Skip to content

goodies

February 9, 2009

Before I get started with the post, head over to Meghann’s site and start bidding on the bake sale!!! Everything looks divineeee. I’m making Tiger Butter. I had this for the first time over the holidays and it is really mouth watering good. It’s peanut butter and chocolate fudge with vanilla swirls! AMAZING!!!!!!!!!

tigerbutter1

Last night when I got home from my drive I was greeted by two lovely packages! One was a box of 8 mini POM juice’s from Molly at POM Wonderful! and the other one was a 12 bar variety pack from Rebecca at Pure Bars!! How excitinggg!!!!!!

I had some of the Pom when I got back and loved it. I had bought 1 or two of these bottles when I was at school and savored it. I would mix it with seltzer water and it would make the most delicious flavored soda! Really reallllyyyyy good! They also have a lot of different health benefits listed on the website as well as a ton of different recipes you can use! Check it out :)The Pomtini looks the best to me, and i think it would go really well together because the juice is nice and tart. Thank you Molly!! I’m in love with the cute bottles and can’t wait to drink them up!

pom

Rebecca from Pure Bar really spoiled me! She gave me 2 of each of all 6 of their different flavors! I had NO idea they had this many. I had only tried the Cherry Cashew before, which I absolutely fell in love with. The other flavors are chocolate brownie, wild blueberry, apple cinnamon, cranberry orange, and choc chip trailmix. These are organic, raw, and vegan! and are mighty tasty!! I brought the wild blueberry one with me today to snack on, and its really good. awesome flavor. So far, cashew cookie #1, and blueberry #2. I’ll keep you updated on the flavor rankings. To me they are similar to larabars, but have a stickier consistency. Check out their site for more info! Thanks Rebecca i can NOT wait to try all the flavors πŸ™‚

pure-bars-package

pure-flavors

Last night for dinner I had some stirfried king oyster mushrooms and asparagus, some chinese greens, and some rice.Β  I can not get enough of these mushrooms. They are the BEST ingredient in a stir fry to me!

stirfry-dinner

This morning I wanted something other than oats, and saw that we had some fresh berries in the fridge. I had some wheaties with sliced strawberries and blueberries with some soyΒ milk and flax. Nice change up from the ever so loved oats.

cereal-this-morning

I was able to upload the Botanical Garden pics and am posting a bunch of different favorites of mine. It was so incredibly beautiful there. It was amazing to see so many different types of orchids. After we went to the orchid conservatory we walked around outside and I was able to snag some more pics. The first picture was as soon as you walked into the building and looked up, the ceiling was gorgeous stained glass. I hope you enjoy them!!

img_1633

img_1638

img_1643

img_1644

img_1648

img_16522

img_16531

img_16582

img_16661

img_16613

img_1667

img_1680

31 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2009 11:42 am

    SUCH beautiful photos! I really love the last one of the berries.
    Way to go on the POM + Pure Bars! I can’t wait for reviews on all the flavors so I know which one to purchase first πŸ˜‰

  2. February 9, 2009 11:47 am

    Oh my gosh, the botanical garden photographs are incredible! You’re so talented πŸ™‚

  3. February 9, 2009 12:29 pm

    Beautiful flowers! I made Tiger Butter over the holidays as well – they are a hit!!

    I’m jealous of your Pure Bars! I can’t find them 😦

  4. katecooks permalink
    February 9, 2009 12:42 pm

    your weekend eats look so yummy!! i will have to check out those pure bars. they look good!!! i am always looking for new bars to test πŸ™‚

    cookingwithkate.wordpress.com

  5. February 9, 2009 12:55 pm

    lucky you on those vegan pure bars!! let us know how they are!!

  6. February 9, 2009 1:03 pm

    those flowers are amazing. thanks for sharing!

  7. February 9, 2009 1:06 pm

    Those pictures are so beautiful!!! What a nice thing to see on a cold, February morning πŸ™‚

  8. February 9, 2009 1:11 pm

    you are one lucky girl! πŸ™‚ how did you get the pom, did you contact them or did they contact you?? i’ve been seeing it on everyones blog and I’m totally jealous I didn’t get to try it out!

  9. luckytastebuds permalink
    February 9, 2009 1:13 pm

    i looove that you called them tiger butter! That is totally what it looks like and it looks very very professional!!

    Definitely fill us in on how those PURE bars taste! I’ve been eyeing them for a while now but not quite ready to take the plunge. πŸ˜›

  10. eatinnyc permalink
    February 9, 2009 1:16 pm

    Those pictures are GORGEOUS! I love photographing flowers πŸ™‚ You really should frame that white orchid one, it’s striking. It would look RIDICULOUS in black and white. Love it πŸ™‚
    S

  11. February 9, 2009 1:20 pm

    Those pictures are gorgeous! I love orchids! Nice work!

    Nice packages too! Can’t wait for the review of the bars. And all your food looked great from your fun weekend…glad you enjoyed yourself!

  12. February 9, 2009 2:32 pm

    DO the pomtinis for sure, they are my favorite way to enjoy pom!

  13. snackface permalink
    February 9, 2009 3:11 pm

    Botanical garden pics are beautiful! Whatever the third flower down is, I want to cover my room in them. If I didn’t have allergies.

    I’ve never had a pure bar, but I’m sure they’re amazing, which means I’m jealy of the package! Have a fab day!

  14. February 9, 2009 3:22 pm

    I’m positively AWESTRUCK!!

  15. February 9, 2009 4:04 pm

    Nice loot!! Great flower pics too!

  16. February 9, 2009 4:24 pm

    WOW- gorgeous pictures!!! You have a talented eye!

  17. February 9, 2009 4:47 pm

    The botanical garden pictures are truly breathtaking. You have quite the eye!

    Your fudge looks heavenly! I’m so jealous of your Pure bars and the POM Wonderful. The pictures and descriptions are making me drool.

  18. Kate permalink
    February 9, 2009 5:06 pm

    Thank you so much!!!! I am still pretty disappointed though:( I really felt we deserved to WIN, but that’s life! I am SO glad to be back and catching up! I Posted pics!!! And ps, I have never made Tiger butter but it is one of the most amazing things I’ve ever eaten. I’ve been to The Rocky Mountain Choc. Factory and always get it there!!!

  19. February 9, 2009 5:45 pm

    So many good things in this post! Tiger bark (yum!), free samples, purdy flowers…awesome πŸ˜€

  20. February 9, 2009 6:12 pm

    you had quitttee the action packed weekend girlfriend!
    grandma & grandpa’s yayyy!!!

    where in NC do they live?!
    mmm barney butter..mmm i wanna try.
    anyway
    not a problem about my cousin, that’s what i’m here for, spreadin the love..ya dig?
    really though i think i just want you to come live in NYC and when i get out of elon we can go about the town together. sounds like living the dream right there.

    ❀ tell me how those pure bars are πŸ™‚

  21. February 9, 2009 6:44 pm

    that looks like a great breakfast alternative to oats. you take amazing photographs, too. i love that picture of the ceiling!
    can’t wait to hear what you think about the pure bars, i’ve never had one.
    have a lovely monday evening!

  22. February 9, 2009 6:55 pm

    Wow. Gorgeous flowers! Thanks for sharing.

  23. February 9, 2009 6:56 pm

    Oh wow, delicious eats! Those Pure Bars are interesting!
    And lovely pictures!!!

  24. February 9, 2009 7:53 pm

    wow, those flower photos are AWESOME! I want to get married somehwere there is a botancial garden.

    I need the recipe for that tiger butter- wow- my mouth is watering looking at the picture! Can you email it to me?!

    How luck are you with all those free sample packages!! YUM!

  25. cleanveggiex3 permalink
    February 9, 2009 8:07 pm

    oh wow those look amazing!!!

    I LOVE PURE BARS! they are the best. im so jealous

  26. February 9, 2009 9:03 pm

    Hey hun! How are you? I want to try those Pure bars so bad! Jealous of your samples πŸ˜‰ Your baked good for Meghann’s fund raiser looks AWESOME! I bet it will get tons of $$! Beautiful pics from the gardens- I am a huge flower fan (I worked in a flower shop through high school and college!) Hope your Monday is going well

  27. strongandhealthy permalink
    February 9, 2009 9:33 pm

    Those pictures are beautiful!

    I’d love to try those Pure bars!

    http://www.strongandhealthy.wordpress.com

  28. February 9, 2009 10:22 pm

    That fudge is making me drool! HAHA

    The flower pics are awesome…so beautifuL!! : )

  29. February 9, 2009 10:35 pm

    yes…dark choco dreams for sure and whatever else you would like to send πŸ™‚ I cant mail out the BB til Thurs bc I am in classes all day tomorrow and Wednesday with only a few breaks. I think you are going to be so excited for what I am mailing out πŸ™‚ love that tiger butter! it reminds me of my Reese’s bars kinda. hope they sell out at a very expensive price πŸ™‚

  30. Sweet and Fit permalink
    February 10, 2009 8:23 am

    omgosh! those botanical garden pics are beautiful! glad you had such a good time =)

  31. February 10, 2009 10:03 am

    Thank you so much for posting on the Pure Bars. We are proud of them and love it when others discover their goodness! I created them 2 years ago and still eat one every day. I’m glad you like them. Your blog is wonderful and so are your pictures. Keep up the good work!!

Leave a Reply

