Skip to content

squash it up

February 17, 2009

Last night I slept like a baby and i’m thinking the same is going to happen tonight. I am really loving Bikram yoga this time and am so glad that I went for it and bought the 10 day pass. I’m thinking i’ll be able to make it to 9 days out of 10. Friday they don’t have a night class, and Friday is also my moms birthday and we’ll be going out to dinner for her birthday…. SO this also means, Friday night dinner will be my exclusion night from CFW. I’ll add in breakfast on Monday to even it out. 

This morning I decided to make some eggs. I made a one egg 2 white omelette with sauteed onions, spinach, and mushrooms. I added a slice of wheatberry bread on the side dry. I don’t know why but egg breakfasts never really keep me satisfied. Cereal or oats in the morning end up lasting much longer personally. My favs anyways. 

mail3

Snack this morning was a banana and 1 piece of wheatberry bread with almond butter. 

Lunch was 2 leftover sweet potato /black bean patties, with a spinach salad and sprouts with some goddess dressing. To get me through until work was over I had some almonds and an apple. 

mail-23mail-12

My lunch workout was disappointing 😦 I had planned to do a 45 minute interval run, and it was on my training plan but I could only make it for 20 minutes. I don’t know why, but the arch in my right food had the absolute WORST cramp ever and I couldn’t run it off. It kept hurting and I didn’t want to push through the pain just in case, so I finished up my intervals at 20 mins. I”m not sure if its because this week i’ve been wearing higher heels, or if its because i stretched it weird in yoga? I’m not too sure but I know that I really hope its gone by Wed when I have my next treadmill encounter. I’m going to use my foot rubz ball tonight for sure before i hop into bed. 

Before I headed off to Bikram I had some hummus on toast. 3 pieces of toast today lol. 

Bikram was really good again tonight. A different instructor, but just as good. This one pushed everyone a little further tonight, but I didn’t have to leave the room! Its crazy when you can see the pores in your shins dripping sweat. Its ridiculous how much you sweat in this class, its literally like i jumped into a pool with all my clothes on. It really does make you feel so cleansed when you leave though. I think by the end of this 10 day pass i might be hooked. They lure you in with this $25 pass 🙂 haha.

Late dinner again tonight, I made a new dinner with spaghetti squash. I am so glad that i’ve found this veggie through all of your blogs! It is an amazing ingredient.  I cooked up the squash, and while it was in the microwave I sauteed some onions in olive oil. I added some garlic and spinach and let the spinach wilt. Then I put the spaghetti squash in the pan and then threw in some chickpeas and sundried tomatoes. voila! dinner is served 🙂 I ate half, and gave the other half to my dad. He really liked it! I added a little feta to the top of his. Really really incredibly simple recipe. I would have LOVED to have added some artichokes but the jar was empty! gotta restock asap.  After dinner I had two peach halves. I bought the jar from TJs and they are in white grape juice, not a sugar syrup! They weren’t as sweet as the ones in syrup usually are and tasted so refreshing. 

mail-32

mail-42

 

Day 2 of CFW: pretty good! I don’t think i’m going to do any more egg breakfast meals, they just don’t hold me over long enough. And i’ve found that nuts are a great snack. I”ve never really snacked on them plain before, and i really loved the almonds today. The walnuts were pretty good to. had I not done this CFW, i probably would never have thought to eat those instead of a bar. I am also loving the fact that I need to be a little more creative with dinners and am getting some great vegetable intake during this challenge. Overall, a success for day 2!

 

have a great night and talk to you all tomorrow!! xoxo

29 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2009 11:15 pm

    Looks like CFW is going well for you! Great job!! Sleep well!

  2. February 17, 2009 11:16 pm

    I find that egg-white omelettes don’t hold me over very long either. I prefer oatmeal, it keeps me fuller much longer! Great work on the Bikram, you’re motivating me to try it out again, but the studio in my city isn’t offering any specials right now and it’s $20 for a drop-in :S

  3. February 17, 2009 11:55 pm

    I love almonds, and usually top oatmeal with it, or have handfuls of it! LOL!

  4. February 18, 2009 12:39 am

    I’m just wrapping up my CFW and I realized the same thing about snacking on nuts!!!

    Actually you know what is really awesome? So much so that even the boy who doesn’t enjoy healthful eating LOVED it . . . Chopped up dates, chopped up almonds, and dried cranberries. Just a handful of them!!!

    Essentially it’s the EXACT same ingredients as the cherry pie Larabar. In some ways they even taste better when they’re not mushed up.

    🙂 Good luck with your CFW!

  5. February 18, 2009 1:49 am

    Thanks for keeping us posted on the CFW! I’m interested to see how it goes for you, ’cause it sounds intimidating, but I’m sure it’s at least a bit of a mental challenge rather than all about the food 🙂

  6. February 18, 2009 3:15 am

    Bikram Yoga, is that the intensive stretch yoga under high temp? That’s how all gyms are…you intend to come in for just a bit or just to take a look-see, but then they offer you this great deal that you can’t refuse. I ended up signing up for a 1 year membership after walking into 24-hour fitness. I initially intended to just sign up for 2 months. ha!

  7. February 18, 2009 4:35 am

    Your omelette is so perfect-looking. Mine always come up bulky/crumbly. I’m sorry aboout your run, but 20 minutes is still good! Maybe your body was telling you to take a break. And Bikram sounds like a good workout, too!

  8. February 18, 2009 8:12 am

    Yay for success Day 2!

    I have yet to try spagetthi squash but really am wanting to!

    HAPPY WEDNESDAY : )

  9. February 18, 2009 9:22 am

    nice spaghetti squash combo!

  10. February 18, 2009 9:29 am

    those peaches look peachy…sorry bout your bum foot

  11. February 18, 2009 9:31 am

    That omelet sounds fabulous! I’ve noticed I don’t feel full after eating eggs either 😦

    Love your spag squash creation!!

  12. February 18, 2009 9:44 am

    Your doing awesome with this CFW!
    I love snacking on nuts, it’s just hard to keep it to the serving size.

  13. eatinnyc permalink
    February 18, 2009 10:00 am

    Ohh I plan on doing the Bikram $20 pass! So excited! Sounds great! Awesome job on CFW!

  14. February 18, 2009 10:00 am

    Glad your CFW is going so well!! Egg breakfasts fill me up – but i’ve never had oat breakfasts so i can’t make the comparison! I’m sorry about your foot – boo – I hope it doesn’t do that again! Blah!

    So how do you cook your spaghetti squash?! How long? I’ve only tried once, and failed (was CRUNCHY).

  15. February 18, 2009 10:18 am

    I get my purple potatoes at my grocery store…they’re actually imported from the US, so you should be able to find it! I’m pretty sure whole foods has it…
    btw, oatmeal is always really filling in the morning, esp with a spoonful of Peant butter!

  16. February 18, 2009 11:01 am

    I got to try some spaghetti squash recipes.
    That yoga class sounds awesome!

  17. February 18, 2009 11:18 am

    Nice job @ bikram!! so glad it’s working out for you this time around! 🙂

  18. February 18, 2009 12:02 pm

    I completely agree on breakfast foods….nothing holds me over like oats!! Glad day 2 went well!

  19. sarahdbelle permalink
    February 18, 2009 12:25 pm

    Yum…your dinner looks really good. Good luck with CFW!

    Sarah
    http://sarahdbelle.wordpress.com/

  20. February 18, 2009 12:53 pm

    You’re doing awesome with your CFW! Everything looks really tasty. The sweet potato/black bean patties totaly look like pumpkin chocolate chip cookies and its giving me the wrong craving! 🙂

  21. Matt permalink
    February 18, 2009 3:11 pm

    Oatmeal is my breakfast of choice! Where exactly is your pain? Along the3 arch? Does it go up to the ankle? Just make sure you ice it, check your shoes, and rest it a day or two.

  22. February 18, 2009 3:13 pm

    Hooray for yoga and deliciousness!!

  23. February 18, 2009 3:18 pm

    Love your spaghetti squash meal! I too am relatively new (probably about six months ago) to spaghetti squash and you get so much food for so few calories!

    I am actually planning on making a spaghetti squash/spinach/and prosciutto casserole this weekend – it sound really good and each serving is only 250 calories!

  24. February 18, 2009 4:07 pm

    Hi there! Always love your pictures and posts!

    About your foot cramp, (I was a science dork in college) if you don’t usually get them and it wasn’t from an injury, it is usually from muscle over-use, dehydration, or lack of electrolytes. Medicine Net has a good overview: http://www.medicinenet.com/muscle_cramps/page2.htm#2whatare But this is a WAY too long explanation. haha I say, rest the foot and drink something like gatorade right away. You should be ok!!! 🙂 Hope it feels better.

    I don’t feel full after egg whites either. I’ll make a 5 eggwhite omelette and realize I’m still hungry. I think BREAD is worse for me though, I can eat infinite pieces and still not be full. hahaha
    OH MAN, sorry for the long comment, but please take it as a compliment!!

    P.s. would u mind sharing what type of camera you have? your pics are gorgeous!

  25. February 18, 2009 7:34 pm

    Your squash dinner looks so yummy. I’m always inspired by how you mix and match foods to come up with new meals 🙂

  26. February 18, 2009 8:05 pm

    Congrats on a job well done today! I will excuse your Friday night, though I’m sure you’ll do well anyway, because you’ve got healthy tastes. Almonds & nuts are a GREAT way to get natural protein & fat! Sweaty yoga rocks my world! Glad you’re taking advantage of you pass 🙂

  27. cleanveggiex3 permalink
    February 18, 2009 8:26 pm

    love love love sweet potatoes!
    im sorry your lunch workout wasn’t that great , but your lunch looks stunning 😀

  28. Sweet and Fit permalink
    February 18, 2009 10:38 pm

    I have to agree with you – egg breakfasts NEVER fill me up. I get hungry an hour later, but oats hold me over till lunch really well. Hope you have a better workout tomorrow – I hate muscle cramps of any kind, but one in your foot sounds awful!

  29. February 19, 2009 9:00 am

    yum on the dinner!!!! sadly, I dont think I like tilapia much anymore. i will give it another try..i’ve been wanting to do a cashew/coconut crusted tilapia – the chef at my husband’s work told him that the secret is soaking tilapia in coconut milk (lite of course!) and then coating w/ the mixture and pan searing 🙂 I might try tilapia that way……you’ve inspired me! I’ve already had my allotmnt of fish this week so I’ll have to wait til next week to try that method!

    its weird that eggs don’t hold you over!!! eggs & oatmeal hold me over about the same..but I feel more satisfied with eggs – maybe a piece of cheese will help, but I dont think cheese is under the crap free week headline 🙂

    i’ve been eating alot of crap lately (ala falling off the wagon sort of) so I’m also contemplating a crap free week but I dont want tocall it that b/c really it would just be an eating clean week :-p

Leave a Reply

