Skip to content

leaving on a jetplane

February 13, 2009

HAPPY FRIDAY LOVIES πŸ™‚ the weekend is so close! this week went by pretty fast, anyone else with me?

So i’m sad to say that I was not a fan of the choc chip trailmix pure bar 😦 i wasn’t really expecting too much though, because i have never been a fan of trailmix anyways. I just don’t like how theres so much stuff in there haha. So if you like trailmix then you’d probably love this bar, theres tons of great stuff in it, just too much for me. Here’s the ingredient list, and once again everything is 100% organic and vegan and raw.

Dates, agave nectar, apples, raisins, cashews, almonds, sunflower seeds, raw cacao nibs, walnuts, rice protein, sea salt

pure-bar-trailmix1

I came home after work to find a cute little package on the dining room table. Jordan from Cliff sent me some Luna Cookies! They discontinued their tea cake product line and have replaced it with these. He sent me two of each of Chocolate Mint, and Berry Pomegranate. YUMM. I brought a Chocolate mint with me for my weekend, and cant wait to try the berry pomegranate when i get back! I’ll be posting a review when after i sink my teeth into them! Thanks Jordan!

luna-tea-cookies

I planned on making Caitlin from Healthy Tipping Point’s sweet potato and black bean burgers for dinner last night, but when I got home, i realized that the sweet potatoes had been sitting in the pantry a little too long… bleh so i tossed those in the garbage and did a little improv. ill definitely be making those sometime next week. I had half a block of tofu left that i had already pressed, so I cooked them on the skillet again and then took them off the heat and poured some annie’s bbq sauce and a smidge of agave in the pan and voila ! bbq tofu πŸ™‚ I cooked some brocoli up on the side, along with some foreman grilled zucchini.Β  Great makeshift dinner. I did however have twoof the extra pieces of tiger butter and two pieces of dark chocolate. I have been snacking a little too freely with the chocolates, and the sweets. I gotta get a hold of that. I”ll be cutting that out next week, because they’ve got me feeling a little blah. It’s like once I have dessert one night, it doesnt stop adn i’ll have dessert every night of the week. aggravating.

bbq-tofu

So in yesterdays post I said how I wanted to try out bikram at my local studio next week? wellllll, I was looking online and found out that there is a Bikram studio in columbia now! i guess it just recently opened? and they’re doing a special where you pay $25 for a 10 day pass. I think i’m going to do it starting next Monday. See how it feels to do it regularly, i’m hoping I can handle it this time.Β  On the website it says that the goal for begginers is that you should try and stay in the room the whole time. It doesn’t matter if you are doing the movesΒ  or just laying on the ground, but you’re supposed to stay and not leave the room. I think i was pushing myself too far last time and trying to keep up with all the pros. I am goign to focus purely on myself this time and not push it too hard. This is such an awesome deal, because at my local studio its $20 for one drop in class, and at that studio its $17, so i might as well pay a few extra dollars for 9 extra days! I cant’ wait to see how it makes my body feel. im exciteeeeeeddd.

Oats for breakfast today!

oatys

and i think i’m going to get that grilled eggplant panini for lunch that i love so much. After lunch i’m off to NY. I was really lucky, and my uncle had to cancel one of his flights and had to use up the reimbursement before the end of February. No one could use it, so he gave it to me and told me I could use it to go to NY. So i’m flying out at 4, and am taking a half day. Instead of the 5 1/2 hour drive, i’ll be getting there in an hour. ah so much better πŸ™‚ I’m not sure if i’ll be able to post this weekend, i’m going to try, but if i can’t i’ll be sure to give you all a full recap of the weekend including the vday dinner that i am ridiculously pumped for. chocolate ravioli HERE I COME (i’m definitely allowing dessert for this day, just not every night im there haha) ive been dying to try it! have a greattttttttt day xoxo

27 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2009 9:46 am

    Hope you have a great time in NY!

  2. February 13, 2009 9:47 am

    I am resigned myself to having dessert every night. Now it’s just a question of how sinister it will be πŸ˜‰
    Have a safe flight!!

  3. February 13, 2009 9:58 am

    Have a great day, and can’t wait to hear about chocolate ravioli!

  4. February 13, 2009 10:05 am

    WOW!!! Hope all goes well, safe travels!
    And mmm tea cookie!

  5. February 13, 2009 10:10 am

    I’m allowing myself dessert on Valentines day too πŸ™‚

    Have a great weekend!

  6. February 13, 2009 10:20 am

    Have a crazy amount of fun in NY!!! I can’t wait for the recap:) Happy Valentine’s day too (in case you don’t get to post the day of)!!! (whoah, exclamation marks gone wild)

  7. February 13, 2009 10:29 am

    have a great weekend. chocolate ravioli? cant wait to hear!

  8. February 13, 2009 10:45 am

    I am excited to hear how you like the Birkham.

    Have a safe and fun trip!

  9. February 13, 2009 11:27 am

    Have an awesome weekend!

  10. February 13, 2009 11:27 am

    Can’t wait to hear about Bikram yoga!!

  11. sarahdbelle permalink
    February 13, 2009 11:31 am

    Hope you have a wonderful trip and a wonderful Valentine’s Day! Can’t wait to hear about the dinner…

    Sarah
    http://sarahdbelle.wordpress.com/

  12. February 13, 2009 12:42 pm

    I just bought the same flavored pure bar……Hopefully I’ll like the taste as I do hate it when I buy yucky food.

    Tofu looks great!

  13. February 13, 2009 12:58 pm

    Have a good weekend πŸ™‚

    p.s. The blog’s finally back haha

  14. February 13, 2009 1:12 pm

    Yah for the luna cookies- let us know how they are. I love all of your bar reviews. Safe travels πŸ˜‰

  15. February 13, 2009 1:30 pm

    Have fun in NY!

  16. February 13, 2009 1:45 pm

    Where in NY will you be! Chocolate ravioli? YUM!!!

  17. February 13, 2009 2:58 pm

    so awesome that you’re giving bikram another shot β€” I hope you have a good experience! just remember to drink tons of water (and electrolytes like in smartwater) and take a childs-pose break if you need one! πŸ™‚

  18. February 13, 2009 3:18 pm

    Hooray!!! Have a GREAT weekend : ) : )

  19. February 13, 2009 4:06 pm

    hey ashley! i was looking back at old posts in my own blog, and stumbled across a comment you left me – shame on me not saying hello back! so HI and thanks for the comment from forever ago! =)

    cant wait to hear about those teacakes, i haven’t found them yet! and good for you for trying out bikram yoga – i really really want to, too!

    have a great weekend!

  20. Kate permalink
    February 13, 2009 4:43 pm

    your dinner looks so good! Sometimes I just love having a really light din din. I HATE however when I find I have a bad one or two sweet potatoes, it really saddens me. GEEZ! I am SO jealous of these awesome packages! How did Cliff go a/b contacting you? I didn’t know they got new products-I’m glad, I wasn’t a huge fan of the tea cakes.

  21. February 13, 2009 6:05 pm

    Lucky woman! Those Luna cookies sound so good! And I might have to use some of my BBQ sauce adn try tofu for the first time soon!

    Have so much fun in New York! That is one of my favorite places ever!

  22. February 13, 2009 9:46 pm

    oh lucky you with the clif samples! i can’t wait to hear what you think so i can find them in stores!!!! i always did like the tea cakes!

  23. Sweet and Fit permalink
    February 14, 2009 10:18 am

    Happy Valentine’s Day! hope you have a wonderful weekend with the boy!

  24. February 14, 2009 12:38 pm

    LOVE PURE BARS!!

    Have a fun weekend, girl!! xx

  25. Matt permalink
    February 14, 2009 2:04 pm

    Have fun in NY!

  26. cleanveggiex3 permalink
    February 14, 2009 9:42 pm

    wow – i love pretty much all of that stuff
    i didn’t know luna had cookies in a pomegranate flavor! YUM!
    have fun in NY πŸ˜€

  27. February 15, 2009 8:25 pm

    Thanks so much for the link! Hope you are having fun in NY! My brother lives there. Love Blossom for dinner:

    http://thepurebar.com/veronicasblog/?tag=blossom-nyc

    also a great (and inexpensive) place to stay:

    http://thepurebar.com/veronicasblog/?tag=new-york

    Be safe!!

Leave a Reply

