Skip to content

makeover

February 19, 2009

did i get a new hair cut? new outfit? nooo silly I got a new header πŸ™‚ you like? I had some free time today and was feeling like a change so i rolled up my sleeves, got my drawing hands going, and came up with a new design! I am presenting to you an Ashley original, i hope you guys like it. Just a little something different, ill probably change headers every once in a while to keep things spicy.

This morning my pal barney joined me. Barney Butter oats were delicious. I’m so happy Lora got me two of these jars because i’m in love. I only made a 1/2 c of oats this morning and I was ready for my snack at around 10. Not too shabby. I had an apple and some almonds. I was hungry for lunch early today so I ate my sandwich around 11. I had the same sandwich as yesterday, a hummus, spinach, sprouts, and carrots combo.

mail5

During lunch I headed over to the gym for a hill workout. The hills really are a challenge for me, but I pushed through them and got them done! After the gym I headed over to whole foods to pick up a few things for dinner tonight and to also grab a snack to keep me going till the end of work. I hungrier today and I knew that after eating my lunch at 11, there was no way i was going to make it to 5. I picked up some sliced grapefruit, and woww this stuff was so good and juicy. I love grapefruit so much but hate the hassle of cutting them and slicing them so this was perfect for me since i’m grapefruit lazy πŸ™‚

mail-25

confession: i accidentally cheated on CFW today. I didn’t even mean to though! When I was getting into line at whole foods, i look over to my left and what do I see? A Larabar tasting table. So i hope on over and try the only 2 flavors on the table that I haven’t had before. Key Lime Pie and Pistachio. I like them both and was so happy I got to try them and walked back in line. There I realize, AH that was a bar, and bars aren’t allowed this week. It completely slipped my mind eek. BUT they were teeny tiny samples, and they areeeee made from whole foods so it wasn’t awful right? honest mistake, but also glad I know i like these flavors so now I can buy them after CFW haha.

When I got back to the office there were some leftovers from a catering event. I grabbed a mini roast beef with lettuce on pumpernickel. Perfect to help me with my hunger day.

mail-14

Yoga tonight was lovellyyyy. I really want to keep on going with the studio after the 1o days are up, but its just too expensive for me right now 😦 I really love the way it makes me feel and been really enjoying the fact that I am improving so quickly and can feel a difference in my flexibility. I have quickly gotten hooked on it, the teachers are amazing. We’ll see.

When I came home it was time to start a cookin, and drumroll please…. tonights dinner was SNOBBY JOES!

wooohoo. I had seen this meal on so many blogs when I first started reading them and always thought they looked so good. I found the recipe online at the website of the authors of Veganomicon, and decided tonight was the night to try it. I loved this dinner so much. and it made a TON. I followed the recipe exactly , except I subbed agave for the maple syrup and added less of the chilli powder. You can definitely still taste it though. I bought a whole wheat roll at whole foods today, sliced it in half and toasted it up. I’m saving other half of the roll for my lunch tomorrow because there are plenty of leftovers i’ll have to eat πŸ™‚ not complaining one bit.

mail-34

So many awesome giveaways right now. The wonderful Ryan at Chasing Daylight is having a GREAT giveaway right now to keep up safe on our runs, check it out please!

40 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2009 10:39 pm

    I love the header girl!!!

  2. February 19, 2009 10:41 pm

    I know what you mean about the grapefruit. I really enjoy it, but I seriously hate pith, so it takes me forever to prep the darn thing before I can eat it!

    The snobby joes look good. I should try out that recipe…it’s on the list!

  3. February 19, 2009 10:43 pm

    Hey! I put things that I want/love/can afford/plan to buy – but make it your own!! πŸ™‚

  4. February 19, 2009 10:51 pm

    Nice header!

    The snobby joes look amazing! I really need to make these next week.

  5. February 19, 2009 11:00 pm

    WOW I love your header! What program did you use to create it? Sorry, technology/design geek coming out in me πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the awesome shout-out! I’m excited to find out who the winners will be!

  6. February 19, 2009 11:05 pm

    Juicy juicy grapefruit! Yum! And pumpernickle bread looks great!

  7. February 19, 2009 11:10 pm

    Hey, Miss Artsy! I love the header!!!

    Don’t stress the larabar, that’s the least damage you could do! I was really hungry today, too! Weird! Did you see that some of the Larabars are 40% off? I bought the coconut cream pie and banana nut (haven’t tried either flavor) but wanted to take advantage of the sale! Get back over there tomorrow! p.s…don’t worry – I had a diet dr pepper today. 😦 boo!

    Hope you’ve had a great week! You’re doing AWESOME with CFW and yoga! woo hooo!!!

    Kaneil, balanceisbest

  8. February 19, 2009 11:13 pm

    Your oatmeal always looks SO good. I’ve got to get my hands on some of that barney butter stuff!

  9. February 19, 2009 11:14 pm

    How did I not know about your graphic design degree?? That’s amazing and I’m super jealous…I considered going to art school for awhile!

  10. February 19, 2009 11:36 pm

    The new header is lovely! πŸ™‚

  11. February 19, 2009 11:45 pm

    Love the new header!

  12. February 20, 2009 12:23 am

    cute πŸ˜€ I love pumpernickel bread I can never find it, score! And i didn’t know the Snobby Joe recipe is online, double score! Have a great Friday, don’t sweat the Lara’s haha

  13. February 20, 2009 12:48 am

    Love the new header, those snobby joes look delic!

  14. February 20, 2009 1:17 am

    I love the new header! Nice work!

    Dont feel bad about the bar samples.. there are much worse things you could have broken CFW week on and at least you realized it right after! You’re doing great!

  15. February 20, 2009 2:57 am

    Cute header…I love PINK!

    Larabars shouldn’t be against CFW. You’d eat everything in them separately (i.e. dates and nuts), so you just saved your mouth a little work!

    Snobby joes are awesome. I must make more!

  16. February 20, 2009 7:50 am

    LOOOOOOOOOVE the new header!!

    Girl, Larabars are composed of JUST fruits, nuts, and spices – why aren’t those considered crap-free??

  17. February 20, 2009 7:59 am

    I love the new header!! I really need to give these snobs a shot πŸ™‚

  18. February 20, 2009 8:39 am

    The grapefruit comment cracked me up. My Grandma taught me how to “section” a grapefruit when I was about 11. It is a skill I use ALL the time and now U can whip right through one! Thanks Grandma!!

  19. February 20, 2009 9:05 am

    Great job on the header!
    Mmm I love snobby joes! They are so good!

  20. February 20, 2009 9:47 am

    well done with the header! i must say im in your boat with the grapefruit. the cafeteria usually serves them for breakfast and I always end up splurting my whole table in the eye because I can’t cut them correctly. The price you pay for fresh fruit!!

  21. February 20, 2009 9:48 am

    you made that header yourself?!?! you are so talented – I LOVE IT!

  22. February 20, 2009 9:55 am

    Love the makeover!! Lookin’ good!
    Have we talked about running on the treadmill vs running outside? My brain is gone today and I forget if you do most of your training on the treadmill. I need to start training more outside but I’m scared.
    And it’s ok that you had a little cheat–a little Lara is good for everyone πŸ˜‰
    TGIF!

  23. February 20, 2009 9:59 am

    LOVE the new header!! : )

    Have a GREAT Friday, girl!

  24. February 20, 2009 10:15 am

    The header is cute! Simple, and colorful. πŸ™‚

  25. Sarah permalink
    February 20, 2009 10:17 am

    i like the new header, the pink is so cute!

  26. February 20, 2009 10:19 am

    I REALLY like the new header! The pink is very flattering! πŸ™‚

  27. February 20, 2009 10:40 am

    pretty-pretty header!
    Lara Bars are indeed BARS, but I don’t think they go in the same category as some others, because they’re not refined or processed… they are raw!!! Not bad for a “cheat” yanno?!

  28. February 20, 2009 10:46 am

    love the header! don’t worry about the larabars–they’re all raw food, so at least you’re not getting anything processed in there.
    that tiny sandwich looks like the perfect cure for random, small hunger. i’ll remember that, since half-sandwiches would be so easy to make. plus, they’re adorable.
    hope you’re having a lovely friday!

  29. sarahdbelle permalink
    February 20, 2009 11:31 am

    Love the new header- very pretty!
    Sarah
    http://sarahdbelle.wordpress.com/

  30. February 20, 2009 11:58 am

    Pretty in pink…so cute! Grapefruit is the worst…I never eat it ’cause it’s such a hassle and i load it with sugar. Happy Friday!

  31. Sweet and Fit permalink
    February 20, 2009 11:59 am

    I am so excited for the possible meet-up! =) Did u really make that header yourself?!?! you are so creative – how do you do that? I have been wanting to do something like that, but don’t really know how. I wouldn’t feel bad about the larabar samples – it coulda been much much much worse =)

  32. February 20, 2009 12:36 pm

    I’ve always preferred treadmill running because I like being able to regulate my pace and then zone out without worrying about crashing into anything..hehe. Also the weather here makes it hard to run outside. Most people I talk to say they prefer running outside so maybe when I start again it will be better. I hope so because I need to get used to it! I guess we’ll both be braving it, then!

  33. February 20, 2009 12:53 pm

    Love the new header! It’s great!

  34. February 20, 2009 2:20 pm

    Thanks for the blog comment!
    Love those oats…I really need to try Barney Butter!

    I love your new header!

  35. February 20, 2009 2:39 pm

    oh mann sadly i’m not a fan of grapefruit at all, but I KNOW i should start being one since it’s so good for you. πŸ˜›

    WOW i can’t believe all your awesome pics are via the iPhone. That’s pretty impressive. I guess that means i have no excuse for ugly pics huh?? Hope you have a faaabulous weekend sweetie!

  36. February 20, 2009 2:52 pm

    so pretty!!

  37. February 20, 2009 3:47 pm

    Hey I like your header too! How do you design your own? I’m not crazy about my theme, but I liked it the best out of what I picked from… I want something more personal though.

  38. snackface permalink
    February 20, 2009 4:17 pm

    OMG!!!! That header is TOO CUTE!!! I’m obvs. very excited about it! Haha. How does one even make a new header? My blog totally needs some spice.

    Also, I count Laras as crap-free, despite its bar status. All those dates, nuts and fruits can’t really help that they’re just chillin’ together.

  39. February 20, 2009 10:19 pm

    WOW so everything looks absolutely and ridiculously amazing — i’ve been meaning to make snobby joes, i think you just re-inspired me! and way to go on those hills, they’re KILLER!

    hope you have a great night! i’ll have to try that wrap at champps next time!

  40. February 20, 2009 10:30 pm

    your makeover is just SO SEXY. you look stunning..
    err…your blog?

    i’ve missed you while i was away! i need to catch up with this wonderous blog of yourrs

Leave a Reply

