Skip to content

fajita fiesta

January 31, 2009

Where to start? Let’s start from the beginning of the day shall we? πŸ™‚

I woke up bright and early this morning thanks to two crazy dogs jumping on and off my bed and went downstairs to stir up a little breakfast burrito! I made a grilled burrito with 1 egg 1 white and peppers, spinach, black beans, salsa, and a string cheese. Awesome combo. Almost got every color of the rainbow in that wrap. I used these tiny little sweet peppers. They are about half the length of my index finger. so cute lol. I also had 2 of my awesome kiwis. Oh, and i might have sneaked in a cookie a little later too πŸ˜›

photo-116

photo-127photo-105

Β 

My mom went all out for lunch today because Chase (my bf) was here. She made a huge fajita feast! We have steak, onions and peppers, guac, pico de gallo, spanish rice, pepperjack cheese and coleslaw. Everything was made from scratch except for the rice. It was an amazzzzinggg lunch! Fajitas is my favorite mexican dish, and whenever I went to any Mexican restaurant I woudl ALWAYS get the fajitas. Recently I decided it was time to step out of my box and start ordering different things , but fajitas hold a special place in my heart πŸ™‚ We used to live in Texas when I was younger, and coleslaw was always served with mexican food, but mostly with enchiladas or fajitas. I guess it’s a Texas thing, but its an awesome combo! My mom has kept it going through to Maryland. I had 2 small fajitas, with some coleslaw and rice.

photo-97

photo-85

She even went out and bought dessert! Costco has a packaged tiramisu that is to d i e for! it is really jaw dropping good. If you find it at your local costco, and need any type of dessert for anything, pick it up and put it in your cart. It is so fresh and light and the perfect dessert to serve any guest. mmm I haven’t had tiramisu in so long, and it was such a nice treat.

photo-65

photo-75

I didn’t think I’d be that hungry after lunch so I had a bowl of puffins with a banana and a little pumpkin granola. Turns out it wasn’ t enough food so I made myself another small fajita and some coleslaw and rice on the side a little later. I was sstttufffed. I think i might have overdone it a little, I was feeling way too full.Β 

photo-46

photo-39
Chase and I decided to go to the movies tonight, and it was his pick. He chose Notorious. Any of you seen this movie? My dad was in the Air Force, and I lived in England from 2nd – 5th grade so I missed most of the stuff happening with Biggie. Well this movie caught me right up. I didn’t really want to go see it because I was DYING to see Slumdog Millionaire, but it was actually really good. Β And the songs were great throughout the whole movie. I am going to have to see Slumdog soon, and also have been really wanting to see Confessions of a Shopaholic. I can’t wait till that comes out.Β 

Β 

Chase brought Eden with him, and when Eden and Hershey get together they are non stop. They play so hard, and for so long so when they tire themselves out so much they end up sleeping for at least 4 hours. I snagged a picture of them passed out and precious, and then I also got a pic of them being sweet both laying on my bed. Love these pups.

photo-55

photo-135

Chase also brought Hershey a new toy. She is so excited

photo-143

Β Oh, and I didn’t get my run in today. The sidewalks around my neighborhood are still really icy, so I decided to do Jillian’s level 1 30 day shred. I am going to be using this more often. Its so short (only 20 mins) and really packs a great workout in. Did any of you know that shes coming out with 2 new dvds? I think they come out Feb 3. I might have to invest. I love Jillian. Tomorrow is supposed to be a high of 50!!! so I’m thinking the ice will be melted. Hope all of your Saturdays were great! have a great Sunday πŸ™‚

21 Comments leave one →
  1. FollowMyWeigh permalink
    January 31, 2009 11:57 pm

    wow that fajita feast looks great! cole slaw + mexican food sounds like an awesome combo.

    ooh notorious. lol i remember those times =)

  2. February 1, 2009 12:15 am

    Your pups are SOOOO cute!!

    I had chicken fajita’s last night for dinner, so good. I ate them with as a ‘taco salad’ with two crushed shells, the chicken mix on top with some lettuce and salsa!! Yum!! I made the mix with chicken, peppers, onions and taco seasoning. Mexican food is SOOO good!!

    PS: I just wrote down the recipe for those cookies so I can buy the ingredients tomorrow and make them!!! Can’t wait!

  3. February 1, 2009 12:59 am

    Wow, everything looks so amazing! I want that wrap so bad!

  4. February 1, 2009 1:12 am

    The little pups are adorable! I am jealous! πŸ™‚

    You must go see Slumdog. It is an incredible movie. I just saw Gran Tarino, it’s another must see if you haven’t already. There are so many good ones out right now! Now I want to see Shopaholic AND He’s just not that into you. (Wow, I sound like a movie junkie!)

    Anyways, have a great rest of the weekend with your BF in town!

    Kaneil
    balanceisbest.wordpress.com

  5. February 1, 2009 8:06 am

    Lovin’ all the fooood!! Especially the Puffins (I eat them everyday now, haha!! πŸ˜€ ).

    Cute dogs as always!!

    Happy Sunday, girl!!

  6. February 1, 2009 8:41 am

    So much yummy looking food!! That tiramisu makes me want some dessert! yum!

  7. Sarah permalink
    February 1, 2009 9:29 am

    those fajitas look so good! where did you live in texas? my hubby lived there for many years, in houston, dallas, and lubbock.
    i love costco desserts, esp their cakes. ive never tried the tiramisu but it looks good, i might have to!

  8. February 1, 2009 10:17 am

    Yummy eats! Sounds like you had a lot of fun.

    The pups are TOO cute! I love watching dogs play. Very sweet.

  9. February 1, 2009 10:21 am

    Yummmy burrito and fajitas!!

    Tiramisu is probably the only dessert that I’ll eat – SOOOOO GOOD!!

    Cute pups πŸ˜€

  10. February 1, 2009 10:34 am

    you look like you had the best of food ever, ash! i’m so excited that the weather is going to be 50 degrees today – i’m trying to train for the cherry blossom 10-miler (fingers crossed). Any interest in running it?? Do you run with your dogs? I have a big fat yellow lab, Bailey, who I wish would run with me but is too darn lazy.

    enjoy the weather πŸ™‚

  11. February 1, 2009 11:49 am

    Sounds like you had an awesome day! I love your breakfast burrito! that’s what I call breakfast:)

  12. February 1, 2009 12:24 pm

    Wow that is an amazing spread that your mom put on! It looks so good, especially the tiramisu!

    Your dogs are too cute, I would love sleeping with them both! I bet they keep you warm.

  13. Kate permalink
    February 1, 2009 12:54 pm

    Everything looks awesome! UGH doesn’t everyone hate that feeling when you’re full? Weather you eat a bunch of vegetables or fruit you just feel icky. I actually like if a blogger does a “pig out” post b/c I think it makes us show we’re human right?:) Obs everything you ate was totally worth it and looks pretty healthy!(and yes tiramisu is good for the soul!) Looking forward to the superbowl?

  14. February 1, 2009 12:54 pm

    I love fajitas too – never seen them served with coleslaw before though. Cute puppies!

  15. February 1, 2009 3:46 pm

    yyummmmy me gusta fajitass mucho..
    those pups are toooo cute !!

  16. February 1, 2009 5:11 pm

    yes! its fabulous! i mention it a few posts down…pics and all! love the bowl and love the candle! nice touch!

  17. February 1, 2009 6:26 pm

    LOVE the puppy photos!! Adorable – truly looks pumped about the new toy! And i’m SO stealing your burrito idea if you don’t mind! I never thought to use black beans – awesome! How did you grill it? I’m intrigued. πŸ™‚

  18. February 1, 2009 6:49 pm

    you’re so awesome – thanks!!

  19. February 1, 2009 8:45 pm

    hershey is seriously the cutest dog ever!!

    re: my blog – aww thank you! i think a lot of my “enjoying” long runs comes from the fact that i try to consciously look forward to them instead of dread them. glass half full and whatnot! πŸ™‚ good luck!

  20. February 2, 2009 7:59 am

    your next movie needs to be Slumdog Millionaire! I can’t remember if I blogged about it, but I saw it Friday night – FANTASTIC!!!

  21. Sweet and Fit permalink
    February 2, 2009 9:04 pm

    your breakfast burrito looks great – of course! Your mom is so sweet for making that fajita spread for lunch …. I’m gonna take a wild guess here, but those cute little sweet peppers I think must be from costco? I used to buy them from costco all the time this past summer.

    Eden and Hershey are sooo cute together – it must be nice to know that your dogs get along with each other – in terms of thinking about moving in together.

Leave a Reply

