Skip to content

food coma

March 8, 2009

Hi guys! I missed you this weekend 🙂 I’ve been enjoying spending time with my loved ones, so I didn’t have much time to  post, sorry!

I’ll give ya the recap!

 

Friday I didn’t end up running around the harbor. It turned out to be colder than I thought, and all I had was a tshirt and shorts so I ended up just walking around the harbor and enjoying the hour break.  When I came home though, I threw on my long sleeve and shorts and went out on a 4 mile run. I felt strong, and I actually shaved off 4 minutes off my same run the past weekend. This felt so goooood! I think it was a combo of it being the start of the weekend, and me really wanting to get a good run in, and also the nice weather. There was no snow, and no crazy winds! 

My mom and I got dinner at a local mexican restaurant called La Palapa. I got the chicken enchiladas. It was so dark in the restaurant though so the pics didn’t turn out at all on my phone. It was reallly good though, and the restaurant had two mariachi guys playing for the guests, and they played my mom and i our own special song. Wish I got a pic with them, they really made the atmosphere so fun there.

 

Saturday morning I went to yoga with mi madre and rushed back home to make it to Dim Sum. Theres a really good dim sum place in Silver Spring ( in case anyone doesn’t know what it is, it’s a chinese style of food that is eaten around brunch time and people come around with carts and you pick out what you want. it’s served in small dishes, like tapas style. So chinese tapas on wheels ) Chase had never been before, and i’d have to say dim sum is not for everyone.  It’s completely different food than what you would find at a regular chinese restaurant. He was a champ though, and tried a little of everything. I’ll throw up some pictures of the massive amount of food that we got, and try to explain what they are. The thing is, i’ve only ever been to dim sum with my family, and my mom always orders the food in chinese so I dont really know official names of much. I’ll do my best to describe them ha. 

 

thick rice noodles with bean sprouts and beef

thick rice noodles with bean sprouts and beef

sticky rice in lotus leaf

sticky rice in lotus leaf

 

steamed bun with bbq pork inside

steamed bun with bbq pork inside

tofu with shrimp on top, taro

tofu with shrimp on top, taro

chinese broccoli

chinese broccoli

 

turnip cake

turnip cake

sesame balls with red bean paste

sesame balls with red bean paste

egg custard

egg custard

 

 

 

 

I left in a food coma. 

 

That night Chase and I went to see the movie Taken. Gah, this had me on the edge of my seat. I definitely recommend it. The main character is hard core! 

Oh, I forgot to say that on Saturday before we went to dim sum my mom and I went to Great Harvest Bread Co and got a loaf of honey whole wheat and a loaf of cinnamon chip. **drooling on my computer as we speak**

mail-12

This morning I woke up and did a nice 3 mile run, had a slice of honey whole wheat with some raw almond butter and then went to Bikram with my sister. I paid for her 10 day pass and she was nervous but she ended up liking it! She did soooo well 🙂 I was so happy for her, and can’t wait to do it with her while shes home. 

mail-21

Well for lunch I had a turkey, hummus, laughing cow, and artichoke panini on the honey whole wheat. george foreman really hooks it up with the grill marks 🙂

mail-31

My mom made us chinese food for dinner tonight. We had some oyster mushrooms, asparagus, chinese greens, shrimp, and tofu. I had it with a side of white rice. 

mail-41
Well thanks for reading up on my weekend 🙂 I’m going to catch up on all of your lovely blogs then shred it up in a little and keep the challenge going! I personally am only doing the shred 5 times a week, so fri and sat were my days off. have a great sunday night xoxo

38 Comments leave one →
  1. innerwellness permalink
    March 8, 2009 8:44 pm

    That panini looks fabulous on that honey whole wheat bread! yum!

    http://www.innerwellness.wordpress.com

  2. March 8, 2009 8:45 pm

    what a great weekend! i love the eats out esp all that dim sum/chinese food!

  3. March 8, 2009 8:48 pm

    Thanks for the dim sum lesson! I’ve heard of it, but never knew what it was. Looks good!

    Way to go on the runs. It seems like you’re doing great!!! 🙂

    Have a great night!
    Kaneil, balanceisbest

  4. March 8, 2009 8:49 pm

    welcome back from a fantastic weekend!! I lllove bread and that pic is no exception!! So glad your sister enjoyed bikram, I have been surprised at my new found enjoyment of yoga

  5. March 8, 2009 8:51 pm

    Starting tomorrow I’m gonna do the 30-day shred dvd 5 times a week too! What level are you doing? Or are you switching it up each day?

    Great job with the yoga, I also want to try doing more yoga this week, at least 30 mins a day or more. I wish that Bikram was more affordable in my town, I’d love to try it again!

  6. March 8, 2009 8:58 pm

    AWESOME!!! That looks so fun, that dim sum- good sport, Chaserrr!

  7. March 8, 2009 9:02 pm

    All of that dim sum looks great. I’ve always wanted to go for dim sum, and yet have never had the chance. I must find someone to go with me, so we can get a variety of all those good eats 😀

  8. March 8, 2009 9:16 pm

    I adore hummus and turkey in ANY sort of wrap-wich so I can’t even imagine how yummy your sandwich must’ve been. MMMM and i’m a huge fan of grill marks & carcinogens. yuummmm.

    Ash, you did a fabulous job of explaining dimsum!! CHinese tapas on wheels. hahahah that’s cute but super accurate too. What’s your favorite dish???? I gotta say, you didn’t get my favorite!!!!! The shrimp dumplings. hehehehe

    That bread is serious business. It sounds so tasty I think I could eat it off my screen. Waiting for pics of the fam and the bf….. 😛

  9. March 8, 2009 9:23 pm

    Sandwich looks great, and oh my gosh, love love love your eats. Turnip cake is what I ALWAYS GET, and of course, STICKY RICE!!!

  10. March 8, 2009 9:30 pm

    All that food looks amazingg! Sounds like a nice weekend 🙂

  11. March 8, 2009 10:16 pm

    Sounds like you had a great weekend. I would love dim sum!

    I need to start back with Shred tomorrow!

  12. March 8, 2009 10:41 pm

    I love dim sum!! Both of my parents are Chinese so whenever we get together with relatives we always end up going to dim sum.. My favorites are the turnip cake, the steamed pork buns, and any type of noodles! That bread also looks really amazing.. have you ever tried bread from “The Breadery”? It’s in Ellicott City and they make the most delicious orange cranberry pecan bread there! I’m glad you had a good weekend.. I loved the weather!

  13. martiniwindow permalink
    March 8, 2009 11:32 pm

    HAHA – love the little birthday card! Very cute!!

    I love live bands! Sounds like suchhh a cute place!

    All of your eats from the restaurant look fabulous. I would probably indulge in that place as well!

    Taken was AWESOME. I saw it with Tim too!

  14. March 9, 2009 12:24 am

    What a fabulous weekend with equally great food! I love the panini idea on the foreman. That sandwich sounds amazing!

  15. March 9, 2009 3:01 am

    What a fabulous weekend with equally great food! I love the panini idea on the foreman. That sandwich sounds amazing!
    Sorry… forgot to say great post – can’t wait to read your next one!

  16. March 9, 2009 4:04 am

    “chinese tapas on wheels”–that is the most awesome description of dim sum I have ever heard! I love seeing what other families order at dim sum. It’s such a family/personal thing. And I can’t believe your mom made that food at the end. Can I come over for dinner?!
    Awesome run, I did my 4-miles yesterday too! I am so proud of us 🙂
    Taken was so kick-ass…I want Liam Neeson as MY bodyguard!

  17. March 9, 2009 5:47 am

    Looks like a great weekend full of good food and family : )

    Hope your Monday is a good one!

  18. March 9, 2009 8:05 am

    That BREAD!!! Oh my gosh – I would have happily lived off of that and that alone all weekend! Your other eats though are pretty fantastic as well 🙂

  19. snackface permalink
    March 9, 2009 8:32 am

    SO glad you had a great weekend! Everything looks so delicious- especially that sammie. I’ve never had dim sum, but after reading this I’d totally be game. Have a great start to your week (and thank you for the sweet comment)!

  20. March 9, 2009 8:33 am

    Wow! All that food looks delicious!

    Ok, I talked one of my BFFs into trying Bikram with me…my question is: what should we wear? I don’t care about looking cool, I just want to be comfortable!

    Any suggestions? 🙂

  21. March 9, 2009 8:46 am

    Great job on your run!

    Dim sum sounds like so much fun. I’m no good at naming dishes either!

    Love the panini; I think we have a GF somewhere in the back of our pantry. I should locate it because it definitely would enhance my lunch sammies.

    Have a great day!

  22. meaghen1 permalink
    March 9, 2009 9:12 am

    I love those egg custards!!!! My boyfriend in university was Chinese and whenever he went home for the weekend he always would get them for me. I haven’t had them in probably 4 years! They are so delish!!! I don’t think I can get them in my city! I went to Dim Sum once and loved it. You definitely need someone to order for you though. I rememmber having some other really good desserts too. Looks like you had an awesome weekend!

  23. March 9, 2009 9:19 am

    Sooo worth the coma!! Holy yum 🙂

  24. March 9, 2009 10:25 am

    Glad you got to spend time with your family! I haven’t had steamed buns with bbq pork inside in a long time – jealous of your good dim sum eats!

    I miss my Great Harvest – when I moved 8 years ago, there are no good bread stores by me, so I have to resort to making my own!

    Happy Monday! 😀

  25. March 9, 2009 10:38 am

    All that food for brunch looks amazing! I love to go places with different foods you wouldn’t make all the time. You are so lucky!

  26. March 9, 2009 12:07 pm

    I think that is awesome that you are getting your family into yoga.
    I took my sister once, and she was sore for days, now she doesnt want to go back : /

    I will have to work on my mom…

  27. Paige permalink
    March 9, 2009 12:27 pm

    Ohmygosh, I LOVE dim sum! I’ve only had it in NYC and I had no idea there was a good dim sum place in Silver Spring. I live in DC, so it’s not that far. I’m definitely going to have to try it sometime.

    Glad you had a great weekend!

  28. Paige permalink
    March 9, 2009 12:28 pm

    Oh, what’s the name of the restaurant? That might come in handy if I ever want to go there, haha

  29. strawberryshortstuff permalink
    March 9, 2009 12:51 pm

    All thats food looks fantastic! especially the bread!!! YUMMY!
    Diana
    http://strawberryshortstuff.com

  30. March 9, 2009 1:44 pm

    ohhh wow that dim sum looks delicious!!! esp the sticky rice, i love me some good sticky rice 🙂

  31. sarahdbelle permalink
    March 9, 2009 2:07 pm

    Sounds like a fun weekend! For some reason, I didn’t realize that you lived in Baltimore. We stayed on S. Castle near Pratt. It was so gorgeous on the rooftop porch on Saturday. Beautiful city and weather!
    Next time we’re in town, I’ll definitely let you know!!!

  32. March 9, 2009 2:56 pm

    I LOVE great Harvest Bread Company! And 4 minutes off your mile time? That’s really impressive…woo hoo 🙂

  33. March 9, 2009 3:05 pm

    yay dim sum! part of the fun for me is not knowing what i’m eating- i just point at things and hope for the best- i never knew that was turnip cake!
    and omg those breads! amazingg!

  34. March 9, 2009 6:34 pm

    ahhhh, loving the look of the dim sum! i have tragically never eaten dim sum, but it’s one of my bigger goals in life 😀

    also, good job on beating your previous time! 4 minutes less is great!

  35. March 9, 2009 7:33 pm

    Great looking food! I haven’t tasted much Chinese but I know I would like it. BTW I know it’s taken me forever, but you finally have a surprise coming in the mail ha ha… It might take a few days, but it’s coming:)

  36. March 9, 2009 8:02 pm

    ooooh what a fun foodie blog post! Sounds like you had a great weekend! So glad your sis is doing great & loving bikram! And that you shaved 4 minutes off your time! I want your sticky rice and panini! Did I tell you I found a George Foreman in the cabinet and am obsessed with it and its grill-mark-making attribute! Fabulous!!

  37. March 9, 2009 8:18 pm

    holy crapola!
    thats a ton of food!

    ive nevvvvvver heard of half the stuff you ate too hahahah

    oh well!

    okay, will totally tell you how zumba is i’m going weds. night and i’m SO nervous.
    oh well hahah

    the great harvest bread looks SO DAMN TASTY.
    bah
    i wish i lived in the south
    AND

    i cannot wait until friday! and then to tell you ALLLLL ABOUT ELON OF COURSE!

    love you my beautiful girlll

  38. March 10, 2009 4:05 pm

    OMG Dim Sum! I haven’t had it in so long. My boyfriend is half Thai and introduced me to it. He is coming to visit this weekend, so I think we will have to make a trip to Chinatown!

Leave a Reply

