Skip to content

i shall call him… mini me

March 3, 2009

Good Morning! Got the morning started on the right food when I checked my email and saw that I had won one of The Gourmet Foodie’s box of chocolate truffles! I won the Torn Ranch wine truffles, and can’t wait to give those goodies a try! Thanks so much Gourmet Foodie!

Last night it felt great to relax. I have gotten pretty adjusted to the routine of going home straight after work and then going straight to bikram. It pretty much takes my entire night up, and as soon as i get home i eat then sleep. It was nice being able to have a couple of hours to myself to do absolutely nothing. That being said, I did do absolutely nothing. No yoga, no nothing. I thought it was a well deserved break. For the past 2 weeks, I have made 6 out of 7 days to bikram. My body enjoyed the rest.

My mom had made Spanakopita. This is always a nice treat. I tried to cut it into cute little triangles but that didn’t really work ha. I had a good sized piece with a side salad that i threw some chickpeas and a little feta into. Dessert was half a date with a smidge of barney butter.

spanik-big

spanikopida

date

I was talking to my sister last night and she’s coming home this friday for her spring break. I’m trying to talk her into getting the 10 day bikram pass. I hope she does it πŸ™‚ it will be so nice to have someone to go with and i always love spending time with her.

I’ve got some fun weekends planned that are getting me through the work week! This weekend my sister is coming home and Chase is coming to visit, the weekend after i’m visiting my bf Brittany in NYC, the next weekend visiting Chase in NY, and then the following weekend going back to Salisbury to visit some friends and to see one of the big lacrosse games. Nice month of weekends planned! sooo excited πŸ™‚

This morning I had 2 sets of Vans mini waffles. I have a slight obsession with all things miniature. I think theyre so cute and will eat anything that is pint sized πŸ™‚ I had some sliced strawberries on the side and some agave to dip the waffles in. Oh, and a mini piece of pumpkin bread.

mini-waffles

I’ve decided this weekend i’m going to make one of the cakes in Vegan with a Vengeance. Its the carrot cake with macadamia and coconut icing! I don’t know the last time i’ve actually baked a 2 layer cake, so this will be a fun little experiment and im’ hoping the end result is tastayy. can’t imagine it won’t be comign from this cookbook.
With starting a new month, I always like to have a goal to work towards. Last month it was getting more into yoga, and I accomplished that! This month I want to balance my yoga with running so that I can get ready for my couple races coming up. I’m not a fast runner at all. My race goals are to complete the runs. The 10k is going to be my furthest distance ever ran, so my one and only goal is to complete it. May 31, I am going to sign up for the Annapolis 10k and my goal for that race is to beat my time in my previous 10k. I’m taking gradual steps here and can’t wait to feel amazing when I cross the finish line!! Thanks so much guys for your ongoing support and words that always lift me up. Its such a great feeling to have people behind you rooting for you the whole way. ❀

Β 

Giveawaysss: Check out Vani at FitforFreeΒ she’s giving away some tasty looking granola that she got to pick out the ingredients for!

35 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2009 10:33 am

    Those are great goals and you will do AWESOME at your 10k’s!

    I am a really slooooow runner and I know I will never “win” any race; but when your only competition is yourself the feeling when you cross the finish line is that much sweeter! I love it!

  2. March 3, 2009 10:35 am

    Those waffles are too cute! You’ve done an incredible job with the yoga and I’m sure you will succeed at balancing it with running. They say that yoga + running go hand in hand!

    I love having tons of weekend plans. It definitely makes the work weeks go by quicker! πŸ™‚

    Have a great day!

    Kaneil, balanceisbest

  3. March 3, 2009 10:47 am

    Adorable waffles!
    Great goals, you’re going to do awesome!

  4. peanutbutterandjuli permalink
    March 3, 2009 10:51 am

    Mmmm waffles! Congrats on signing up for another 10 K. Your goals are perfect πŸ™‚ I’m about to start going to Bikram again- I can’t wait!

  5. March 3, 2009 10:55 am

    Hey Ashley,
    Do you mind if we compare notes on a good 10K goal time? I think I have set my sights too high because I am already getting frustrated. I am not a fast runner AT ALL. Basically I really want to do this in about an hour, but I think that even that mnight be too fast for me and I don’t want to get so discouraged so early in the game. What are your thoughts?

  6. March 3, 2009 11:00 am

    First off, YAY for winning : )

    Second, YAY for you sister coming home!!

    And Third, that mini waffles as SO cute! (I, too, have a slight obsession with all this miniature)

  7. March 3, 2009 11:01 am

    Oh man, I miss mini waffles! I don’t even know if they still sell them in Canada! I’ll have to check it out.

  8. March 3, 2009 11:18 am

    Bikram yoga is amazing πŸ™‚ I did the 10day pass during christmas break and loved it! It’s expensive but I wanna try and keep up with it atleast once a month. All your talk about it makes me want to go back..maybe this weekend haha

  9. March 3, 2009 11:27 am

    I LOVE spanikapita.

    Those waffles are so freaking cute! Hahaha

  10. Lyss permalink
    March 3, 2009 11:51 am

    I love mini-things too, ‘cuz you can eat more and not feel a twinge of guilt! Congrats on the truffle win – You go girl!

  11. March 3, 2009 12:03 pm

    wow 6 days of bikram, I don’t think I could do it! I am doing a 31 day yoga challenge though and finding it more enjoyable than I anticipated

  12. March 3, 2009 12:19 pm

    Congrats on your win!! That spanakopita looks AMAZING!

  13. Sarah permalink
    March 3, 2009 12:28 pm

    those waffles are so cute. congrats on winning chocolate!! thats my kind of contest.

  14. snackface permalink
    March 3, 2009 12:29 pm

    Mini things ARE so cute and fun! GOOD LUCK with that cake– it sounds phenomenal. Would you send me a piece in the mail PLEASE? Alright, thought that’d be a “hell naww.” Anyway, good luck with that AND bravissimo to challenging yourself with your new goals!

  15. March 3, 2009 12:52 pm

    Congrats on winning the chocolate..yummers!
    Love the spanakopita, too!
    I really miss my sister, too. She goes to school about 12 hours away from me, but we recently discovered Skype!

  16. March 3, 2009 1:05 pm

    aww, cute waffles!
    I hope you’ll get a yoga-buddy in your sister!
    I have made that cake- check out my blog ( I made it for Thanksgiving!) to see- it was AWESOME & enjoyed by everyone… especially ME, since I knew it was vegan & all these meat-eaters were diggin’ it!

  17. March 3, 2009 1:31 pm

    That spanakopita looks amazing – so flaky! I love spanakopita, but I’ve never tried to make it myself.

    Looking forward to your cake – a carrot cake with macadamia & coconut icing sounds delectable. Heck, I’d just take the frosting! Yum!

  18. March 3, 2009 2:20 pm

    Mmm. Spanakopita. SO good. I love that stuff!

    Good for you to try to add more running!! I am so not a runner and admire anyone who can!

  19. March 3, 2009 2:29 pm

    so glad you got a night to rest! the same thing happens to me when i go to the gym right after work…i don’t eat dinner until at least 9 and then im too tired to do much of anything else πŸ™‚

    ps PB puffins are definitely getting finished ASAP!!

  20. March 3, 2009 2:34 pm

    Hi Ashley!!! You month of weekends sound awesome!! I love it when you have everything planned and all you ahve to do is GO! hehehe

    I adore all things miniature too!! Your waffles are just too adorable. My favorite are Mini M&M’s, but I haven’t gotten them in the US ever! GRRRR They are nowhere to be found!! But they would be fabulous as toppings on any sort of dessert. Hmmm maybe I’ll ask my mom to mail me some! hahaha

    Thank you for the recipe again!! Can’t wait to see your cake!

  21. sarahdbelle permalink
    March 3, 2009 2:45 pm

    Your dinner looks delicious. And those waffles do look adorable. Good luck with balancing yoga/running!
    Sarah
    http://sarahdbelle.wordpress.com/

  22. March 3, 2009 2:52 pm

    Your mom seems like a GREAT cook! I love the mini wafs…i used to eat the eggo cinnamon toast waffles every morning in elementary school! Such nostalgia πŸ˜€

  23. March 3, 2009 3:28 pm

    the Spanakopita looks awesome – is that easy to make?

    what a busy/fun month ahead!

  24. martiniwindow permalink
    March 3, 2009 3:46 pm

    Great goals – and I am excited for all your visits!!

    Mini ANYTHING is always great, for me its because I feel like you can eat more – haha.

  25. Paige permalink
    March 3, 2009 4:56 pm

    I do the same thing with weekends! As long as I know I’m going to be busy during weekends, the weeks seem to go by faster, because I have something to look forward to!

    Good luck with your 10k! I’m running my first one May 19

  26. cleanveggiex3 permalink
    March 3, 2009 7:24 pm

    chocolate truffles sound delicious!!

    love the breakfast πŸ™‚

  27. March 3, 2009 7:27 pm

    Seriously Ashley I cannot wait to meet you in real life this summer! You love mini things too…I’m amazed! How cool would it be to run a race together when I’m in DC? I’d been thinking about it anyway, maybe a 5K or something?

  28. March 3, 2009 8:21 pm

    ahhhhhhh the babiesssss! i don’t hate them, i love them!

    hahahah they are so adorable.

    and yes you have QUITE the month coming up ya little busy bee.

    how old is your sistter?!
    every time i ask mine to do bikram she laughs.

    and you deserve the rest my woman.
    fo sho!

    ❀ love

    enjoy that cake making procedure!!

  29. March 3, 2009 8:31 pm

    WOW – 6/7 on Bikram – you’re awesome! Those mini waffles are adorable – heart! Great job with your 10k goal – I have no doubt you’ll do it!!! Sounds like you have a lot of great weekends coming up – yay. πŸ™‚

  30. March 3, 2009 9:20 pm

    omg Spanakopita is so amazing! i always remember going to the int’l food fair and getting it…delish!

  31. March 3, 2009 9:23 pm

    oh wow, good for you!!! so excited that you are running- wow, so is your first 10k may 31 ?

    That is awesome and I am sure you will complete your goals~

    I really want that spanokopita, can i reach through the computer and get a bite? i wish.

    Ohhh I have been daydreaming all day- I am taking all my of blog friends on an imaginary beach trip , where we will be waited on and do all kinds of fun activities like parasail and jet ski and lay on the beach with a pina colada- You in? trip cost= $0

  32. March 3, 2009 11:26 pm

    LOVE the spanakopita! greek food is to die for, if you ask me =)

    sounds like you have some awesome weekends ahead of you, i’ll be going to NYC soon too! love it there so much.

    and yay for trying out new recipes, can’t wait to see how it goes! i’m sure it will turn out just lovely.

    have a great night!

  33. March 3, 2009 11:44 pm

    Spanakopita!! I love it love it. Looks deeelicious.

    Good luck with the running and yoga balancing goals! Seeing everyone around the blogosphere getting into all of these races is really making me want to look into some too… I need a running buddy who can sign up for these things with me, the idea of going at it alone is intimidating!

  34. March 4, 2009 1:03 am

    good luck!

    is Spanakopita the same as baklava?

  35. March 4, 2009 4:15 pm

    I can not wait to hear how the cake turns out!

Leave a Reply

