Skip to content

New mindset

February 16, 2009

Good Morning! Sorry I didn’t get in a post last night, once I got back from the airport I was so wiped out I just wanted to eat some dinner and hop into bed.

heres the recap 🙂

Yesterday morning I woke up and made some oats with half skim milk and half water. I sprinkled it with some golden flaxseed and a packet of justins maple almond butter. His mom has the organic golden ground flaxseed. does anyone know the what the difference is between that and the regular flax seed ?

ny-oats

almond-butter

For lunch we went out to a place called juice box.  I got the grilled mediterranian veggie wrap. Then we walked down to CRUMBS! such a cute cupcake shop, i loved the atmosphere inside. And i loved their logo 🙂 They were giving out samples, so I got the coconut cupcake sample which was so fresh and delicious, and then decided on the carrot cake. Chase got the reese’s cupcake.  When we got home, i took about 1/4 slice of each. The carrot cake was good, but was just so incredibly sweet, i kinda wished that i got the coconut one, but it was still really good and moist. The reese’s cupcake was realllllllly yummy. The icing was pb and had reese’s chunks on it with some ground peanuts and the cupcake itself was pb and chocolate.  realllly really good. I officially was on a sugar overload.

medi-wrap1

cupcakes-in-box1

cupcakes2

 

 

 

reeses-cup1carrot-cake-cup1

I also forgot to tell you that his parents just recently got the Wii, and we practically played all day saturday, and a good chunk of time on sunday. we bowled, played tennis, golfed, boxed, played baseball for endless hours, and i’ll tell you what. my right arm is SORE! I didn’t really expect it to feel like a real workout, but my arm was doin some work this weekend!  It is such a fun system, i would really love to get one at some point. The Wii Fit told me my age was 34 so next time i’m there im’ going to try it again and see if i get younger 🙂 haha

I went to the airport and picked up some dried apricots to snack on and had a late dinner around 9 when I got home. My dad had picked up some Afghan takeout, so I took the rest of the veggie platter. one of my all time favorite meals. I am so in love with the baby pumpkin. There rest on the plate is spinach, eggplant, potatoes, chickpeas, rice, and naan bread.

afghan-food5

This morning I had a bowl of shredded wheat, a small banana, and some unsweetened vanilla almond milk.

shredded-wheat

Today marks the 2 month mark until my 10k race. It’s time to buckle down. Today is also the first day of my official 8 week 10k training plan! I have decided that since it’s time to get focused on training I also need to really zone in on my eating. I have declared this week my CFW and can’t wait to start feeling great. These are the rules that I have made for myself:

  • no refined carbs
  • no refined sugars
  • no frozen meals
  • lots of fruits/veggies
  • no dairy
  • no bars
  • no caffeine
  • no dessert

I will let you guys know how the week is going for me, i’m hoping it won’t be tooo difficult, but i’m going to need to do a lot of meal planning and be prepared. I have really been relying on my bars to get me through the day and have been eating at least 1 a day for a while now. I want to try and wean myself off them a little so that they are more like treats and for emergency purposes rather than every day snacks. They’re pretty expensive to have as daily snacks and i think this will save me a little money too. This is going to be the toughest part of my CFW I think for the week right along with DESSERTS! This also means, that I am only going to eat whole grain cereal or oatmeal for breakfast this week, and ultimately means no puffins. I have also become really addicted to these and eat a ziplock bag full every single day. This is going to be a toughie too. Let’s hope i make it through the week!!

 

Today after work i’m going to go over to the bikram yoga studio in Columbia and sign up for the 10 day pass. I am really excited about this, and hope that I can make it through the whole class tonight! It’s such a good deal for $25, seeing that just taking a single class is $20.

Here’s to the start of a great week!

40 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2009 10:09 am

    Sounds like you had a great weekend! : )

    I’ve decided to cut back this week myself and eat extra healthy so I can feel extra good, too! I ate too much this weekend, and I’ve slowly gained a few pounds in the past few months or so and I’m ready to be rid of those extra pounds before it gets worse.

    Good luck and HAPPY MONDAY : )

  2. February 16, 2009 10:31 am

    What a yummy weekend!

    Good luck with CFW!!

  3. February 16, 2009 10:39 am

    Hope all goes well with the plan! =D
    My weekend has been filled with so many eats, and now I need the stretchpants! LOL!

  4. February 16, 2009 10:51 am

    Looks like you had a really fun weekend!
    Good luck with your CFW I’m thinking of doing one in a couple weeks can’t wait to see how yours goes!
    Oh to answer your question you left me last week, I don’t live that close to Baltimore it’s about a 3 hour drive so it’s a fun place to get away too but not have to drive too far.

  5. Sarah permalink
    February 16, 2009 10:55 am

    those cupcakes just made my day, and week. isn’t crumbs a famous bakery, kinda like sprinkles?

  6. February 16, 2009 10:57 am

    Mmm pb cups are probably the best candy ever, so obviously that is an amazing cupcake you’ve got there!

  7. February 16, 2009 11:12 am

    Crumbs is always a stop when I am in NYC! Yum1

    Good Luck with your week!

    I might join you…I need to get back on track!

  8. February 16, 2009 11:22 am

    CFW is toooo hard for me, ha except for the frozen meals, i love all that stuff too much! Those cupcakes look amazing i love the little double carrier pack!

  9. February 16, 2009 11:33 am

    Good luck on following those rules! but I’m curious…why no dairy or caffeine?
    wow, those cupcakes look sooo pretty!

  10. February 16, 2009 11:35 am

    good luck w/ your CFW! I think your ideas about it sound great!

  11. February 16, 2009 11:45 am

    I have been contemplating a CFW, too. I think you have some great rules, and I know you can do it! Are Puffins not wholegrain? Or just too processed? Just curious. Best of luck 🙂

  12. February 16, 2009 11:48 am

    Holy shiiiiizz. Those cupcakes look orgasmic! Good luck with your crap free week- it takes a much stronger woman than me to do that! You can do it!

  13. Kate permalink
    February 16, 2009 12:04 pm

    HOLY YUM-those cupcakes look fab!!!WO girl, WO. No caffeine OR pb puffins?!?!? You are quite ambitious:P Good luck!

  14. February 16, 2009 12:09 pm

    Ooooh those cupcakes!! Look divine 🙂

    Good luck with CFW!!

  15. February 16, 2009 12:27 pm

    Wow that wrap just made me DROOL. I must make one of these!!!

    Good luck with the training! I too am trying to rely less on bars (Larabars)…they are so expensive!

    Angela

  16. February 16, 2009 1:22 pm

    good luck with CFW!! 🙂

  17. February 16, 2009 1:24 pm

    The Wii fit told me I was over 30 too! Haha. I think it’s cause of that stupid balance thing, I do not have good balance!

    You are going hardcore with your eating this week! That’s great, today I’m just working on cutting out carbs. I eat wayy too many carbs and I’ve been stalling bad on my weight loss! I have 11-weeks till my half-marathon :S eeek. It’s coming up fast!!

  18. February 16, 2009 1:32 pm

    I love the Wii! Boxing makes my arms hurt everytime!

    Those cupcakes looks amazing! You will do great on your CFW. I am trying to crack down on my crappy eating habits for the next little bit too. Good luck!

  19. February 16, 2009 1:57 pm

    SO I seriously need to give you a huge hug right now… IN PERS0N… But I can’t because we don’t live near each other 😦 (At least I don’t think so?!)

    Your comments, this past week, have been unbelievable. I have been so touched by your beautiful words, and they have eased the fears in my heart so. I could never thank you enough for all you have provided me with: The love, the prayers, the blessings, the unending sincerity of your words that I cherish so. Thank you, from the bottom of my heart. You are just a marvel. I love you so much!

    (PS) If you’re on Facebook friend me… Julia WIse.

  20. February 16, 2009 2:12 pm

    OH MY…I love how amazing those cupcakes look! Good luck with your Bikram adventure! I can’t wait to hear how you like it…I’ve always wanted to try!

  21. February 16, 2009 2:14 pm

    Hi Ash!!!

    YUMMY eats and wonderful posts and have fun at YOGA and massive hugs on your training and just wanted to say hi, sweetie! XOXO

  22. foodsthatfit permalink
    February 16, 2009 2:40 pm

    What pretty cupcakes! Have a great time at yoga and glad you got back from the airport safely! Have a great day!

  23. February 16, 2009 2:45 pm

    looks like you had a nice yummy weekend! what sort of 8 week training plan are you on??

  24. February 16, 2009 2:58 pm

    You can do it! Your CFW guidelines look good. Dare I say that I will join you? Hmmmm let me think about it. Those darn Puffins are evil! 🙂 You are strong and can get through this, no doubt!

    Kaneil, balanceisbest

  25. February 16, 2009 3:17 pm

    Hope all goes well with your CFW! Looking forward to seeing your eats!!! Have a wonderful MOnday!

  26. Erika permalink
    February 16, 2009 4:23 pm

    Those cupcakes look SOOOO GOOOD! I was drooling 😉

    In response to your question RE: flaxseed…I know that regular flax can not be digested until it is GROUND. So the ground flaxseed is better for you to eat. IDK what the difference is btwn golden/regular, though.

    Hope that helps!

    Delicious looking pics!

    ~Peaceandpeanutbutter

  27. February 16, 2009 4:38 pm

    ummmm OK! I thought about it for about 10 minutes and realized that there is no reason for me not to give it a shot. I did not completely succeed the first time I tried, but I think I had too much change going on at once. I can do it this time. ONE modification – I am going to have my first cup of coffee in the a.m. – but that’s all.

    I’m heading to whole foods this afternoon – any suggestions? I’m thinking lots of nuts/seeds, fruits, veggies, (avacado!), lean meat, eggs, etc. Are you going to stock up on anything new to supplement the bars and dairy? Email me if it’s easier! kaneilk@gmail.com

    kaneil, balanceisbest!

  28. February 16, 2009 5:14 pm

    I’m sure you’ll read it on my blog but I had to tell you–I signed up for the 10K in May! It was actually reading your “my race is 2 months away” statement that made me want to sign up! I don’t know what it was-I guess I want a deadline, too 🙂 So thanks!

  29. luckytastebuds permalink
    February 16, 2009 5:27 pm

    wow that IS such a great deal for yoga. Hmm and what is baby pumpkin? I think I like mine big and old. muhahhah

  30. February 16, 2009 7:45 pm

    those sound like some really good rules. i’ve been thinking about weaning myself off bars, too (you know it’s bad when a luna bar is your whole breakfast), and i’ve been trying to wean myself off of sweets. that said, those cupcakes look heavenly! hope your yoga class is great tonight!

  31. February 16, 2009 8:27 pm

    Hey there! Your dad seems so adventuresome with the food, I love it!!! Afghan… wow, I’ve never had it!
    As far as flax- I’ve asked someone I work with (I work at a health-food store) & nutritionally, there is no difference. There is a difference in taste, where the golden variety has a nuttier, buttery taste. Also, the brown was first used more commercially, but now that golden is on the rise, people almost shun it as “animal feed” (which, it’s not- it’s still great, but has been used longer). Make sure to TRY to get organic, as flax seed (& flax seed oil) is helpful in regulating hormones & bodily functions… none of those pesticides for your beautiful innards!!!
    Okay, I hope that was helpful. To summarize, golden has a richer flavor, but they’re both nutritionally the same & wonderful!
    p.s. your cupcakes are adorable!

  32. February 16, 2009 8:38 pm

    OH! and also, good luck with the “eating clean!” Lara Bars are unrefined, fyi! They’ve got a FAB & short ingredient list! Take care

  33. cleanveggiex3 permalink
    February 16, 2009 9:02 pm

    oh wow.
    those muffins look amazing

    good luck with CFW!!

  34. Matt permalink
    February 16, 2009 10:41 pm

    The only difference with the flax is the color, everything else is completely the same.

    Good luck with crap free week!

  35. February 16, 2009 11:54 pm

    Cute cupcakes! I probably would have got the reese…or maybe the coconut. Mmmmm.

  36. February 17, 2009 8:08 pm

    i love the idea of CFW!

  37. Sweet and Fit permalink
    February 18, 2009 3:59 pm

    I have never been to crumbs…the cupcakes look so cute though! Carrot cake is my absolute favorite too. Your CFW sounds miserable! Please tell me it will only be a week???

Trackbacks

  1. $1.10 + 110 kcal Organic Homemade Spelt Tortillas « Oh She Glows
  2. me?!?! Crap-Free? « Sweet and Fit
  3. Crap Free Week: Part 1 « Oh She Glows

Leave a Reply

