Skip to content

busy bee

March 15, 2009

Woo, this weekend has been pretty nuts. I hope you all have had a wonderful weekend 🙂

I’ll post some highlights! 

Yesterday after yoga with mi madre we went to Great Harvest (man this place is addicting) and got a loaf of their March Special. Irish Soda Bread!! I’ve never had it before, and WOW this was good. So doughy and warm and filled with golden and regular raisins. Perfection.

mail-55

mail-62

Yesterday consisted of lots of errands. I moved most of my stuff into my place today, so yesterday was filled with getting things together, picking up a few items that i needed, etc. When I was at Marshalls looking for some kitchen goods, I found a William Sonoma vegetarian cookbook for $3.99. It was originally for sale at $18 at the store. This is why I love me some Marshalls. I used it for dinner last night and cooked up an amazing and quick meal. It was sweet potato and chickpea curry. We only had chinese sweet potatoes at my house ( they’re white, not orange, and taste a little more starchy) but it worked really well. I served it over some rice. This will make some amazing leftovers.

mail-72

This morning I woke up early to get in my last Bikram class with my sister before she left. I was so exhausted so I kind of plowed through the class, just trying to make it to the end. When we got home we came home to the most amazing smelling kitchen. My mom had made some blueberry french toast casserole with the leftovers from the cinnamon chip loaf from Great Harvest we picked up last weekend. This bread couldn’t have been made more for french toast. 

mail-43

mail-33

After breakfast we said goodbye to my sister then headed on over to Baltimore to move me in. It was a longgg day, but we got most of the furniture in there. Wed I have a half day because I have a dr appointment, so after that we’ll be heading over again to put together some of the new furniture from ikea! yayyy 🙂 so so excited! My friend brooke helped me move in with her brothers pick up truck so once we were done I took her out to a late dinner/early lunch. We went to Abbey Burger Bistro right down the street from my house. I’ve heard amazing things about this place… and they were all true. They use locally raised meats, everything is made to order, you can choose from their menu or you can use the checklist they provide and make your own with everything personalized. I ordered their veggie burger, with sweet potato fries on the side and the chipotle mayo and herbed yogurt sauce on the side. 

 

This was by far the best veggie burger i’ve ever had. I feel like most of the time they’re in a solid patty and you can’t really tell whats in it. You could see all of the veggies in the patty, the grilled onions, the carrots, and it was to die for. They had crisp cucumbers, the reddest tomato i’ve ever had, and a small amount of amazing cheese. Nothing was greasy and they gave just the right amount of fries to feel like I didn’t overstuff myself. This was an amazing little restaurant and I will definitely be back 🙂

mail-15

mail5

The sweet Leanne from Fuel and Fitness sent me a wonderful package as a thank you for designing her header!! She gave me some Lindt truffles, some dried papaya, and some yogi tea! Thank you Leanne you are such a doll!

mail-24

I’m off to relax and read a little of Naturally Thin, so far so good, can’t wait to review it for you guys! Have a great Sunday night loves xoxo

32 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2009 6:43 pm

    Gotta love soda bread this time of year : )

  2. March 15, 2009 6:55 pm

    So many fabulous eats this weekend! I’ve never had Irish Soda Bread – is it sweet or savory? What a great deal on the cookbook – AND a great meal 🙂

  3. March 15, 2009 7:13 pm

    Oh my gosh, super oooeeey gooooeey good eats!!!

  4. March 15, 2009 7:14 pm

    Glad you liked the goodies! It was just a little something, but I know you’re a tea person and I LOVE that kind so I passed on the goodness ha ha

  5. March 15, 2009 7:38 pm

    Haha Marshalls IS great for those things! You should try Home Goods I’ve gotten some nifty kitchen tools from there for pretty cheap! It’s part of the same company as Marhsalls 🙂

  6. March 15, 2009 7:50 pm

    That veggie burger looks AMAZING!

    Happy moving day, to you!

  7. March 15, 2009 8:15 pm

    Ohmigoodness that bread looks wonderfullll! I wonder if they have any at the Great Harvest up where I am – I hope so! Might have to visit this week.

  8. March 15, 2009 8:20 pm

    What a deliciously filled weekend!! The Irish Soda Bread looks so good! I just love raisins in bread! Mmm…

  9. March 15, 2009 9:49 pm

    congrats on the move! that’s so exciting =)

    omg that burger looks INSANELY good, i’m drooling over here! keep us posted on “naturally thin” too!

    have a great night!

  10. March 15, 2009 10:16 pm

    looks amazing!! What a great weekend- i’m glad the move went so well 😀 Show us some pics if u can!

  11. March 15, 2009 10:18 pm

    I also love Marshall’s for the great deals.

    Yay for moving!

    Lots of great eats! I am drooling on my screen!

  12. March 15, 2009 10:22 pm

    I love French Toast, but French Toast Casserole? That sounds and looks amazing.

    I don’t really have the patience for Marshall, but my mom is always finding amazing deals there. I think she once found a Prade belt for under $10.

  13. March 15, 2009 10:29 pm

    congrats on moving in- that’s always exciting! 🙂 that veggie burger sounds amazing!

  14. March 15, 2009 10:41 pm

    Love the soda bread..looks so delish!
    Hope moving continues to go well…so exciting (I love Ikea,too!)
    Have a good night! 🙂

  15. Meg permalink
    March 16, 2009 7:02 am

    That french toast casserole looks so good!

    yay for moving some of your stuff! You have made me very excited for when I move in August!!!

  16. March 16, 2009 7:27 am

    SODA BREAD ROCKS! I’m glad your move went smoothly! Have a great day!

  17. March 16, 2009 7:44 am

    yay i’m glad you moved everything in this weekend – how exciting!!!

  18. March 16, 2009 8:26 am

    Blueberry French Toast casserole? Yes, please! Your veggie burger looks delicious, too.

  19. March 16, 2009 8:46 am

    oh that french toast casserole! looks divine!

    so glad you got to move your stuff in- hope it wasn’t as rainy and cold as it was for me helping my bro! blech!

  20. March 16, 2009 9:01 am

    I bought Irish soda bread and can’t wait to eat a piece.
    It’s so exciting that you are all moved in!

  21. March 16, 2009 9:37 am

    Oh my gosh, everything look so good. Our Great Harvest isn’t that great. I would love it if they sold that Irish Soda or Cinnamon Chip bread. I’m dying for some of that French toast right now – what a sweet mom you have!

    Now, let’s talk veggie burgers. I find it totally lame when I order a veggie burger at a sit-down restaurant and they plop a Boca burger on my plate. Looks like Abbey Burger Bistro knows what they’re doing. Is that a chain restaurant because I must find one! Love me some sweet potato fries as well.

    Glad you got all moved in – have fun putting your new furniture together. 🙂

  22. March 16, 2009 10:18 am

    ohh – the veggie burger looks great. My boyfriend works within walking distance of federal hill and brought home the menu for abbey burger bistro. I cant wait to try it out!

  23. March 16, 2009 12:31 pm

    I love veggie burgers myself and I agree! So many times you can’t really taste what’s inside. Glad it was a good one:)

  24. March 16, 2009 2:23 pm

    i’ve never had irish soda bread but it looks so good! i’ll have to try and find some soon!

  25. March 16, 2009 3:03 pm

    I love Marshall’s for that very reason! I have found some incredible deals there. I didn’t know they had books, though! What a great find.
    Best of luck with the move–I know it’s a lot of work but it will be worth it when you are all cozy and set in your new home 🙂

  26. Kate permalink
    March 16, 2009 3:25 pm

    Thanks girlie!!! I am SO terrified to fly it’s kinda of freaking me out….we’re at the airpot now! I am way jealous of yo burger-they were out of veggie burgers @ our restaurant! LAME. Hope you have an awesome week! oh who am I kidding of course I’ll check in! even if I’m on the beach!

  27. March 16, 2009 6:18 pm

    ooooh I love Marshall’s AND William Sonoma! So glad you’re all moved in – very very exciting!!!!!!

  28. March 16, 2009 9:21 pm

    I love irish soda bread! Its been a while! Marshall’s is the best ever – you can always find a good sale there! I hope you are settling in well!

  29. March 16, 2009 9:41 pm

    whoah girl i am having some serious food envy! that really does look like the most perfect veggie burger ever. also, this great harvest place you speak of sounds like the mecca of bread lovers. that irish soda bread looks pretty darn good.

  30. March 16, 2009 11:44 pm

    great package! i love lindt chocolate…especially the black ones, and dried papaya is amazing!

  31. March 17, 2009 8:36 pm

    What a great array of food 😀 I make a potato/pea/chickpea curry that I sometimes put sweet potatoes in that is awesome, I wonder if it’s similar to that one. The french toast looks great, and so does that burger. Yum!

    And yay for being moved into your new place!

  32. December 17, 2009 5:12 pm

    я считаю: бесподобно…

Leave a Reply

