Skip to content

winner winner chicken dinner

January 30, 2009

Last night’s dinner was a new recipe. My mom foundΒ a recipe for a chicken, artichoke, and spinach casserole. You really can’t go wrong with the spinach and artichoke combo. The recipe called for heavy cream and cc, so she cut down the cals by using reduced fat cream cheese, and a mixture of half and half, and 2%. It turned out reallly yummy, and she cut up some of the beer bread to put on top. The beer bread made had a great crunch to it. On the side we had some roasted butternut squash. I’m so in love with it. I really want to try roasting some acorn squash, and some spaghetti spuash. I haven’t tried either of those yet, but they always look so good whenever anyone uses them in their recipes.

casserole

casserole-and-squash

After seeing Jenna from Eat, Live, Run, talk about the free yoga podcasts that Dave Farmar had on itunes, I went to check it out. I downloaded 2 of his beginner classes, and then found links so a few other yoga podcasts… theyre all free! i think i downloaded about 10 of them, so i’ll be switching these into my schedule. Sometimes i’m not sure which poses they’re talking about, since most of them don’t have the poses to go with the podcast, so when I get really confused I jsut go back to child’s pose, or downward dog πŸ™‚Β  That Dave Farmar is hilarious though. It was a great class!

Β 

Breakfast this morning was some more Vans waffles! perfect amount of sweetness to them, and they’re crusty like freshed home made waffles. Topped with some almond butter and flax and my last drops of agave… thats why theres no swirl 😦 didn’t have enough! just little droplets.Β  Threw 2 sliced kiwis in there… delish. Costco kiwis come in these huge plastic tubs. They are always so fresh and ripe, but i have to eat them quick because i don’t want them to go bad.

v-ans

So a change of plans… My bf is going to be coming here this weekend instead of me going there. I had planned to drive up with his best friends gf. It’s kind of funny actually. Him and his best friend have grown up together, and both went to my college. I met him my junior year, and his best friend had been dating this girl for a few years. Now she is from my hometown, and went to the highschool right next to me. so funny, so we drive up together a lot and its convenient to have someone else take the 5 1/2 hour drive with you. Well she was going to take me, but something happened with her car, so he just decided he was going to drive here.Β  I’ll be going there for Valentines Day. I can’t believe that is just 2 weeks away. This month FLEW by!

Happy Friday! its superbowl weekend πŸ™‚ anybody have any fun plans for the weekend?

liveinthemoment

30 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    January 30, 2009 8:55 am

    So this is going to make me sound SUPER Minnesotan….but I am such a casserole freak:P I can’t help it! Chicken casserole dishes are such a tradition here and they can be really good!Ready Yours looks awesome! Esp if helped prepared by a mommy. YAY for the weekend, right?!

  2. January 30, 2009 9:24 am

    Oh that casserole sounds amazing! I will definitely be attempting something like that soon. πŸ˜€

  3. January 30, 2009 9:32 am

    The casserole looks great!! I miss my mom’s homecooked meals! Love the waffles and kiwi combo as well. Hope you have a nice weekend!

  4. January 30, 2009 9:48 am

    What is it about spinach and artichoke that is so amazing? I don’t know, I just know I love it.

    Yummy waffles are the best! πŸ˜‰

    Have a great weekend with the bf!

  5. January 30, 2009 9:57 am

    That casserole sounds and looks delicious. Casseroles are such an easy meal and usually there are tons of leftovers for lunch and other quick dinners.
    Those waffles look great I’ll have to look for them I’ve had the kashi ones and they are really good.

  6. January 30, 2009 10:16 am

    That casserole sounds great! Butternut squash is so delicious. Enjoy your weekend!

  7. January 30, 2009 10:23 am

    Spinach and artichoke is up there with PBJ in my opinion – match made in foodie heaven!

  8. Sweet and Fit permalink
    January 30, 2009 10:31 am

    yay! I am so happy you don’t have to drive up to long island – but it is nice to have someone that carpools with you…have a lovely weekend with the boy =)

  9. January 30, 2009 10:35 am

    That casserole looks awesome! Josh is a huge arti fan so I might have to make this- yum!! Thats kinda nice that you don’t have to drive this weekend (hooray), although I’m glad you normally have someone to take the trip with πŸ™‚

    This weekend we’re doing dinner out with friends tonight and then lots of to dos for the rest of the weekend! Josh is sort ofupset about the superbowl (hes an Eagles fan) so I’m not sure we’ll do much for it πŸ™‚

  10. January 30, 2009 10:49 am

    ps- thank you for your sweet comments, I wish you could come take my class too πŸ˜‰

  11. January 30, 2009 11:16 am

    I made a similar dish, but without the meat. Instead of cream I used 2% milk and I replaced full-fat Swiss cheese with reduced fat. The men in my life RAVED about it and didn’t even moan that it was vegetarian.

  12. January 30, 2009 11:30 am

    Completely agree that this month sure flew by!
    And tasty eats as always! I need to get some kiwis!

  13. January 30, 2009 11:58 am

    funny post title. Those waffles look so good. I wish I had some right now, but don’t want to make it. I don’t have any frozen ones on hand, so gotta make it from scratch. 😦

    Yeah this month totally flew by!!

  14. January 30, 2009 12:49 pm

    Your dinner looks AWESOME! I’ve been craving waffles. My husband ate the last of mine this morning so I guess I need to add that to the grocery list.

  15. January 30, 2009 12:49 pm

    Do you know where your mom found the recipes? It looks awesome, and I happen to have beer bread that I made last weekend as well – it would be a great way to use it up πŸ˜€

  16. January 30, 2009 1:42 pm

    OMG! Those waffles look SOOO delicious. I have got to get my hands on some almond butter. That’s at the top of my to-do list this weekend, searching out some almond butter! And I have to go exchange my Mizuno’s, they’re just not working for me 😦

    I made a FANTASTIC butternut squash and apple dish a few months ago, I posted the pictures and recipe here:

    http://amric1409-lifeasiknowit.blogspot.com/2008/11/who-knew.html

    So good! I LOVE squash. Yum! Have a fun weekend with your bf!!

  17. January 30, 2009 3:03 pm

    i love spinach/artichoke anything. sounds great. and have so much fun this weekend. If you go to b Bistro – i cant wait to hear what you have and how you like it!

  18. sarahdbelle permalink
    January 30, 2009 3:43 pm

    Thank you so much for the nice comment. Your blog looks wonderful as well. Can’t wait to read more of it. And, I’m definitely adding you to my blog roll. Have a lovely weekend!

    http://sarahdbelle.wordpress.com/

  19. eatinnyc permalink
    January 30, 2009 5:05 pm

    Oh that looks delicious!! Yuhm! I also wanted to try the yoga downloads, maybe next weekend when my schedule isn’t so jam-packed and not yoga-zen!
    Sara

  20. January 30, 2009 5:26 pm

    This looks like a good chicken recipe–I always keep a lookout since regular chicken breasts can get so boring after a while. I like that after the prepwork there is no mess or clean up!
    Hehe–I always do the same thing when I get lost in yoga–you can never practice DD too much, right?! πŸ™‚

  21. Sweet and Fit permalink
    January 30, 2009 5:28 pm

    eeeks! I love them both! looks like i’m gonna be spending the big bucks this summmer on some concert tickets =)

    …now a job would be nice, hehe

  22. January 30, 2009 5:35 pm

    That dinner looks so great!!!! πŸ™‚ YUM!!!!

  23. January 30, 2009 5:52 pm

    I’ve done a few of the intermediate classes and I agree that he doesn’t really explain the poses. Maybe you could google the ones you don’t know so you have a visual.

  24. January 30, 2009 6:06 pm

    That breakfast looks divine!
    I’m still scared of those podcasts – I need visuals! Maybe one day when I get more advanced…

  25. January 30, 2009 6:12 pm

    ok so your package is all mailed! dont make fun of my note πŸ™‚ you’ll understand when u see it lol…i hope u like it all..its a bunch of my fav stuff and some new things that are perf for valentines day, bc everyone needs a valentine! boy tho shipping bit me in the ass haha and the FEDEX man laughed at me for the stuff in it, and then tried to steal some of the stuff! so u know it must be good πŸ™‚

  26. January 30, 2009 6:50 pm

    Guess what?? It’s officially now the weekend!!

    That chicken dinner does look like a winner, winner πŸ˜‰ yum!

    Have a great weekend!

  27. January 30, 2009 7:21 pm

    looove the casserole πŸ™‚ winning set of ingredients for sure!!

  28. January 30, 2009 8:39 pm

    YUM! That looks FAB! hehe I had forgotten the Super Bowl was this weekend… clearly i’m a HUGE fan of pro ball. Alas, I’ll likely be celebrating by watching an Ugly Betty marathon online. hehe Hope you have a great weekend – I want your chicken dinner casserole recipe!!

  29. January 30, 2009 9:51 pm

    The casserole looks amazing πŸ™‚ Do you eat the Vans regular or gluten-free waffles?? The gluten-free ones are the best I’ve tried to date…with a little melted pb they’re out of this world

    have a good weekend ashley!

  30. January 30, 2009 10:21 pm

    i agree- can’t go wrong with chick, spin and artichokes! That’s kinda nice that u don’t have to make the long trip now! And i’m stoked for my friends’ superbowl party this weekend πŸ˜€ I just like the commercials and beer drinkin fun!

Leave a Reply

