Skip to content

l-o-v-e

February 15, 2009

Happy Valentines day!! I hope each and every single one of you had a great day no matter what you did. I’ve missed all of you, and can’t wait until I can catch up on all of your blogs, ive got a lot of reading to do 🙂

Yesterday before I went to the airport I got a grilled veggie wrap from the little place by my work that i usually get paninis from. I got the grilled eggplant panini in a wrap instead, and subbed roasted garlic hummus for the pesto. Eh, I don’t think i’m going to do that again. It was allright, but the panini tasted maybe 100% better and I’ll be sticking to that from now on. I got it with a side salad and some balsalmic.

 wrap2

When I was sitting in the airport I had my mint chocolate luna cookie. Love this bar. It’s pretty similar to the zbar I think, and the flavor is awesome. I ate it while I FINISHED eat, pray, love. thats it, finished it finally! it was a great book, and i’m so happy i busted it out and finally read it all. Loved every page of it.

 luna1

When I got into Long Island we decided to grab dinner at a local sushi restuarant. I got some onion soup with mushrooms and a cucumber avocado roll, and a tempura sweet potato roll. This roll is my favorite sushi roll in the world. I don’t really see it at too many places but when i do i will always order it. no matter what. Chase ordered some sushi and an appetizer of chicken maki. it was pretty much a chicken roll, i tried some and thought it was okay. didn’t really taste like it should be in a sushi restaurant though.

clear-soup1

sushi1

chicken-maki1 

This morning I woke up and took Eden on a nice long walk. Luckily I brought some bars with me and ate an almond and coconut KIND bar on the walk. I am always starving when I get up, and Chase sleeps in so I knew that i’d probably need the bar.  We ended up getting lunch at one of the delis in his town and I got a roast beef sandwich with cheddar cheese and bbq sauce. It was one of their signature sandwiches and was really really tasty. His mom and step dad also got us some chocolates for Vday so i’ve been munching on those…

dinner… oh dinner. We went to Osteria Toscana which is the most amazing Italian restaurant i’ve personally ever been to. I started dinner off with a glass of reisling. We ordered the fresh tomato mozzerella and basil appetizer, and I took one piece. The cheese was so incredibly fresh. It’s amazing how high quality the food was. They offer their entrees in half orders too, and they are the perfect portion size.  I ordered the Orecchiette. It was ear shaped pasta with baby artichokes, caramelized shallots, herb breadcrumbs, and broccoli rabe (which they told me was italian broccoli, a little more bitter than regular broccoli). It wasn’t the prettiest picture, but it tasted so good. They handmake all their pasta and you can really taste the difference. Sorry the pictures aren’t very good. They turned the lights in the restaurant pretty low so it was hard to get enough light in the pics. Chase was a handy man and held the little tealight candle next to the plates so I could see 🙂 He ordered the entree called Pici. It is handrolled semolina spaghetti, san marzano tomato sauce, basil, and reggiano. I had this the last time I went there, and it is so simple and SO good. I branched out a little bit with dinner tonight, but i think if we go again i’m going to go back to this one. It has amazing flavor.  For dinner we got the chocolate ravioliiiiiii. This my friends was heaven in a dish. Chocolate ravioli with powdered sugar, and hazelnut ice cream and a side of caramel sauce.  perfect ending to a perfect meal.

 tomato-mozz1

my-pasta

his-pasta

dessert

One of Chase’s best friends works at a ice skating rink, and he was working really late and no one was there so we were able to go ice skating in an empty rink. The only time i’ve ever been ice skating was in 6th grade at a birthday party, and I was a rail holder. I did pretty good tonight, and they even had some ice hockey sticks and pucks so i played a little goalie, while trying to hold myself up 🙂

Then we watched  Slumdog Millionaire. I’ve been dying to see this movie and was not disappointed. i loved it.  now that its off my list of “go sees” I still have to go see Confessions of a shopaholic, and hes not that into you. I won’t make him go see those with me lol.

Today when we were driving I spotted a new little place in his town. A homemade cupcake shop! it’s called crumbs. too cute. I will be making a stop there tomorrow, and cant wait to see all their options!

Hope you all have a great rest of the weekend ❤

26 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2009 2:22 am

    Oh, I want to watch Slumdog!! =D Glad you had an awesome time overall, and tasty tasty!
    Happy Valentine’s Day!

  2. February 15, 2009 5:27 am

    Happy Valentine’s Day! Looks like you had such a great night–the Italian food looks authentic and delicious! Especially the chocolate raviloi 🙂 Hope you’re having a great time!

  3. February 15, 2009 8:43 am

    What a great day!! Yummy dinner + skating + movie = perfection 🙂

  4. February 15, 2009 9:06 am

    Mmmm that soup looks perfectly lovely! I happen to be a fan of clear broth soups. Something about them seems so beautiful – much like the first time I had Moroccan mint green tea in a glass.

    lol I have foodie problems!

  5. snackface permalink
    February 15, 2009 9:22 am

    OMG chocolate ravioli! And tomoato+mozz is so simple, but so delicious. I’m glad to see you Valentine’s day was wonderful! Thanks for your thoughts on Slumdog, I’ve been thinking about seeing it. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  6. February 15, 2009 9:23 am

    Aw you had such a special Valentine’s Day…I think the only way I would ice skate again was if i could do it on an empty rink, it makes me nervous!

  7. February 15, 2009 9:36 am

    Awww, it sounds like you guys had a fun night! Your food definitely sounds great!

  8. February 15, 2009 10:19 am

    Yum Yum Yum! All the food looks so good. I’m glad your having such a great time! I wanna go ice skating! Have a great sunday girl:)

  9. February 15, 2009 10:23 am

    hi pretty!
    those luna cookie things look real good i need to try!!!!!! i LOVE z-bars

    so happy you had a fulfilling valentines day thats what i love to hear 🙂

    those choco raviolis look to dieeeee for!
    (you’re so close to me right now!!!! heheh)

    have a beautiful sunday girl

  10. February 15, 2009 10:53 am

    awesome valentine’s day eats! im glad you had a blast. So funny that you mention cupcakes because I had the urge to go buy one today or tomorrow too! I got the package and absolutely LOVE it. I posted about it already 🙂 thanks girlie, because you know what I like perfectly. its all great.

  11. February 15, 2009 11:09 am

    Those LUNA cookies look delicious…think I’ll nab a few at the store this week. What do you think of Eat, Pray, Love?? I thought it was interesting but I couldn’t understand all of the hype. Guess I’m just more of a history fact-book kinda reader. Boring, oh well. Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

  12. February 15, 2009 11:18 am

    I got your tiger butter and it is fantastic!!! Thanks so much!

  13. February 15, 2009 11:34 am

    Sweet potato sushi?! So cool! And that ravioli looks insanely good. Glad you’ve had such a great weekend!

    I started Eat Pray Love this summer and never finished it. Maybe I will have to pick it back up!

    Kaneil, balanceisbest

  14. Sweet and Fit permalink
    February 15, 2009 12:56 pm

    as always, thanks for your super sweet comment! you have been missed! I’m glad you had a wonderful Valentine’s day – that dinner looks wonderful – baby artichokes + italian broccoli… soooo good! hope you enjoy the rest of your vacay! =)

  15. February 15, 2009 1:53 pm

    That sounds like the most perfect and romantic valentines day ever. My boyfriend and I went ice skating on an outdoor rink late at night once and it was SO fun/romantic!!

    I drug my boyfriend to ‘he’s just not that into you’ and he did not like it at all. I thought it was OK but a little dragged out. I guess I’ve ruined my chances for him going to shopaholic with me now though lol!

  16. Matt permalink
    February 15, 2009 2:34 pm

    All that food looks great. Good food + good date = good time right? Happy v-day!

  17. February 15, 2009 2:40 pm

    What a perfect evening!! Glad you had fun girl! Happy v-day! 🙂

  18. February 15, 2009 2:55 pm

    Everything looks amazing! That’s a pretty fabulou snight right there! I’m glad you enjoyed it. The chocolate ravioli looks especially delicious.. and I LOVE Eat, Pray, Love!

  19. February 15, 2009 4:54 pm

    I’m glad you loved the book- I did too!!! (Last year, haha) Looks like you had some great eats & treats on your trip. I’m glad you made it home safely!

  20. February 15, 2009 5:46 pm

    oh, I love sushi!

    I’ve seen that book floating around in blogland, but didn’t know if it dealt with religion or not. Is it?

  21. February 15, 2009 11:02 pm

    ps. since my last comment I have found, purchased and consumed a Mint Chocolate Lara Bar in your honor

  22. February 16, 2009 8:17 am

    fabulous eats!!

  23. Kate permalink
    February 16, 2009 9:16 am

    ahhhhhh. Can’t go wrong w/ sushi!Wow the Luna cookies are actually really cute! Did they say when they’d be dropping into stores?

  24. February 16, 2009 9:37 am

    sounds like a fantastic v-day! and cant wait to see what the cupcake place is like…

  25. February 16, 2009 10:13 am

    Mmmm…I am in the mood for pasta now, that sounded so good.

  26. February 16, 2009 7:40 pm

    it’s really hard to beat a good panini, isn’t it? i’m glad that you had a good time in ny, and it looks like you enjoyed some amazing sushi–i am so jealous!
    i lked eat, pray, love too. it makes me wanna just get up and run away to practice yoga and meditate all the time. and meet gorgeous italian men 😀

Leave a Reply

