Skip to content

YES!!

March 23, 2009

Good Morning and happy Monday! I hope you all had a wonderful weekend. I had such a great time πŸ™‚ I missed you all though, and now my google reader is ridiculously out of control but I can’t wait to catch up!

Friday after work I drove up to LI with my friend Brooke. We got there in really good time and didn’t hit much traffic. phew. Chase and I watched some of the basketball games then went to bed.

The next morning was the race! I had a banana and my last pure bar about an hour and a half before. It was a chilly Saturday morning. I think it was around 30, but the sun eventually started shining and it was perfect weather. There were about 450 people running and I started near the back. I think it took me about 30 seconds to reach the starting line. They didn’t have a mat at the starting line though, just at the finish line. I made a rookie runner mistake though… I didn’t double knot my shoelaces. I had to stop twice to tie my shoe during the race, and the second time I smartened up and double knotted those suckers. They had mile markersΒ with your time so that was nice for me to see my pace. I kept a steady pace going and tried to keep it strong. The scenery was gorgeous, we ran right along the water. I knew that at the end there were 2 hills.. and I was dreading them. I pushed myself up the first one and felt pretty good, then i saw the big hill right at the end. It was steeep but i knew that that was my last stretch of the race… I pumped my legs as fast as I could get them to move, then once I got to the top of the hill there was about 50 feet left till the finish line. I finished…. in 36:33!!!! I couldn’t believe it πŸ™‚ I was so so happpppppppppy! The whole time I paced an average of a 9:09 mile which is much faster than usual for me! I had run a 4 mile loop around my house twice before this. The first time I did it in 45:00 the second just around 41:00, so my goal in my head for this race was to try and get it in under 40. I couldn’t believe my eyes and I was smiling from ear to ear. I’m so glad that I did the race. It gave me a huge confidence booster for my 10k coming up. I felt strong and proud that I finished and beat my goal time πŸ™‚ Now i’m more excited to run in the 10k and hope to do well! Chase’s parents told me i’m going to get the running bug and want to keep running more races. They want to run the Baltimore 1/2 marathon with me in Oct. My goal for 2008 was to run a 5k, and I completed 2. My goal for 2009 was to run a 10k, and that will be completed in April. I am thinking about extending my goals and am comtemplating running in the Baltimore half. It is far enough away that I feel like it’s PLENTY of time for me to train, but i’ve just never been a runner so I never thought my body could run even 3 miles before. But now I want to keep pushing myself and keep getting better! Thanks guys for your endless support. You have no idea how much it means to me, and how much it pushed me to do my best this weekend. I thought of all of you and couldn’t WAIT to tell you my results! you are all the absolute best ❀

My time that was on the website πŸ™‚

Race Results for Running Events | Active.com

pure2

After the race I hurried on over to get on the train and get into the city. Once I got in I took a shower and we headed out for a day out in NYC πŸ™‚ We went and got lunch at an awesome little french bakery called Macaron. I got a sandwich called the Norweigan. It was brie cheese, apple slices, raisins, french mustard and lettuce on a crusty baguette. This was AMAZING!!!! so fresh and the ingredients were so simple but went together beautifully. I am going to have to recreate this sandwich asap , it was so so good. Britt told me that this little place was famous for their french macarons. I had never heard of macarons before, only macaroons. Here’s what macarons are. and here’s the website to the cafe. I picked the coconut one and it melted in my mouth. Britt’s green one was pistachio that was also really realy yummy. They do awesome gift boxes which I wish i got so I could try lots of other flavors too. I got a fresh brewed cup of coffee to go with the macaron and my tastebuds were in heaven. If youre in the city, you’ve GOT to go there! nowww!

baguette

macaron

After lunch we headed on over to Soho for some shopping! I just love all the stores in the city everything is so gorgeous. I didn’t buy anything but it was so fun window shopping and going into all the huge stores.Β  Britt’s brother lives in the city too so we went to go visit him and his wife for a while. They had just gotten back from Spain so we sat and chatted while sipping on Southsides ( AMAZING drink btw, tastes like a mojito). They brought back a wheel of Manchego cheese and a blackberry marmalde to dip the cheese in. Perfecto.

We went shopping a little more then headed on over to dinner. We went to a restaurant called Fish which is a well known seafood place. We got the calamari to start. I only eat the circles haha. It was nice and peppery and the marinara sauce was light. Went together perfectly. For my entree I picked the scallops. It was paired with some sauteed spinach and was the perfect light dinner.Β  We were out all day from about 12 to 9 PM so we didn’t end up going out. instead we popped in a movie and talked and caught up with each others lives. Its friends like this that make our lives so special.

scallops

The next morning I headed on back to Huntington to pick up my stuff 😦 I didn’t get to see Chase very much, but he had a great time on sat at the bachelor party and going paintballing with the group of guys. I’ll be seeing him again this weekend when we all go back to visit Salisbury πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Before Brooke and I left we just HAD to go by Crumbs and get a cupcake. I got the coconut one (obsessed? yes! ) I don’t think they get any better than this cupcake right here. It is my FAVorite and I just love this cupcake shop.

coconut-cupcake
As we were driving back from NY and were on the Jersey turnpike we saw a billboard for a Crate and Barrel Outlet. We hopped on the exit and went in search of the outlet. I have been looking for a shelving unit and Brittany’s brother had the exact one I wanted in their apartment in the city. I asked his wife where she got it, and she said Crate and Barrel. This was destiny. I found the exact one I wanted and got it for a great price. cha CHING! So excitedddd and its perfect for my new room!Β  ( I promise i’ll take pics as soon as everythings together)

Dinner had to be to go so when we got some gas we went into the food court. I tried to find the healthiest option and ended up getting a sandwich from Starbucks. It was actually really good and by far the best option there. It was ham and swiss ciabatta and got me through the rest of the drive.

starbucks

Wow thanks for reading about my weekend. Pretty long post here. Hope you all have a WONDERFUL day and now i’m going to go read about all of your weekends!! xoxoxo

36 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2009 10:48 am

    Happy Monday! Congrats on the race, that is so fantastic!

    That cupcake looks divine πŸ˜‰ YUMYUMYUM!

  2. March 23, 2009 11:03 am

    CONGRATS!!! French macaroons = amazing!

    Glad you had such a fabulous time in NY!

  3. March 23, 2009 11:03 am

    Congrats, girl on an AWESOME race!!!! : ) You should feel VERY proud of yourself … hooray!!!!! : ) : )

  4. March 23, 2009 11:07 am

    congratulations on the race girlie! and all your eats look awesome. Glad you had such a great weekend =)!!

  5. March 23, 2009 11:11 am

    aww congrats on the run πŸ™‚ I’m so glad you had such a good time in NY!

  6. snackface permalink
    March 23, 2009 11:14 am

    OMG!! So much great stuff goin’ on here! Numba one, though, CONGRATULATIONS on the race!!! That is truly outstanding. You are such a stunna for WAY beating your goal. NYC sounds amazing. I can’t believe I still haven’t been there, so I love living vicariously through you! I always love snacking on great cheese and dips, so that sounds lovely. And I totally believe you were destined to find that shelving unit! OH! And that cupcake!! Shooo. I clearly got too excited while reading this post, and therefore left you with the most ridiculous comment ever. Sorry! Hope you have a great start to your week, darling!

  7. March 23, 2009 11:23 am

    That is an AMAZING time! Congrats! You can totally do a 1/2 this year!

  8. March 23, 2009 11:31 am

    Great job on the race! How long was it again?

  9. March 23, 2009 11:36 am

    congrats on having such a great race!

  10. March 23, 2009 12:07 pm

    AMAZING! GREAT JOB!!! I’m so excited for you, girl!

    And with the progress you’ve made (2 5ks and a 10k) a half in October is definitely within your grasp!

    And guess what? You are TOTALLY a runner now! No question πŸ™‚

  11. March 23, 2009 12:18 pm

    Ashley I am SO proud of you! Your time is FANTASTIC! Note to self: double-knot my shoes. I think the Purebar and banana is a good breakfast idea pre-race. Do you think you will have a similar breakfast before the 10k? I haven’t figured out what to eat for that yet.
    I am so glad you did this race since it’s given you confidence for the 10k! You’re going to rock it!

  12. March 23, 2009 12:29 pm

    Chaching! Nice deal on the shelving unit! I can’t wait to see the pics of that

    Deliciousness all weekend , that cupcake looks outstanding and those sandwiches too! Thank you for introducing us to the macaron- I didn’t realize it existed but I totally want to try one now.

    I saved the best for last: CONGRATULATIONS! I am proud of you for exceeding your goals and really pushing yourself on that last hill! Wow! You are such an inspiration! I think it is fantastic that you now have the bug… and that you have a newfound confidence for the 10k next month. Kudos to you big time, that is awesome!

    πŸ™‚ love to you!

  13. March 23, 2009 12:35 pm

    Congrats on your race!! I hope you do decide to run the Baltimore half this year! I ran it last year and it was a lot of fun… pretty hilly but I PRed! I might run the half again this year too. Congrats again!! I love NYC.. it’s the best food and shopping around!

  14. March 23, 2009 12:37 pm

    Congrats on your race. What an awesome time!

  15. Paige permalink
    March 23, 2009 12:39 pm

    Wow, congratulations on an awesome time! I’m running my first 5k this weekend, but I’m already contemplating doing a half marathon in Sept! We’ll see…!

  16. March 23, 2009 12:42 pm

    Congrats on your time! I did a 4 miler this weekend also in Central Park. I came in at 40 mins exactly, 10 minute miles are usually what I run at the gym so I was pleased that I kept this pace. I’m going to do another race in April so I’m hoping to get under 40:00 then. Good luck with your training!

  17. March 23, 2009 12:42 pm

    Hey great job in the race you did a great time. πŸ™‚

  18. March 23, 2009 12:43 pm

    what an awesome weekend! you should be so proud of your race time, that’s fantastic. your meals sound sooooo delicious too. what could be better than good food with good friends?!?!?! and i love the crumbs cupcake. YUM, good call πŸ™‚

  19. March 23, 2009 1:12 pm

    Congrats on an awesome race! You should be so proud! πŸ™‚ You should definitely go for the half. I had never run more than 4-5 miles in my life before I trained for the first one. You can do it!

    Looks like you had a great time in the city. Love the macaroons and delish looking coconut cupcake!

  20. March 23, 2009 1:35 pm

    GREAT job on the race! Woohoo!

    I never thought I would be able to run farther than like 3 miles and yesterday I ran 8! I think it’s just something you work up to and before you know it you’re there! You should definitely sign up for the half πŸ™‚

  21. March 23, 2009 1:57 pm

    WOOOO HOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! Awesome race time!!! I’m so excited for you! You’re going to blow your running goals out of the water – you’re on a roll! πŸ™‚

    Sounds like a fun weekend – I’m totally jealous of the coconut cupcake. I love anything coconut, especially cake. πŸ™‚ Yumm!

    Congrats on an awesome weekend!

    Kaneil, balanceisbest

    (I feel ya on the google reader…no worries, we will catch up! ha!)

  22. March 23, 2009 1:58 pm

    CONGRATS πŸ˜€ You are amazing & I’m so proud of you!
    It looks like you enjoyed a great rest of the weekend, too! YUM!

  23. March 23, 2009 2:25 pm

    Sounds like an absolutely amazing weekend with some even more amazing eats. The macaroons are so cute. I’ve heard of them several times before, mostly since I’ve been in France several times and because macarons have become somewhat of a trendy thing here where I live. I don’t believe I’ve actually had one though. Gassp! I just realized I haven’t. Unbelieveable! I need to get one asap! The coconut cupcake looks awesome too. I loove cupcakes. They’re so cute!

  24. March 23, 2009 2:40 pm

    Congrats on the race! You are awesome!

  25. March 23, 2009 4:11 pm

    Me and my friend will go to WF in Harbor East for lunch and then over to Vaccaro’s for dessert! Haha definitely not the healthiest combination but it’s the most delicious thing ever… Have you been to Vaccaros in Little Italy!?

  26. March 23, 2009 4:31 pm

    I spy some tasty coconut treats! Yum!

  27. March 23, 2009 4:45 pm

    Wow – great job on the run! Imagine what your time would have been if you didn’t have to stop and retie your shoes! πŸ˜€

  28. March 23, 2009 5:11 pm

    Congrats on the race!! Sounds like a wonderful weekend… I know exactly what the race bug is too ha ha. I can’t wait to start running races in the summer!

  29. March 23, 2009 6:35 pm

    I have seen both macarons and macaroons before but didn’t realize they were spelled differently. Are they said the same too?
    The brie sandwich does sound good, although I would probably wan it without the raisins.
    And congrats on finishing your race!!

  30. Meg permalink
    March 23, 2009 6:36 pm

    Congrats on that awesome race time!!!

    That sandwich looks delish! I will have to make that soon!

    Sounds like you had a fabulous weekend!

  31. March 23, 2009 8:11 pm

    Amazing race girl! I am so proud of you, I only wish I could run like that πŸ™‚ The macaroons look divine!

  32. Sweet and Fit permalink
    March 23, 2009 9:39 pm

    great job on the race girlie! we should do a 5k together once I finish my couch to 5k program?? u down?!?!

  33. March 24, 2009 7:56 am

    GREAT job on the race!!!

  34. March 24, 2009 11:22 am

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! You’re a speed woman! You reminded me how much I need to work on my speed work so I can keep up with you in a half πŸ™‚

  35. March 24, 2009 9:54 pm

    I am so late, but CONGRATS on the race – you did amazing. You will do great at Clydes! the scallops look deeelish.

  36. March 25, 2009 10:52 am

    ahhhhh! congratulations on the race, girlie! i know i’m super late in commenting, but i’m still so happy for you! your race time is amazing, and you’re going to absolutely kill that 10k!

Leave a Reply

