Skip to content

change of program

February 2, 2009

Hello my lovelies! happy monday! hope your day is going well so far 🙂

Before I get talking about my day i wanted to mention that Hangry Pants is having an almond butter giveaway! YUMM

This morning started off with a yogurt/cereal combo. I haven’t had this in a while for breakfast, so i busted out the puffins (another box finished!) some nature’s path pumpkin granola and some plain ff yogurt.  I’m surprised that it actually kept me full just as long as the oatmeal does.

puffins-yog

Midday snack was apple and almond butter. winning combination, and i fall in love with almond butter more and more every day. I was able to make it to the gym today for group power! I realize that I skimp on weight training so bad, and when i keep it in my regular schedule, I can really see a difference in my body. I’m going to be more diligent and make sure I at least weight train 2 times a week at a minimum.

Remember how I was telling you guys about Jillian’s 2 new dvds? well last night i was browsing through my on demand, and i found them! I picked the no more trouble zones, and heckkkkk it was hard! it’s along the same lines as the 3o day shred for any of you that have done that workout. There are multiple circuits and its nonstop. This one lasts about 45 minutes and was a total butt kicker. I’m going to try her Banish Fat Boost Metabolism one tomorrow. I can’t believe these are free on demand. so pumped.

Lunch today was simple and sweet. I had an arnolds thin with spinach and 1/4 of an avocado. I paired it up with some roasted red pepper and tomato soup. I wanted to simplify my eats today and go with something clean and simple.

spinach-avo

soupy

Question for all of you out there: I am currently in the market for a heart rate monitor. I have been poking around looking at some Polar ones, and seem to be liking the F6. Any reviews or opinons on any brand of heart rate monitor that can help me make a decision? I have been thinking about getting one, and finally made the decision to do it. I’m really excited and can’t wait to see all my stats on my workouts!

 

OH and I also have decided to change my 10k training plan. The Galloway one that I had previously picked out just wasn’t working for me. I wanted one that had some intervals thrown in there, and that progressed a little quicker. I found one last night on the Atleta website and I really really like the way it looks. Check it out: ) what I love most about it is that it really mixes things up, and involves yoga!  Since it is an 8 week program, and my 10k is on April 19, I am going to train on my own and up my mileage gradually until feb 19, then will start the program. I can’t believe the race is only a little  over 2 months away… then all the other races come pretty quickly after, so i’m excited to get my first 10k done! It is #1 on my 2009 goals!

29 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2009 2:26 pm

    I spotted heart rate watches at Target…I wonder if these are very accurate (?) A little pricey at $60-80, but well worth it I’m sure. Love the pink jacket!

  2. February 2, 2009 2:30 pm

    I don’t know much about heart rate monitors, but I do hope you find a good one out there!

  3. February 2, 2009 2:30 pm

    That sandwich looks amazing – I love avocado in sandwiches, or just in general really.

    My dad has a polar heart rate monitor – not sure what model – but he’s been really happy with it.

  4. eatinnyc permalink
    February 2, 2009 2:36 pm

    Loveee the Lulu! So glad you got the jacket! My Garmin 405 Forerunner just came in the mail this weekend. It has a GPS system too so it (obviously) costs more than a polar but I have heard people are perfectly happy with their polars. Good luck! The eats look delish

  5. February 2, 2009 2:39 pm

    That plan looks awesome! I’ve been doing a little more yoga but I should add it in more often because I really need to stretch out more!

    PS: I added dried cranberries and blueberries to the cookies because I hate raisins! So darn good, I just ate one 🙂

  6. February 2, 2009 2:41 pm

    looks like a good training plan! I dont own a heart rate monitor, so sorry I cant help. Will be interested in what you get…it may be something I look to buy soon.

  7. Kate permalink
    February 2, 2009 3:05 pm

    I’m so happy you might get a heart rate monitor, b/c I am really on the fence! I am curious how much I would get out of it for the price-so I’d be anxious to see how you like it! That sammie looks SO yummy!!!

  8. February 2, 2009 3:09 pm

    i have an f4 and its fine. ive had trouble with it (random part breaking, battery dead) but it seems like normal stuff.

  9. February 2, 2009 3:27 pm

    I have the Polar F6, and I’m really enjoying it. It’s the only HRM I’ve owned, so I don’t have anything to compare it to.

  10. February 2, 2009 3:31 pm

    I just got the Polar F7 a few weeks ago and love it! It is the same as the F6 but has a more comfortable band. I think it is worth it for the extra $20.00.

  11. strongandhealthy permalink
    February 2, 2009 4:27 pm

    I love puffins!!! I don’t have a heart rate monitor, sorry! Hope you had a great day!

    http://www.strongandhealthy.wordpress.com

  12. February 2, 2009 4:29 pm

    Hi Ashley! I’m dying to find some Arnold Sandwich Thins – your lunch looks great.

    I got a Polar FT40 for Christmas and I LOVE it! I can’t imagine working out/running without it. It came with the soft strap, which I love. I hesitated buying one for almost a year because I didn’t want to wear the hard plastic strap. I wear the watching 24/7 as a reminder of all the hard work that I’ve invested in my health. Let me know if you have any more questions about it. My only complaint is that it doesn’t sync with a Mac.

    Kaneil, balanceisbest.wordpress.com

  13. katecooks permalink
    February 2, 2009 5:32 pm

    i cant find those sandwich thins anywhere!! every time i go to the grocery store, fingers crossed, but nope! are they in a weird section or something?!

  14. luckytastebuds permalink
    February 2, 2009 5:35 pm

    Oooh your sandwich looks like YUM. And i totally had a breakfast cereal craving at lunch so i had some after for dessert. Are those the honey puffins or pb?? i’ve been trying to figure out if the honey flavored ones are just as good as all the other puffins…so if those are, let me know what the verdict is on them!!! Better than PB puffins? Regular puffins? cinnamon puffins? (I’ve tried all the others) THANKS!!!

    sorry i can’t help there with the heart rate monitor. Hope someone helpful comes along and suggests something fabulous!

  15. February 2, 2009 6:14 pm

    Keep us posted on the HRM because I’ve been wondering about them! Love that lunch 🙂

  16. February 2, 2009 6:14 pm

    Lunch today looks really good … mmm! : )

    And, yeah, I don’t know the first thing about heart rate monitors but good luck!!

  17. February 2, 2009 6:18 pm

    I got a F6 for Christmas and I love it. I chose the one that was compatible with machines at my gym, and I thought that the F6 was worth the extra $20 for the uploading feature.

  18. February 2, 2009 7:18 pm

    hey there girl!!

    am i the only blogger who has never tried puffins before? crazy? maybe. when i first saw your bowl of cereal i thought it was the kashi honey sunshine but upon further reading it’s the good ol’ puffins.

    i wish i could help you out more with the whole heart rate monitor thing but i have absolutely no experience in that area!

  19. February 2, 2009 8:00 pm

    great blog. i look forward to reading more!

  20. February 2, 2009 8:26 pm

    I’ve heard alot of other bloggers talk about the F4 – I’ve been looking into the f4 and f6 myself! Let me know if you take the plunge and buy one!

  21. February 2, 2009 8:59 pm

    I have a Polar F6 and love it! It’s easy to use and tracks everything I need it to know. I’ve never had anything else so no comparison. Let me know if there’s anything specific you want to know about the F6.

  22. Sweet and Fit permalink
    February 2, 2009 9:09 pm

    I have been trying to find a good heart rate monitor too – i just hate those chest straps. Let me know if you find any without one?

    I really like Meghann’s garmin – heart rate monitor meets GPS !!

  23. February 2, 2009 9:38 pm

    Hey! Check out the polar website – I don’t know about other models, but for mine (the FT40) you have to purchase the Flowlink separately. http://www.polarusa.com/us-en/products/accessories/flowlink

    You have to have this in order to transfer data to your computer and it only works on a pc! 😦 I was bummed to find that out, but I am fine with reviewing my workout data on the watch. I’ve used it almost every day and I feel like I still have a lot to learn. Please don’t hesitate to ask if you have more questions. Overall, I LOVE it and can’t imagine working out without it!

    Kaneil, balanceisbest.wordpress.com

  24. February 2, 2009 9:48 pm

    Hi hun! How are you doing? Apple + nut butter is the best! They were just so meant to go together. I am the same way with the weight training. I get stuck in cardio ruts but am trying to get it in at leat 1 -2 times per week. Glad you loved the Jilian dvd, I must give it a go!

  25. February 2, 2009 11:38 pm

    Good luck with your training!

  26. February 3, 2009 6:05 am

    Thanks for including the link to your new training schedule. I am thinking of signing up for my first 10k in May, so it’s nice to know I have a little time to review some differnt training options. The Galloway one is the intervals, right? I’d love to hear updates about how you are liking this new program…and any tips you have in getting started would be soooo appreciated 🙂

  27. February 3, 2009 9:29 am

    Hey! Saw your comment on my blog about the heart rate monitor. The Polar F6 does have a chest strap. I know it’s there, but it doesn’t annoy me. I think they key is getting it adjusted so that it fits correctly.

  28. sarahdbelle permalink
    February 3, 2009 11:21 am

    I also have a Polar F6, and I absolutely love it. It’s very easy to use, and the chest strap is no different than wearing a bra. (You just kind of get used to it.) Thanks for all of your sweet comments. Let me know if you have any other questions about the polar.

    Have a great day!
    Sarah

    http://sarahdbelle.wordpress.com/

  29. February 3, 2009 10:13 pm

    Hey!!! If you come to Gastonia email me, I am a yoga teacher and I would love to do a session for you!

    You can read my blog at http://blissfulbodyyoga.blogspot.com

    Namaste!

Leave a Reply

