Skip to content

sweetness

February 18, 2009

Oh hump day is almost over! It’s smooth sailing to the weekend from here on out πŸ™‚Β 

This morning I woke up feeling like I had the longest nights sleep. It felt great to be so alert after I woke up instead of groggy and dragging myself out of bed. I knew it was time for some oats πŸ™‚ I made the heart healthy serving of 3/4 cup dry oats with 1 1/2 c unsweetened vanilla almond milk. Usually I can’t even tell the difference when i’ve made 1/2 c or 3/4 c. I will still always be ready for a snack at 9:30. Well today, I happened to make it until 11 until i was ready for a snack. This has never happened before. It felt great to not be getting antsy around 9:30 and listening to my hunger more. For my snack I had a banana and some almonds. Two big thumbs up for the oats this morning. Loving the raw almond butter flax and agave combo, by far my favorite if you guys can’t tell.Β 

mail-13

Group Power was during lunch today and was a great class. upped my weights a little bit, and felt the burrnnn. The teacher is amazing, I don’t know how she can talk the whole time, pushing us harder, when I can barely catch my breath. Amazing.Β 

Lunch was simple and sweet today. I had a sandwich with sabra hummus, spinach, sprouts, and shredded carrot. I also had a bowl of roasted red pepper tomato soup. My apple was my afternoon snack, and tasted delicious. Lately Β i’d been getting some apples that had hardly any taste, but this one was great.

mail-24mail-33

Bikram was really good tonight. I didn’t have to sit out any postures and made it through the whole class strong. I can feel myself getting adjusted to the heat better and loosening my muscles up more each class. And when I was in camel pose, I was able to let go and grab my heels for the first time! biggg one for me πŸ™‚

When I came home, my dad came up to me, and said “I forgot to tell you, but last night when you got back from yoga you looked radiant. You had such a healthy glow”

Love him!!! It was the sweetest thing to say, and really made me feel like the choices i’ve been making have been worth it. This week has been a great challenge to really think about the choice i’ve been making and where I want to be. i have a glowww yayy πŸ™‚

Β 

Dinner was a little something different that i’ve never made before. I had some tilapia filets and wanted to use one up tonight. I decided on Coconut Pecan Tilapia with asparagus. I dipped my fish in some eggwhites and then coated it with the coconut and crushed pecan mixture. I also cut the hard ends off some asparagus, drizzled some olive oil on it, added some s & p, and then tossed both of those in the oven at 400 degrees for 15 minutes. I had a little extra coconut pecan mixture that didn’t stick to the fish so i threw those in the toaster oven and got them nice and golden then added them to the top of the fish when it was finished cooking. It turned out perfectly. The fish was slightly sweet and the pecans added a great flavor to it. The asparagus was a little dry at the tops, but the rest of it was cooked great. This was an awesome dinner that I will be recreating in the future. So quick and simple too. Β Ended the meal with some peaches, delish.Β 

mail-43

When I got home, I saw a packageeee at my door!!! My lovely Lora sent me a valentines day package and I just adore her!!! She sent me the best stuff! Β 2 jars of smooth barney butter (OMG) , Honest foods blueberry vanilla crackle granola planks which I have been absolutely DYING to try and hadn’t been able to find anywhere, 2 ghiradelli pb and milk chocolate squares, nature’s path pumpkin granola, Ariel chocolates, sweethearts, a valentines strawberry ring pop, and a sweet sweet note. It’s like she knows what I want without having to even ask, this was an amazing package, and i’m digging into the barney butter tomorrow morning!!! After CFW is over, i’ll be eating those granola planks with some yogurt and then trying all the rest of my goodies! Thanks Lora, you are a doll!!

mail4

A wonderful and important giveaway you all should look at is Caitlins Road ID giveaway. Read the post about a real life emergency and how to keep us safe on our runs.

29 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2009 9:52 pm

    Secret Cupid’s GOT IT GOIN ON! You deserve it all and more πŸ™‚ Lora, wanna be my second Cupid?? πŸ˜‰

    I bet you’re psyched for CFW to be over so you can enjoy all the goodies!! Yumm

    Love youuuu

  2. February 18, 2009 9:53 pm

    Hey you’re breakfast and lunch were similar to mine today! I had oats with flax and nut butter and a veg. sandwich as well… Your tilapia looks interesting and yummy!

  3. February 18, 2009 9:54 pm

    I so want to try the blueberry vanilla granola plank now that I’ve tried the pomegranate walnut one, because it was excellent! Your tilapia dish looks interesting, I bet it would be good on other fish as well πŸ˜€

  4. February 18, 2009 9:54 pm

    Your lunch looks so good! I will have to try the soup and sammy combo since I’ve been on a sammy kick lately. HAve a great night!

  5. February 18, 2009 10:02 pm

    SO good, that soup is glowing ha! That is SO sweet of your dad..love that yoga glow. Thanks for your kind words girl!

  6. Sweet and Fit permalink
    February 18, 2009 10:42 pm

    you have such a sweet dad! its so great to get those kind of compliments, it shows how much effort you put into being so healthy. oh and that Vday package is so sweet – too bad you wanna be CF this week, but I’m glad our able to eat more whole foods and veggies – I think its always a good thing to change up your diet a bit.

  7. February 18, 2009 11:01 pm

    Oooo that looks like a lovely package! What a nice gift! πŸ™‚

  8. February 18, 2009 11:15 pm

    Oh my gosh, that is one scrumptious package!!!

  9. February 18, 2009 11:42 pm

    Oh what a fabulous package you got you lucky girl. And camel pose, you go!! That’s one of the hardest poses for me!! Your blog is making me really want to try Bikram again, I’ve been checking my local studio’s website hoping they decide to do a special but no luck yet 😦

  10. February 18, 2009 11:44 pm

    Such a great Valentine’s package!!

  11. February 19, 2009 12:14 am

    I was so excited to read your post about your package ALL day, because making people happy, honestly makes me happy! I am so glad you loved it and I cant wait until finally we can meet! wherever it will be, I hope its soon!

  12. February 19, 2009 5:39 am

    Dinner looks great! Lovin’ the Ariel chocolates. My 8-year-old-self would have been so happy with those. Wait, so would my 23-year-old-self!

  13. February 19, 2009 8:29 am

    WOW! That is one sweet package! πŸ™‚ You made out like a bandit!

  14. February 19, 2009 8:31 am

    That is so sweet of your dad! Your dinner sounds so delish!

  15. February 19, 2009 9:35 am

    What a sweet comment from your dad!
    What an awesome package, I didn’t know they still made ringpops!

  16. February 19, 2009 10:12 am

    Aw the yoga glow – gotta love it πŸ™‚

    BARNEY BUTTER!!! Love the Disney Princesses too!

  17. February 19, 2009 10:59 am

    Yay for your V-day package!! Aren’t packages full of goodies the BEST??? And what a sweet dad … you’re blessed to have him : )

  18. February 19, 2009 11:12 am

    oats are the BEST! mmm! coconut-pecan crust? totally beats my plain old breadcrumb crust! I’ve got to try this sometime!

  19. snackface permalink
    February 19, 2009 12:23 pm

    Aww daddy pants is so sweet! “Radiant” has to be one of the best adjectives to describe someone. Uhhh, BARNEY BUTTER! Girrrl, you lucky. I’ve yet to try it (still), but I’m totes jealous

  20. February 19, 2009 12:26 pm

    That is a great compliment from your Dad! It’s awesome other people can see on the outside the great way you’re feeling inside!

    Your dinner looks so good! I am going to have to try that the next time I get tilapia! And your package is awesome! That is ALL the good stuff!

  21. February 19, 2009 1:18 pm

    Yea! A tilapia post! I bought some last week and wasn’t sure how to season it. Needless to say, it didn’t turn out well. I’ll definitely try it again with your tasty coating. Maybe it will put me in the mood for my Cabo trip πŸ™‚

  22. sarahdbelle permalink
    February 19, 2009 3:46 pm

    What a fun package. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it!

    Sarah
    http://sarahdbelle.wordpress.com/

  23. February 19, 2009 4:25 pm

    great idea with the tilapia! yum!

  24. February 19, 2009 6:31 pm

    wow that fish is seriously impressive!!

  25. cleanveggiex3 permalink
    February 19, 2009 7:37 pm

    LOVE your lunch πŸ™‚
    soup sounds so delicious and comforing.
    and your asparagus look awesome

  26. February 19, 2009 7:49 pm

    Aw that IS the best commment you could have gotten – your dad rocks! Glad class is going so good AND CFW – you’re on fire! And your dinner looks SO good, I love tilapia that coconut/pecan seems like it would go so good with it – thanks!

  27. February 19, 2009 9:46 pm

    you’ve been tagged! I left something for you on my blog – it’s fun – promise! πŸ™‚

  28. Matt permalink
    February 20, 2009 9:03 am

    Those goodies look awesome!

  29. February 20, 2009 8:49 pm

    thanks for the comment! the tilapia looks sooo good! YUM!

Leave a Reply

