Skip to content

tea time

February 25, 2009

Happy Wednesday wooo halfway through the weekkk 😀

Sorry to disappoint any of you, but when I got home from work yesterday my mom had already made a pot of her amazing turkey chili so I didn’t make my planned Vegan pineapple and cashew fried rice… however have no fear because i’ll be making it tonight 🙂

My mom’s chili is my favorite, its always really thick. I had a bowl of it for dinner with some of Stacy’s pita chips. It was spicyyy but so delicious.

chili

Yoga last night was awesome, I felt like I really pushed myself to my own personal limits and was really happy with what I was able to do. Officially after yoga tonight, I have completed 9 out of 10 days of my 10 day pass! Loved every second of it too. Tonight i’m going to sign up for the one month membership.

When I got home from yoga I noticed a little package with my name on it! The amazing Karen from The Tea Spot had sent me some samples to try.  She has an amazing company and was actually one of the finalists to the Next Food Network Star. They specialize in loose leaf tea and steepware. She was sweet enough to send me 3 samples of tea and one of their tuffy steepers. The samples I got were Red Rocks ( Rooibos tea, vanilla, REAL pieces of almonds in there!), Boulder Breakfast (black tea, pu’erh, and chocolate, which she says is her favorite tea and drinks it every morning), and Green Roasted Mint (green tea, peppermint). The Tuffy Steeper is a silicone collapsible steeper that is good for travel, on the go, and for easy storage. It fits in most traditional mugs too, so its really really handy.

teaspot-goodies

teaspot-steam

teaspot-top

I have stopped drinking coffee on a daily basis and have been really loving my teas, especially my new favorite Rooibos so I was really excited to get this in my sample set. Of course I had to try some last night, and it was absolutely amazing. By far the best Rooibos i’ve tried and the smell of it really knocked my socks off. It smells like heaven. I really liked the addition of the almonds too, the taste of the tea was amazing. My mom is a big breakfast tea drinker so I had her try the Boulder Breakfast this morning so she could give a review. I haven’t actually tried any breakfast teas, so I figured her review would be more valuable. I’ll be posting the review once I get it from her 🙂

The website has a ton of different flavors and organic teas as well, and some amazing steepware. They even have gift sets and a really cute student starter pack with a steeper mug and large tins of Boulder Breakfast and Green Roasted Mint. Its really cute for the tea lover ❤ I would definitely check them out, they have some amazing products. I have a link to their site on the right, and i loveee their logo, so cute!

This morning I woke up and wanted something different. It was time to bust out the challah. ahhh absolutely nothing better than Challah French Toast. In my mix I put in 1 egg white, some soy milk, agave, vanilla, and cinnamon. Mix it up, dip it in, and you have yourself the perfect french toast. I had it with a side of fresh raspberries and some agave nectar to dip the french toast in. My mom is going to use the rest of the loaf to make her french toast casserole, its to die forrr. No joke this stuff is out of this world. I can’t wait for it this weekend! I also decided to make a smoothie! I made it with spinach, a splash of pom juice, soy milk, flax, and some frozen fruit from my very cherry blend from TJs which include blueberries, blackberries, and cherries. I didn’t even need ice in it. At first I really wasn’t fond of my creation, but by the end of it i loved it. The berries really took over because there is no sign that there’s spinach in it. I think that this is the perfect snack for before my yoga class. I’m always hungry before yoga but can’t really eat much because otherwise i’ll feel sick but am not able to eat dinner until I get back at around 8:30, so i think this will do the trick in giving me a little boost before my class.

french-toast

smoothie1

smoothie2

Oh, and I designed a new header for my sweet bloggie girly Jasmine from SweetandFit and she said she’s going to bake me a batch of her AMAZING looking blondies! I think i’ve only had 1 blondie before ever, so i’m so excitedd to get some goodies from this baking queen! i’m like jumping off the walls here lol 🙂

Hope you guys have a great Hump Day!!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2009 9:09 am

    I tagged you on my morning post! :o) It’s like a bloggie version of 25 Random Things About Me. And now it’s your turn!

  2. February 25, 2009 9:39 am

    That french toast looks soooo yummy. Note to self: I definitely need to try spinach in my smoothies instead of kale. I’m off to check out Sweet & Fit’s header!

  3. February 25, 2009 9:55 am

    Wow, that French toast looks perfect!

    I’m thinking about buying a month-long membership, too. I will keep you posted!

    Have a great Hump Day! Thanks for always being so positive…I love Daily Goods! 🙂

    Kaneil, balanceisbest

  4. February 25, 2009 10:06 am

    I’m definitely going to have to look up those teas. I am starting to drink more tea and really love it. Love the tea steeper, too!

  5. Kate permalink
    February 25, 2009 10:06 am

    o man I am obsessed with any kind of chili!!! Soups/chilis are probs one of my top fav foods. And Stacey’s only makes it better!I still want to know how you did that spring pallet?? It was so cute and I want to try one!

  6. February 25, 2009 10:06 am

    Stacys!!! Love those pita chips 🙂

    Your french toast looks incredible!

  7. peanutbutterandjuli permalink
    February 25, 2009 10:25 am

    Challah French Toast is DIVINE. I always have the same problem with yoga- I get so hungry before it, but don’t want to eat! Let me know how that snack worked out 🙂

    Happy Humpday!

  8. February 25, 2009 10:43 am

    Challah french toast is my favorite!! The chili and pita chips looks delicious too! I love Stacy’s products!

  9. February 25, 2009 10:53 am

    I have been craving chili for awhile now – love it spicy!

  10. February 25, 2009 11:33 am

    I haven’t had challah french toast before, but it sure does look great!
    Love the homemade chili, it looks amazing!

  11. February 25, 2009 11:50 am

    Ohhh man, challah french toast is hands down THE.BEST. Absolutely wonderful– it soaks up egg so well! AHHH!! Thanks for tagging me!! :)))

  12. February 25, 2009 2:49 pm

    Very cool – gina had some tea like that the other day – I need to try it!

  13. February 25, 2009 4:35 pm

    Uhm, yeah, I’m a tea freak … I’ll defintely have to check out their website … they can send me tea samples anytime they want!! lol

    (And very yummy looking eats!)

  14. February 25, 2009 9:21 pm

    Blondies en route?? You are a lucky girl!

  15. martiniwindow permalink
    February 25, 2009 9:33 pm

    I love tea!! I will definitely be checking out the website!

  16. February 26, 2009 11:45 pm

    Oooh, all of that tea is awesome. I love rooibos tea as well, especially with vanilla. Yum!

  17. March 19, 2009 1:04 pm

    I use the Tuffy Steeper as a kithcen gadget and infuse differed recipes with the Tea Spot teas. My favorite tea to use is the Rooibos, Red Reds tea. You should try to cook with tea…it is not only fun and creative but delicious and healthy.

Leave a Reply

