Skip to content

Birthday Girl

February 21, 2009

Yay Friday!! The oh so wonderful FittingbackIn tagged me in a Whats on your Spring Palette? This is my first tagg eeek! I’m not sure if you guys know this yet, but I am a hardcore Jcrew fan, i’m an even bigger fan of their sales. I seriously go crazy when they have their sales because lots of times its an additional 20 or 30% off, and in case you didn’t already know, if you have a student ID card, or are a teacher you get an ADDITIONAL 15% off. Serious bargains if you shop at the right time. Everything I put in my spring palette collection is from the sale section on jcrew.com. I am loving brown, pink, and beige this spring πŸ™‚ Hope you guys like it :

spring-palette

Now I tag a few of these lovely ladies to do the same πŸ™‚

Shop Eat Blog
Sweet and Fit
Kate’s Whole Plate
Honey Nut Lo

Today was my Mom’s birthday! HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOMMM ❀

This morning started with my delicious barney oats πŸ™‚
Lunch was some snobbyyy joes, they’re even better the second day when all the flavors have melded together. I had it with the other half of my wheat roll from last night. This lunch is so so yummy. I think i’m going to order Vegonomicon tomorrow from Amazon, i’ve heard nothing but good things about this cookbook. I’ve also heard Vegan’s with a Vengence is really good too. I’ve been eating less and less meat lately, and have been enjoying trying out lots of vegetarian meals.

mail-26

During my lunch break, I did a little shopping for the Bday Girl! I went to whole foods and picked up a pretty bouquet of roses, a cuuteee pug card, and also 2 mini tarts, one key lime and one fresh fruit, and one chocolate covered strawberry. A little after dinner treat for my mom, dad, and I.

mail-51

mail-35

mail-44

Dinner was at Carraba’s. It’s the same style as Macaroni Grill. It was really good. I”ve only ever been here once before, like 7 years ago. The bread was so fresh, like it had just come straight out of the oven especially for us and the olive oil dip was so tasty.Β  I got a glass of Riesling and enjoyed every last sip. My mom loves calamari so we got that as an appetizer. I only like the circle parts, I don’t like the tentacles they kinda scare me haha. For dinner I decided on the Mezzeluna. It was half moon shaped ravioli filled with chicken, spinach, and ricotta in a tomato cream sauce. This was reallllly good. When i ordered it the waitress said it was her favoriteΒ  meal, and I loved it. Filled my belly right up!Β  I got to eat the cute little key lime tart for my dessert. It wasn’t too sweet and was the perfect ending to my meal.

mail-15

mail6

Tonight I went and saw He’s not that into you with my friend Brooke. I liked it πŸ™‚ i thought it was really cute, and a real good chick flick to see with one of your girls.

Tomorrow morning I have my yoga 1 class, and then later in the afternoon I have my Bikram class. At some point in the day i’ve got to get my run in. Phew tomorrow’s going to be busyyy.

I wanted to thank all of you for your sweet comments about my new header! you are all so sweet and i’m so glad you like it.

I hope everyone had a wonderful Friday and enjoy your weekend!

32 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2009 2:26 am

    I love love love your spring palette! I love that combination of colors and everything you picked is so cute!

    I feel the same way as you about calamari.. I wont eat the tentacle parts, they creep me out! Everything looks tasty though and I’m glad you had a good night. Happy Birthday to your mom!!
    Have a great weekend!

  2. snackface permalink
    February 21, 2009 3:08 am

    Happy b-day to mama! Mmm your dinner makes me swoon. Calamari used to be my favorite thing to order from Olive Garden when I was, like, 5. Odd little kid, no? OH! I completely recommend getting V’con. I haven’t been disappointed yet. Have a fab weekend!

  3. February 21, 2009 5:41 am

    Lovin’ your choices for Spring! It’s getting me excited for the warmer weather. I bet pink looks great on you with your dark hair.
    Happy Bday to your mama–lovely flowers!!

  4. February 21, 2009 7:54 am

    AMAZING!!

  5. February 21, 2009 8:13 am

    what a cute tagg!

    seriously, i must be out of it or something…all my east coaster friends are in the love with j.crew and i have never stepped foot in that store…no one i know west coast ever shops there…i’m intrigued by all the interest!

    happy birthday mamma!

    love the dinner out…sooo good look’n!

  6. February 21, 2009 8:32 am

    those roses are gorgeous! mezzaluna at carrabas is my FAVORITE! i order it every time!

  7. Kate permalink
    February 21, 2009 8:43 am

    HOLY YUM!!!! thanks for the encouragement-yea I dunno what my deal is! I’m waiting with my gym shoes to head out the door and MUST start a new day today. I dont know how people go so long w/o exercising?! πŸ˜€ Thanks for the tag! Now here’s a stupid question….what does that mean!? LOL I mean what do I do!Your spring palate is adorable-I’m kind of obsessed w/ pearls.

  8. February 21, 2009 9:35 am

    Love the flowers and birthday meal amazingness!

    I didn’t know JCrew gave discounts for being a student! Is it only in-store or on the website, too?

  9. Celia permalink
    February 21, 2009 9:37 am

    Awesome palette you have there, LOVE your taste! Ok, this is gonna be a weird question BUT where did you get your food container from – I’m referring to the clear square one that you always use πŸ˜€

  10. February 21, 2009 9:53 am

    NICE PICKS!! Very cute πŸ™‚

    Those flowers are gorgeous and the desserts?! YUM!

  11. February 21, 2009 10:10 am

    Love your spring picks…totally makes me want to do some shopping πŸ˜‰ Those flowers are beauties…have a good weekend girlie!

  12. February 21, 2009 11:30 am

    Awww happy b-day to your mom!! LOVE your spring pallette – CUTE, CUTE, CUTE! Very Charlotte/Audrey – fun!! Those flowers are beautiful and of course i heart the pupper card! ooooh Carraba’s – your meal looks awesome!! So glad you liked the movie, too, i’ve got to go see it!

  13. February 21, 2009 12:25 pm

    Those 2 cookbooks were my 1st 2 & I love them- I hope they serve you well, toO!
    Looks like you had a great dinner & b-day celebration! Your mommy is lucky to have such a thoughtful daughter (pretty flowers!). Have a great weekend!

  14. February 21, 2009 12:35 pm

    gorgeous spring palette!!!

    I have a bag of red lentils in my cabinet that need to be used! Snobby Joes might just be next on the menu πŸ™‚ You should order Veganomicon – its fantastic! VwaV also has some fab recipes that I haven’t yet gotten around to making but there are 2 waffle recipes I have my eye on! I think I’m going to make up a bunch of waffles to keep in freezer to keep on hand for fast meals when I get sick of kashi go lean & oatmeal :-p

  15. February 21, 2009 12:39 pm

    I was never a huge Jcrew fan – mostly b/c I couldn’t afford it – but they have some super cute dresses!!! I will have to go into the store next month and see if I can find a dress ON SALE for the wedding I’m going to at the end of April. Do you go instore or do you order online mostly??? I think I have to go instore b/c I dont know my size in jcrew stuff…hopefully they have a good selection of sale dresses when I’m ready to go shopping!! that black dress you picked out also comes in kelly green which looks GORGEOUS!! I looooove taffeta (it was the material of my wedding gown!)

  16. February 21, 2009 1:03 pm

    Veganomicon is a great cookbook. I make the “lower-fat banana bread” over and over again, and I really like the tips about how to cook different vegetables and grains.

  17. February 21, 2009 1:16 pm

    Aww sounds like a fabulous dinner!! That ravioli looks SOOO good! You have great style, I love that brown dress you picked out πŸ™‚

  18. Sweet and Fit permalink
    February 21, 2009 2:02 pm

    thanks sweetie for tagging me! its my first tag too! I love those little tarts from whole foods – talk about portion control πŸ˜‰ Its so funny that you like calamari too but don’t really care for meat – calamari is the one thing that I really like from Legal Sea Foods. Lemme know if you end up ordering Vegonomicon…I’m interested to see what you think of it – oh, and I may take you up on your offer about your header – in exchange for your address… and no! I’m not trying to stalk you =)

  19. Sarah permalink
    February 21, 2009 3:29 pm

    cute clothing and those flowers are gorgeous!

  20. February 21, 2009 7:00 pm

    cute clothes! i love jcrew, too :). that little fruit tart is too cute!

  21. February 21, 2009 8:08 pm

    I’ve really considered buying both of those books as well. I’m a “flexitarian” according to Meghann’s post about self.com’s levels of vegetarian/vegan eaters. I definitely eat very little meat and would love to know new ways to prepare more meatless foods.

    So are we career twins or what? I really excited about getting my Master’s in Educational Technology. It’s not something a lot of people know about so I’m excited you’ve looked into it too!

  22. cleanveggiex3 permalink
    February 21, 2009 8:21 pm

    those flowers look gorgeous!
    mmm yummy fruit πŸ™‚

    have fun at yoga tomorrow!

  23. February 21, 2009 8:37 pm

    awe yay for the tag! i gotta catch up tonight with blogs and midterms so i promise i will post my palate tomorrow! happy bday to your mom! i cannot wait for your CFW to be over…granola is calling ur name! lol

  24. February 21, 2009 9:52 pm

    i’m OBSESSED WITH JCREW.
    it’s my entire wardrobe.. i just feel it’s so professional and classy and clean cut.. no?
    πŸ™‚

    uh oh now that i’ve been tagged i must whip up something good!

    tell mamacita to have a happy happy one! you are too cute with the flowers and cardd!

    …but wait wait wait did i hear you say you have yoga, then BIKRAM then a RUN?! all tomorrow?!

    ..one 90 minute bikram class is enough to send me through the roof! i have to ring my clothes out with sweat afterwards.

    pleasant i know.

    well HAVE A GREAT TIME my love!

    πŸ™‚

  25. February 21, 2009 10:30 pm

    Love the new header!!

    Happy belated birthday to your mom too!

  26. February 21, 2009 11:05 pm

    That treat looks amazing!!!!!! And love the roses!!!

  27. February 22, 2009 12:37 am

    Pretty flowers! Orange roses? yay! Happy Bday to your mama!

  28. February 22, 2009 10:28 am

    love me a good sale!!! i just can’t wait for the weather to warm up again!

    looks like you had a fantastic dinner, i have never been to carrabas but im impressed! hope you have a great (busy) day!

  29. February 22, 2009 1:14 pm

    ahhh i love j. crew too! their sales really are amazing πŸ™‚

    that cheesecake sounds like it was amazing, i do love a good key lime slice once in a while. the rest of the dinner looks great, too!

    hope you’re having a relaxing sunday.

  30. Matt permalink
    February 22, 2009 7:18 pm

    Carraba’s is awesome! We used to go there all the time! I LOVE the mozzarella sticks there. AMAZING!

  31. February 23, 2009 12:31 am

    Totally order Veganomicon. It has some really interesting, good looking recipes in it.

    And I love the tentacles from the calamari! Yum!

  32. February 23, 2009 1:58 pm

    The roses are gorgeous! and I got the mezzeluna the last time I went to carrabas too! delish!

Leave a Reply

