Skip to content

lemonlicious

February 2, 2009

New love? Meet Miss Lemon Larabar. This was my first time trying this flavor. Ive been hesitant trying the lemon and the key lime larabars and finally decided to buy the lemon flavor a few weeks ago. It’s been sitting in my bar drawer for a while now, and today was the test run. I loveeeed it! it tasted exactly like those lemon bar desserts. I think this flavor jumped up to the #1 spot and has taken cashews cookie’s top spot. This will definitely be added to my bars to purchase from now on! Now i guess it’s time to try the key lime flavor. 

photo-2

Tonight I went to yoga. My regular scheduled class is on Saturday (more on that in a little bit) but I won’t be here this weekend so I made it up tonight. We did the half moon pose, and woo that was a doozy. My butt muscles were going crazy! it is really cool to be moving forward with the poses and learning new techniques. I am so in love with yoga. 

So about this weekend… I was talking to my sister the other day and she was saying how she really wants to visit my grandparents in North Carolina. They live in a little town called Gastonia, which is about 20 minutes from Charlotte. She goes to Virginia Tech and it’s actually only about 2 1/2 hours away from my grandparents. I haven’t seen my grandparents in a little over a year so a visit was MUCH overdue. I thought about it, and figured I would just drive to see my sister, sleep there, and then drive to NC with her the next day. So I took of Friday and am going to make the trip to VT Thursday night after work. It’s my sister’s sophomore year at school, and I haven’ t had the chance to visit her yet or see her apartment either so this way I get to kill 2 birds with one stone!  I can’t wait to see my grandparents. My grandma makes some greatttt southern cooking.  I’m going to have to come prepared with some different breakfast options, because they usually go to Bojangles ( a southern fast food place) and get 2 biscuit sandwiches for breakfast for each of us, or a biscuit sandwich and a biscuit and sausage gravy. I’ll only be there for 2 days, but I don’t want to have a southern binge fest for the entire stay. If i don’t have any other option with the foods, i’ll just have to keep a close watch on my portion sizes. 

 

Breakfast for dinner tonight! After yoga I came home and made a western omelet. Sauteed some onions and yellow peppers, and put a little bit of pepperjack cheese. Ketchup on the side, and a piece of ezekiel bread with black cherry preserves. After dinner I treated myself to a little slice of tiramisu. YUMMM

photo-3

photo-4

Hope your Monday went well! See you guys bright and early tomorrow morning 🙂

Thank you all for your help with the HRM i’m gonna do a little more research and then hopefully pick a good one out! AND i just became a featured publisher for Foodbuzz, so excited!! 🙂

I’m off to read some of my book.. i’m making progress! woooo!

27 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2009 10:02 pm

    Lemon Lara sounds delish!

    That’s what I should have with my eggs…bread and jelly!!

    I’m curious to see what you think of the Barney Butter. It’s good but I don’t think I’m hooked!

  2. February 2, 2009 10:02 pm

    looking delish as normal!
    i’ve been eating eggies for breakfast a LOT lately.
    i don’t hateee it

    =)

    i never found out where you went to school!?

    &
    my race tonight.
    KILLED IT!

    YES.

  3. February 2, 2009 10:27 pm

    I have been hesitant about the lemon flavor too..I will have to try it!

    Glad you LOVE yoga!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Kate permalink
    February 2, 2009 10:30 pm

    I’m with you on the lemon flava!Didn’t you say that tiramisu was from costco? makes me want to go there right now haha!

  5. snackface permalink
    February 2, 2009 10:32 pm

    Welp, after that review I gotta get that bar! I’ve been afraid of it for years now lol. Mmmm love ending the day with tiramisu!

  6. February 2, 2009 10:34 pm

    Ha! I was reading your post and was like MY g-parents live in North Carolina… in a small town… could it be the same one? No way! And it’s not Gastonia but it IS Conover (of Hickory/Newton/Conover – I believe 20 minutes from Gastonia if memory serves). Anyway – sounds like a fun (yummy) visit coming up! Glad you’re loving yoga so much and your western om looks awesome – especially because you served it with ketchup – yum.

  7. February 2, 2009 11:00 pm

    Your omelet looks awesome! Have fun with your grandparents!

  8. February 2, 2009 11:01 pm

    That sounds so exciting to visit your Grandparents!!! Sounds like super fun!

  9. February 2, 2009 11:02 pm

    I LOVE the lemon bar too!

    ps I talked to my roomate and we’re seriously looking into running the 10k with you in April. What’s the official title of it??

    ❤ from, Kelly’s Belly

  10. February 2, 2009 11:57 pm

    Sounds like you have a great weekend plan!! Isn’t it wonderful how omelettes work great for any meal of the day!? I LOVE egg-white omelettes, they’re definitely my go-to meal!!

  11. February 3, 2009 1:51 am

    You should totally try the Key Lime Pie Larabar, I liked it way better than the lemon one, and I love lemon! Congrats on becoming a featured publisher as well 😀

  12. February 3, 2009 6:44 am

    ahhh…i love lemon. it makes me think of the lemon cupcake i had from buttercup bakery in nyc this weekend : ) not quite the same nutritional profile, eh? : )

  13. February 3, 2009 7:49 am

    yum! you’ve officially made me want to try a lemon larabar!

    gotta love breakfast for dinner : )

    have a great tuesday!!

  14. February 3, 2009 8:02 am

    That’s wonderful that you’ll get to see your grandparents. Enjoy it! I hope you’ll blog some of that great cooking 🙂

  15. February 3, 2009 9:12 am

    eggs eggs eggs! breakfast for dinner is what I have every single day! don’t you love it?!
    yay you’re finally getting to meet your grandparents! they sound lovely, esp that southern cooking mmmmm~ haha!I’m assuming they’re not your Chinese side?

  16. February 3, 2009 9:29 am

    That breakie for dinner looks SO GOOD! I need to have some eggs sometime soon! Plus tiramisu – I’m speechless 🙂

    Have a blast this weekend!!

  17. February 3, 2009 10:19 am

    the plate your tiramasu is on brings back memories. I had those plates all growing up. will be a fun trip to VT and your grandparents!

  18. February 3, 2009 10:31 am

    Thanks for the idea with the vitatops! I will for sure be trying peanut butter on them. Because I am just a little obsessed with peanut butter:)
    sounds like fun going to see your grandma. I wish I could get some real southern cooking!

  19. February 3, 2009 11:20 am

    Thanks so much for getting back to me, Ashley! If I really do this it will be so nice to talk with you about it. I get the impression that you are definitely a stronger runner than I am at this point! That’s ok, I’ll still offer up my support 😉

  20. February 3, 2009 1:20 pm

    That omlette looks AMAZING!

    i love the key lime and lemon bars – glad to hear you liked em too!

  21. gina (fitnessista) permalink
    February 3, 2009 1:47 pm

    ooh i love that flavor larabar- so refreshing! and that omelet looks incredible!
    hope you have a great day!

  22. February 3, 2009 2:18 pm

    I haven’t tried the lemon Lara bars yet, but I was the same way when I saw them… I was like, “I don’t think I will like that flavor.” But, you never know, right?

    I love doing breakfast for dinner, its one of my favorite things for not a lot of calories!

  23. February 3, 2009 2:30 pm

    That omelet looks so good! Loving you blog!

  24. February 3, 2009 3:03 pm

    Hooray for coming to north carolina! everyone here loves their bojangles except me really. oh well.

    how exciting you will get to see your sis’s apt. too!

  25. katecooks permalink
    February 3, 2009 4:47 pm

    so funny, i JUST bought the lemon one this weekend to try for the first time but it is still sitting, waiting…SOON!! the key lime tho is so delish, so im not sure why i havent tried lemon earlier!

    http://cookingwithkate.wordpress.com

  26. Sweet and Fit permalink
    February 4, 2009 12:07 am

    yay! road trip through VA! I hope you have fun visiting your sis and grandparents… take some picture to share, as I am sure you will =)

  27. seeleelive permalink
    February 4, 2009 10:18 am

    I gotta say, I am very apprehensive about trying this flavor. Ehh…i didnt like key lime pie-but i have two lemons waiting for me-you’ve inspired me to try it tmrw!

Leave a Reply

