Skip to content

BB time

February 4, 2009

Barney butter was the first thing on my mind this morning. I could not wait to try it. I’ve heard such rave reviews on it, and the lovely Lora got me some and I was beyond happy. I made my regular morning oats but substituted my creamy raw almond butter with a packet of the creamy BB. i LOVED IT!!! They have distinctly different tastes, but it was amazing. BB has a much more pb consistency than the raw almond butter. These packets are going to go by fast!! I like the roasted flavor it gave to my bowl and can’t wait to use it again tomorrow πŸ™‚ Thanks Lo!! You are amazing!

barney-oats

And then to continue the day with amazing eats, I had some plain ff yogurt with half of a maple almond crunch granola plank! This is my first time trying anything from Honest Foods and it was far beyond what I had expected. This morning, from both the oats and the snack, I was completely satisfied. Usually i’m so hungry and end up eating my snacks that are meant for later in the day, much earlier because I am just not completely satisified. This was not the case this morning, and i loved every second of it! Now i’m even more excited to get the Honest Food bars from Angela at OhSheGlows! I can’t wait to try more flavors.

granola-planks

Lunch break was spent in Group Power. This class burrnnnss and i love it. I like pairing it up with a yoga session later on in the day to help stretch out the muscles that got really tight during the class.Β  I can’t wait until I finally decide on a HRM to see how many cals are burned in this weight training class.

I woke up a little late today, so it was one of two decisions. Make oats and try out the BB, or make a quick breakfast so I have time to pack a lunch as well. Obviously BB was higher up on the list! So for lunch today I went to a little cafe right down the street from work. It’s called Teavolve, and has a ton of specialy teas. But their sandwiches are sooo good and fresh. They use locally grown food, and I am so in love with their Grilled Eggplant Panini. It’s grilled zucchini, roasted red peppers, marinated artichoke hearts, and tomato/garlic pesto. They grill it on a huge foreman like grill and use cooking spray so its not greasy at all. It is the best panini. They usually come with sun chips but they let me sub a side salad for it. This lunch is always such a treat.

panini1

I’m baking some more yoga cookies tonight to bring to my sister tomorrow night. I’m going to switch out the raisins for some craisins. I can’t believe tomorrow night I leave for VT. I’ve got to bring some snacks along with me for the trip. I’m thinking of bringing some instand oatmeal packets, and some BB packets for breakfast options when the only other option I have is a biscuit breakfast sandwich. Oh, and my sister is bringing her laptop so i’ll be able to keep up with all of you and get some good posts in!

I also bought a spaghetti squash last night. Any recipe ideas? i have never tried it before, so I’m excited, but don’t know what else to do with it other than put some pasta sauce on it? Thanks guys!!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2009 3:30 pm

    wow, i am really going to have to try barney butter and the granola planks. i cant stop hearing a million good things about them!!

  2. February 4, 2009 4:05 pm

    Hehe, I opted for making oats this morning and not having time to pack a lunch! Sometimes the trade-off is worth it… although my Subway sandwich was kind of boring.

  3. snackface permalink
    February 4, 2009 4:10 pm

    Unfortunately I have no spaghetti squash ideas. Butter, brown sugar? Haha I know that’s not how you were looking to eat it.
    I might have to break down and buy BB online to give it a whirl.
    Happy to see you’ll be blogging on your trip πŸ™‚

  4. February 4, 2009 4:16 pm

    I need to buy some egg plants!

    Sorry for not spaghetti squash ideas. I haven’t actually tried that before either. LOL!

  5. February 4, 2009 4:27 pm

    Yum, I need to try some BB! That granola plank flavor is MY FAVORITE and I love it in my oatmeal…so exciting that you got to have some!

    Check out my recipe’s page for the only thing I’ve every made with Spaghetti Squash…Spaghetti! Haha, I used Morningstar Crumbles and a little laughing cow to make my sauce creamy. It’s such a good meal!

  6. February 4, 2009 4:37 pm

    hey, thanks for commenting on my blog so i could find yours! i have a great spaghetti squash recipe – http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/squash_pork_stirfry.html – and you can sub tofu for the pork to make it vegetarian if you want.

  7. February 4, 2009 4:43 pm

    Can’t wait to see what you do with the spaghetti squash. Marinara sauce always sounds good to me! You could also do olive oil, garlic, and veggies.

  8. February 4, 2009 4:54 pm

    Oh I STILL have not tried BB!! I need to jump on the wagon, bite the bullet, use more metaphorical phrases, and order some! YUM

  9. February 4, 2009 5:04 pm

    I’m starving right now and that picture of your panini looks SO good! I’m loving the yoga cookies, I subsituted raisins for dried cranberries and blueberries though. So good!!

    You’ll have to let me know what you decide on the HRM, I think I’m going to get one too! Have a fun weekend with your fam πŸ™‚

  10. Sweet and Fit permalink
    February 4, 2009 5:10 pm

    those itty packets are so cute! check out this recipe from recipezaar for how to properly cook the squash –

    http://www.recipezaar.com/Properly-Prepared-Spaghetti-Squash-162765

  11. Sweet and Fit permalink
    February 4, 2009 5:12 pm

    take some pics of those yoga cookies! I just posted a commnent but it didn’t show up, i’ mthinking its because I had a link in it so wordpress may have thought it was spam…

  12. February 4, 2009 5:43 pm

    yay! I am going to call tomorrow and see if its in! If it is in I will get you 2 jars, just in case the first doesn’t last too long. haha. Do they sell dark chocolate dreams there? i loved the maple pb so much i gotta try the chocolate!

  13. February 4, 2009 5:50 pm

    Oh Barney Butter, I must try some for myself some day … I seem to hear nothing but good about it!

    And what a wonderful looking lunch … I want to go there! Specialty teas, fresh, locally grown food?!?! JEALOUS! haha, there is pretty much absolutely nothing like that here in hick, Missouri! lol.

  14. February 4, 2009 6:22 pm

    I am probably the only person left who hasn’t tried Barney Butter!

    I heart spaghetti squash – I’ve had it just with some smart balance and salt, pepper and parmesan. I’ve made a quinoa and spaghetti squash lasagnaa. And of course, with marinara sauce like spaghetti. You’ll quickly be hooked. Not only with the taste, but because the calories are insanely low – like 20 calories for 8 ounces!

  15. February 4, 2009 6:32 pm

    I just did Spaghetti Squash a few nights ago. It is on my blog…smmuconn.blogspot.com. I love it!

    I must find the BB. It is on my grocery list for the week. Thanks for the info!

  16. February 4, 2009 6:51 pm

    That a great package you received! I still haven’t tried the Barney Butter, but it’s everywhere in blogland and everyone loves it! That panini looks great too!

  17. February 4, 2009 6:53 pm

    Glad you like the BB!! That panini is fabulous!

    Spag squash tips: you don’t have to bake it! Prick it all around pop it in the microwave for a couple minutes to soften it. Then cut it in half, de-seed with a big spoon, place face down in a micro-safe dish with a splash of water, and pop back in for about 8 minutes or so. Let it cool just a little bit and then scrap it with a fork. From there you can do ANYTHING!

  18. February 4, 2009 7:33 pm

    Grilled Eggplant Panini?! Hello, breakfast lunch and dinner!

  19. strongandhealthy permalink
    February 4, 2009 8:33 pm

    I love BB!!!! Great panini!!

    http://www.strongandhealthy.wordpress.com

  20. February 4, 2009 9:43 pm

    Nice panini! Jealous of the Barney Butter πŸ™‚

  21. February 5, 2009 10:07 pm

    That sammy looks FAB!!!

    I still have yet to try barney butter!

    Spaghetti Squash:

    specific recipes, no. however, I LOVE it- I just microwave it for about 8 -10 minutes, then finish baking it in the toaster oven for a few more minutes. Use a fork to shred into strands.

    I mostly have it with whatever you would have pasta with- tomato sauce, pesto, etc.

    I also had it for breakfast with lots of cinnamon, some cottage cheese and maple syrup. Some people would hate that- but I really thought it was quite good!

Leave a Reply

