Skip to content

spring in my step

March 20, 2009

It’s FRIDAYYYYYY πŸ™‚

and its the first day of SPRING!

couldn’t get a better day

Β 

Woo, Recap! Yesterday for my mid day snack I had my second to last pure bar **tear** i love these but they don’t sell many flavors by me. I’m saving my last one for this weekend either before or after my 4 miler!

pure1

Lunchy was the other half of my humungo burrito with the extra hot sauce they gave me. It actually held over pretty well, I thought the tortilla would get all gross and soggy but it didn’t, it was just as good as the day before once i got it all heated up. I was really hungry yesterday and actually ate my burrito before my lunch break, i am trying to listen more to my hunger cues instead of eating at the certain time that im used to. (one of the things i’ve learned from naturally thin) I’ve finished the book, and after this weekend i’ll write my review!

burrito1

I had bikram last night. i hadn’t been since sunday, and you know when you somehow get out of your routine its hard to get focused and back in the swing of things? well when I got home and it was time to get ready for yoga I just didn’t feel like going. I wanted to sit my booty on the couch and relaxxxx. But i only have half of next week left of my one month membership and last night was the only chance i had of going all week due to my crazy sched. I sucked it up and went. I was sooo glladdd I did! It felt great to be back in the room, and it was packed with newbies. 10 newbies to be exact. There wasn’t much room, so I got a spot up at the front. I am usuallly a back row goer, but have been in the front row probably 1 or 2 times before. I liked it a lot better acutally than I thought. I was right in front of the mirrors so I was super focused during the class. I held poses longer and stronger and felt invigorated when I left. Bikram makes me happpyyy!

Β 

For dinner I had some tofu, gliding calm style!! I threw a big mix together of soy sauce, soy paste, sesame oil, rice vinegar, agave, red pepper flakes, sriracha sauce, and some garlic pepper. I cooked the tofu on the skillet with some olive oil spray, and then decided I needed something to go with it. I had some leftover eggplant and red peppers from my medi plate that were just grilled on the foreman, so I threw those on the skillet with the tofu. Once they were cooked through I took the skillet off the heat, and threw the marinade in the pan. I coated everything then put it on the plate! This method of cooking my tofu and coating it with the marinade works out the best for me, and its sooo easy! I think i made the marinade a little too spicy for my own good though. I had a nice little upper lip sweat going while I ate it. haha.

tofu

This morning I had 2 sets of mini waffles! I loveeeee these! I toasted up some pecans and put them on top. this addition was awesome, it gave a nice little crunch. I had some pureΒ maple syrup on the sideΒ and i’m so completely in love with maple and pecans together. I’ll be eating this breakfast more often! and i also had a mighty maple stuffed date on the side πŸ™‚Β Where have I been without these dates in my lifeeeee? Β I would have never ever tried them without you wonderful bloggies ❀

waffles

I’m all packed up and ready to go to NY as soon as work is over! My friend Brooke is driving up with me, it’l be so nice to have someone in the car! She’s going with me to Chase’s in Long Island, and then going to take the train into the city. I am going to run my race tomorrow morning then take the train in to meet her and Britt!Β  A full day and night with my bests, and some NY fooood πŸ™‚Β  Can’t wait to see where we go! I probably won’t be able to post this weekend so i’ll give a biggg recap sunday night when I get back! love you guys, have a wonderful weekend xoxo

38 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2009 7:43 am

    have fun in NY!!

    i love me some waffles!!

  2. March 20, 2009 8:32 am

    So jealous that you get to go to NYC! Have a blast and those mini waffles are too adorable!

  3. March 20, 2009 8:32 am

    I’m loving those waffles! It reminds me of my childhood!

    Have fun this weekend!

  4. March 20, 2009 8:33 am

    Have a WONDERFUL time in NY!!!! : ) YAY!!!

  5. March 20, 2009 8:55 am

    I know what you mean about getting back into a routine…but I love the feeling of finishing a workout that I forced myself to do, rather than skipping it. Very rewarding!

    Have a GREAT race, girlie! You will do great…use the excitement for your NYC trip to power you through! πŸ™‚

  6. Helen's Journey permalink
    March 20, 2009 9:17 am

    Enjoy New York πŸ˜€

  7. snackface permalink
    March 20, 2009 9:24 am

    Haha I was concerned that burrito would get soggy, too. On to more important things… Have an AMAZING time in NY!! I’m supah jealous and cannot wait for the recap πŸ™‚

  8. March 20, 2009 9:51 am

    Good luck with the race tomorrow and have fun in NYC! It’s not very springlike up here lol I live an hour outside of the city and it was snowing this morning! Yuck.

  9. March 20, 2009 10:28 am

    oh funny! I sent an email to my family and said “hope you have a little spring in your step”

    what can i say, great minds think alike

    Happy friday lovely! πŸ™‚ Have a WONDERFUL race and WONDERFUL time with your friends in NY!

    i heart your mini waffles

  10. peanutbutterandjenny permalink
    March 20, 2009 10:47 am

    ahh girl I have that same exact black & white mouse pad! haha – great minds thikn alike, eh?!?

    Have a wonderful weekend in the city, love! Travel safely – Can’t wait to hear all about it!! ❀

    -Jenny

  11. March 20, 2009 11:08 am

    Happy Spring! Enjoy your trip to NY!

  12. March 20, 2009 11:12 am

    Oh wow, those mini waffles, tooo cute!!!! Have an awesome time!!

  13. March 20, 2009 11:19 am

    Ah! LI & NYC two best places on earth haha! Have so much fun πŸ™‚ And we’re supposed to have gorgeous weather this weekend so ENJOY IT πŸ™‚

  14. peanutbutterandjuli permalink
    March 20, 2009 11:33 am

    Have a great day! I’m jealous you’re going to NY- such a fun place to visit! Be safe and HAVE FUN πŸ™‚

  15. March 20, 2009 12:24 pm

    What a yummy dinner!! Can’t go wrong with tofu and veggies!

    YAY have fun in NY πŸ™‚

  16. March 20, 2009 12:55 pm

    love those mini waffles, they just look so cute!

  17. March 20, 2009 2:12 pm

    i may be going to ny this weekend too! YAY! i love that city : have fun and good luck at the race!

  18. March 20, 2009 2:22 pm

    Yay for Friday!!

    Sometimes the best work out are the ones where you just suck it up and head out. πŸ™‚

  19. March 20, 2009 2:47 pm

    have such a great time in NY! i know just what you mean about the workouts. sometimes when i get out of the groove it feels almost impossible to start back up again! glad you left feeling good πŸ™‚

  20. March 20, 2009 3:08 pm

    No one anywhere near my house sells PURE bars. It’s very SAD :*( indeed!!

    Have a great weekend!!

  21. March 20, 2009 3:52 pm

    You can visit me! LOL
    I’ll be giving some bloggers NYC tours tomorrow!

    thanks for stopping by today!

  22. Sweet and Fit permalink
    March 20, 2009 5:07 pm

    hope you have a great race! and a wonderful weekend =)

  23. cleanveggiex3 permalink
    March 20, 2009 7:25 pm

    adorable waffles!! lovin the pure bar!

  24. March 20, 2009 10:18 pm

    danng your tofu and eggplant looks like stuff at Asian restaurants!! Like, the authentic kind of course!!! πŸ™‚

    Hey, just wondering…do you ever snack, or is everything you photograph and post pretty much everything you eat?? I’m curious because you’re REALLY good about NOT snacking at all huh?? I need those skills!!!

  25. March 20, 2009 11:20 pm

    Have a great weekend!

  26. Meg permalink
    March 21, 2009 6:44 am

    Good luck on your race today!!! Can’t wait to hear the recap!

    Dinner looks delish!! And those mini waffles look so cute. I adore waffles!

  27. March 21, 2009 10:22 am

    Hooray for spring, waffles, and Pure bars!! Hope you can find more Pure bars soon!!

    ROCK OUT THAT RACE, GIRL!!

  28. eatlivelovedream permalink
    March 21, 2009 12:26 pm

    Have an awesome time in NY!!! So exciting! Take lots and lots of pics!!!

  29. March 21, 2009 12:30 pm

    Good luck with the race this weekend, Ashley! I’m rooting for ya!!
    My mom is peeping over my shoulder and wants to know what kind of mini-waffles you buy so she can get some for my nephew πŸ˜‰

  30. March 21, 2009 6:34 pm

    have fun in NY and good luck on your race!!!

  31. March 21, 2009 6:44 pm

    I hope you’re having SO much fun in NY! Other things: i’m glad you’re loving spring, i’m glad Bikram rocked and you rocked the front row, i’m glad the rest of the burrito monster wasn’t soggy (boo) and i’ll be looking forward to your book review!!

  32. March 22, 2009 5:27 am

    hoped you had a GREAT WEEKEND!

    I need to get back to Bikram—especially before it’s 100 degrees OUTSIDE where I live…

  33. March 22, 2009 10:27 am

    Hope you had a good race and enjoyed your trip to the city!

    Way to listen to your hunger cues. I’m working on that and would love to read Naturally Thin. Looking forward to your review.

    Hooray for yoga. I used to be a back row girl as well, but I find I do much better when I’m up front and near the mirrors. I was the same way with my class yesterday…totally wanted to curl up a take a nap, but I’m SO GLAD I went. Exactly what my body needed.

    Medjool dates – so good. Glad you discovered them. πŸ™‚

  34. March 22, 2009 11:09 am

    those mini-waffles are just SO cute! the tofu and veggies look so shiny and amazing, too. I’m so glad spring is coming…the only thing I like about winter is that it gives way to spring!
    have fun at NY!

  35. Kate permalink
    March 22, 2009 11:43 am

    I hope you had an amazing weekend hun! HAHA sometimes Ill eat something reaaaaally spicy and if my taste buds can’t tell my nose can! I’ll always get a runny nose…ewwww…I saw those pure bars at Trader Joe’s yesterday and didn’t know if I wanted to try them. darn!

  36. March 22, 2009 2:35 pm

    i am LOVING those mini waffles, so so cute! hope you had an amazing time in NYC, can’t wait to read all about it! xox

  37. March 23, 2009 8:33 am

    i can’t wait to read about your race and your trip! i miss you hence the second comment on this post.
    πŸ™‚

  38. March 23, 2009 9:20 am

    Hope you had fun in NY and that your race went well!
    I’m so excited about spring, too (although today it’s only 40..what’s up with that?!)!

    Looking forward to your recap! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

