Skip to content

the hills

February 5, 2009

Warning: same pics as yesterday 🙂

I woke up to another bowl of Barney Oats. This time with the heart healthy 3/4 c serving! I am loving the flavor combo of this. The vanilla almond milk goes perfectly with the barney butter. These poor packets are going to be gone so quickly. Snacked on some more yogurt and the other half of my granola plank from yesterday. I would love to try the blueberry vanilla granola plank, so hopefully soon maybe they’ll get some over here or i might have to wait until it comes back on their website and buy some. these planks are amazing 🙂 I also had one of my yoga cookies. This batch was awesome. I think next time i’m going to add some shredded coconut to it. You can never go wrong with adding a little coconut into your baked goods, i love it!

barney-day-2

granola-plank-21

During lunch today, I decided to do a hill workout. Whenever i see a good treadmill routine, whether it be in a magazine, or on a website, i write it down in a little notebook. I will bring the notebook with me to the gym, and randomly pick out a routine to switch things up. Using intervals really helps me with my treadmill boredom. Today I decided to combine 2 different 20 minute hill routines. By the end of the workout it really was burning my calves and inner thighs. Hills are great to do, and i love how they’re incorporated into my new 10k plan. Here’s the workout: you can change speeds to your own needs

TIME           SPEED            INCLINE

0-3                     4                      1
3-3:30              4.5                  2
3:30-4              4.5                  4
4-4:30              4.5                  6
4:30-5              4.5                  7
5-6                     6                      1
6-7                     5                      1
7-7:30             5.5                  2
7:30-8             5.5                  4
8-8:30             5.5                  6
8:30-9             5.5                  7
9-10                 4.5                  1
10-11               7                      1
11-12               4.5                  1
12-12:30        6                      2
12:30-13        6                      4
13-13:30        6                      6
13:30-14        6                      7
14-16               4.5                  1
16-17              8                       1
17-20             4                       1
20-25             4                       3
25-27             4                       8-10
27-28             4                       4-6
28-30             4                       10
30-31             4                        5-7
31-33             4                        12
33-34             4                        10
34-35             4                        12
35-40            4                          2

 

Let me know if any of you try it and what you think 🙂 It’s a lot of changing speeds and inclines, but it really makes the workout fly by.

 

Lunchtime called for an amys cheese enchilada meal. I am finally almost finished my amys stash. i love mixing the beans and corn together.

amys-ench

can’t wait till after work. The Honest Foods country squares that I won on Angela’s giveaway came yesterday, but I wasn’t home, so i’m going to pick it up on my way home from the post office! i cant waittt to eat one!! Thanks so much lovey ❤

I have some leftover spaghetti squash, so i’m going to probably do something similar to last nights dish for dinner tonight. Then i’m off to Virginia Tech for the night!

 

I made a big move and told my mom, dad, and boyfriend about my blog! and tonight I”m going to tell my sister! At first i wasn’t sure if i wanted to share it, but then I decided that this is something that is really important to me, and I wanted them to be a part of it too 🙂 I might eventually let my friends know, but right now thats the list!

27 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2009 2:29 pm

    Great day of eats- love that Amy’s meal! Glad you told them, your blog rocks and they should know so 😉

  2. katecooks permalink
    February 5, 2009 2:35 pm

    Congrats on sharing the news!! I told my mom, sisters, and roommate…and one of my friends who also loves reading food blogs! But that’s it so far. I just need to get into the groove a little more myself. Right now I am doing it for ME, if that makes any sense??

    PS, just added you to my blogroll 🙂

  3. February 5, 2009 2:42 pm

    That Oatmeal looks incredible!

  4. February 5, 2009 3:12 pm

    Good on ya for letting your family in on your blog. I haven’t told anyone myself about mine, and I don’t know when or if I will, not because I want it to be a big secret, but I just don’t feel the need to. I guess if they were to stumble on it, then cool.

  5. February 5, 2009 3:20 pm

    That workout looks intense but fun, I’ll have to give it a try.

  6. February 5, 2009 3:39 pm

    that workout sounds cool – good job. I am sure your family and friends will enjoy keeping up with you through the blog!

  7. February 5, 2009 3:44 pm

    Even without a picture, the mention of yoga cookies made me want one! 🙂 Thanks so much for your encouraging comments. It makes me day better and better every time I see one!

    That’s great that you shared your blog with your family. My boyfriend is the only one that knows about mine and he doesn’t understand why I’m not spreading the news. I kind of feel like I’m keeping a secret even though it’s a great thing that I know they would love to see. I guess I will let them know on my own time.

    Have fun at VT tonight! I’m jealous that you’re getting to see your sis, I miss mine so much!

    Kaneil, balanceisbest

  8. luckytastebuds permalink
    February 5, 2009 3:48 pm

    wow i am totally with you…about thinking it’s a big step to reveal the blog to the family…and even scarier, the friends. HMMM

    What a great idea to write down those training ideas in a notebook and randomly pick one at the gym! You’re very creative!

    P.s I also LOVE getting packages in the mail. It gets me so pumped throughout the day!! 🙂

  9. February 5, 2009 4:02 pm

    that’s great your going to let your family know! Good luck! xoxo

  10. February 5, 2009 4:20 pm

    Putting routines into a notebook sounds like such a great idea! Who knows why I’ve never thought of that before, as I’m the queen of lists and writing stuff down. Totally gonna adopt that habit!

  11. February 5, 2009 4:21 pm

    i love interval hill workouts because they are never boring! I called Whole Foods today and my boy is not working! erg! But, he is calling me back tomorrow. So tomorrow I will know when it comes in to the store, if it hasn’t already yet. I am wondering if he is just hiding it somewhere, so its just for me? hahaha I wish. But, yeah tomorrow I will let you know because those packets do go by fast!

  12. February 5, 2009 4:32 pm

    Looks like an awesome hill workout, I’ll have to give it a try!! Have a fun weekend with your sis!

  13. February 5, 2009 4:51 pm

    i loooove amy’s, but i’ve still never tried the cheese enchilada. trust me, it’s on the top of my list since it looks so delicious!
    i’m definitely going to have to try that hill workout. the treadmill and i are enemies, but this looks interesting enough to keep me from getting bored.
    that’s great that you told your family! that’s a huge step, and i know they’ll love your blog. hope you’re having a relaxing thursday evening.

  14. February 5, 2009 5:07 pm

    That’s great you let your family know! Be confident! You are doing a great job!

  15. February 5, 2009 5:46 pm

    Holy Cannoli–I don’t think I have ever done an incline of 12 before! I have to work up to this one but it looks like a great workout. Thanks for posting it! Good job!

  16. February 5, 2009 6:48 pm

    Great workout! I love incline work. I need to try some Amy’s products..they all look so good.

    Way to go telling the fam about the blog. I just told my best friend, but made her promise not to tell anyone or I would kill her haha.

  17. February 5, 2009 7:10 pm

    I hear ya with the coconut … it seems like I’ve been adding it to just about everything lately and I’m loving it!

  18. February 5, 2009 7:42 pm

    oo I hope your family comments!

  19. February 5, 2009 7:47 pm

    LOOOOVE Amy’s stuff! So quick and easy 🙂

  20. February 5, 2009 8:52 pm

    I think I might try that Hill workout at some point this weekend. I will let you know what I think.

    I went scavenging through my house today looking for oats because after looking at your oatmeal I want some for breakfast tomorrow!

    I have not let my family know about my blog yet. Once I get the hang of it a little more I might :).

    Have a safe trip!

  21. February 5, 2009 9:33 pm

    That sounds kiler, I may have to try it!

  22. February 5, 2009 9:54 pm

    Haha, my parents know about my blog. My dad finds it awesome! LOL. My sister drops by mine from time to time! LOL!

    Anyways, tasty eats, as always. YUM!

  23. February 5, 2009 10:00 pm

    How did your parents react? I have not told my family yet mostly because they hate my boyfriend and I don’t need them knowing when I see him! Also I just don’t know how I feel about them knowing all my thoughts and feelings each day. I know they would be proud of it though! I had the Blueberry plank for the first time on Monday and I seriously devoured it! SOO good!! I hope you can get your hands on one! If not..let me know and we can do a little blogger exchange!!

  24. February 5, 2009 11:49 pm

    Congrats on sharing your blog with those who matter most to you! How do you make your heart-healthy serving of oats? I tried to make mine in the microwave in a bowl, and it overflowed. Major frustration! haha Have a good night!

  25. February 6, 2009 12:25 am

    love the blog 🙂 I am learning some great stuff about the foam roller stay tuned for some great excersises with it!

  26. February 6, 2009 6:06 pm

    Okay crazy ?… you interested in doing a swap? I found your blog over throught greendogwine and saw you did a swap with her and sent some arnold sandwich thins, I am dying to try those. I live in CO and could find something you have been looking for.. let me know 🙂

  27. cleanveggiex3 permalink
    February 8, 2009 9:04 pm

    i love amys 🙂
    best frozen meals ever.

Leave a Reply

