Skip to content

tofu time

February 10, 2009

whew, i was exhausted last night. sorry i didn’t get to post my bed was calling my name πŸ™‚ lets see, where did i leave off?

Group power class during my lunch break! I am feeling it this morning. I”m so happy I finally have some strength training scheduled into my workouts. Thats the area I have always skimped on, and its so good for you. Right now i take the group power monday and wednesdays and could probably throw in another strength workout during the week, but right now i’m going to keep it going 2 days a week strong. Lunch was a little random, I had some crackers and sabra hummus then had an almond butter and black cherry preserves sandwich on my last two slices of ezekiel. It’s offical. I definitely am loving almond butter more than my peanut butter. It has really grown on me, and I crave it now!Β  I would have never even tried it had it not been for all of you and your suggestions, so thank you!!

hummus-and-crackers1

ab-and-j1

I had my yoga class last night, and on the way over grabbed a banana to get me through to 8pm. amazing class as usual. got to do some half moons and reverse half moons, reallly makes the glutes sore!!Β  my favorite pose so far is tree pose, it makes me feel like such a yogi πŸ™‚

When I got back from yoga I came home and made some tofu a la Gliding Calm! I made it a little differently though. When I was in yoga, i left some books on the tofu to press the moisture out. When I got back I sprayed some olive oil into a skillet and cooked the tofu on there. I mixed up my marinade, which was a little bit of everything. no measurements, just thrown in together. Soy sauce, sesame oil, rice vinegar, little swig of agave, oyster sauce (AMAZING, this is the sauce they put on any eel rolls at sushi restaurants) and some sriracha hot sauce(also amazing) then a couple shakes of red pepper flakes. I mixed it all together and then when the tofu was nice and golden I took the skillet off the heat, and threw the marinade into the pan. It thickened up really nicely and glazed and coated each piece of tofu perfectly. I have tried baking it and everytime I always end up burning it so I wanted to see how it worked out on the skillet. perfect πŸ™‚ I ate it with some of the leftover veggies from the night before and also a piece of chinese eggplant. Dessert for the night wasΒ a few mini pieces of raspberry dark chocolate from Miss Lora!

tofu-and-veggies

As soon as dinner was over I hopped into bed to read more of my book. I AM SO CLOSE TO FINISHING πŸ™‚ i have fallen in love with this book so much and can’t wait to see how it ends. My next book in line if Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson, and it looks so good. I have heard nothing but great things about it, and the lovely Vani from FitforFree is sending me her copy to read! hopefully knowing that i’m borrowing it from someone else will help me finish it that much quicker πŸ™‚ im so excited. thanks Vani!

This morning I had a ww cinnamon raisin english muffin with some almond butter and a bowl of fresh strawberries, blueberries, and half a banana. sweet and simple.Β Β 

eng-muff-and-berries1

Β Hope your Tuesday is going well πŸ™‚ Big congrats to Meghann for putting together the awesome bake sale. she raised over $1100!! amazing, yay bakers!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    February 10, 2009 9:16 am

    That breakfast is GORGEOUS. Seriously, berries are like the easiest addition to make any meal just look pretty. Psh no worries on going to bed-isn’t that sometimes a great feeling when you actually do listen to your body and just PASS OUT and crash? haha maybe just me….I am still scared to do the yoga pass! HAHA I know I’ll start next week or in 2 weeks….but what do you wear!

  2. February 10, 2009 9:25 am

    Your breakfast looks delish, especially your fruit salad.
    I felt the same way last night, all I wanted to do was curl up in bed and fall asleep, it took me a little while but I definitely got a great night’s sleep.

  3. February 10, 2009 10:04 am

    That tofu looks delish! Yum!

  4. February 10, 2009 10:45 am

    I wish I could be in a group power class during my lunch break, sounds great!!

    And, yeah, that tofu DOES look delish!

  5. February 10, 2009 10:51 am

    Love the breakfast! I can’t find those WW english muffins anywhere!

  6. February 10, 2009 10:59 am

    Mmmm…tofu, I never seem to get mine to brown up, so perfectly.

    I hear ya on the strength training, I do not do nearly as much as I should.

  7. February 10, 2009 11:11 am

    I’m not a huge fan of gingerbread either and I was VERY pleasantly surprised – its not that super strong ginger flavor that almost hurts your nose like wasabi – it’s really more like “spiced muffin” with pumpkin – very yummy! THANK YOU DEAR!

  8. February 10, 2009 11:16 am

    mmm, that tofu looks good. i’ve never had tofu, but this seems like a good way to prepare it. glad you love the almond butter!

  9. February 10, 2009 11:32 am

    I bought almond butter last week but it didn’t really hit the spot for me. It was really dark coloured and it had pieces of almonds in it… Maybe I should try a more smooth or creamy kind?

    I used to do weights 4 or 5 times a week but now I’ve cut back to just twice a week for an hour. It still seems to do the trick though πŸ™‚

  10. February 10, 2009 11:52 am

    wow, your tofu looks great! i love tofu, but have trouble cooking it myself.
    so glad you discovered almond butter!! try dipping dark chocolate in it for dessert πŸ™‚

  11. February 10, 2009 12:17 pm

    Your tofu looks great!! Ahh so glad you’re an AB lover – I crave it too πŸ™‚

  12. snackface permalink
    February 10, 2009 12:25 pm

    Holy beautiful breakfast! After reading how you’re converting to AB, I really have to hunt some down!
    Have a lovely Tuesday!

  13. February 10, 2009 12:27 pm

    I love the arrangement of your berries photo πŸ™‚ congrats on working at strength training twice a week! that was one of my goals for the new year, along with adding yoga to my exercise. I have been failing a little bit at both, oops, but twice a week sounds like a very reasonable, attainable goal! and you will definitely see results πŸ™‚

  14. sarahdbelle permalink
    February 10, 2009 12:53 pm

    I’m the same way about weight training- I could always use more. Unfortunately the last class I tried, I got nailed in the chest with a medicine ball : ( Now I’m chicken.

    Your breakfast looks wonderful!

    Sarah
    http://sarahdbelle.wordpress.com/

  15. February 10, 2009 2:36 pm

    oooooh yummy eats! So glad you are loving your almond butter. I’ve never eaten tofu but you sure make it look good!!

  16. February 10, 2009 3:03 pm

    ash i’m so sorry i’ve been MIA on the blog scene – I have been student teaching 5 hours a day, training, and keeping up (barely) with my school work. I plan on getting a post in tonight and letting the world know what i’ve been doing. looking like things are good with you! … my friend and i are seriously looking into that race in Columbia.

    hope all is well πŸ™‚

  17. February 10, 2009 3:52 pm

    Your tofu looks so yummy!

  18. February 10, 2009 4:10 pm

    Ok, your version of GC tofu looks perfect!! What is the secret? Mine is always just brown on the edges 😦

  19. Sweet and Fit permalink
    February 10, 2009 10:58 pm

    damn…you can handle the spice! siracha and red pepper flakes in your marinade!

  20. February 12, 2009 3:36 pm

    I want to thank you for posting this HIIT template, I am going to try it today!

Trackbacks

  1. Tofu Happy « Raspberry Runner

Leave a Reply

