Skip to content

big decisions

March 13, 2009

Happy Friday Lovies! This week has really flown by πŸ™‚ I’m really excited for the weekend ahead.

AH my internet and email was down all day!! THE HORRORRRR! Β I started posting as soon as i got into work, so this was the post I originally had planned before it went down plus a few additions! πŸ™‚

update:

**I saw the house tonight and i loved it! I can’t wait! i walked there after work and the walk was gorgeous. Right along the harbor and it took me 20 minutes to get from my office to the house. So perfect, and now i’ll be able to walk to and from work! I am so so happy and can’t wait to get settled in. Thanks so much guys for being such a great support system through this change!**

Β 

Yesterday during lunch I wanted to change things up. I went to the gym and did 25 minutes on the eliptical. When I got back from my break I chowed down on my leftovers from dinner the night before. This got better overnight! It is going to be one of my favorite meals, and i can’t explain how quick and easy it was to make. I’m having the rest of it today for lunch. sorry for the meal boredom, but its TASTAY!

mail-14

My snack for the day was a White Choc Macadamia Nut Cliff bar. This flavor is just like a dessert. It’s definitely my fav cliff bar. It’s a great sweat treat. After work we headed on over to happy hour. I had a blue moon, (my fav) and ordered the hummus appetizer. Unfortunately when it came to the table I realized that they fried the pita bread. I shared it with some people on the table, and had myself a few nachos and a chicken tender. It’s funny because eating bar food like this was a regular occurance at school. Completely normal and had no bad thoughts about it. But now that i’ve changed my eating habits, this really didn’t settle well. My stomach hurt for the rest of the night, and I felt so nauseous. I guess my body has really grown accustomed to eating better and eating foods that actually have nutrients in them, and aren’t mostly grease. I felt sick to my stomach the rest of the night, and called it an early night. It’s good now that I can read the signs my body is sending me instead of just ignorning them. Now i’ll know for next time.

mail-23

mail4

When I got home I got part of my amazon order. I got Journey to the Heart by Melanie Beattie, and Naturally Thin, by Bethenny Frankel. I read the intro to Naturally thin, and i really can’t wait to dig into this one. It talks about all of the crazy diets that people have been on through the years and its time to start giving them up and living your life fully. There are a few simple rules that will help you get there, and you don’t have to be on strict diets that take over your life. She says she is a “healthy foodie” which i believe all of us bloggers are. A person who loves food that give them nutrients, and taste good and give you energy. I also found an interesting post on thatsfit.com that summarized an article on Glamour.com Β and it stated all of the crazy diets through the decades. I’ve personally never been on a specific diet before, although now I guess i’m into the whole foods diet, where I try to incorporate as many whole foods as possible.

  • 1930’s-1940’s. Not only is this the era where the Master Cleanse first appeared, ad campaigns also touted smoking as a way to keep off unwanted pounds.
  • 1950’s. The 1950’s paved the way for a kinder, gentler form of weight loss. What was it? Prayer. That’s right. Pray yourself thin. “Pray Your Weight Away” was published in 1957 and was the first of many prayer-based weight loss theories.
  • 1960’s. We have the 60’s to thank for the horrible cabbage soup diet. A more helpful trend that was born in the 60’s is the weight loss support group. (Overeaters Anonymous and Weight Watchers were both formed in the decade.)
  • 1970’s. The quest for weight loss in a pill started in earnest in the 70’s. Dexatrim and the unfortunately named Ayds appetite suppressants were all the rage.
  • 1980’s. After the unsuccessful quick fixes of the 70’s, self-discipline came back into vogue in the 80’s. Plans such as the super-restrictive Scarsdale Diet were the diets of the decade. Low-fat was a term that was sneaking into everyone’s vocabulary.
  • 1990’s. Low-carb plans like the Atkin’s diet were all the rage in the 90’s.
  • 2000’s. We’re still not immune to silly diet trends. How about the Morning Banana Diet or the Cookie Diet (which has actually been around in one form or another for quite a long time)?

Β 

Journey to the Heart is a book of daily meditations, one for each day of the year. I read a few this morning to catch up and one of the quotes at the bottom of a meditation was “Relax. You’re on a journey of discovery. Let life reveal itself to you”

This really made sense to me right now. I have been so stressed with decisions, and what to do, and worrying about whats coming next. Everything works out the way its supposed to, and I truly believe that. It’s just good to be reaffirmed once in a while once you take a step back and look at the bigger picture.Β 

I’ve finally made a decision i’d been thinking about for a while. It is kinda funny because Caitlin just had a post about it the other day. I have decided to cancel my gym membership. My membership is $80 a month, and while I definitely am not wasting my money, and go consistenly, I really need to think of where I can save money, now that I’m moving out on my own. Β I pretty much use the gym for cardio, mostly running. I can run outside. I enjoy running outside much more than on the treadmill, and have dvds to help me strength train and tone. I have the 30 day shred, jackie warner’s workout dvd, and also the core fusion dvd coming in. I am moving to a great part of town that is perfect for running outside. I am one block away from the federal hill park, and i know i’m going to want to spend more time outside. I”m also going to be walking to work now as much as possible. I am loving Bikram, and know that i can’ t pay for both yoga and the gym. After about a week and a half, my one month membership to the bikram studio is over. However, the bikram studio in baltimore is having a special for new students and is offering a full unlimited month for $33. Absolutely amazing. So i’ll still get to have my bikram for at least another month πŸ™‚ I hope you guys support my decision, and I know that I can still keep myself fit and save myself some money at the same time.Β 

Β 

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend πŸ™‚ xoxoxo

19 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2009 10:06 pm

    Oh I heard about that crazy banana diet and stuff like that. =_=

  2. March 13, 2009 10:27 pm

    I’m glad everything is going so well with your new place!! Are you already living there or not until April 1?

    I chose to cancel my gym membership this month even though it was only $25 a month, that’s still extra money in my pocket to go towards bills and food! Haha. I’ve been loving running outside anyways, it’s a way better workout than the treadmill!

    Can’t wait to hear more about your new place, you’ll have to post pics!

  3. March 14, 2009 8:08 am

    I support your decision 100%, girl – do what’s best for you and your life, always!! πŸ™‚

  4. March 14, 2009 8:17 am

    Glad you like the house!! It sounds cute!

    WCMN CLIF!!! There certainly were some wacky diets over the years! I hope you like the book and that quote is fabulous πŸ™‚

  5. March 14, 2009 8:22 am

    That’s so great that you loved the house, sounds like it’s in a great location best of luck to you!
    The diet timeline was so interesting, have you ever heard a commercial for Ayds diet pills, it’ so absurd now, you can find them on youtube, and it was an extrememly unfortunate name.

  6. March 14, 2009 9:25 am

    Yay for everything working out with the new place! It’s so exciting to take on a new city and change it up sometimes!

    That diet timeline was fascinating — and crazy! I can’t wait to hear what you think about Naturally Thin, I love Bethenney and think she’s a great role model for women.

    Also — great call on ditching the gym membership, I think you made the best decision!

    Happy Saturday!

  7. March 14, 2009 10:17 am

    What is that in the center of the scoops of hummus? Is that just more hummus shaped tower-like?

  8. March 14, 2009 12:08 pm

    Great decision to skip the gym, running outside always feels so much better anyway. I decided to stop buying a gym membership last month as well and I don’t regret it… well, not yet!

    The timeline was so interesting!

    Have a fantastic weekend! πŸ™‚

  9. meaghen1 permalink
    March 14, 2009 2:41 pm

    I haven’t been able to find the cliff white choc ones only the luna ones which are really good!

    That’s exciting about the new place! Moving on your own is always part scary but mostly so much fun! Congrats!

  10. March 14, 2009 3:27 pm

    Wow, your gym membership costs $80/month? That seems insanely expensive – is that normal in the US? I only pay $24/month for my gym. I think it was $47/month for the first 24 months, then it drops to $24/month for the rest of your membership, and you are no longer under any contract. I can see why you would want to look at eliminating that kind of cost.

    I must try that pineapple cashew quinoa recipe. I was telling my sister about it last night, and she thinks it sounds awesome too.

  11. March 14, 2009 5:00 pm

    The house sounds great!! And I love that you’re able to do an elliptical during the work day. We’re too small to have a little gym like that, but I’m slowly starting to take walks some days. Something is better than nothing!

  12. March 14, 2009 7:21 pm

    mmmmmmmm nothing wrong with fried pita chips & hummus!!!!

    ooh I need to try that Clif Bar – the LUna bar is fantastic!

    I really really need to mkae that recipe from Veganomicon!!!

    glad the house looks great and good job for comign to that decision on the gym – I keep going back and forth but my membershp is only $33/mo and I use it πŸ™‚

  13. snackface permalink
    March 14, 2009 8:41 pm

    Oh I love Blue Moon and pitas and those clifs! I got so excited reading this, haha! I’m so happy that you’re making decisions that are right for YOU. That is the ultimate. You gotta do you ( I take that from something Beyonce sang, I can’t remember what right now). Have a great weekend!

  14. March 14, 2009 10:11 pm

    Totally think you’re making a super-smart decision!!! RUnning outside is also proven to be much better for you than running inside, so GO YOU!!!

    I also hate it when people fry their pita to go with the hummus platter. They should say they’re pita CHIPS on the menu!! Grrrr.

  15. March 14, 2009 10:44 pm

    I am so glad you like the place!

    If you find that you can get enough of a workout without the gym, then by all means, cut it from your budget!

  16. March 15, 2009 12:41 am

    I know you are committed to staying fit regardless of the gym so it seems like a great way to save money and get outside more! That is a nice synopsis of dieting through the decades–love reading that kind of stuff πŸ™‚

  17. March 15, 2009 11:12 am

    Isn’t it crazy how after you start eating better your body gets used to it, and then the minute you eat something that used to be a normal day occurrence that isn’t that great for you, your body definantly lets you know! In a way, it makes me realize that I’m healthy eater.
    That was pretty crazy seeing all those Diets! Yikes!

  18. March 15, 2009 1:36 pm

    yay for new houses! moving is not much fun, but it’ll be totally worth it! plus, you get to decorate πŸ™‚

    i think that your decision about the gym is a good one. you can do fitness anywhere with just a pair of running shoes, but taking yoga in a studio is such a great experience. yoga benefits so many aspects your life, so i think you made a great decision to spend your money on that!

    hope you’re having a lovely sunday afternoon!

  19. March 16, 2009 10:28 am

    haha you know I support your choice to quit the gym!!

Leave a Reply

