Skip to content

squashtastic

February 4, 2009

Spaghetti squash was a success! thanks to all the cooking advice, and to the different recipes you all suggested! sweeties. I used the microwave method and the squash was cooked in about 10 minutes. I used the ingredients I had on hand , and sauteed up some zucchini, mushrooms, and artichokes in a little olive oil and some chopped garlic. I threw in some marinara sauce, and then placed it on top of my squashed, topped with some freshly grated parm. I loved this meal, so incredibly quick and easy. and i LOVE the spaghetti squash. This will be making more frequent appearances, and i can’t wait to play around with different recipes. 

photo-9

I went on to bake some more yoga cookies tonight to bring to my sister. these ended up being a little better than the last time i made them. I made a few slight adjustments. I ran out of almonds, so i subbed some walnuts in for the rest of it, and then also i traded in the raisins for some craisins. also added in some ground flax. I took the cookies out when just the edges were browning, and they cooked the perfect amount of tim.e They were must more moist, and were sooo yummmyyy.  This recipe makes a TON of cookies. Here is the first batch, and the first one i ate  hot out of the oven 🙂

photo-81

photo-7

I’m such a procrastinator. I don’t ever pack until the very last minute. I’m planning on leaving tomorrow after I eat dinner once I get home from work. Depending how tired I am , i’ll either leave then or get up really early and drive on Friday. I’m hoping to just leave tomorrow so I can get a good nights rest and wake up on my own time Saturday morning. There is a gorgeous botanical garden in my grandparent’s town, and my grandma wants to take my sister and me there. They just opened up the orchid garden and she says its supposed to be gorgeous. This place is the most beautiful place. I remember going there when I was younger, and falling so head over heels in love with everything. I’ll be taking pics to show you guys how wonderful it is. 

I hope you all have a wonderful night, i’m already dreaming about the packet of Barney Butter that will be in my oats tomorrow morning ❤ haha. sweet dreams

25 Comments leave one →
  1. Sweet and Fit permalink
    February 4, 2009 9:52 pm

    dinner looks amazing! I hope you have a fun and safe trip down to tech tomorrow… while you are dreaming of your packet of barney butter tonight – I will be dreaming of my spoonful of Mighty Maple =)

  2. February 4, 2009 10:01 pm

    I really have been wanting to try the spaghetti squash! You’ve inspired me:)

  3. February 4, 2009 10:08 pm

    Fabulous spaghetti squash! The yoga cookies look delicious!

  4. February 4, 2009 10:11 pm

    Haha, I pack at the last minute! 😉

    And oh wow, those cookies look amazing!

  5. February 4, 2009 10:44 pm

    hellllo long lost!
    that spaghetti squash looks KILLLER.
    i would make it, if i had the time, skill, effort, talent, etc etc.

    ps. what are yoga cookies??
    =)

    my badd

  6. February 4, 2009 10:59 pm

    I love spaghetti squash and I haven’t had any in forever. Looks delicious.

  7. February 4, 2009 11:03 pm

    glad you liked the squash 🙂 the cookies look awesome!

  8. February 4, 2009 11:06 pm

    I have never tried spaghetti squash, thanks for the idea!

  9. February 4, 2009 11:14 pm

    i know, isn’t spaghetti squash WONDERFUL! i love it in everything savory (not sweet; bleck!) i’m glad you enjoyed it so much!

  10. February 4, 2009 11:20 pm

    Oh I love spaghetti squash!! I have a butternut squash sitting in my fridge, I need to find an original recipe for it. I always pack last minute too, have a great trip!!

  11. snackface permalink
    February 5, 2009 12:26 am

    Now that I know that I can use a micro to cook spag.squash, I’m totally goin for it!
    Have a fantastic trip! 🙂

  12. February 5, 2009 12:48 am

    have a fun trip!! I didnt get a chance to comment earlier- but u pretty much made what I would have suggested 😀 I had a spag squash obsession going for a little while!

  13. February 5, 2009 8:09 am

    i am obsessed with botanical garden. i made the husband go to one over our honeymoon and he looked bored shitless, but i had fun! LOL

  14. February 5, 2009 8:56 am

    I’m glad you like sphaghetti sqauash! its the best! I was actually going to make it for dinner on Saturday with meatless balls and sauce, but then I remembered I still have tofu shirataki noodles to use/try for the first time. so I will have to take a raincheck on sphaghetti squash! you could try soy crumbles and chick peas next time for some protein boost 🙂

  15. February 5, 2009 9:27 am

    I still have never tried spaghetti squash. Everyone seems to really like it so maybe I will soon.
    Sounds like you have a fun weekend plans, take lots of pictures of the orchids!

  16. February 5, 2009 9:50 am

    The spaghetti squash and cookies look awesome! I’ve wanted to try the squash, but never felt confident enough about a recipe. I may start with your route – simple and delicious!

    Have fun at the botanical gardens – I can not imagine an entire orchid garden. I bet it will be amazing!

    And thanks for the coucous tip. your combos sounds much better than mine! 🙂

    Kaneil, balanceisbest

  17. February 5, 2009 9:57 am

    I made spaghetti squash last night too! for my lunch today…

  18. February 5, 2009 10:12 am

    yum! that spaghetti squash dish looks awesome…I can’t wait to see all the other creations you come up with!

  19. foodsthatfit permalink
    February 5, 2009 10:37 am

    Your version of spaghetti squash looks delicious! Don’t you love it!

  20. sarahdbelle permalink
    February 5, 2009 10:51 am

    Where are you going in Vermont? My friend got married in Burlington last year, and it was gorgeous. Hope you have an amazing time!

    Sarah

    http://sarahdbelle.wordpress.com/

  21. February 5, 2009 11:23 am

    Looks delicious! I don’t know if you’ve posted it before, but is there a recipe for the yoga cookies? 😀

  22. February 5, 2009 11:29 am

    both the cookies and the squash speghetti look great! i’m with thinspired–i would love a recipe for the cookies… 🙂
    have a great day today!

  23. February 5, 2009 1:18 pm

    Those cookies look YUM! I love cookies 🙂

    Question about the spaghetti squash. Every single time I cook it (and I’ve used various methods too) it comes out pretty crunchy. Is that the way it’s supposed to be, or do I need to cook it longer? It looks so much like pasta, I keep expecting it to have the same texture LOL

  24. February 5, 2009 1:19 pm

    The spaghetti squash looks SO good. I’m definitely to going to have to give it a shot. Thanks!!

  25. February 5, 2009 1:49 pm

    Fabulous spag squash!! It’s so versatile which I love! Good luck packing – that’s the worst part!

Leave a Reply

