Skip to content

Review Sesh

February 23, 2009

I made it through CFW! I am completely surprised with how it went. As I was reading the other bloggers who were doing a CFW I would think ” oh i’d love to do one of those, i just don’t think i could make it” and then i finally decided it was time to suck it up and see how far i could push myself mentally.

Here’s my thoughts on my CFW:

  • This week was much much easier than i had anticipated. It turns out I have more willpower than I thought 🙂
  • Dairy has always upset my stomach, and I was told in middle school by my doctor that I was lactose intolerant. I just couldn’t justify giving up cheese, milk, ice cream and all the other dairy goodness no matter how bad it made me feel. Going dairy free this week really made a difference and I am goign to keep my dairy intake to a minimum now. There are so many alernatives out there that I shuold be learning more about those than being stubborn about my “love” for dairy.
  • I was able to learn new recipes! I took advantage of the veggies I bought and found some great recipes that tasted great. I also just ordered Veganomicon and Vegan with a Vengance yesterday from Amazon and can’t wait to try out more great recipes. I have been dying for these cook books and can not WAIT until i get them in. I only had a small number of meals that had meat this week and I really liked how eating a mostly vegetarian diet made me feel.
  • I missed my beloved bars during this week but I liked the fact that i was able to find other sources for snacks. I thought I was goign to be completly lost without my bars but turns out nuts were an amazing snack that held me over for hours, and without this week I would never have tried that.
  • This entire past week I felt so refreshed. It’s such a simple formula but so hard to follow for some reason, but eating well and getting exercise makes all the difference. I was never too full, or too hungry the entire week and felt like I was in such a good place
  • I didn’t have a single cup of coffee. I had been used to drinking a cup a day and I really wanted to try and only drink tea. This was great and I didn’t have to rely on my daily cup to wake me up. The good food and energy I had from yoga and exercising was enough to keep me awake!
  • I was surprised I was able to make it the whole week without desert. This made me feel so much better about my sugar intake knowing that I could actually eat just fruit for desert and feel completely satisfied. I’m definitely looking forward to adding chocolate back into my life, but this time i’ll be able to make it a treat instead of a nightly occurance

TaDa! theres my thoughts, if you are feeling like you’re in a food rut, and need a little pep in your step, i HIGHLY suggest doing a CFW of your own with your own modifications and see how it makes you feel. This week was a great week and i’m definitely looking forward to incorporating it into my daily life now 🙂

healthy-heart

31 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2009 3:26 pm

    Congrats on a successful CFW!

  2. February 23, 2009 3:41 pm

    p.s. I CANT DECIDE if i want to do the 10k or not. I mean I WANT too but I’ve been really struggling with my training. I’ve always been a swimmer – never a runner – and I just can’t break the 3 mile mark without wanting to run off a cliff. Thoughts?

  3. February 23, 2009 4:11 pm

    Sounds like you learned a lot during your CFW. I might be doing one of these soon, really get back to basics.
    You did an awesome job this past week, you should totally be proud of your dedication!

  4. February 23, 2009 4:32 pm

    Congrats on a great CFW! I really should do that sometime…

  5. February 23, 2009 4:32 pm

    I think I definitely need to my own CFW!

  6. February 23, 2009 5:02 pm

    I’m so addicted to granola bars…not sure I could make it through a CFW without Fiber One Oats and Chocolate (aka “healthier” candy bars)! Great job on sticking to it : )

  7. February 23, 2009 5:06 pm

    Glad CFW was such a good experience! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  8. February 23, 2009 5:10 pm

    so glad your CFW went so well! Good for you girl!

  9. February 23, 2009 5:11 pm

    Congrats on a great CFW! I’ve been thinking about it, and your review is definitely changing my mind towards being less afraid!

  10. February 23, 2009 5:13 pm

    This is really inspiring, Ashley! I think it’s cool that you learned things that you want to continue to do that you otherwise wouldn’t have realized. A question about cutting out the coffee–did you get headaches? I don’t remember reading anything about that but I know I would get them if/when I cut down. Way to go on the desserts too, that would be the hardest part for me. I am really getting pumped up to try a CFW, but I am not sure I’m ready yet!
    So glad that this made you feel so great!

  11. February 23, 2009 5:23 pm

    Congratulations! You did great! =D

  12. February 23, 2009 5:26 pm

    Thank you for sharing those thoughts on CFW! Good for you for giving up those bars! (I don’t know if I could really do it!!)

    And OH MY, I totally think all Asian parents use that “your boobs will grow bigger if you eat _________”. My mom used to tell me papaya’s will give me big boobs and fed me that stuff like none-other during puberty. UHHHH IT GOT ME nowhere. haha Grrrrr

  13. February 23, 2009 5:39 pm

    I’m glad it was such a good experience for you. I also have a crazy love for dairy and can’t imagine life without it!

    Perhaps I should force myself through a CFW and then I’ll realize I don’t need it as much as I thought!

  14. February 23, 2009 5:42 pm

    That is great! I really want to do it! I am glad you were very successful!

  15. February 23, 2009 6:24 pm

    Wow! Awesome, glad to hear it went well 🙂

  16. February 23, 2009 6:26 pm

    I like how everyone who has tried CFW has learned something about their diet! I may need to do a little detox of my own one of these weeks…

  17. February 23, 2009 6:48 pm

    Well done with the CFW!! You did great!

  18. Sarah permalink
    February 23, 2009 6:53 pm

    congrats on making it through the week, pretty easily it sounds like!

  19. snackface permalink
    February 23, 2009 6:59 pm

    You make CFW sound so easy! Congrats on making it through, and never seeming like you were struggling with it. Can I do my own CFW, but it would be Crap FULL Week?

  20. February 23, 2009 7:21 pm

    yayyy!!! love it!

    wow such positive results and feedback!

    would you mind explaining to me the criteria for CFW?
    i would certainly not mind trying it!

    ❤ ya girl

  21. February 23, 2009 9:17 pm

    Glad it went so well!! : )

    Isn’t it amazing how good fruit can be as dessert? (Except, yeah, I think one needs some sort of chocolate now and then!;)

  22. February 23, 2009 9:33 pm

    What an absolutely fabulous lessons learned sesh!! You are amazing – I just don’t have it in me… at least not yet! I’d starve! hehe Glad you feel better though and it sounds like you gained some great insights!! Congrats on being done – go celebrate with dessert. hehe I’m counterproductive…

  23. February 23, 2009 9:48 pm

    CONGRATS!!! Well done & I’m glad you learned some things about yourself along the way!

  24. February 23, 2009 10:56 pm

    Congratulations on a fabulous week! Thats so awesome, you did so well! I may have to try one of my own soon. I have alwasy suspected I’m mildly lactose intolerant, so I should at least try a week of no dairy!

    I love the vegie heart too!

  25. martiniwindow permalink
    February 24, 2009 12:17 am

    just found your blog and i love it! – just added you to my blogroll i really like your recap of the CFW and i need to do mine own soon!

  26. February 24, 2009 6:27 am

    I’ve been reading about CFW. Glad to see that yours went so well!!

  27. krissa permalink
    February 24, 2009 7:56 am

    So…I am a bit behind. What does CFW stand for?

  28. Matt permalink
    February 24, 2009 9:09 am

    I bet your ready for a Clif Bar!

  29. February 24, 2009 10:32 am

    Wow! I am impressed! Good for you!
    I am glad you are liking Veganomican, there are so many awesome and diverse recipes.

    Congrats on the no coffee! I really admire that.

  30. Sweet and Fit permalink
    February 24, 2009 3:35 pm

    congrats girl! you really did a awesome job with CPW – soooo dicsiplined too! now you need to have a cookie or a brownie =)

  31. February 24, 2009 7:27 pm

    I’m too scared to commit to the whole thing for a week, is that just silly? I’m thinking I will try making 1 change each week…I need to go check out all your yummy eats!

Leave a Reply

