Skip to content

princess maddie

March 6, 2009

happy FRIDAY! πŸ™‚ its here its here! and today its going to be close to 60.. ahh lovely.

Β 

Lets get back to yesterday though shall we?

Mid day snack I had a key lime larabar. This was my first time buying this flavor but I loved the lemon bar and this was just as good! I am really surprised because for some reason i just didn’t think i’d like those 2 flavors. I will definitely repurchase. I love the energy these bars give me without any added sugars.

Β key-lime-lara

Lunch was my veggies from the night before in a wrap. I had them with a laughing cow wedge and some sabra hummus. I’m telling you, the combo of those two in a wrap is remarkable. It is the perfect addition to a veggie wrap.

Β veggie-wrap

Yoga last night was a struggle. It was soooooo much hotter than usual. Half the class sat a good portion of the time. It was also jam packed so there was hardly any room, and it made the room even more hot with all the bodies. There were points when I just wanted to sit down, but my body knew i could push further. Then there were times when I was wondering, why am I doing this? Can i really get through to the end of class?

But you know what? I did. And Bikram has taught me something about myself that I needed to learn.

Even if things seem too hard, or I feel like I can’t get through it… I know that I can make it.

Being able to push myself when I didn’t think I had anything left to give is an amazing feeling and really gives me the boost I need in other daily events that stress me out. I am so grateful that I found this yoga and it has helped me be a figure myself out a little more.

Oh and before I went to bed last night, I did the shred. Didn’t feel like it at all, but having the challenge pushed me and I finished it up. 20 minutes really do go by quick!

Β 

For dinner I tried out another recipe from Veganomicon. Chickpea Cutlets. You can actually get the recipe online, the authors of the book posted it on chow.com.Β  I have never worked with vital wheat gluten before, and was a little nervous on if i’d be able to make the cutlets right. They turned out really good though! I liked the flavors, but the texture is what I didn’t expect. The gluten made the cutlets much more breadlike than i’ve ever tasted before. I love falafels so I just assumed that they’d be similar? I really liked the recipe though and will definitely make it again. I halved the recipe so that i’d only end up with 2 cutlets, and brought the other one with me to make in a wrap today. Last night I had the cutlet by itself and then had a side salad with some feta, craisins, and a home made balsamic vinaigrette. I think that the cutlet would have tasted even better with some type of sauce or topping. I’m thinking some taziki sauce and in a pita would be PERFECT! it’s a great meat-free meal for anyone taking part in Jenna’s Meat free march to try out!

chickpea-cutlet

I had a breakfast cookie this morning! i’m lovinggg these. i used half a banana, flax, barney butter, agave, 2/3 c oats and some choc chips. Since i used some banana this time, there was no need for the soy milk. It had the perfect consistency this morning.

Β bfast-cookie

Since it’s so nice today I’m going to run outside during my lunch break! i’m excited because i’ve never run around the harbor before, and its such a pretty area so i’m definitely looking forward to that.

After work i’m going to do a little birthday shopping. My cousins daughter Maddie is turning 2 next week so i’m going to find her something cute. I designed her very own original card πŸ™‚ I made her a princess and gave her a bigggggg cake! she really is SUCH a dollface.

Β 

Β mbcolor-copy1

My sister and chase get in tonight! πŸ™‚ can’t wait for this weekend, have a great friday guys!

40 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2009 10:13 am

    yay for shredding!!! keep up the good work!

  2. March 6, 2009 10:21 am

    That’s a really cute card you made Maddie … I’m sure she will love it : ) Congrats on enduring through yoga! I think I’m going to start going to yoga classes when my life calms down a little bit in May and I’m excited for it!

    Enjoy your nice weather and have a GREAT weekend!! : ) : )

  3. March 6, 2009 10:27 am

    oooh I’m excited to see your posts on Chase and the sister!!! I wonder if she looks just like you. heheheheh You should make her wear your Barney Butter t-shirt, take a picture and tell everyone it’s you when you post on April fools day. muhahaha

    You’re definitely inspiring me to do a veggie week for me too. My bf is already disapproving of most of my meatless meals this week. GRRRRR.

  4. March 6, 2009 10:29 am

    What an adorable card, you are so talented!
    Have fun running around the harbor, I’m sure it’s going to be beautiful!

  5. March 6, 2009 10:44 am

    Cuuuuute card! Have a great weekend with your family and friends!

  6. March 6, 2009 10:47 am

    Hooray for Larabars, cute cards, and for your family & friends coming into town!! πŸ™‚

  7. March 6, 2009 10:49 am

    Yum! Breakfast cookie πŸ˜‰

  8. snackface permalink
    March 6, 2009 10:52 am

    That card is too cute! You know, I had some issues with the chickpea cutlets too. Mine got really gummy though, and then I baked them for too long which made them as hard as a rock. I still liked them, though! I just have to give it another go. ENJOY your friday!

  9. March 6, 2009 11:17 am

    That card is so cute! Have a great weekend πŸ™‚

  10. peanutbutterandjuli permalink
    March 6, 2009 11:17 am

    Way to rock that Bikram! Such an inspiration.

  11. March 6, 2009 11:24 am

    What a cute cartoon πŸ™‚ I knoww its so nice out today! All the snow is melting haha thank god. Have an awesome weekend! Definitely wanna expand my Larabar trying..that looks like it could be a good one!

  12. March 6, 2009 12:32 pm

    Oh my gosh, that is so cute!!! Love it! And love your wrap, super tasty!

  13. Sweet and Fit permalink
    March 6, 2009 12:34 pm

    thanks again girl!

    hummus and laughing cow in a wrap sounds heavenly!

    maybe bikram was so hot because there were so many people there? at least you pushed yourself to make it through the class =)

  14. Paige permalink
    March 6, 2009 12:34 pm

    That card is super cute! And YAAAAY for warmer weather!

    Have a great weekend!

  15. March 6, 2009 12:35 pm

    Just read your comment on my blog and am very excited to start following yours as well! I’m actually laughing to myself right now because I just finished my lunch, which also happened to be leftover sauteed veggies and hummus in a whole wheat wrap! Too funny! Haven’t tried it with Laughing Cow, but I usually add a little balsamic vinegar.

  16. March 6, 2009 1:37 pm

    Great job with the yoga and shred!
    Hope you have a super fun weekend!

  17. March 6, 2009 1:58 pm

    The cutlets and the cookie look fabulous! What a great mini lesson you could learn from Bikram πŸ™‚

  18. eatinnyc permalink
    March 6, 2009 2:37 pm

    Love the card. Have the best time!!
    Sara
    http://eatfabinnyc.wordpress.com

  19. March 6, 2009 2:43 pm

    good job getting the shred workout in there! Have a great weekend!

  20. March 6, 2009 2:52 pm

    love that larabar flavor!! it’s definitely one of my all-time favorites πŸ™‚ enjoy your SUN!!!

  21. sarahdbelle permalink
    March 6, 2009 3:08 pm

    Such a cute card. Hope you have fun this weekend!
    Sarah
    http://sarahdbelle.wordpress.com/

  22. March 6, 2009 3:19 pm

    You are right about the hummus and laughing cow! I’m sure you know that since I eat it every single day of my life!! OOh next time I visit Towson with my car, we should have a meetup!!!

  23. March 6, 2009 3:42 pm

    Thanks for the warm welcome! I’m really excited to meet other bloggers and see what kinds of amazing healthy food is out there! That birthday card is SO cute!

    And are you in Baltimore by any chance? And talking about the INNER harbor?? I’ve run around it and it’s SO nice! The only bad part is trying to navigate your way around all of the people! But there are so many runners there it’s really awesome to see! Enjoy the warm weather!

  24. March 6, 2009 3:47 pm

    Yeah I am! I’m a student at Hopkins.. I saw the other comment about being near Towson which is really close to where I am! I was in Baltimore over the summer too and I would go to the Inner Harbor a lot just to run! So if you’re ever in need of a running partner… let me know!

  25. March 6, 2009 3:59 pm

    Yeah that’d be awesome!! I’m always looking for new running buddies! And yeah I have a couple of friends on the FH team here and they always say that Salisbury is sooo good.. I remember we played you guys this year! Wow I’m in love with blogging already.. so many amazing people! Have fun on your run today.. let me know how it is! I’ll be in the Inner Harbor tomorrow actually-me and one of my friends are going to WH for lunch and then hanging out around there. Have fun!!

  26. innerwellness permalink
    March 6, 2009 5:48 pm

    I also love the combination of hummus and a laughing cow! Absolutely divine!

    http://www.innerwellness.wordpress.com

  27. March 6, 2009 6:52 pm

    That’s another recipe from Vcon that I’ve been eyeing up, since I love chickpeas πŸ™‚ I’ll have to get my hands on some vital wheat gluten one of these days.

    And the Key Lime Pie larabar is great! I think it’s way better than the lemon one personally.

    Enjoy your weekend.

  28. March 6, 2009 7:29 pm

    larabars seem to be all the rage these days with food and health blogs. what are these things and why have i never seen them before

  29. March 6, 2009 7:34 pm

    you go girlll way to push it push it to theee limittt

    i’m so happy for ya πŸ™‚

    your card is fabulosooo .. just like you

    have a GREAT time with your sister and chase!
    yay i love it when family and friends and BOYfriends are in town

  30. March 6, 2009 7:50 pm

    yummers breakfast cookie! great mix of items!!!

  31. March 6, 2009 7:52 pm

    Way to push yourself at yoga. We have to be our own cheerleaders sometimes. The birthday card is adorable!

  32. March 6, 2009 10:10 pm

    There’s no description of the salad but it looks like the perfect salad for me. Are those cranberry in it or something else?

  33. March 7, 2009 1:07 am

    MMMM Sabra HUMMUS! My favorite!

  34. March 7, 2009 1:42 am

    You’re doing amazing with Bikram. What a great realization you had, knowing you can make it through!

  35. March 7, 2009 12:17 pm

    adorable card- happy birthday to her!

    it is going to be high 70 close to 80 here this weekend too! perfect for outdoor activity! yah!

    those chickpea cutlets were so interesting, they looked tasty too- thanks for posting that link to veg. online!

    Have a lovely weekend gorgeous!

  36. March 7, 2009 1:14 pm

    Maddie is the cutest name for a little girl! I’ve always liked it. I hope you have a great time πŸ™‚
    You’re right–it seems hard but we can do it!!!

  37. March 7, 2009 4:42 pm

    i love the picture of the bar with that cute black and white background πŸ™‚
    those chickpea cutlets look great. i was thinking about making them, but i got scared off by the wheat gluten, so it’s good to know that it’s not hard to work with.
    love the birthday design–adorable!

  38. March 8, 2009 1:32 am

    I had the same Larabar yesterday and didn’t think I’d like it either… but it was GOOD! Also LOVE the V-con chickpea cutlets. Need to make them again soon!

  39. March 8, 2009 5:31 pm

    cute cute card- and i need to try a breakfast cookie already!

    the candle cafe cookbook is good but not as awesome as veganomicon! there are tons of yummy sounding dishes but not as many recipes that i can just make with stuff i have at home already- i’m too poor to buy special ingredients just to make one dish πŸ™‚

  40. March 9, 2009 2:12 pm

    hello! thanks so much for checking out my blog! i am from the Lewes Beach/Rehoboth Beach area. Have you ever been there? Its so wonderful in the summertime, I really miss it sometimes. Are you from Salisbury or did you just go to school there? Love the blog!

Leave a Reply

