Skip to content

thumbs down, then up

February 10, 2009

so dinner tonight wasn’t as good as expected. boooo. I of course had a great time with my friend brooke though, its always so good to catch up! We went to Victoria’s Gastro Pub in Columbia, and it had gotten some great reviews. The  waiter was pretty bad and was suuuuuper slow, he kinda just flirted with the hostess the whole time and didn’t really pay us any attention. we were there for about 2 hours, and the restaurant wasn’t extremely busy. I think our waiter had about 3 tables including us. I went for it and ordered the Roasted Butternut Squash risotto. The description was pecans, humboldt fog goat cheese, pumpkin oil. Now I kinda went out on a limb here for two reasons. I have never tried risotto before, and I have never tried goat cheese, let alone this humboldt fog kind. I wasn’t a fan 😦 I ate maybe 5 bites of it and then stopped. I just didn’t like it. And there was a tonnnn of oregano in it. The flavors were just so strong and nothing in my opinion blended well together. Strange for me because i’m not a picky eater, and usually love all the food I order. This wasn’t the dish for me. I think I just ordered the wrong thing, there are a few items on the menu that I could really enjoy. I decided that the only thing left to do was make up for it with dessert 🙂 I was hoping to have better luck in this department. All of their desserts are made on site, and all sounded really good. I went for the Pumpkin Cinnamon Raisin Bread pudding with vanilla  gelato. I have only tried bread pudding one time at whole foods, a tiny piece of chocolate bread pudding from the hot bar, so once again was going something i am not too knowledgeable of, but this time it was a SUCCESS! this was so incredibly perfect. I am a huge fan of pumpkin in absolutely anything, and lately i’ve come to love cinnamon raisin in pretty much any way, shape, or form too. So I was thinking this one had potential. such a winner, and loved every bite of it! I ate about 3/4 of it, and then brought the rest home to share. It was that good, I had to have someone else try it too. Dessert, big thumbs up! dinner, eh not so much. It was really dark in the restaurant, so sorry the pics aren’t the best quality. 

photo-33

photo-25

The wonderful Sabrina from RhodeyGirl Tests sent me some of her Zaatar! It’s a mix of thyme, oregano, and marjoram with toasted sesame seeds and salt. Here’s how she uses it. I have some pizza dough in the freezer just waiting to be used, so this will be on the list for tomorrow night. I can’t wait to try it! i have a feeling i’m going to love it! Thank you sabrina 🙂 you are too sweet!! 

mail

On the agenda tomorrow is Group Power! Woop! I also want to throw in a yoga session from yogadownloads. I am soooreee and need a good relaxing long stretch. Yoga just makes me feel so rejuvenated and alive. Have a great night 🙂

29 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2009 10:55 pm

    Oh wow tasty!! And have a great time tomorrow!!

  2. AnAppleADay permalink
    February 10, 2009 10:56 pm

    i’m sorry that risotto didn’t live up to your expectation! but DESERT definitely looks YUM!

    I’ve noticed that you’ve received PURE bars too!!!! I’ve tried two flavors so far and omg I LOVE them!
    did they email you first?

  3. Sweet and Fit permalink
    February 10, 2009 11:02 pm

    ugh! i’m sad that you had such a bad experience your first time with risotto – it really is a great dish, actually one of my favorites. I hope you give it another try sometime though.

  4. foodsthatfit permalink
    February 10, 2009 11:14 pm

    I bought some Zaatar for a recipe I found a while ago and never ended up making it! I am glad you posted this b/c now I have some ideas on how to use it!

  5. February 11, 2009 12:01 am

    At least dessert was good. Desserts a very important food group if you ask me! have a great night!

  6. snackface permalink
    February 11, 2009 12:38 am

    Luckily all we really need in life is dessert, right? Haha. I’m sorry the rest of the experience was poo though.

    Ooooh have a fab time with power group!

  7. February 11, 2009 1:14 am

    I am interested on seeing how the Zaatar turns out!

  8. February 11, 2009 1:27 am

    Sorry you didn’t like your entree but that dessert looks awesome! And it’s great you got to catch up with your friend!

  9. February 11, 2009 5:02 am

    Bummer 😦 At least dessert didn’t let you down!

  10. February 11, 2009 6:20 am

    I’ve never had risotto either! Sorry it didn’t turn out so well for you… BUT you can never go wrong with gelato!! 😀

    At least(most importantly) you have fun with your friend!! 😀

  11. February 11, 2009 6:37 am

    Glad you had a great time, despite the food not being as good as expected;)

    Have a great day!!

  12. February 11, 2009 7:39 am

    you’re welcome dear! let me know how you like it!

  13. February 11, 2009 8:00 am

    Those spices sounds yummers! Can’t wait to see how you use them

  14. February 11, 2009 8:27 am

    Sorry the risotto wasn’t good, but that dessert sounds sooooooooooooooo yummy!!!!!!!!!!

  15. February 11, 2009 8:29 am

    girrrrl im sorry you had horrible service!
    that SUCKS.
    what a jerkO
    but that pumpkin cinnamon raisin bread pudding sounds MIGHTY fine.

    *drools*

    glad you like my pictures
    🙂

    have a prettty pretty day

  16. February 11, 2009 8:46 am

    ooh, i’m sorry you didn’t like the risotto. the bread pudding looks fab, though, and i’m glad you had a good time with your friend. don’t give up on risotto or goat cheese–risotto is usually really good, and not terribly strongly flavored at all. humboldt fog cheese is blue cheese, so that may have been why you didn’t like the taste, but regular goat cheese is just heavenly!

  17. February 11, 2009 8:57 am

    That dessert looks great! Glad you were able to enjoy something while you were there!

  18. February 11, 2009 9:00 am

    sadness about the dinner! but glad you liked the dessert!

  19. February 11, 2009 9:19 am

    Too bad about that place. I have been wanting to check it out. My sister lives right around the corner from there!

  20. February 11, 2009 9:36 am

    Sorry dinner was a bust but dessert?! YUM!

  21. February 11, 2009 9:53 am

    I love anything pumpkin too! bread pudding is delicious, esp with pumpkin of course! sorry you didn’t like the risotto, but I’m sure that decadent dessert made up for your loss!

  22. February 11, 2009 10:58 am

    Your dessert looks awesome! I can kinda see why your risotto wasn’t good, the ingredients don’t sound like they mesh, which is sad because risotto is sooo good!

  23. katecooks permalink
    February 11, 2009 1:26 pm

    wow that dessert looks delish! i am on such a dessert kick lately 🙂 btw, i totally hear you on the whole exercise thing…i have not been in the mood but telling myself i can just go and do 20 minutes and then usually am enjoying it so i do a little more. great job picking something to keep you moving!!!

  24. February 11, 2009 1:55 pm

    I hate when meals out arent as good as you’d hoped. at least you had good company

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

  25. February 11, 2009 2:09 pm

    That’s why I usually don’t order something new at a restaurant, because I hate when I don’t like it and I paid for nothing, when I could have gotten a dish that I like.

    The desert looked great!

  26. February 11, 2009 2:20 pm

    Don’t give up on the risotto yet! Risotto made properly is awesome. I love a really great mushroom risotto myself, but seafood risottos are almost up there.

  27. luckytastebuds permalink
    February 11, 2009 3:50 pm

    oooh just like you I have a GIANT looove for pumpkin (and butternut squash probably because they taste so much alike). I’m so glad that dessert worked out better for you. I TOTALLY agree though, goat cheese is NOT the way to go. I’ve had a super bad experience with it at a fancy restaurant in Chicago and the chef came out to ask me what was wrong with the “complimentary appetizer”. hahahah 🙂

  28. cleanveggiex3 permalink
    February 11, 2009 8:02 pm

    sorry dinner wasn’t that great :\
    atleast dessert made up for it!

  29. February 11, 2009 8:26 pm

    Sorry your dinner was disappointing. 😦

    Yay for yummy stuff to try!

Leave a Reply

