on some food for my new place, and relax. I bought a Cedar Lane cous cous and veggie wrap that was on sale to try out. I ate it with a piece of laughing cow. Kinda boring dinner but I wanted to get some things done. Bleh, I didn’t like the wrap at all. I’m glad I only got 1. I’d take an Amy’s burrito over this any day.

couscous-wrap

wrap-and-cheese

Last night while watchign the Biggest Loser I started flipping through my Veganomicon. I decided it was waffles for breakfast. I found a waffle maker at the house that I had no idea we had, and am bringing it with me to my new place! I decided on the banana nut waffles.

This

was

amazing.

I’m so happy that I found the waffle maker because there are a good amount of waffle recipes in the Veganomicon cook book and the Vegan with a Vengeance. These were sooooo good! These will now be regular participants in my breakfast scene!Β  I had a side of pure maple syrup to complete the meal!

waffles1

Okay so lets cross my fingers for Bikram tonight!! Today will be my last day of the session because tomorrow i’ve got an appointment to get my eyebrows threaded. Have any of you heard of or gotten your eyebrows threaded before? It’s kind of a crazy technique , but its so neat. It makes the cleanest lines and your eyebrows are BEAutiful after! Here’s a link to explain it. It hurts less than waxing for sure!Β  Just a little rando info there lol. Have a great day!

Β 

p.s. I’ve got my first giveaway in the works! Keep a lookout, it’s on its way!! Hopefully sometime next week I can get it going πŸ™‚

Β 

OMG Jumbo Empanadas is having a VITAMIX giveaway!!

31 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2009 8:58 am

    WHOA, I want waffles, those look great!!

  2. March 25, 2009 8:58 am

    My mom has gotten her eyebrows threaded and she LOVED it!!! I’ve never tried it but she said it didn’t hurt at all!

  3. March 25, 2009 8:59 am

    Waffles = YUM-O!!

    I’ve never heard of getting your eyebrows threaded before … neat! (though I’ve kind of gotten used to the pain of waxing and it’s not so painful anymore;)

  4. March 25, 2009 9:03 am

    What a great looking waffle!

  5. March 25, 2009 9:16 am

    I hope bikie works out for you tonight πŸ™‚ that waffle looks delicious girl!

  6. March 25, 2009 9:32 am

    Happy Wednesday! I too was wondering about those Wolfgang soups…guess I’ll have to give it a try!

  7. March 25, 2009 9:33 am

    I need a waffle maker ASAP!!!

  8. March 25, 2009 10:40 am

    I’m not a fan of that wrap either 😦 We’ll stick to our main girl Amy!! That waffle looks amazing!

    Ahh a month away!! Good luck with your training!

  9. March 25, 2009 10:51 am

    ahh that waffle looks straight out of a restaurant girlie! glad you enjoyed it =)

    and that wrap is good but I def. prefer Amy’s also! have a great day love and I hope Bikram works out for you tonight!

    xoxo
    -Jenny

  10. March 25, 2009 10:55 am

    oh goodness you must be in waffle heaven! after seeing your love of veganomicon, i decided to ask for it for my birthday. so excited for that!

    that wrap looks mighty suspicious, and also a bit small. thanks for ths heads up! plus, i don’t think anything could beat amy’s! whoever amy is, she rocks.

    have fun with the brow threading, and i’ll be sending along good yoga vibes–hope you get to the studio today!

  11. March 25, 2009 11:20 am

    yum! homemade waffles are awesome πŸ™‚ i got my mom a waffle maker for some holiday once when i was younger and i think it might have been purchased as a treat for me as well LOL

  12. March 25, 2009 12:06 pm

    I’ve seen the threading technique on TV and thought it looked awesome and intriguing! I just bought Veganomicon and CANNOT wait to try every single recipe (tried one today that I’ll blog about tonight!)Love ya!

  13. March 25, 2009 12:52 pm

    yay! Those waffles look amazing! Can’t wait to hear about your giveaway!

  14. March 25, 2009 1:07 pm

    Dude that waffle looks right up my ally!!! I would totally dump lots of coffee ice-cream on top so it sops up all the juices. πŸ™‚ yummm!!

    I’m so glad you’re safe from those accidents on the freeway Ashley! DANG, yoga isn’t worth risking your life for. πŸ˜› hehehe and YAYYY it’s wednesday. I’ll never forget your little tip from last week – that people are happiest on Thursdays!!

  15. March 25, 2009 1:19 pm

    Thanks so much for the advice on the ramekins! I need to look out for those… And that waffle definitely does look delicious..I wish I had a waffle maker!

    So excited for your giveaway!

  16. March 25, 2009 1:39 pm

    Sorry about bikram yesterday…I hate dealing with traffic!

    Love your waffles! I haven’t had waffles in forever…and I think they would taste great covered in strawberries. πŸ™‚

    I haven’t tried Oikos, but I’ll hopefully be getting some soon to review!

  17. March 25, 2009 2:29 pm

    Good to know about the Wolfgang Puck soups. They look interesting.

  18. March 25, 2009 2:58 pm

    I’ve always been intrigued by eyebrow threading. I think I need to try it one of these days!

  19. March 25, 2009 3:43 pm

    Good eats! I’ve seen those thread eyebrow people in the mall and they always seek me out when I walk by.

    Maybe they are trying to tell me something?? πŸ˜€

  20. March 25, 2009 3:47 pm

    The fakin bacon is from trusty WF! And you won’t regret it.. it’s delicious! I think it’ll be my lunch for the next three days too actually since I still have 3/4 of an avocado left!

  21. March 25, 2009 7:15 pm

    I totally adore waffles! YUM!! I used to buy VANs belgian waffles but then my grocery store stopped carrying them. Grrrr!!!

  22. March 25, 2009 8:51 pm

    Oh man that looks like a yummy waffle!

  23. March 25, 2009 9:00 pm

    HOLY YUM WAFFLE!!!

  24. March 25, 2009 9:16 pm

    Mmmmm the waffle makes me hungry! I’ve had other Cedarlane products before and I didn’t think they were good!!! They were all really blah.

  25. March 25, 2009 9:42 pm

    that waffle looks waffletastic! i never have waffles except the healthy/frozen kind- you are so creative. When I get married, those cookbooks and a wafflemaker are totally going on my registry. talk about rando info!

    i just heard about threading recently but I thought it was some way to add bling to your eyebrows- I didn’t get it- so thanks for the link because now I understand muccch better. hee hee

    thats too bad about bikram- are you still doing the shred? or the core fusion?

    I got feta for my squash!! πŸ™‚

    congrats on the giveaway how fun!

  26. March 25, 2009 10:15 pm

    omg that waffle looks riiiiiiidic, i had some today too but they were merely the frozen variety, haha!

    sorry about the traffic and missing bikram, what a bummer! hope to read tomorrow that you got there tonight, though =)

    oh and eyebrow threading? im too chicken to do it! i had no idea that it wasnt as bad as waxing (which leaves me red for HOURS) so maybe ill have to try it!

    xoxox

  27. March 25, 2009 10:33 pm

    Wow, that waffle looks amazing!!

    I’ve seen eyebrow threading done but I’ve never had it done. Don’t even think anyone where I live does it…

    Hope you were able to make yoga tonight!

  28. eatlivelovedream permalink
    March 26, 2009 12:14 am

    Yay for give aways! Thanks for the heads up on the vita mix give away too! Your waffle looks so yummy! I think I need to make a waffle sandwich here in the near future:)

  29. March 26, 2009 3:09 am

    Hope you made it to Bikram, it’s the best!! I looooove it! I have both Vegan with a Vengence and Veganomicon (along with a handful of other vegan cookbooks). I tried one of the waffle or pancake mixes in Vegan with a Vengence once, can’t remember which one but it was good. It’s been on my to do list to make waffles or pancakes again soon! πŸ™‚

  30. March 26, 2009 6:17 am

    I wish we had a waffle maker, thos look so good! So does the squash. Hopefully you are able to make it to Bikram tonight and have a great class!!

  31. March 26, 2009 8:07 am

    those banana nut waffles are amazzzzzzing – even hubby loved them!!!!

    you should DEF make the choc brownie waffles sometime for DESSERT or a special occassion breafkast – they are way sweet and def not healthy :-p but oh so delish!!!

    pumpkin & corn/blueberry/lemon waffles from VwaV are on my list to try πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

